Customer Reviews for

Fated (Soul Seekers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

WOW, This book was AMAZING!! You Must give it a Chance. Better than Immortals Series Even!!

I had always thought Alyson Noël's writing was beautiful before this, but I’ll tell you, she has done it again, but better. The way she writes in itself, feels magical, it really sucks you right into the story your reading. Her descriptions, are so vivid, its stunning w...
I had always thought Alyson Noël's writing was beautiful before this, but I’ll tell you, she has done it again, but better. The way she writes in itself, feels magical, it really sucks you right into the story your reading. Her descriptions, are so vivid, its stunning when it feels like a movie is playing out in your head as you read. And the emotions you feel are awesome, you feel along with the characters. It touches you in such a good way, you just can't put the book down, and leaves you wanting more when your done.

I really did enjoy this new book by Alyson Noël, It was amazingly mind-blowing novel, filled with magic, mystery, and a really awsome guy. Very much a typical Alyson novel.. and I loved it so much! I know when the Immortals series had ended I was really sad to see it go, as it was one of my favorite series, but this definitely filled that void. Not to mention, I had read the free short story of when Ever meets Daire (you can get it free , check Alyson's website to learn more) it shows me its still the same type of world Ever was from. This is all about Daire and Dace, and its so beautifully written. With magic and suspense filling the pages with such a unique story, I can’t help but want more.

The book is about a whole new type of people, Soul Seekers, Daire has these visions, and she thinks she is going crazy, so goes to live with her grandma in New Mexico. Once there, she learns she is a Soul Seeker, and she starts her training with her. Then she meets the boy of her dreams, and then the bad one of course, some major stuff happens for sure. I do not want to spoil it for anyone.

I’ll say the story was beautifully planned, going from one chapter to the next was seamless, and its such a unique story, I was amazed at the time and effort I know she had to put into this story, I know she had to have visited New Mexico to get all that so perfect, as I myself have been there before, and she described it all so perfect.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed Alyson’s previous work, but even if you have not, this would be a good one to start with. It’s very well written, and has the mystical suspense going on in a very believable way too.

Here is some quotes I liked:

quote (Kindle Location 1624): Daire thinking about Dace “The sheer sight of him causing my limbs to tremble, my body to sway toward his-much like it did in the dream. The two of us drawn to each other-bound by forces unseen.”

A quote (Kindle location 3960) I like Dace to Daire: “I had an irresistible pull to come here, so I followed my instincts, and now I know why”

posted by ConciseReviewsByMichelleL on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. I

The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. It was pretty cliche, to be honest, but not awful.
Let's start with the negatives:
- The names. I've learned that in teen books nobody can have a normal name. Obviously the first one to object to is her mom,...
The book was... okay. That's really all I can say about it. It was pretty cliche, to be honest, but not awful.
Let's start with the negatives:
- The names. I've learned that in teen books nobody can have a normal name. Obviously the first one to object to is her mom, Jennika. (who she called 'Jennika' and not 'mom' because of some lame excuse that "I raised her as much as she raised me" -__-) I can deal with Paloma and Chay having less than common names, because their characters are supposed to be from different ethnic groups. But Daire? I googled it, and its a boys name meaning 'wealth' and 'popularity' neither of which are traits that Daire really has.
- Good/Evil twins. Like I said, cliche. And the worst part is that the twins' names are 'Dace' and 'Cade'. She just switched the D and the C and made two names out of it.

Positives:
- I thought the plot was pretty original, even if it was gone about in a cliche way.
- It kept my interest, for the most part, there weren't a lot of placing where I was wishing everything would move faster

However, right now I'm putting the rest of the series on hold. Maybe if there's a time when I've got nothing to read I'll pick the rest up, but I have no plans to read them in the immediate future.

posted by TiareSho on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW, This book was AMAZING!! You Must give it a Chance. Better than Immortals Series Even!!

    I had always thought Alyson Noël's writing was beautiful before this, but I’ll tell you, she has done it again, but better. The way she writes in itself, feels magical, it really sucks you right into the story your reading. Her descriptions, are so vivid, its stunning when it feels like a movie is playing out in your head as you read. And the emotions you feel are awesome, you feel along with the characters. It touches you in such a good way, you just can't put the book down, and leaves you wanting more when your done.

    I really did enjoy this new book by Alyson Noël, It was amazingly mind-blowing novel, filled with magic, mystery, and a really awsome guy. Very much a typical Alyson novel.. and I loved it so much! I know when the Immortals series had ended I was really sad to see it go, as it was one of my favorite series, but this definitely filled that void. Not to mention, I had read the free short story of when Ever meets Daire (you can get it free , check Alyson's website to learn more) it shows me its still the same type of world Ever was from. This is all about Daire and Dace, and its so beautifully written. With magic and suspense filling the pages with such a unique story, I can’t help but want more.

    The book is about a whole new type of people, Soul Seekers, Daire has these visions, and she thinks she is going crazy, so goes to live with her grandma in New Mexico. Once there, she learns she is a Soul Seeker, and she starts her training with her. Then she meets the boy of her dreams, and then the bad one of course, some major stuff happens for sure. I do not want to spoil it for anyone.

    I’ll say the story was beautifully planned, going from one chapter to the next was seamless, and its such a unique story, I was amazed at the time and effort I know she had to put into this story, I know she had to have visited New Mexico to get all that so perfect, as I myself have been there before, and she described it all so perfect.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed Alyson’s previous work, but even if you have not, this would be a good one to start with. It’s very well written, and has the mystical suspense going on in a very believable way too.

    Here is some quotes I liked:

    quote (Kindle Location 1624): Daire thinking about Dace “The sheer sight of him causing my limbs to tremble, my body to sway toward his-much like it did in the dream. The two of us drawn to each other-bound by forces unseen.”

    A quote (Kindle location 3960) I like Dace to Daire: “I had an irresistible pull to come here, so I followed my instincts, and now I know why”

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Can't wait! :)

    I've loved Alyson Noel's writing ever since I read The Immortals series and I know I'll love this one just as much! I wish May 22 would come faster!

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wow

    I can't wait to read this i just finnished the imortals series and they were amaing!!!!

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Should i read this? A simple question.

    Should i read this? A simple question.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Alyson noel

    I am 10 and i love these books i have radiance

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Erica :D

    I love this book so far. Its DEEP!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the book it was lots of twist and turns in Fated I really

    Loved the book it was lots of twist and turns in Fated I really can't wait to see what happens next It's way different then Evermore that is for sure. Your writing is amazing with the romance,family/friends,mystery,this book has everything it took me just 3hrs to finish it! The start was a bit confusing but until i got up to the twin brothers i understood how she had to handle the relationship between them and who can she trust with friends. Her mom struck me as someone who didn't understand Daire true gift she was scared and wanting her to go back to her old life but she found someone new and found where she belongs I say this is a great book I can't wait for the second one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Awesome read

    It's been quite awhile since i have found a book i didn't want to put down. I would reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for a read that contains magick, mystery, action and a bit of love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    I had been anxiously waiting on the release for Fated after havi

    I had been anxiously waiting on the release for Fated after having read The Immortal Series and the Riley Bloom Series. I was also trying to keep my expectations on an average level since The Immortal Series was a bit up and down for me (I have issues with book 3, lol) but really enjoy reading about Riley Bloom. Alyson Noel's writing and world-building is astounding! The story-line is somewhat similar to The Immortal Series in that both main characters learn that there is much more than just the world that we live in. But the similarities end there. The Mexican and American Indian influence and folklore to it was so interesting to follow which gives the book such a distinct supernatural feel. I cannot even imagine the amount of research that was done to create such a story.


    The main character, Daire, travels the world with her mother, Jennika, who is a celebrity make-up artist. While traveling, Daire starts to have visions that would cause any person to never want to leave their house again. As time goes by, while in Morocco, the vision gets worse, more graphic and scary to which she finally has a break down. Trying to keep Daire safe and out of the hospital, Jennika agrees to let Daire stay with her grandmother who live in Enchanted, New Mexico. While there, Daire learns about her dead father's family, why Daire has these visions and who she really is.
    It is fascinating to learn everything alongside with this main character.

    And yes, there is a love interest. It is a combination of it being insta-love and not. It is hard to explain and one to definitely read and follow along. I don't want to give any spoilers, just know, I really loved how they came together.

    I am really looking forward to learning more about who and why a certain someone or someones is 'fated' and why a particular someone is referred to as the 'echo'.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    A must read

    A girl with hidden powers goes ina journey to control and discover them. Along the way she meets a boy (dace) who is hor abd nice. A book you cant put down.
    A loveer of books,
    -Aubrey

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Absolutely LOVE this book can't wait for the second!!! :D

    Absolutely LOVE this book can't wait for the second!!! :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Book Lover January 4th, 2014

    This author is the best I've heard of! If you liked the immortals you'll love this book just like I did! If you haven't yet read the immortals it's amazing and you should read it!

    This book is about a 16 yr old named Daire who suffers from horrible visions that seem so real. Daire is then sent to live with her grandmother she never knew so she can follow her destinee as a soul seeker and learn to deal with her horrifying visions. When she meets the cute boy from her dreams she is overwhelmed and doesn't know what to do, but her grandmother is always there to help her. Torn between loving a boy and following her destinee, Daire has to make impossible choices and face her worst dreams to concure all evil. Little does Daire know love always prevails.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fated is a great start to an epic series! originally appeared on

    Fated is a great start to an epic series!
    originally appeared on: Bookshelf Confessions

    The cover is so gorgeous. The hair, the earrings, the color (I got the pink version) it all mixed so well.Pretty!!!

    I’ve read Alyson Noel’s Immortal Series, although I haven’t read the last book yet. For me that series, has high and lows, it got a good beginning, but the middle books started to go slow for me (like, you fell in love with a television show, then the director thought of extending it because he thought we’ll like it, but no, it just actually ruined the story, better to go with the original storyline I guess), a friend o mine said, the last book EVERLASTING is as good as the first book, so I think I’ll give it a try.>:D. With FATED, her new series, I have doubts, but with the nicest cover among her books up-to-date, and a promising new theme, I couldn’t resist the lure, and so here I am, just finished reading it and fully-satisfied.>:D

    Daire and her mother, Jennika have always moved to different places and get to interact with famous people, that’s one great privilege of your mother being a Hollywood make-up artist. One queer thing she has never told anyone even her mother, since they won’t believe her, is that there are times, when all stand still except her, like time has stopped except for her. It’s fun and she got used to it but on her sixteenth birthday, lots of things begin to happen and they’re not good. She’s been haunted by dreams and reality alike, worse, her mother and doctor believes she’s delusional. When she and her mother don’t know what to do, Paloma, Daire’s grandmother suggested to take care of Daire. So Daire goes with her grandma to Enchantment, Mexico (the name already gives the vibe), learns her bloodline, her ability, her family’s past, her destiny and the boy she must save.

    I don’t know why, but I fully understand the prologue, and the story just got better the more I read. I always love Noel’s writing style, I just hope that she won’t get sidetracked with the middle books and continue her planned storyline. Noel doesn’t just write stories, she brings her readers into her story and made them experience themselves. I love the animal guides, the sayings, the crow prints in the pages made this book superb. The characters, flawed as ordinary humans, are all unique and relatable. The idea of a good/bad twin (Dace and Cade) is good, though how I wish it isn’t so clear who Daire wants. It ends where the pieces started to clicked and yet leaves enough space for new questions that hopefully will be answered in the next book. The Native American Mythology is a new theme for me that will entertain me for awhile. :D

    FATED is not just another paranormal story, it has substance, family relationships, friendship, a romance that’s not over-the-top, learning and lore. It’s a promising first book that not only engage and keep you on edge but would surely make you a fan of the Soul Seekers Series (glad to be part of it). A page turner from start to finish. Very highly recommended!

    P.S. Even if you’re not into The Immortal Series or Riley Bloom Series, give this one a try, it won’t disappoint you if you’re looking for a fresh read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. It had magic, love, mystery, and so many emot

    I loved this book. It had magic, love, mystery, and so many emotions! I was completely immersed in the book the moment I read the first sentence.
    We start out with Daire. She's always been on the move; her mother's job taking her from one country to the next. She has never formed attachment to anyone because of this and has been lonely for most of her life. When we meet Dace, Daire tells us that he is the only thing that has been permanent in her life: she's been dreaming about him for six months. Though she's skeptical at the fact that magic exists, she's open to it and isn't stubborn in clinging to the world she knows, and I love her for that. Most books I read where this happens, the main character pisses me off because she just won't accept her destiny. But though Daire is skeptical and careful, after the first few weeks she's open and willing to learn about being a Seeker.
    Then there's Dace and his evil twin Cade. I love Dace. Though we don't learn much about him in this book (though the author dropped heavy hints that he's super important towards the end of this book), we know he's kind and pure good.
    Cade, on the other hand, is pure evil. He was raised by his evil father to become evil, so it makes sense that Cade is what he is. We don't learn much about him here too, but again, we get a glimpse that he'll be important in the next book.
    This book was mostly focused on Daire, and her journey to discovering her potential as a Seeker, but that doesn't mean it's not packed with magic, love, and adventure. I will highly recommend this book to anyone who loves action, magic, mystery, love, and fantasy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Nit enough stars

    This book was very well put together it left me wondering what will happen.....
    I can not wait four Echo to come out. Maybe it cojld be in Daces piont if view. I think dace is a nice charectrr he reminds me of Jack from everneath.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Very good book all the way through.

    Very good book all the way through.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I love alyson noels books and very excited when i found out abt. Fated did not dissapoint and is a fun read tht hooked me to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Alyson Noël has a special ability to paint pictures in the

    Alyson Noël has a special ability to paint pictures in the minds of her readers. Scenes and characters in this book are pictured easily from the descriptions. The supernatural plot is not overly complicated, but complex enough to keep readers interested and guessing. Daire Santos grew up traveling the world, movie set to movie set with her makeup artist mother. Now as a teenager, Daire has been plagued by visions and experiences time freezes. The only solution is for Daire is to go live with a grandmother that she has never met.
    Daire is headstrong. This irritates me, but makes her a believable character. What teenage girl would be happy to go live with someone she does not know? Daire is determined and smart. There are some plot twists in this book that I don’t want to reveal. I will give away that there is myth, legend, and Native American stories in this book. I give this book four out of five stars.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4