Customer Reviews for

Fatalis: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2002

    Fang you very much

    I liked this book, but I am easy to please in matters of extinct beasts. Fatalis compares favorably with another recent prehistoric beast adventure that is high on my list: Dinosaur Wars, by Thomas Hopp. Both books bring back ancient creatures to wreak havoc in modern times, and both do so in effective, scary ways. The sabertooths are beastly beasts. That is, they provide quite a bit of story drama by munching people from time to time. However, I agree with others who have found their thawed-out-from-ice origins to be rather cheesy and old fashioned. Compare Dinosaur Wars where the origins of the resuscitated beasts are highly original and therefore as believable as Jurassic Park¿s now discredited cloning trick. Sexism is subtly felt in this book. The heroine, Hannah Hughes, starts out naked in a shower. She is referred to by first name while the hero Jim Grand is referred to by his last name. No biggie, but there¿s a distinct bias in favor of the guy. The romantic couple of Dinosaur Wars are introduced fully clothed and both referred to by their first names, Kit and Chase. They go through their adventure together as equals and each has a role to play in the final resolution of the novel. Refreshing. That takes nothing away from Fatalis's excitement. Though I have griped a bit, I really did enjoy Fatalis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2000

    Fatalis

    It has been over two years since Jeff Rovin wrote VESPERS--the story of mutant bats terrorizing New York City--which was a fast pace, action filled novel that kept you sitting on the edge of your seat. I didn't think Mr. Rovin would be able to surpass that novel, but I was dead wrong. When I first saw the blurb on his newest book, FATALIS, I immediately thought that it was the same story as VESPERS, but with different creatures and a different locale. Because of that, I almost didn't buy the novel. It was only because I enjoyed VESPERS so much that I decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did. It only took the first chapter to hook me, then several hours later the book was finished, and I was a very happy camper. The story centers around a pack of saber-toothed cats(yes, cats is the correct term, not tigers)going on a killing rampage in the mountains surrounding Santa Barbara. It starts off with two road engineers disappearing after they are sent out to inspect a sinkhole that has suddenly appeared after heavy rains. Because the sinkhole leads down to some underground caverns, the county sheriff, Malcolm Gearhart, enlists the help of anthropologist, Jim Grand, who is also an expert on caverns. While searching for the missing engineers, Grand happens upon some evidence which leads him to believe that there may be saber-toothed cats roaming the mountains, No one, however, believes him, except for newspaper woman, Hannah Hughes, who is looking for a good story. Over the next couple of days people begin dying left and right, and it appears that the cats are headed to Los Angeles. Dr. Grand wants to try and save the cats, while Sheriff Gearhart, with the help of the National Guard, is determined to kill them. Who will win and who will die? Why are the cats headed to L.A.? The journey is an exciting one, and Mr. Rovin has structured most of the chapters to end with a sentence that hooks you into going on to the next chapter without a break. FATALIS is pure popcorn entertainment, and it is certainly a great book to read on a Saturday afternoon. If you enjoyed VESPERS, then by all means run out and get a copy of FATALIS. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    Fatalis

    It's been over two years since Jeff Rovin wrote VESPERS (the book's dust jacket stated that it was soon to be a major motion picture; well, I'm still waiting), which was an extremely fast pace, action-filled novel that kept the reader sitting on the edge of his or her seat. I knew there was no way Mr. Rovin could beat that book for sheer intensity. Then, I read the blurb on his newest novel, FATALIS. Instead of mutant bats attacking the citizens of New York City, this book dealt with saber-toothed cats (yes, cats is the correct term to use, not tigers)terrorizing the inhabitants of Santa Barbara and then Los Angeles. It sounded like the same story, just different creatures and a different locale. Because I enjoyed VESPERS so much, I decided to take a chance and purchased FATALIS. All it took was the first chapter to hook me, then several hours later the book was finished, and I was a very happy camper and certainly glad that I had taken the risk. The novel opens in the Santa Ynez Mountains north of Santa Barbara where a good-sized and very hungry Bobcat is trying to make a meal of a spaniel. Fortunately for the dog, however, its owner grabs her and rushes inside their home to safety. The Bobcat isn't so lucky. Something much bigger, meaner, and hungrier gets the cat and the story begins. The next day, two structural engineers disappear while checking out a sinkhole that has opened up due to a fissure in the surrounding landscape. The sinkhole leads to underground caverns. Sheriff Malcolm Gearhart enlist the aid of anthropolgy professor Jim Grand, who also happens to be an expert on caves. Newspaper woman Hannah Hughes smells a good story here and seeks the help of Grand in finding out the truth to what happened to the two engineers. In time, Dr. Grand begins to believe that saber-toothed cats killed the men, but no one will accept his theory, except for Hannah. When more killings begin to take place, the sheriff starts to realize that something is up and is determined to put a stop to it. Dr. Grand suspects that the pack of prehistoric cats is heading to Los Angeles and is determined to keep them from being killed by the sheriff and his men, not to mention the National Guard. How many people will have to die before the cats are stopped, and will Grand be able to keep the cats from being destroyed? Mr. Rovin carefully structures most of the chapters so that the last sentence will hook the reader and propel him/her on to the next chapter, with no room for stopping. You have to find out what happens next! FATALIS is pure popcorn entertainment, and is the kind of book you would enjoy spending a Saturday afternoon with. Buy it and have a day filled with total fun. I should point out, however, that the dust jacket on the book stated that the big screen version of FATALIS is coming soon. Is this deja vu, or what?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining horror novel

    They were ancient predators though to have become extinct in the last Ice Age. At least two have survived by being cryogenically frozen in the heart of a glacier. When the glacier melts, the duo makes their home inside the caves in the Santa Ynez Mountains near Santa Barbara. No one realizes they live there even though they kill humans. Sheriff Malcolm Gearhart is determined to hunt down the mass murderer who is leaving no clues at the crime scene save for an enormous amount of the victims¿ blood. <P>Paleoanthropologist Jim Grand studies some ancient Chumish drawings in one of the Santa Ynez caves when he finds some strange looking fur that he brings back to the college lab to be analyzed. Hannah Hughes, owner and publisher of the daily newspaper The Coastal Freeway, interviews Professor Grand. He shows her his find, fur that belongs to a living Smilidon fatalis. Hannah accompanies Jim back to the cave to see if they can locate the creature while the Sheriff tries to flush out the cave dwellers and kill them before the public learns they exist. Nobody realizes how cunning and intelligent these creatures really are or what their true agenda is. <P>Fans of Godzilla and Mothra movies will enjoy reading this modern day horror novel where the villains are prehistoric beings living in the twenty-first century. The audience will chillingly relish how effortlessly the monsters adapt to civilization. Jeff Rovin never allows the audience the luxury of knowing who is hunting whom, a situation that adds to the overall enjoyment of the story line. FATALIS should be a large success for the author whose vivid descriptions make for an easy movie adaptation. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1