BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fatally Flaky (Culinary Mystery Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Goldy (Davidson) Still Has the Touch

Having read all of the previous books in this series, I was not disappointed in the most recent catering murder mystery. Too bad godfather Jack will not be a continuing character--he had real potential. Davidson's attention to detail, both culinary and medical, is excel...
Having read all of the previous books in this series, I was not disappointed in the most recent catering murder mystery. Too bad godfather Jack will not be a continuing character--he had real potential. Davidson's attention to detail, both culinary and medical, is excellent. I could not guess the ending until the very end - very well done. And I love the great recipes at the end; several will be making their way into my kitchen binder. I have used many of the previous recipes over and over again.
Eagerly awaiting the next adventure - "Where everything is just Right!"

posted by DrDSB on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Flaky does indeed refer to Goldy

This book is definitely a guilty pleasure. Every time DMD comes out with a new one, I run to get it, but lately I've found myself questioning why. It's beginning to feel like the Goldy character has run its course. In this book, she is indeed flaky, unable to hold a tho...
This book is definitely a guilty pleasure. Every time DMD comes out with a new one, I run to get it, but lately I've found myself questioning why. It's beginning to feel like the Goldy character has run its course. In this book, she is indeed flaky, unable to hold a thought or put off an impulse for more than 10 seconds. C'mon, how can she be smart enough to solve a mystery if she's not smart enough to stop herself from following a clue to a deserted place - alone - at 3 a.m.? Duh!

DMD, look again at some of your earlier books in which Goldy was somewhat more three-dimensional. Over time, Goldy's faded into a less interesting, and certainly less likable, character.

posted by 299112 on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Flaky does indeed refer to Goldy

    This book is definitely a guilty pleasure. Every time DMD comes out with a new one, I run to get it, but lately I've found myself questioning why. It's beginning to feel like the Goldy character has run its course. In this book, she is indeed flaky, unable to hold a thought or put off an impulse for more than 10 seconds. C'mon, how can she be smart enough to solve a mystery if she's not smart enough to stop herself from following a clue to a deserted place - alone - at 3 a.m.? Duh!

    DMD, look again at some of your earlier books in which Goldy was somewhat more three-dimensional. Over time, Goldy's faded into a less interesting, and certainly less likable, character.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Great culinary read

    Diane Mott Davidson is one of a very few authors whose books I don't go to the back of the book to read the last chapter by the time I've gotten through chapter 3. Her books are very enjoyable and highly recommended. Enjoy!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Goldy (Davidson) Still Has the Touch

    Having read all of the previous books in this series, I was not disappointed in the most recent catering murder mystery. Too bad godfather Jack will not be a continuing character--he had real potential. Davidson's attention to detail, both culinary and medical, is excellent. I could not guess the ending until the very end - very well done. And I love the great recipes at the end; several will be making their way into my kitchen binder. I have used many of the previous recipes over and over again.
    Eagerly awaiting the next adventure - "Where everything is just Right!"

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Goldy Schultz does it again!

    A truly fun read! Goldy Schultz, caterer extraordinaire and amateur sleuth (much to the chagrin of her detective husband) returns in another roisterous, rowdy, mouthwatering mystery. In this latest installment we find her catering the wedding reception of the local bridezilla at the "Health Spa/Fat Farm" created by her arch-enemy, Victor Lane. But is Victor's spa as healthy as he would like everyone to believe? Is the death of the local favorite doctor an accident or murder? How is Goldy able to deal with all of this craziness and still stay sane? As that old TV commercial used to say "Read the book!"

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Diane Mott Davidson delivers yet again

    This latest offering from Ms. Davidson proves just as satisfying and mouth watering as all her previous works. This latest installment starring our favorite chef and caterer, Goldy Schultz draws you in yet again as she tries to solve a murder that touches closely to home. I love the way the plot unfolds and has just enough twists to keep you hooked all the way to the end. And all those recipes are an added bonus that I always look forward to in every one of Ms. Davidson's books. For those of you who love murder mysteries and cooking, this is one book that gives you the best of both worlds.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series!

    I read Davidson's books in between my love of non-fiction. Her books are a fun easy escape and this title is no different. Absorbing and entertaining, Davidson has hit the mark again. Plus, the recipes are pretty tasty - how fun to get a great book and new recipes to try. It may be a gimmick, but I love it!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Love all of her books!

    Funny, interesting and great food! What could be better!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Only buy it if there's nothing else

    Book had a few moments but not nearly enough to hold my attention. It was a struggle to finish it. Serious overuse of the words godfather and godchild. Apparently the author was afraid we would forget who was who.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    So-so read

    Not up to her older standards and the editing was atrocious! Seems to be common with e-books....

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Catering Gets Complicated

    Not only does Goldy cater two difficult weddings, she cooks at a spa and solves several murders! Wow! If you are familiar with the series, you will enjoy finding out what Goldy is up to next. But the action gets pretty frantic and there seem to be a lot of minor characters that don't add much to the plot. That said, one of the reasons I buy these books is to check out the recipes and I wasn't disappointed with Fatally Flaky. I can only use Diane Mott Davidson's recipes for very special events, but Fatally Flaky Cookies and the recipe for Black-and-White Cake with Chocolate Glaze look deliciously unforgettable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Good recipes for more involved cooking/baking

    the book is a good read and fast readers (like me) finish it in a short time...day or less. The recipes by the author are usually good ones to try, but this time they seemed a bit more than I would want to put into making them. Joanne Fluke books are very similar and the latest had more recipes that I liked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great Book

    I love the whole series, I think it is better to start with the first one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Fans won't be disappointed

    I am a big fan of the series and this installment was very good. Interesting characters along with all our old friends. You can feel Goldie's frustration with her psycho bride, her sadness and, well, I don't want to spoil anything! Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Another great book from Diane Mott Davidson

    I have every book by this author and she keeps getting better. For regular readers you will recognise all the old familiar faces. As always she has some great recipes at the end. Definitely a good thriller.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Culinary Caper

    This novel was truly a "culinary" delight. Enjoyed "eating" this mystery right up. The novel plot, characters, and descriptions were well developed, and kept me wanting to read until the mystery was unraveled. As with all of Diane Mott Davidson's culinary capers this was a delight. Wish the book came with some of the foods tucked in it to enjoy while reading about them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Does Flaky refer to Goldy?

    I confess: Diane Mott Davidson's catering mysteries are my guilty pleasures. Reading this book I wondered what it is about Goldy that I like. Honestly, she's a caffeine-addled, obsessive busybody in unrealistic situations. Yet she is loveable. At least in this book she doesn't just happen to stumble upon a corpse as she frequently does in others. But I digress . . . This is a fun, quick read. Fans of DMD won't be disappointed. And the mouth-watering descriptions of the food she prepares will inspire you to try out some of the recipes or at least wish you had your own personal chef.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Goldy Schultz does it again!

    Diana Mott Davidson's latest bite into the culinary mystery has you feeling full and satisified when you finish reading. The book takes on a new mystery as the local caterer Goldy and her detective husband work to solve the mysterious deaths of her godfather and his best friend. Lots of mystery surrounding the new spa and its owner, along with disasterous weddings will have any fan of culinary mysteries wanting second helpings. I can't wait for serving #16.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Hello anybody Really getting bored

    :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Fun characters, lots of things going on

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    A long time ago

    Fourteen books ago I read the first of these cylinary mysteries, and was totally turned off. This one helped change that.

    The characters are well developed, have great voices and verve, and the storyline is intriguing.

    I may have to search for the other 13.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10