Customer Reviews for

Fated (Soul Seekers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

WOW, This book was AMAZING!! You Must give it a Chance. Better than Immortals Series Even!!

I had always thought Alyson Noël's writing was beautiful before this, but I’ll tell you, she has done it again, but better. The way she writes in itself, feels magical, it really sucks you right into the story your reading. Her descriptions, are so vivid, its stunning w...
I had always thought Alyson Noël's writing was beautiful before this, but I’ll tell you, she has done it again, but better. The way she writes in itself, feels magical, it really sucks you right into the story your reading. Her descriptions, are so vivid, its stunning when it feels like a movie is playing out in your head as you read. And the emotions you feel are awesome, you feel along with the characters. It touches you in such a good way, you just can't put the book down, and leaves you wanting more when your done.

I really did enjoy this new book by Alyson Noël, It was amazingly mind-blowing novel, filled with magic, mystery, and a really awsome guy. Very much a typical Alyson novel.. and I loved it so much! I know when the Immortals series had ended I was really sad to see it go, as it was one of my favorite series, but this definitely filled that void. Not to mention, I had read the free short story of when Ever meets Daire (you can get it free , check Alyson's website to learn more) it shows me its still the same type of world Ever was from. This is all about Daire and Dace, and its so beautifully written. With magic and suspense filling the pages with such a unique story, I can’t help but want more.

The book is about a whole new type of people, Soul Seekers, Daire has these visions, and she thinks she is going crazy, so goes to live with her grandma in New Mexico. Once there, she learns she is a Soul Seeker, and she starts her training with her. Then she meets the boy of her dreams, and then the bad one of course, some major stuff happens for sure. I do not want to spoil it for anyone.

I’ll say the story was beautifully planned, going from one chapter to the next was seamless, and its such a unique story, I was amazed at the time and effort I know she had to put into this story, I know she had to have visited New Mexico to get all that so perfect, as I myself have been there before, and she described it all so perfect.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed Alyson’s previous work, but even if you have not, this would be a good one to start with. It’s very well written, and has the mystical suspense going on in a very believable way too.

Here is some quotes I liked:

quote (Kindle Location 1624): Daire thinking about Dace “The sheer sight of him causing my limbs to tremble, my body to sway toward his-much like it did in the dream. The two of us drawn to each other-bound by forces unseen.”

A quote (Kindle location 3960) I like Dace to Daire: “I had an irresistible pull to come here, so I followed my instincts, and now I know why”

posted by ConciseReviewsByMichelleL on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. I

The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. It was pretty cliche, to be honest, but not awful.
Let's start with the negatives:
- The names. I've learned that in teen books nobody can have a normal name. Obviously the first one to object to is her mom,...
The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. It was pretty cliche, to be honest, but not awful.
Let's start with the negatives:
- The names. I've learned that in teen books nobody can have a normal name. Obviously the first one to object to is her mom, Jennika. (who she called 'Jennika' and not 'mom' because of some lame excuse that "I raised her as much as she raised me" -__-) I can deal with Paloma and Chay having less than common names, because their characters are supposed to be from different ethnic groups. But Daire? I googled it, and its a boys name meaning 'wealth' and 'popularity' neither of which are traits that Daire really has.
- Good/Evil twins. Like I said, cliche. And the worst part is that the twins' names are 'Dace' and 'Cade'. She just switched the D and the C and made two names out of it.

Positives:
- I thought the plot was pretty original, even if it was gone about in a cliche way.
- It kept my interest, for the most part, there weren't a lot of placing where I was wishing everything would move faster

However, right now I'm putting the rest of the series on hold. Maybe if there's a time when I've got nothing to read I'll pick the rest up, but I have no plans to read them in the immediate future.

posted by TiareSho on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW, This book was AMAZING!! You Must give it a Chance. Better than Immortals Series Even!!

    I had always thought Alyson Noël's writing was beautiful before this, but I’ll tell you, she has done it again, but better. The way she writes in itself, feels magical, it really sucks you right into the story your reading. Her descriptions, are so vivid, its stunning when it feels like a movie is playing out in your head as you read. And the emotions you feel are awesome, you feel along with the characters. It touches you in such a good way, you just can't put the book down, and leaves you wanting more when your done.

    I really did enjoy this new book by Alyson Noël, It was amazingly mind-blowing novel, filled with magic, mystery, and a really awsome guy. Very much a typical Alyson novel.. and I loved it so much! I know when the Immortals series had ended I was really sad to see it go, as it was one of my favorite series, but this definitely filled that void. Not to mention, I had read the free short story of when Ever meets Daire (you can get it free , check Alyson's website to learn more) it shows me its still the same type of world Ever was from. This is all about Daire and Dace, and its so beautifully written. With magic and suspense filling the pages with such a unique story, I can’t help but want more.

    The book is about a whole new type of people, Soul Seekers, Daire has these visions, and she thinks she is going crazy, so goes to live with her grandma in New Mexico. Once there, she learns she is a Soul Seeker, and she starts her training with her. Then she meets the boy of her dreams, and then the bad one of course, some major stuff happens for sure. I do not want to spoil it for anyone.

    I’ll say the story was beautifully planned, going from one chapter to the next was seamless, and its such a unique story, I was amazed at the time and effort I know she had to put into this story, I know she had to have visited New Mexico to get all that so perfect, as I myself have been there before, and she described it all so perfect.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed Alyson’s previous work, but even if you have not, this would be a good one to start with. It’s very well written, and has the mystical suspense going on in a very believable way too.

    Here is some quotes I liked:

    quote (Kindle Location 1624): Daire thinking about Dace “The sheer sight of him causing my limbs to tremble, my body to sway toward his-much like it did in the dream. The two of us drawn to each other-bound by forces unseen.”

    A quote (Kindle location 3960) I like Dace to Daire: “I had an irresistible pull to come here, so I followed my instincts, and now I know why”

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Can't wait! :)

    I've loved Alyson Noel's writing ever since I read The Immortals series and I know I'll love this one just as much! I wish May 22 would come faster!

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed

    Posted on Romancing the Books blog
    Reviewed by Jen
    Review Copy Provided by Deb Shapiro and Company

    I am in no way an expert or even a regular reader of young adult books. Yes, I’m a Harry Potter fan and I’ve even endured my way through the Twilight series, but that’s really about it. I didn’t even really read this genre when I was a young adult. However, I have been silently watching the genre grow in popularity over the last couple years and have heard a lot of good things about Alyson Noël’s books. So, when I was contacted to review Fated, the first book in her new series, I was ready for the challenge.

    Now I’ll admit, this book started off a little slow for me. There is a lot of world building and introducing of characters and I’d say the first 100 or so pages plodded along. But then all of the sudden everything clicked and the story just started moving and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. And when I got to the last page, I wasn’t ready for the story to be over. I want the next book… NOW.

    Daire is a pretty mature sixteen year old because of her upbringing. Right from the start, we learn she’s not your normal girl. She’s in Morocco with her mom, who is a movie make-up artist, and is “dating” a young movie star. Daire has grown up around celebrities and in exotic locales. But when she seems to be going insane, she is sent to live in rural New Mexico with her grandmother (whom she never knew) and gets thrown into a paranormal world. She has to be strong dealing with all these unfamiliar forces and faces. And then throw in her destiny she has to fulfill…

    As I’ve not read many books that explore Native American and Hispanic traditions, this whole paranormal world was quite unique and interesting to me. I’d heard about spirit guides and vision quests before, but Noël really explores this tradition and then weaves it into the multidimensional world she’s drawn to create magic. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen to Daire and the rest of the residents of Enchantment, New Mexico as Daire continues in her role as a Soul Seeker.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wow

    I can't wait to read this i just finnished the imortals series and they were amaing!!!!

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Good

    Just skip the chapters writen in itallic if ur 12 or younger

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Should i read this? A simple question.

    Should i read this? A simple question.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Alyson's Noel series The Immortals, you'll love this

    If you love Alyson's Noel series The Immortals, you'll love this book. Some of the plot goes along the same of The Immortal, exciting and deadly addicting!


    What I enjoyed most about this book is the character. Daire is kept in the dark about her past and seeing her learn about her past makes it so exciting to me. Her revelation of who and what she is left me smiling big. I had this same feeling with the immortal series, and I read that series till the last book.


    The love interest is so dark and sexy. Caught between good and evil, you can't help but fall in love with it. Not to mention that it is uh...well, I don't want to spoil it but this scenrio I felt is written so well. Captivating moments and feelings, some parts of the book left me breatheless.


    What also captured me about this book is the explortaion of culture. I love that Ms. Noel does such a fantastic job of really reseaching her information well enough to where you feel as knowledgeable. You know what I mean? The reader is not left out but brought in, in such bright culture with names and wonderful places.


    Fated is an excellent, capivating book. With amazing characters that I know will lead on a great adventure, I can't wait to see what happens next!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Alyson noel

    I am 10 and i love these books i have radiance

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. I

    The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. It was pretty cliche, to be honest, but not awful.
    Let's start with the negatives:
    - The names. I've learned that in teen books nobody can have a normal name. Obviously the first one to object to is her mom, Jennika. (who she called 'Jennika' and not 'mom' because of some lame excuse that "I raised her as much as she raised me" -__-) I can deal with Paloma and Chay having less than common names, because their characters are supposed to be from different ethnic groups. But Daire? I googled it, and its a boys name meaning 'wealth' and 'popularity' neither of which are traits that Daire really has.
    - Good/Evil twins. Like I said, cliche. And the worst part is that the twins' names are 'Dace' and 'Cade'. She just switched the D and the C and made two names out of it.

    Positives:
    - I thought the plot was pretty original, even if it was gone about in a cliche way.
    - It kept my interest, for the most part, there weren't a lot of placing where I was wishing everything would move faster

    However, right now I'm putting the rest of the series on hold. Maybe if there's a time when I've got nothing to read I'll pick the rest up, but I have no plans to read them in the immediate future.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Erica :D

    I love this book so far. Its DEEP!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the book it was lots of twist and turns in Fated I really

    Loved the book it was lots of twist and turns in Fated I really can't wait to see what happens next It's way different then Evermore that is for sure. Your writing is amazing with the romance,family/friends,mystery,this book has everything it took me just 3hrs to finish it! The start was a bit confusing but until i got up to the twin brothers i understood how she had to handle the relationship between them and who can she trust with friends. Her mom struck me as someone who didn't understand Daire true gift she was scared and wanting her to go back to her old life but she found someone new and found where she belongs I say this is a great book I can't wait for the second one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Overestimated

    This book for me was a bit boring, I got through the first couple of chapters and there still wasnt any explanation. All i could do is mourn my empty pockets for taking in a book i didn't look into well enough.
    Other than a very poor backstory I had hopes for what was to come, but gave up before I could get to that point.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Are you fated to read this book? During the past couple of weeks

    Are you fated to read this book? During the past couple of weeks I have spent time reading Fated by Alyson Noël and have enjoyed every minute of it. At first, I was in a confused state of mind and wasn’t quite sure what I was getting myself into, but after reading more and more I began to really feel the mood of the author. This book is full of intensity, adventure, love, perseverance, and much more. Right away I was drawn in by the cover. The mysterious woods scene in a purple color and pretty girl on the front made me feel connected. As I began to read the book I noticed the author’s phenomenal word choice and writing style. The final thing that made me love this book was the suspense. Every moment left me hanging and begging for more.
    As stated before, the cover got me interested right off the bat. It has a dark and light purple contrast that popped out in a certain way to me. The front of the cover has a mystical sense to it, which led me to believe that the inside was full of intense scenes and suspenseful messages. There are silhouetted birds flying all around on the front and the back that seem to be swarming around a gorgeous young woman. If you choose to read the book, you can find out what the birds symbolize and who the beautiful girl is. The synopsis on the back cover was pretty deep. “The boy from my dream. The one who died in my arms.” Hmmmm, I wonder who that could be? Actually, I do know, but that is only because I read the book. Would you like to find out who the mystery boy is?
    If you choose to listen to me and read the book, then you too will find that the author has a wonder with words. She makes simple explanations or descriptions turn into real life visuals and relatable actions. I felt like I was a character in the book at many times because of her strong choice of words and her abilities to describe such straightforward things. Alyson does excellent at drawing her readers in closer and closer by being so vivid and imaginable. There are a couple of heated moments throughout the story that believe it or not make people jealous. The way she describes characters and events in the book are incredible. Sometimes as a reader we get confused and would love to question the author or characters more, but there is no need for that in this book. There are conversations throughout the story that involve the main character asking questions that a reader may have. I thought that technique was clever on the author’s part. I really suggest reading this novel if you want to get some action and intensity in your life.
    The third thing that made me feel connected to this book was the fact that I was hung on suspense non-stop. I read this book in four different chunks and could hardly wait to continue reading each time. From beginning to end the story had extreme and passionate events that kept me on the edge of my seat. There are moments that make you feel like you never want to stop reading. There are moments that make you want to gasp and be like “What?!” There are also moments that will make you want to jump right into the book and help out or knock some sense into certain characters. But those moments are the ones that are amazing to feel while reading a book. You should get involved like that and wish you were a part of the story when reading. The author did an amazing job at catching my eye, catching my mood, and catching my emotion throughout the whole story, and I am almost positive she will do the same for you!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Awesome read

    It's been quite awhile since i have found a book i didn't want to put down. I would reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for a read that contains magick, mystery, action and a bit of love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    I had been anxiously waiting on the release for Fated after havi

    I had been anxiously waiting on the release for Fated after having read The Immortal Series and the Riley Bloom Series. I was also trying to keep my expectations on an average level since The Immortal Series was a bit up and down for me (I have issues with book 3, lol) but really enjoy reading about Riley Bloom. Alyson Noel's writing and world-building is astounding! The story-line is somewhat similar to The Immortal Series in that both main characters learn that there is much more than just the world that we live in. But the similarities end there. The Mexican and American Indian influence and folklore to it was so interesting to follow which gives the book such a distinct supernatural feel. I cannot even imagine the amount of research that was done to create such a story.


    The main character, Daire, travels the world with her mother, Jennika, who is a celebrity make-up artist. While traveling, Daire starts to have visions that would cause any person to never want to leave their house again. As time goes by, while in Morocco, the vision gets worse, more graphic and scary to which she finally has a break down. Trying to keep Daire safe and out of the hospital, Jennika agrees to let Daire stay with her grandmother who live in Enchanted, New Mexico. While there, Daire learns about her dead father's family, why Daire has these visions and who she really is.
    It is fascinating to learn everything alongside with this main character.

    And yes, there is a love interest. It is a combination of it being insta-love and not. It is hard to explain and one to definitely read and follow along. I don't want to give any spoilers, just know, I really loved how they came together.

    I am really looking forward to learning more about who and why a certain someone or someones is 'fated' and why a particular someone is referred to as the 'echo'.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    A must read

    A girl with hidden powers goes ina journey to control and discover them. Along the way she meets a boy (dace) who is hor abd nice. A book you cant put down.
    A loveer of books,
    -Aubrey

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    ASDFGHJKL

    This was a realllyyyyyy good book. But i still like damen wayyyy better than dace.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Absolutely LOVE this book can't wait for the second!!! :D

    Absolutely LOVE this book can't wait for the second!!! :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Book Lover January 4th, 2014

    This author is the best I've heard of! If you liked the immortals you'll love this book just like I did! If you haven't yet read the immortals it's amazing and you should read it!

    This book is about a 16 yr old named Daire who suffers from horrible visions that seem so real. Daire is then sent to live with her grandmother she never knew so she can follow her destinee as a soul seeker and learn to deal with her horrifying visions. When she meets the cute boy from her dreams she is overwhelmed and doesn't know what to do, but her grandmother is always there to help her. Torn between loving a boy and following her destinee, Daire has to make impossible choices and face her worst dreams to concure all evil. Little does Daire know love always prevails.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7