Customer Reviews for

Fated

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Rebecca Zanetti provides an entertaining engaging paranormal romance

Plant physiologist Dr. Cara Paulsen is an empath raising her four years old child Janie by herself. The botanist will do anything to keep her beloved Janie, who has psychic skills, safe.

When stranger Talen Kayrs introduces himself, he insists he is protecting her a...
Plant physiologist Dr. Cara Paulsen is an empath raising her four years old child Janie by herself. The botanist will do anything to keep her beloved Janie, who has psychic skills, safe.

When stranger Talen Kayrs introduces himself, he insists he is protecting her and Janie. She assumes he is a lunatic, but Janie reassures her that he is legitimate. He also demands she marry him so his family will be obligated to protect both of the Paulsen's as the Kurjans want females with special skills especially Janie. Extremely reluctant though Janie says otherwise, Cara refuses initially to marry him when she realizes the visitor is a three-century old vampire though his touch lights her on fire with desire.

Although the incongruous basis for the triangle relationship is over the top, readers will quickly ignore the opening encounters as talented Rebecca Zanetti provides an entertaining engaging paranormal romance. Fast-paced, readers will appreciate the efforts of the hero and the mommy, who as they fall in love, risk their lives to keep her gifted toddler safe from a nasty group who has long term eugenic plans for young females with special skills.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Over the top on the male dominance

I found this book to have a good plot line,especially about the genetics part of the plot, but was put off by all of the male dominance thing. There were a few times I thought the sex sounded more like rape, and I am far from prudish. I just have a problem with domestic...
I found this book to have a good plot line,especially about the genetics part of the plot, but was put off by all of the male dominance thing. There were a few times I thought the sex sounded more like rape, and I am far from prudish. I just have a problem with domestic violence, and this seemed to get just a little too close to that subject for my taste. The phrase, "her core" was used way too much. If you are going to write sex scenes, you might want to expand on your vocabulary.

posted by GCrafish on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rebecca Zanetti provides an entertaining engaging paranormal romance

    Plant physiologist Dr. Cara Paulsen is an empath raising her four years old child Janie by herself. The botanist will do anything to keep her beloved Janie, who has psychic skills, safe.

    When stranger Talen Kayrs introduces himself, he insists he is protecting her and Janie. She assumes he is a lunatic, but Janie reassures her that he is legitimate. He also demands she marry him so his family will be obligated to protect both of the Paulsen's as the Kurjans want females with special skills especially Janie. Extremely reluctant though Janie says otherwise, Cara refuses initially to marry him when she realizes the visitor is a three-century old vampire though his touch lights her on fire with desire.

    Although the incongruous basis for the triangle relationship is over the top, readers will quickly ignore the opening encounters as talented Rebecca Zanetti provides an entertaining engaging paranormal romance. Fast-paced, readers will appreciate the efforts of the hero and the mommy, who as they fall in love, risk their lives to keep her gifted toddler safe from a nasty group who has long term eugenic plans for young females with special skills.

    Harriet Klausner

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Absolutely terrific new series!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this first book in Zanetti's new Realm series. I was caught up from the first sentence, and couldn't put it down. I love the world she built and thought the character development was very good.

    Since there are more than three brothers, plus numerous secondary characters, that would be perfect for their own stories, I hope to see many more books by Rebecca Zanetti set in the Realm world.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    Excellent new series!

    Cara Paulsen and her four-yr-old daughter Janie are humans with special abilities. Cara is an empath and Janie sees the future. Talen Kayrs, Protector of the Realm and a member of the royal family, is a 300-yr-old vampire sent to protect them from a species similar to his called the Kurjans. Each species has their strengths and weaknesses as well as genetic characteristics specific to their species. From the start of this book it¿s been action, action, action as Talen tries to keep Cara and Janie safe and out of the Kurjans hands. With the attempt to take Cara and Janie the Kurjans have started another war after 200 years of peace and things are going to get messy as the vampires plan raids on Kurjan research facilities and Kurjans strike back at vampire strongholds. Oh, did I forget to mention the nasty genetic manipulation experiments the Kurjans have been doing? Hence the reason for raiding research facilities as they steal research material in an attempt to discover what the Kurjans have been doing for the last few hundred years. It¿s not curing cancer, I can tell you that. The Kayrs brothers are HOT, Cara is no wimpy heroine, Janie is a cutie and we get a glimpse of Cara¿s sister Emma, also a seer of the future and no slouch herself when it comes to the three B¿s ¿ brains, bravery and beauty. We meet a shifter and his Pride and learn there are other supernaturals out there who ally themselves with one side or the other. I love this world Rebecca Zanetti has created. I love her sexy heroes and the women they call mate. I love the fast-paced action, the well-fleshed characters, the zippy, snippy, snarky conversation, the hot, hot love scenes and a special four-yr-old who has big bad scary vampires wrapped around her tiny fingers.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    VERY GOOD READ!!

    I had to give this book five stars, especially since it is the author's first book! I read it straight through, unable to put it down. I am only sad that I have to wait 2 whole months before I can get my hands on "CLAIMED". This second book of the series should be a doozy as I believe it is the story of two of the characters who had just met at the ending. I can hardly wait!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Had me at Page 2

    This story starts off with a bang and had me drawn in right from the beginning. The characters were well written and the plot was enjoyable. Couldn't put it down. Enough side plots and well written minor characters that have me waiting to see what happens next. Her next book Claimed comes out in the Fall which features Emma and Dage, both of whom you get to meet in Fated, and I, for one, can't wait to see how their story plays out. Other subplots that left me wanting more include the daughter, Janie, the shifters, the other vampire brothers. Looking forward to more books. I can see this being one of my next favorite series.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Highly recommend! - a must read

    Very much enjoyed this book. It has a great story and wonderful characters. It starts off strong and just keeps going until the end. It leaves you wanting to start the next book in the series right away...which is exactly what I did!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    You must check this book out!

    First of all, the story is really unique. Love the premise. Second, Rebecca Zanetti's writing is stellar. I read the story in one day. Each chapter kept me on the edge of my seat wanting more and more. I must warn whoever picks up this book-it contains some steamy scenes. She reminds me of Gena Showalter. Steamy writing, but great stories, great characters, and great writing! I just loved Talen. He's a complex character. Really rough and harsh, yet has a tender side, too. That's my favorite. Rebecca wrote him really well. I just couldn't wait to see what he'd do next. I'm really looking forward to the next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Absolutely Breathtaking

    I love this book!! A must read. A beautiful love story of fierce protectiveness and passion. I could not put the book down! I simply cannot wait for the follow up of Dage's story in Claimed! November cannot come any faster. Loved it! Absolutely loved it!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Action packed and steamy, it's a keeper!!!

    Interesting plot, alpha male, and a sassy mate. Action packed, steamy, and interesting. Definitely try it!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    awesome

    this book is a must read very fast paced and lots of hot steamy sex. an awesome new twist on vampires and the paranormal cant wait for the 2nd book to this hot new series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    EXCITING!!!!!

    Fated is a thrilling, sexy fast-paced paranormal that will leave you wanting more. The characters are sexy and mysterious!! A highly recommended read!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Had to give this one five stars, once I started reading it I did

    Had to give this one five stars, once I started reading it I did not want to put it down.  This book fitted in what I was in the mood to read perfectly.  It grabbed me from the first chapter and didn’t let up or let me go.  It was full of action, drama, stubborn women, even more stubborn alpha males, good and evil vampires, shifters, secret races, with plenty of sex.  It was a fun read that I finished in less than 24 hours.  I started the book around 3 yesterday afternoon and kept reading after dinner and before I knew it it was 11 p.m. and I decided to read on and catch the eclipse finally setting the book down around 1:30 when I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer.  Sure it is one of those guilty pleasure books, nothing but pure escapism…some of my favorite types of books.




    Now I’ve read a much later novella in this series that I received from Net Galley for review, enjoyed that one so much I knew I wanted to go back and start at the beginning.  Now I’m tempted to order the next book and skip all the other ones I’ve decided to read this month just to learn what happens next.  As I took a moment to go check out some of the other reviews I see that this book was one of those love it or hate it stories.  Sure this is a male dominated society and kinda chauvinistic, but common its a story meant to be a fun escape.  I loved it, despite all the times I thought thank goodness I’m not married to a man like this.  I did wish Cara wouldn’t have given into her hormones so much and really made Talen squirm a bit more.




    Okay, so this is book one in the series and is Talen and Cara’s story.  It really did catch my attention from practically page one.  The action starts off quick and the pace didn’t let up.  I thought it was a fun premise, that we have seen before in paranormal novels, they meet and some biological reaction occurs when the two meet and suddenly they know they are mates.  To save Cara and her daughter Talen manipulates them into bonding/wedding/mating withing a few short hours of meeting.  Eye roll I know, but I went with it because I enjoyed watching Cara try to stand up to Talen and continue to try and wiggle out of it…for a short while at least.  The woman that the vamp race needs to mate with in this world must have some sort of special ability and of course Cara, her sister and daughter all fall come with these abilities.  So for much of the book we have Cara questioning if Talen really wants her for her and not these abilities she has.  We all question why our spouses or friends are with us from time to time and it was easy to relate to the mixed emotions Cara was having.




    We enter this world at a point in time where a long held peace is falling apart and the different species are bracing for an upcoming war that Cara’s daughter, Jamie, is going to be the center of, or the catalyst for.   I look forward to reading what happens next.  It really was a fun read.  Check your feminism at the door and just roll with it, remember its just a story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Fantastic Start to a Series! For those who┬┐ve been fans of the

    Fantastic Start to a Series!

    For those who’ve been fans of the Dark Protectors series since the beginning, you’re probably wondering where the heck I’ve been. Well, all I can say in my defense is that I was a little slow. Actually, after starting a string of books that I couldn’t finish, I was growing dismayed in my inability to find something to sink my teeth into (pardon the pun). But thankfully, Ms. Zanetti restored my faith in great storytelling.

    FATED by Rebecca Zanetti is a wonderful start to the Dark Protectors series. I love Ms. Zanetti's writing style…absolutely love it! Her dialogue is sharp and witty while the storyline is a fantastic twist on the vampire theme. The heroine, Cara, is everything I look for in a lead character—strong, smart, passionate, funny—but not perfect. Talen is amazing, possessing all the attributes of a larger than life hero. He’s one HOT male!

    For paranormal readers who like a good vampire story, I truly believe you’ll enjoy Dark Protectors. And for those fans who’ve already read SHADOWED (the 8th book in the series) and are now waiting in the bleachers with bated breath for the next one, well, scoot over. Although I still have 6 books to read, I’ll be sitting beside ya soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Excellent!

    An excellent start to this awesome series! So glad Cynthia Eden recommended it. Have now bought all books in series and am anxiously awaiting for June for the next release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Loved It!!!

    This is the first book I've read by Rebecca Zanetti. I absolutely loved it! Great characters and great story line. I would definately recommend this book to anyone who likes romance/vampire books. Cant wait to read the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    5 Stars! Must Read!

    Totally gotta give this book 5 stars! I LOVED it. I fell in love with Rebecca's unique world right off the start. This book was intense and has everything you could possibly want in a paranormal romance. Talen is amazing and his take charge attitude fits him perfectly. Hes so very hot and demanding. Cara needed someone like him so she could find herself. Cara is a perfect match for him.

    I really loved lil Janie, shes so cute and special. This book has the perfect amount of romance and action. The romance sizzles off the pages and the action is packed. Once I started reading it I couldnt put it down. This series is a definite hit and im already addicted to it. I cant wait for more. Rebecca really hit it out of the park with this one. You will not be disappointed in this book I promise :) I will def re read this one. Its a keeper :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I love this book and the others in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Red Hot Romance and Action

    I am so thankful for Amazon for suggesting this book. I actually bought it for the Nook and the was thrilled with a first class roller coaster ride of vampire romance. The story is wonderfully multi-layered and impossible to do justice in a review. This is a first novel and I cannot believe how much I was enthralled with the story and invested in the world Zanetti creates. This is an incredibly hot romance by a great Alpha Male. If you don't like the alpha male with a heart of gold dominating a relationship, then Talen will annoy you. But I loved the idea of fate pairing a vampire with his special mate. Talen rescues Cara minutes before evil Kurjans. Kurjans who are also vampires but fit a more evil stereotypical pale, light sensitive, and monster-like character. It was this fight between good and evil that reminded me of the Black Daggar Brotherhood. I think fans of the BDB series will love Zanetti's world. Cara is targeted because she is an empath and her 4 year old daughter Janie is extremely mentally gifted. Vampires are only born and must be mated with human females who have psychic abilities. As soon as Talen touches Cara, a mating brand appears on his hand. He intends to mate and marry Cara for protection and believes it is fate. Cara is a strong personality and doesn't always give into Talen but must give in to the red hot passion between the two. There are many raids, captures, and escapes in this story that is all red hot romance and action. I was immediately grabbed by the story and couldn't put the book down.

    There are also so many great characters introduced that will make great follow up or side stories. I can't wait for the next book about Cara's sister Emma and Talen's brother and King of the Realm, Dage. There is also a group of Cougar Shifters who are introduced. Cara becomes great friends with Katie, a lioness, who is destined to Jordan the leader of the pack and Talen's allies. I can't wait to read about both of these couples as well as the potenial stories for Talen's other brothers. I think Zanetti is a great undiscovered Gem and can't wait to see more out of this great series!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    Do you love a hot, sexy, dominant vampire warrior? Especially when he's got several brothers that are equally hot and sexy? Well, if you do, then you'll love this book. Especially if you like a lot of action-packed scenes as well.

    Fated gives us all of the above, plus a spunky heroine, an adorable little girl and shapeshifters. Cara is a scientist that works with the genetics of plants. Manipulating things to make more disease resistant crops, that sort of thing. Plants are what she's comfortable with, other than her sister and daughter. Not dominant men that turn out to be vampires. Vampires that demand that she marry them right now because it's what's necessary to protect her daughter from the freaky, bad vampires.

    Talen is the warrior vampire that is on a mission to protect a little girl that they know the Kurjans (the freaky, bad vamps) want. He is the "strategic leader" of the realm, which includes vampires, shapeshifters, etc., and his family is the royal family - Talen's brother Dage is the King. Which adds up to one very alpha man. Once he meets Cara, he realizes that she is destined to be his. Unfortunately, the Kurjans want Cara too, as well as the daughter. Talen is determined that nobody is going to take her from him - despite her insistence that she can handle things herself.This book is fun and fast paced with lots of action sequences.

    The little girl is absolutely adorable and the scene where she wins over the big, macho vampires is hilarious. Cara is spunky and, despite a sketchy background, refuses to back down from a fight regardless of her fear and distrust. The science in the book is very interesting, making you want to see what's going to happen with it rather than leaving you scratching your head.

    The other characters in the book are very intriguing and you want to learn more about them. Even the ones that don't necessarily warrant their own story are fun to watch and add a lot to the story. Luckily, the author plans to write a book for each of the brothers (and I'm hoping she'll continue with some of the shapeshifter characters someday as well) so we will get to know them a lot better in the future.

    Fated gives us a new, interesting twist on vampire lore. It's a well written, fun, sexy book guaranteed to keep you reading from cover to cover. If you enjoy paranormal romances, and especially vampires, be sure and check it out! I promise you'll be waiting for the next brother's book by the time you're done.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5