Customer Reviews for

Fated (Alex Verus Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fated is the start of a wonderful new Urban Fantasy series

Fated is the first in a new series about a mage named Alex Verus.
Alex can see possible futures. As a diviner, he has to rely on sorting through the futures, his intelligence and the occasional use of the martial arts that he studies. He doesn't have power over the ph...
Fated is the first in a new series about a mage named Alex Verus.
Alex can see possible futures. As a diviner, he has to rely on sorting through the futures, his intelligence and the occasional use of the martial arts that he studies. He doesn't have power over the physical world (e.g., throw fire). Alex owns a magic shop in a section of London called Camden Town. He’s a loner. Something happened in his past that has made him want to be on his own. We get more and more information about what happened to him and why he prefers to be a loner throughout the novel. Alex gets caught up the machinations of several factions of mages. They all want a particular relic and they all want Alex to help them get it. The mystery surrounding that relic kept me guessing.
Over the course of the novel, Mr. Jacka does a wonderful job explaining the magic system within which Alex operates. The world building (magic world in plain sight) is exceptional. There are references to myths and supernatural creatures that are seamlessly woven into the story adding to the richness of the magical world.
I really like Alex. He’s intelligent, tough when he has to be, and a good guy. He also makes mistakes and gets himself into trouble out of simple curiosity, which seems to be a diviner trait. While Alex is the main character, there is a terrific supporting cast including Luna, Alex’s sort of apprentice, Starbreeze, a ditzy air elemental, and many mages both Light, Dark, and scary. Luna is a great character, and I'm looking forward to reading more about her in future books.
There will be inevitable comparisons to The Dresden Files, but Alex Verus does not pale by the comparison. Fated is the start of a wonderful new Urban Fantasy series. It is well written, well-paced and a thoroughly engaging read.

I give Fated 5 Qwills. Originally posted at The Qwillery

posted by Qwillery on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nothing original here.

This book sounded interesting, but it was the recommendation from Jim Butcher that made me buy it. As a huge Dresden Files fan, I was excited to find something to help hold me over until the next novel. The book was mildly entertaining, but it is a light PG-13 read wi...
This book sounded interesting, but it was the recommendation from Jim Butcher that made me buy it. As a huge Dresden Files fan, I was excited to find something to help hold me over until the next novel. The book was mildly entertaining, but it is a light PG-13 read with a strait forward plot. Anyone looking for the creativity and though put into a Jim Butcher book will be thoroughly disappointed.
The real problem was the total lack of creativity. This book is actually one step from being fan fiction. Nearly everything about this book is copied right out of Jim Butcher’s books. The protagonist is a mage who has a business in a big city, and is not well liked by the ruling council of mages mostly because of something that happened while he was apprenticed to a malicious master. He has a female acquaintance who is just being introduced to the magic world, and a former female relation that he thought was dead but he later learns is alive. He practices running and martial arts for when magic won’t help. Any other Jim Butcher fans having d¿j¿-vu?

posted by DarkMynd on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fated is the start of a wonderful new Urban Fantasy series

    Fated is the first in a new series about a mage named Alex Verus.
    Alex can see possible futures. As a diviner, he has to rely on sorting through the futures, his intelligence and the occasional use of the martial arts that he studies. He doesn't have power over the physical world (e.g., throw fire). Alex owns a magic shop in a section of London called Camden Town. He’s a loner. Something happened in his past that has made him want to be on his own. We get more and more information about what happened to him and why he prefers to be a loner throughout the novel. Alex gets caught up the machinations of several factions of mages. They all want a particular relic and they all want Alex to help them get it. The mystery surrounding that relic kept me guessing.
    Over the course of the novel, Mr. Jacka does a wonderful job explaining the magic system within which Alex operates. The world building (magic world in plain sight) is exceptional. There are references to myths and supernatural creatures that are seamlessly woven into the story adding to the richness of the magical world.
    I really like Alex. He’s intelligent, tough when he has to be, and a good guy. He also makes mistakes and gets himself into trouble out of simple curiosity, which seems to be a diviner trait. While Alex is the main character, there is a terrific supporting cast including Luna, Alex’s sort of apprentice, Starbreeze, a ditzy air elemental, and many mages both Light, Dark, and scary. Luna is a great character, and I'm looking forward to reading more about her in future books.
    There will be inevitable comparisons to The Dresden Files, but Alex Verus does not pale by the comparison. Fated is the start of a wonderful new Urban Fantasy series. It is well written, well-paced and a thoroughly engaging read.

    I give Fated 5 Qwills. Originally posted at The Qwillery

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Very well written smooth storytelling and a fun and interesting

    Very well written smooth storytelling and a fun and interesting protagonist. I you liked the Iron Druid Series, or the Dresdon Series strongly recommend it. Can't wait for the next one

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Great for urban fantasy lovers

    If you like The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles then you'll love Alex Verus. I had to get the second book in the series as soon as I finished Fated and I can't wait for the next one. A must read for any urban fantasy fan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Look. Is this on the same level as Butcher or Hearne? No. But

    Look. Is this on the same level as Butcher or Hearne? No. But it IS Jacka's first book and, as an initial effort, it was very good. A good, smooth, solid read. I can only imagine that the series will get better as it goes along. And, unlike 80% of the books out right now, it is NOT some kind of Harlequin cross-over into SciFi/fantasy with some girl having relationship problems with her vampire/werewolf/ghost/swamp creature/insert-your-favorite-monster-here lover. Good job, sir and keep writing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Quick, entertaining read.

    Great world building, interesting magic system and a smart main character who quickly gets in over his head. What more do you want?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great follow up

    This novel was as fun as the first, but with greater depth. The characters, the plot, the world...all of it was just slightly more than the first. It is not jarring, but it is noticeable. The book also sets up a new dynamic to explore in future novels. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    The first of the Alex Verus novels. We get introduced to the ma

    The first of the Alex Verus novels. We get introduced to the main players in this world (Alex, Luna, Starbreeze, Sonder, Talisid, Arachne, et al.) and get a very good introduction to a world that exists out of sight of our normal world, but sometimes crossing over or influencing our world. Fated is a combination of Harry Dresden, The Da Vinci Code, the Sorcerer’s Apprentice and National Treasure (in the best sense!) so if this is the kind of combination that makes your eager fan boy heart squeal with glee, you will be very happy. This is a bit gritty, dark and hopeful, in the right amounts with dark wizards, white wizards (and the definitions of said wizards is a little different from what we are accustomed to seeing) schemes, betrayals, murders, ambushes and lost treasure. If you are looking for a great romance, you will need to look elsewhere. If you are looking for a good book with and introduction to an interesting world that is a little off the beaten path, you will really enjoy this work. The second book is due out June of this year. Do yourself a favor, read this book and preorder the second one (cursed). Before we lose this author to the grind of being a British Solicitor. © Night Owl Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fated is my kind of book and a great start for a series.The char

    Fated is my kind of book and a great start for a series.The characters made the storyline come through with added sidelines that are stories in themselves. I want to find out more about them. His sidekicks Luna and Starbreeze are introduced in this book and we start learning about who and what they are. His friend(sidekick) Arachne could have had a bigger part of the story or maybe I just wanted to learn more about her, very unique with lots of possibilities for a character. The book ended too quickly for me and I would have liked more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Nothing original here.

    This book sounded interesting, but it was the recommendation from Jim Butcher that made me buy it. As a huge Dresden Files fan, I was excited to find something to help hold me over until the next novel. The book was mildly entertaining, but it is a light PG-13 read with a strait forward plot. Anyone looking for the creativity and though put into a Jim Butcher book will be thoroughly disappointed.
    The real problem was the total lack of creativity. This book is actually one step from being fan fiction. Nearly everything about this book is copied right out of Jim Butcher’s books. The protagonist is a mage who has a business in a big city, and is not well liked by the ruling council of mages mostly because of something that happened while he was apprenticed to a malicious master. He has a female acquaintance who is just being introduced to the magic world, and a former female relation that he thought was dead but he later learns is alive. He practices running and martial arts for when magic won’t help. Any other Jim Butcher fans having d¿j¿-vu?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Just Okay

    Interesting enough to finish, with inventive applications of fate magic/divination. But not very original in terms of plot, character, or theme. I won't be getting the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    A Pleasent Read

    Nice easy read. Interesting characters, with depth. A definite tie in to the Dresden sereis, but the book stands on its own. Any fan of urban fantasy should add "Fated" to their collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Quick summer time read which may draw you in for the other 2 books.

    Alex is a particular magician whose magical skill set doesn't involve the physical manifestation of magic fireballs or stasis fields. Yet, his predictive ability set in London, U.K. will draw you toward seeking how actually powerful Alex is. Oh, watch out for the 'giant Spider'! Ha ha ha!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    exciting new series!

    a great start to a promising new series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Apprenice den

    Apprentice den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2