Customer Reviews for

Fated

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Rebecca Zanetti provides an entertaining engaging paranormal romance

Plant physiologist Dr. Cara Paulsen is an empath raising her four years old child Janie by herself. The botanist will do anything to keep her beloved Janie, who has psychic skills, safe.

When stranger Talen Kayrs introduces himself, he insists he is protecting her a...
Plant physiologist Dr. Cara Paulsen is an empath raising her four years old child Janie by herself. The botanist will do anything to keep her beloved Janie, who has psychic skills, safe.

When stranger Talen Kayrs introduces himself, he insists he is protecting her and Janie. She assumes he is a lunatic, but Janie reassures her that he is legitimate. He also demands she marry him so his family will be obligated to protect both of the Paulsen's as the Kurjans want females with special skills especially Janie. Extremely reluctant though Janie says otherwise, Cara refuses initially to marry him when she realizes the visitor is a three-century old vampire though his touch lights her on fire with desire.

Although the incongruous basis for the triangle relationship is over the top, readers will quickly ignore the opening encounters as talented Rebecca Zanetti provides an entertaining engaging paranormal romance. Fast-paced, readers will appreciate the efforts of the hero and the mommy, who as they fall in love, risk their lives to keep her gifted toddler safe from a nasty group who has long term eugenic plans for young females with special skills.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Over the top on the male dominance

I found this book to have a good plot line,especially about the genetics part of the plot, but was put off by all of the male dominance thing. There were a few times I thought the sex sounded more like rape, and I am far from prudish. I just have a problem with domestic...
I found this book to have a good plot line,especially about the genetics part of the plot, but was put off by all of the male dominance thing. There were a few times I thought the sex sounded more like rape, and I am far from prudish. I just have a problem with domestic violence, and this seemed to get just a little too close to that subject for my taste. The phrase, "her core" was used way too much. If you are going to write sex scenes, you might want to expand on your vocabulary.

posted by GCrafish on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Hard to like the heroine

    I loved every aspect of this book except for the heroine, Cara. Although she's a scientist and described as logical, she continually puts herself in dangerous situations to the point I didn't care what her fate was. The writer made her almost too stupid to live. She's like the stupid coed who opens the door without checking first even though she's just received a phone call threatening her life. It was extremely aggravating to go through one folly of her own making after another.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Dawne

    Well the story was good, written well. I would have enjoyed it more if the heroin was a little stronger. I get tired of women in books always bending to the men no matter what the male does to her. This is 2013, women can take care of themselves and don't need a man to tell them how to do everything. Other than the weak heroin it was a good story. I read the previews for claimed, the next book and it sounds more in touch with todays women. Can't wait to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    The series gets better

    I really liked the story line of the series, but the execution of this book wasn't very good. I suppose it is due to the first in the series and possibly the first novel by the author(?).

    I found difficulty relating to the characters. I found the female a little weak and while her reasons for being commitment phobic were valid, but they were stated over, and over, and over, etc.

    In regards, to the male lead, he was too overbearing for my taste. We didn't really get much of a back story nor inner speak to know what the guy was thinking. In the end, I felt that he was really a stranger and when Cara finally admitted she was in love with Talen, I really didn't get it.

    In regards to the spice scenes, I felt they were way over done and too many of them...filler for a short story?. Honestly, I swear a total of 25 pages was spice scenes.

    I also know some other reviews didn't care for the story line with Janie (the 4 year old daughter). I actually like this part of the story. She appears throughout the series and will have her own book at the end of the series when she is grown up.

    All that being said, I did find the book interesting enough to buy the next book, as I have found other authors' writing tend to grow with the series. I was not disappointed. If you can make it thru this book, you should continue to the next as it gets better...a lot better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Can't finish it

    To b fair im gonna say its an okay book the vampires/shape shifters sound super sexy en its has plentyof drama but its just the woman character seems a lil blah to me plus they added a child's life which just doesn'tmake the book interesting at all im half way thru but only bc im reading just to get to the good part!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a decent book. It combines some of the most popular vamp

    This is a decent book. It combines some of the most popular vampire romance series traits and makes its own world. It takes a bit from
    Ward and from Feehan. This is not bad. The characters are themselves. The writing is smooth. It reminds me in some ways of
     Leigh's Breeds as well. The villain is vile and we know right away through the whole of the series a special child will be in jeopardy.
    I, honestly, skip the Lesser parts in Ward's BDB and I hate puppies and children in continual peril so these plot devices hold the book
     back from being really good for me or from me wanting to even read the series. These elements may really work for you. If so, you hav
    e a good, not excellent, series ahead of you and it is always a pleasure to settle down to such a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book hoping that it would be an exciting beginning t

    I read this book hoping that it would be an exciting beginning to a new paranormal romance series. I was a little let down. I found myself just skipping parts of it and reading the conversational elements of the book. It was a little boring to me. I liked the story line, and I like how it began. I just am not really sure why I didn't get into this one so much. It just lacked a little something to hold my interest. I found myself having to make myself trudge through so that I could move onto something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    So so

    There r parts of this book that i liked but as a mother i cant get past this woman wanting to getback with her daughter so badly and then just accepting that 'soon' will have to do...now its 3 weeks later and she is just fine with that? Nope not buying it. Over all the book is ok but when i read a book i do expect the main players to be believable. Kinda dissapointed after reading everyones reviews about how great this book was. To quote jim carry, ive had better!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Good story, but sexually graphic

    I would not recommend this book for teenage readers (call me old fashioned) as the sex is pretty graphic IMO. Perhaps this is catagorized as "erotica" - I'm not familiar enough with the genre to know. Because the main characters are vampires, the rough sex is par for the course, I guess. Supposed to be animalistic? (again, my opinion only and think it's a fair review)

    HOWEVER, I did like the story enough to purchase the next two books in the series. I'm not a huge paranormal fiction fan but the posts on Facebook were positive enough to give it a go. I've started the second in the series and am enjoying the overall plot arc. I'm going to wait on buying any more in the series to see how it plays out (5 brothers in the Royal Family, plus a few Shape-Shifting friends - is that just too many sequels?).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    The focus of this series is on the Kayrs family, five brothers o

    The focus of this series is on the Kayrs family, five brothers of Sanguisuga (good vampires) royalty, the eldest of which is King of The Realm. The Realm—much like the United Nations but with vampires, shape shifters, friendly wiccans and such—had been at war for several hundreds of years with the Kurjus—a race of evil, monstrous vampires—until they both suffered so many losses they created a treaty to protect themselves as well as humans. And why protect humans? Apparently, both the Sanguisuga and Kurjans are born male (the genetics of which are explained in the story) so, most of their mates are human. But only humans with enhanced abilities—psychics, healers, empaths and such—can bear their children; a trait that is extremely rare. 

    As the story begins, The Realm is once again on the brink of war because the Kurjans have violated several aspects of the treaty, including the planned abduction of plant physiologist Dr. Cara Paulsen; an empath raising her four-year-old daughter, Janie, by herself. Much like her mother, Janie's special—truly gifted, with psychic powers stronger than anyone's ever seen. Late one night Janie comes running into her mother's room crying “They’re coming. They’re coming now, the bad men. We have to run,” just before a tall, muscle packed male kicks in the front door. Enter Talen Kayrs, a vampire warrior who's been sent by his brother Dage—King of The Realm—to protect Cara and her daughter from the Kurjans. Talen's idea of protection, however, involves forcibly kidnapping them, and coercing Cara into marriage then mating with him under the pretense that it is the only way she can protect her daughter from the Kurjans. 

    Well, this one was difficult for me. The author has created a fascinating paranormal world full of suspense, danger, action, mystery and erotic romance. Still, I had several issues with the story. 

    To start, I found the whole branding/mate-marking thing to be a serious turn-off—especially the way it was done without clear consent. I also had a serious problem with the balance of power between Talen and Cara—or lack thereof. For a scientist, Cara really didn't have much common sense. Her attempts at assertiveness simply came across as weak especially since she allowed herself to be led around by her libido. But my biggest issue, overall, was with Talen. He was beyond controlling, separating Cara from her home, friends, and family,—even her daughter, for five weeks no less—making her completely dependent on him and threatening punishment for disobedience. He was domineering to the point of overbearing, exerting his control over everything—including her will and her body—and frequently using sex as a way to both control and punish Cara—a dynamic I do not find even remotely attractive.

    If it weren't for the fact it was abundantly clear that Talen truly loved his "mate" and adored her daughter—in his own overbearing, neanderthal way—this probably would have been a DNF for me. Overall, I liked the premise of the story and think the series has potential. The hero/heroine ... not so much. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Glad I read last book first

    Since I read the last book first, I already liked Talen and Cara before IRead this book so when he acted like a crom-ne jerk, I didn't immediately hate him.
    I know the storyline and writing gets better so on to reading next book :):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2