Customer Reviews for

Fated (Soul Seekers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

WOW, This book was AMAZING!! You Must give it a Chance. Better than Immortals Series Even!!

I had always thought Alyson Noël's writing was beautiful before this, but I’ll tell you, she has done it again, but better. The way she writes in itself, feels magical, it really sucks you right into the story your reading. Her descriptions, are so vivid, its stunning w...
I had always thought Alyson Noël's writing was beautiful before this, but I’ll tell you, she has done it again, but better. The way she writes in itself, feels magical, it really sucks you right into the story your reading. Her descriptions, are so vivid, its stunning when it feels like a movie is playing out in your head as you read. And the emotions you feel are awesome, you feel along with the characters. It touches you in such a good way, you just can't put the book down, and leaves you wanting more when your done.

I really did enjoy this new book by Alyson Noël, It was amazingly mind-blowing novel, filled with magic, mystery, and a really awsome guy. Very much a typical Alyson novel.. and I loved it so much! I know when the Immortals series had ended I was really sad to see it go, as it was one of my favorite series, but this definitely filled that void. Not to mention, I had read the free short story of when Ever meets Daire (you can get it free , check Alyson's website to learn more) it shows me its still the same type of world Ever was from. This is all about Daire and Dace, and its so beautifully written. With magic and suspense filling the pages with such a unique story, I can’t help but want more.

The book is about a whole new type of people, Soul Seekers, Daire has these visions, and she thinks she is going crazy, so goes to live with her grandma in New Mexico. Once there, she learns she is a Soul Seeker, and she starts her training with her. Then she meets the boy of her dreams, and then the bad one of course, some major stuff happens for sure. I do not want to spoil it for anyone.

I’ll say the story was beautifully planned, going from one chapter to the next was seamless, and its such a unique story, I was amazed at the time and effort I know she had to put into this story, I know she had to have visited New Mexico to get all that so perfect, as I myself have been there before, and she described it all so perfect.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed Alyson’s previous work, but even if you have not, this would be a good one to start with. It’s very well written, and has the mystical suspense going on in a very believable way too.

Here is some quotes I liked:

quote (Kindle Location 1624): Daire thinking about Dace “The sheer sight of him causing my limbs to tremble, my body to sway toward his-much like it did in the dream. The two of us drawn to each other-bound by forces unseen.”

A quote (Kindle location 3960) I like Dace to Daire: “I had an irresistible pull to come here, so I followed my instincts, and now I know why”

posted by ConciseReviewsByMichelleL on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. I

The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. It was pretty cliche, to be honest, but not awful.
Let's start with the negatives:
- The names. I've learned that in teen books nobody can have a normal name. Obviously the first one to object to is her mom,...
The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. It was pretty cliche, to be honest, but not awful.
Let's start with the negatives:
- The names. I've learned that in teen books nobody can have a normal name. Obviously the first one to object to is her mom, Jennika. (who she called 'Jennika' and not 'mom' because of some lame excuse that "I raised her as much as she raised me" -__-) I can deal with Paloma and Chay having less than common names, because their characters are supposed to be from different ethnic groups. But Daire? I googled it, and its a boys name meaning 'wealth' and 'popularity' neither of which are traits that Daire really has.
- Good/Evil twins. Like I said, cliche. And the worst part is that the twins' names are 'Dace' and 'Cade'. She just switched the D and the C and made two names out of it.

Positives:
- I thought the plot was pretty original, even if it was gone about in a cliche way.
- It kept my interest, for the most part, there weren't a lot of placing where I was wishing everything would move faster

However, right now I'm putting the rest of the series on hold. Maybe if there's a time when I've got nothing to read I'll pick the rest up, but I have no plans to read them in the immediate future.

posted by TiareSho on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed

    Posted on Romancing the Books blog
    Reviewed by Jen
    Review Copy Provided by Deb Shapiro and Company

    I am in no way an expert or even a regular reader of young adult books. Yes, I’m a Harry Potter fan and I’ve even endured my way through the Twilight series, but that’s really about it. I didn’t even really read this genre when I was a young adult. However, I have been silently watching the genre grow in popularity over the last couple years and have heard a lot of good things about Alyson Noël’s books. So, when I was contacted to review Fated, the first book in her new series, I was ready for the challenge.

    Now I’ll admit, this book started off a little slow for me. There is a lot of world building and introducing of characters and I’d say the first 100 or so pages plodded along. But then all of the sudden everything clicked and the story just started moving and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. And when I got to the last page, I wasn’t ready for the story to be over. I want the next book… NOW.

    Daire is a pretty mature sixteen year old because of her upbringing. Right from the start, we learn she’s not your normal girl. She’s in Morocco with her mom, who is a movie make-up artist, and is “dating” a young movie star. Daire has grown up around celebrities and in exotic locales. But when she seems to be going insane, she is sent to live in rural New Mexico with her grandmother (whom she never knew) and gets thrown into a paranormal world. She has to be strong dealing with all these unfamiliar forces and faces. And then throw in her destiny she has to fulfill…

    As I’ve not read many books that explore Native American and Hispanic traditions, this whole paranormal world was quite unique and interesting to me. I’d heard about spirit guides and vision quests before, but Noël really explores this tradition and then weaves it into the multidimensional world she’s drawn to create magic. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen to Daire and the rest of the residents of Enchantment, New Mexico as Daire continues in her role as a Soul Seeker.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Good

    Just skip the chapters writen in itallic if ur 12 or younger

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Alyson's Noel series The Immortals, you'll love this

    If you love Alyson's Noel series The Immortals, you'll love this book. Some of the plot goes along the same of The Immortal, exciting and deadly addicting!


    What I enjoyed most about this book is the character. Daire is kept in the dark about her past and seeing her learn about her past makes it so exciting to me. Her revelation of who and what she is left me smiling big. I had this same feeling with the immortal series, and I read that series till the last book.


    The love interest is so dark and sexy. Caught between good and evil, you can't help but fall in love with it. Not to mention that it is uh...well, I don't want to spoil it but this scenrio I felt is written so well. Captivating moments and feelings, some parts of the book left me breatheless.


    What also captured me about this book is the explortaion of culture. I love that Ms. Noel does such a fantastic job of really reseaching her information well enough to where you feel as knowledgeable. You know what I mean? The reader is not left out but brought in, in such bright culture with names and wonderful places.


    Fated is an excellent, capivating book. With amazing characters that I know will lead on a great adventure, I can't wait to see what happens next!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Are you fated to read this book? During the past couple of weeks

    Are you fated to read this book? During the past couple of weeks I have spent time reading Fated by Alyson Noël and have enjoyed every minute of it. At first, I was in a confused state of mind and wasn’t quite sure what I was getting myself into, but after reading more and more I began to really feel the mood of the author. This book is full of intensity, adventure, love, perseverance, and much more. Right away I was drawn in by the cover. The mysterious woods scene in a purple color and pretty girl on the front made me feel connected. As I began to read the book I noticed the author’s phenomenal word choice and writing style. The final thing that made me love this book was the suspense. Every moment left me hanging and begging for more.
    As stated before, the cover got me interested right off the bat. It has a dark and light purple contrast that popped out in a certain way to me. The front of the cover has a mystical sense to it, which led me to believe that the inside was full of intense scenes and suspenseful messages. There are silhouetted birds flying all around on the front and the back that seem to be swarming around a gorgeous young woman. If you choose to read the book, you can find out what the birds symbolize and who the beautiful girl is. The synopsis on the back cover was pretty deep. “The boy from my dream. The one who died in my arms.” Hmmmm, I wonder who that could be? Actually, I do know, but that is only because I read the book. Would you like to find out who the mystery boy is?
    If you choose to listen to me and read the book, then you too will find that the author has a wonder with words. She makes simple explanations or descriptions turn into real life visuals and relatable actions. I felt like I was a character in the book at many times because of her strong choice of words and her abilities to describe such straightforward things. Alyson does excellent at drawing her readers in closer and closer by being so vivid and imaginable. There are a couple of heated moments throughout the story that believe it or not make people jealous. The way she describes characters and events in the book are incredible. Sometimes as a reader we get confused and would love to question the author or characters more, but there is no need for that in this book. There are conversations throughout the story that involve the main character asking questions that a reader may have. I thought that technique was clever on the author’s part. I really suggest reading this novel if you want to get some action and intensity in your life.
    The third thing that made me feel connected to this book was the fact that I was hung on suspense non-stop. I read this book in four different chunks and could hardly wait to continue reading each time. From beginning to end the story had extreme and passionate events that kept me on the edge of my seat. There are moments that make you feel like you never want to stop reading. There are moments that make you want to gasp and be like “What?!” There are also moments that will make you want to jump right into the book and help out or knock some sense into certain characters. But those moments are the ones that are amazing to feel while reading a book. You should get involved like that and wish you were a part of the story when reading. The author did an amazing job at catching my eye, catching my mood, and catching my emotion throughout the whole story, and I am almost positive she will do the same for you!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    ASDFGHJKL

    This was a realllyyyyyy good book. But i still like damen wayyyy better than dace.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf Reviews

    I really enjoyed this first book in a new series by Alyson Noel. I was unfamiliar with her other work but had heard good things and Fated lived up to them.

    The story built slowly, gradually letting us in on Daire and her gift/curse as she's sent by her mother (as a last resort) to live with a grandmother (Paloma) that she doesn't know...but who seems to know her and what is going on with her all too well. Noel takes a bit of a meandering path as Paloma tries to teach Daire what she needs to know to survive this family legacy and then the end rushes upon us and suddenly the tale is over.

    At times I felt very frustrated that Daire and Paloma did not seem to take this whole situation as seriously as I would have. Daire seemed to have a devil may care attitude from the beginning which did get a bit grating and Paloma put her grandaughter in so many dangerous situations with little or no preparation that I had a hard time finding it completely believable. Despite all this, or perhaps because of it, both of their characters did seem to have quite a bit of growth through the novel...especially in their interpersonal relationship. I credit Noel's writing style and prowess also for keeping me engaged with the story and Daire's journey despite the slow pace.

    Daire is not only on a mystical journey but also one of self discovery and growth as are all teens, she is trying to navigate her way through going from being a world traveler living out of a suitcase and being schooled online and to finding herself in a small town living with a woman she doesn't know and attending high school with all it's drama, cliques, etc. The secondary characters like Cade, Clayton, Xotichl and Lita are wonderflully fleshed out and add so much to the story.

    The romance aspect of the story was a tad disappointing.... Dace was a very underdeveloped characetr in my opinion and the whole soul-mates/insta-love thing rarely wows me unless done incredibly well...and sadly that was not the case here. However, look to the romance between Xotichl's and Auden and you'll have your swoon-worthy moments.

    The biggest draw for me was the setting and mythology. I found both to be fresh and to add so much to the story. I loved the way Noel wove so much Native American tradition and lore into the book. It gave it a richness and a depth that it would otherwise have been lacking and kept me hooked and reading until the end.

    All in all it was an enjoyable read and I'm hoping that now that the backstory is laid out and the characters drawn that the series will only improve. I'll look forward to the next in the Soul Seekers series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    :)

    I've had this book in my library for a while and every time i began reading it, i stopped. Now that i actually finished this book i don't know why i didn't read it sooner! it was honestly really good. i loved how Daire grows throughout the book and starts becoming a powerful seeker and a smart young woman. I loved the immortal series and im loving this one too. The way Alyson Noel writes is amazing. She sucks you into this world of magic making everything she writes about feeling real. Although sometimes it did feel pretty slow in getting into the plot i didn't really mind it. And of course, just as i wish Damen were real, i wish Dace were real :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    I liked it(:

    I really like all the characters and the plot. I think the author did a wonderful job except I think that she could have decribed things better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. Although it's more young adult it was interesting with beautiful NM Native American lore and i enjoyed learning about the healer and the seeker. I liked the whole good vs evil thing with a little sweet romance thrown in to set the plot. I found myself cheering on Daire when she has to confront her mother, but thats all l'll say as not to spoil the story. I will read the whole trilogy. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Native American Myth, Magic and Destiny

    Filled with Native American myths, dark evil vs good, <b>Fated</b> plunges a sixteen year-old girl into a world she never knew existed. Terrorized by nightmares filled with ravens, death and blood, Daire fears she is losing her mind. The time has come for her to know the secrets held by her father’s family and the legacy he left her.

    The story builds slowly, as we are pulled into a world that transcends what we can physically see, taste or touch. Demons are real. souls are being stolen, piece by piece until the remaining body is a mere empty shell. Can Daire stop the growing evil when few believe it even exists? Could an entire town be under the spell of one powerful demonic family with hopes of taking over all of the realms in existence?
    With Daire as our narrator, sometimes what the reader is willing to accept is dashed by her refusal to accept this strange new world. Not always completely likable, Daire is a strong character who is willing to do whatever she feels she should to protect those around her. But are her ways always correct? What about Dace? Is he merely an extension of his evil twin or is he the light to his brother’s darkness?
    Ms. Noel writes with a crisp sense of style and is very straightforward with the interaction her characters have. As the tension rises and the pace quickens, the dialogue becomes even more direct, fitting the heightened sense of urgency well. With a cast of distinctly unique and potentially fascinating characters, there is a lot of world to be explored in future additions to this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Good YA

    Tony Hillerman it is not, but if you can chuck out any expectations of "real" Native American mysticism, it has interesting premises and world building. I personally get a little tired of teen-age whining therefore I don't read a lot of Young Adult. Nevertheless, the author is skilled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Are you fated to read this book? During the past couple of week

    Are you fated to read this book?
    During the past couple of weeks I have spent time reading Fated by Alyson Noël and have enjoyed every minute of it. At first, I was in a confused state of mind and wasn’t quite sure what I was getting myself into, but after reading more and more I began to really feel the mood of the author. This book is full of intensity, adventure, love, perseverance, and much more. Right away I was drawn in by the cover. The mysterious woods scene in a purple color and pretty girl on the front made me feel connected. As I began to read the book I noticed the author’s phenomenal word choice and writing style. The final thing that made me love this book was the suspense. Every moment left me hanging and begging for more.
    As stated before, the cover got me interested right off the bat. It has a dark and light purple contrast that popped out in a certain way to me. The front of the cover has a mystical sense to it, which led me to believe that the inside was full of intense scenes and suspenseful messages. There are silhouetted birds flying all around on the front and the back that seem to be swarming around a gorgeous young woman. If you choose to read the book, you can find out what the birds symbolize and who the beautiful girl is. The synopsis on the back cover was pretty deep. “The boy from my dream. The one who died in my arms.” Hmmmm, I wonder who that could be? Actually, I do know, but that is only because I read the book. Would you like to find out who the mystery boy is? 
    If you choose to listen to me and read the book, then you too will find that the author has a wonder with words. She makes simple explanations or descriptions turn into real life visuals and relatable actions. I felt like I was a character in the book at many times because of her strong choice of words and her abilities to describe such straightforward things. Alyson does excellent at drawing her readers in closer and closer by being so vivid and imaginable. There are a couple of heated moments throughout the story that believe it or not make people jealous. The way she describes characters and events in the book are incredible. Sometimes as a reader we get confused and would love to question the author or characters more, but there is no need for that in this book. There are conversations throughout the story that involve the main character asking questions that a reader may have. I thought that technique was clever on the author’s part. I really suggest reading this novel if you want to get some action and intensity in your life. 
    The third thing that made me feel connected to this book was the fact that I was hung on suspense non-stop. I read this book in four different chunks and could hardly wait to continue reading each time. From beginning to end the story had extreme and passionate events that kept me on the edge of my seat. There are moments that make you feel like you never want to stop reading. There are moments that make you want to gasp and be like “What?!” There are also moments that will make you want to jump right into the book and help out or knock some sense into certain characters. But those moments are the ones that are amazing to feel while reading a book. You should get involved like that and wish you were a part of the story when reading. The author did an amazing job at catching my eye, catching my mood, and catching my emotion throughout the whole story, and I am almost positive she will do the same for you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Hi help again grades 8+

    Forget my question i alreasy got an answe from public library says grades eight and up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A great read - need to get

    I loved the charterers in the book. The main charterer Daire can come across as a little whiney at first but seems to grow into her roll and responsibility as you read. I definitely recommend reading the book. It has a great story line and I can't wait to see how Dace and Daire do, what Case has up his sleeve, and what she gets into next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Fated

    I’ve been a big fan of Alyson Noël since I got into reading in the YA scene. Her Immortals series enchanted me and if you haven’t read the novels yet, I highly recommend them. With the fact that I read the Immortals series and the Radiance novels, I assumed that (despite being set in another world entirely) Fated would have characters similar to the ones that were introduced in Noël’s other works. So, you can imagine my surprise when I found out that almost all of the characters in Fated were brand new!

    I really want to mention the index at the beginning of the novel, before we even get into our plot. Fated has a little chart (others call it a glossary, I call it a chart. Deal with it) that shows the definitions of every single spirit animal that Daire Santos encounters in the story.

    Now we have our main character Daire Santos whose lived with her mother all her life since her Dad died before Daire’s birth. Some of you might think that that’s nothing—but Daire’s also travelled the world since her mother is a Hollywood make-up artist. Because of this, we are thrown into the story when Daire is making out with a teen heartthrob (#jealous….) and ends up encountering the “glowing ones” who are beings that only Daire can see. Then they force Daire to see really disturbing things, which causes her to act out and force doctors to believe that she has gone, to put it bluntly, insane. But, instead of being sent to a psychiatric hospital, Daire is sent to her Grandmother in Enchanted, New Mexico where she learns that she is a Soul Seeker. Her Grandmother, Paloma, then forces Daire to learn how to be the best Soul Seeker she can possibly be.

    As if you can’t top that plot, there’s also the fact that Daire has been having dreams about two boys with gorgeous blue eyes and how one of them wants to kill her while she falls in love with the other. No big deal right? Wrong. These guys are real…Cade and Dace are their names and throughout the story we are unsure what their motives truly are. All we know is that Cade is the bad guy and Dace’s intentions are unknown despite his sweet pacifist façade.

    Personally, I loved the very spiritual portion of the story. It made it seem very genuine and of course, gave more food for thought. Earlier in the review, I mentioned Daire seeing disturbing things, and the one thing that I found different compared to Immortals/Radiance is that Alyson Noël gave a lot more gory details in the story. I liked it . I felt that it made the story creepier and more realistic in an “oh my god what happens next?” sense.

    Another series that I will have to keep updated with, I would recommend Fated to fans of Alyson Noël, the paranormal, and readers who want to try to read something that will rock their socks off. Yeah. I just said that…

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    Fated is well written with an intriguing storyline....a real page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Instead of vampires or werewolves, Fated deals with the world of

    Instead of vampires or werewolves, Fated deals with the world of spirits, souls, shamanism, and other bits of Native American mythology. Daire Santos doesn't understand why she is different. She has no idea why time stops for her, why she sees ravens taunting her, why glowing people hover at the edge of her consciousness, watching and waiting for her to give in and come to them. Her visions come to a horrific head in a foreign country, leaving her mother, Jennika at a loss. The doctors to say Daire has experienced a psychotic break, and to get her back the the States immediately. But the medications aren't working, and the doctors threaten to institutionalize her. As a last ditch effort, Jennika contacts Daire's grandmother in New Mexico. She has only spoken to this woman, Paloma, once, at Daire's father's funeral -- before she was born. However, she seems to know more about Daire's situation than anyone, even though Jennika never even told her she was pregnant those 16 years ago. When Daire is sent off to live with Paloma, she feels abandoned, lost, and afraid of the mythological mumbo-jumbo her grandmother is quick to spout. Can she really accept that she is part of some higher plan, that she has mystical powers, a destiny to fulfill? To make things even more difficult to sort out, Daire meets the boy of her dreams -- literally. Although she's never met him outside of dreams, she feels drawn to this boy, and equally repelled from his apparently evil twin brother. When it's clear that her path is more intertwined with these two than she ever realized, everything becomes a bit too real to deny.

    I appreciated that this novel tackled something new. Fated has a rich mythology, full of spirit animals, spirit journeys, fate, soul-seeking, and of course, good and evil. The events surrounding Daire are very intriguing. The pages fly by as Daire comes into her role as a Seeker. It is very interesting to learn along with Daire the circumstances surrounding her life as a Seeker. Although her relationship with her love interest seems to be a little too instant-love for my tastes, this is offset by Daire's visions and recurrent dreams in which he appears, and the mysticism surrounding them. It becomes easier to stomach the quick onset of the relationship because No&euml;l succeeds in pushing the reader to believe that they are truly meant to be together, that their destinies are entwined. The novel doesn't focus on their relationship, however. It is much more concerned with Daire's growth. Her growth in her capacity to fulfill her Seeker destiny, and her growth as a person. As the daughter of a Hollywood makeup artist, Daire has never been able to settle down in any physical or emotional capacity. She was always taught not to get attached to spare the pain of loss. Her life in New Mexico finally offers her the chance to have a home, to have a family, to have friends. Learning to accept these things, to learn to put trust in others, requires her to mature, and to accept herself first.

    I'd recommend Fated to those who want to read something a little different. If Daire's world sounds promising to you, I urge you to give this novel a try. I didn't regret it.

    This book was obtained freely through the LibraryThing Early Reviewers program in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fated is the first book I read by Alyson Noel. I did know that a

    Fated is the first book I read by Alyson Noel. I did know that a lot of people enjoyed reading her books, but I started reading with no expectations whatsoever. As I started, the beginning was very interesting. I noticed that a lot of people said they couldn't get into the story because of the beginning, but I found that part to be one of the most interesting parts of the whole story. Daire Santos, the main protagonist of this story, had had strange things happening to her laterly. She has &quot;visions&quot; or &quot;hallucinations&quot; of crows following her, and glowing people and other animals. Her mom was very worried about her, because no medicine seemed to help. Therefore, she gets sent to live with her grandmother in New Mexico. The mother of her dead father she never met, until now.

    I enjoyed reading about Daire, because she isn't one of those annoying protagonists who you might cross paths with sometimes. I liked her character, and she reminds me of myself sometimes *wink wink*. I loved seeing how her relationship with her grandmother evolved, and how she also made an awesome new friend. Also, just as I was hoping that there would be parts of her going to school, she gets enrolled in the public school. I loved the twists of the book, and how there is pretty much a mix of everything.

    Like the usual young adult, there is a gorgeous male lead. Dace, who has an &quot;evil&quot; twin brother, crosses paths with Daire one day at school. While she is instantly remembers him from her dream, she is also mesmerized by his beautiful blue eyes. I'm not going to get into what happens, because I don't want to spoil anything, but let's just say that Dace was not your typical &quot;bad boy&quot; character. While I enjoyed most of the things in the story, I'm going to have to admit that I felt confused at some parts. I just couldn't imagine what was happening, and rarely I would get lost as well.

    Overall, Fated was a very enjoyable book to read. I recommend to all you young adult readers, because it is an awesome book that will not disappoint. Even though I had to read it at times when I wasn't studying for my exams, I did enjoy those hours. I am very excited to find what happens next in the second book of the Soul Seekers series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Love it

    This story is good. it is sorta like a mordern version of A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    I went to my local book store the other day because I was in des

    I went to my local book store the other day because I was in desperate need of some new books, when I came across Fated which I was very surprised by because apparently it's not released until the 22nd. I only heard about it the previous day by checking out Alyson Noel's website. I have to say, I was definitely excited to read it! I read the first three books in the Immortals Series but got bored after Shadowland so I gave up. Needless to say, I checked out the summary for this one and decided that I was definitely going to give it a go. And I'm so glad that I did.

    It's about a girl named Daire, who started seeing strange things such as glowing people and thousands of crows. She freaked out when she first seen them which made everyone think she was going crazy. Soon after, her Mother sends her off to live with her Grandmother because she thinks Daire is having a mental breakdown. Her Grandmother knows exactly what's happening to her though and we soon find out that Daire is a Soul Seeker which is when a person can shift between the living and dead. And so she starts on her journey to find her full potential.

    I really liked this story! It was so different from the rest of Alyson's work so it was very refreshing. The story was something new: nothing about being immortal, vampires, aliens and all of the other popular stuff going on in YA and paranormal romance right now. The book definitely sucked me in and I was hooked from the very beginning! Each time I finished a chapter, I was dying to continue reading to see what happens next.

    The character's were great too. I've seen a lot of reviews about this book with everyone calling Daire annoying. I have to disagree. I actually liked her and she didn't bother me in the slightest. She had dept, definitely. When the visions started, she freaked out just like any other normal human being would. She got pissed off when she was basically shipped off to live with her Grandmother, who, by the way, Daire never even met before. If it was you in the same situation, I don't think you would be quite happy about it either. Overall, she was fun, serious when needed to be, caring, brave and strong. Just the way I like my female-leads.

    And, of course, we have a bit of romance with the incredibly hot and charming Dace. I adored everything about him! His and Daire's relationship was pretty awesome too. The first time they actually had a conversation was adorable! I'm dying to see how this is going to play out in the sequel.

    The cover was what drew me to this book. It is absolutely gorgeous! I have the UK cover but the only main difference is that the background is yellow instead of purple. The girl is so pretty! I love, love, love her hair and the earrings are beautiful too. I think they picked the perfect font too for the title.

    Overall, I loved this book! I would definitely recommend it. If you've read The Immortals series but weren't too fond of it and you're afraid this is basically going to be the same thing, don't worry. It's not. I definitely like this one better. The release date for the next book 'Echo' can't come quick enough!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2