Customer Reviews for

Fateful

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Story!

Let me start by saying when I read the synopsis for this book I was very worried for two reasons one I am a huge Titanic fan (not just the movie) I have studied the history, read many books, and seen many documentaries. Second I'm not really a big fan of werewolf books ...
Let me start by saying when I read the synopsis for this book I was very worried for two reasons one I am a huge Titanic fan (not just the movie) I have studied the history, read many books, and seen many documentaries. Second I'm not really a big fan of werewolf books but, I love Claudia Gray's writing and her Evernight series so when I had a chance to read and review a copy of Fateful I jumped at the chance! I knew right away I was either going to love this book or hate it and I was happily surprised when I completely fell in love with the book and the characters! Just one quick addition about the Titanic part of the story not only was this story well thought out but Claudia must have done a good amount of research because what she does write of the ship is very detailed.



What I loved about this story was that the ship wasn't the main character the people were! The ship was always lingering there in the background but lets face we know what happens to the RMS Titanic it sinks! So I was blissfully happy that even though I knew what happened to the ship I did not know what was going to happen with the characters. Were they going to go down with the ship (like Leo did in the movie)? Were they going to survive (which I had my fingers crossed for)? I had no clue and that's what kept me on the edge of my seat reading much later than I should have.



The love between Alec and Tess was intense for many reasons she was a maidservant he was first class, she was human he was a werewolf, he was being hunted down by his own kind to join some brotherhood, he could possibly kill her, and lastly the ship sinking. Through all that though their connection deepens to many of the other characters disapproval and scorning. It's like through everything they save each other (no that's not spoilery I didn't say if they die). I also loved the supporting cast of characters especially Alec's dad who has sacrificed so much for his son and Tess's new found friends in steerage.



Fateful comes out September 13th so go buy it!Happy Reading!

posted by Jaime13 on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Reader Girl

Hey this is for everyone who wants to know what this book is about. It is a romantic werewolf story. It takes place on the TITANIC. Im pretty sure everyone who wants to read this book knows the story of theTITANIC. There is a young lady who is a maid for a very rich fam...
Hey this is for everyone who wants to know what this book is about. It is a romantic werewolf story. It takes place on the TITANIC. Im pretty sure everyone who wants to read this book knows the story of theTITANIC. There is a young lady who is a maid for a very rich family. The thing is that the family is losing all of their family. Unlike most families, the rich family puts all their servants in 3rd class. The girl falls in love with a 1st class man who happens to be a werewolf. He is being chased and after falling in love with the young maid, he puts his life on the line to protect her. This story has twists and plots that will keep you sitting on the edge of your seats. Sorry, im not naming names. I dont want to give away too much. The young lady finds herself putting her trust in friends she didnt know she could trust. I recommend this story for ages 12 and up. Ummm.....not sure why the whole thingy is in spanish though. It wasnt like that when i got my book. Dont worry though, the book is NOT in spanish it IS in ENGLISH! I absolutely LOVE this book and strongly recommend it

posted by 6042075 on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story!

    Let me start by saying when I read the synopsis for this book I was very worried for two reasons one I am a huge Titanic fan (not just the movie) I have studied the history, read many books, and seen many documentaries. Second I'm not really a big fan of werewolf books but, I love Claudia Gray's writing and her Evernight series so when I had a chance to read and review a copy of Fateful I jumped at the chance! I knew right away I was either going to love this book or hate it and I was happily surprised when I completely fell in love with the book and the characters! Just one quick addition about the Titanic part of the story not only was this story well thought out but Claudia must have done a good amount of research because what she does write of the ship is very detailed.



    What I loved about this story was that the ship wasn't the main character the people were! The ship was always lingering there in the background but lets face we know what happens to the RMS Titanic it sinks! So I was blissfully happy that even though I knew what happened to the ship I did not know what was going to happen with the characters. Were they going to go down with the ship (like Leo did in the movie)? Were they going to survive (which I had my fingers crossed for)? I had no clue and that's what kept me on the edge of my seat reading much later than I should have.



    The love between Alec and Tess was intense for many reasons she was a maidservant he was first class, she was human he was a werewolf, he was being hunted down by his own kind to join some brotherhood, he could possibly kill her, and lastly the ship sinking. Through all that though their connection deepens to many of the other characters disapproval and scorning. It's like through everything they save each other (no that's not spoilery I didn't say if they die). I also loved the supporting cast of characters especially Alec's dad who has sacrificed so much for his son and Tess's new found friends in steerage.



    Fateful comes out September 13th so go buy it!Happy Reading!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Fateful had two things working to it¿s advantage before I even s

    Fateful had two things working to it’s advantage before I even started it. One: I am a huge Claudia Gray fan. Another book series of her’s, perhaps what she is most-widely known for is the Evernight series. When those books came out a few years back, I couldn’t get enough of them. Gray has way of giving tired story elements new breaths of life (Fateful is no exception). Two: Some of my all time favorite authors; Kelley Armstrong and Cassandra Clare have endorsed the awesome that Fateful was said to be. These are two ladies whose judgement I totally stand behind. Besides these two “advantages” I just generally wanted to read Fateful because it sounded interesting. When I first read the synopsis for this book I thought: UM. That’s different… which was quickly followed by: GENIUS. Who’s ever heard of werewolves on the Titanic??!!! Needless to say, I was super eager to jump into this book!

    Our main character, Tess Davies, is a maid for the wealthy Lisle family. Seeing a trip to the U.S. as being advantageous, Tess happily boards the Titanic with the Lisles in hopes of resigning once they make dock. Having saved every penny she could manage, Tess just needs to endure a few more days of cruel servitude in order to start a new life. Besides the fact that this is the “Titanic” we’re talking about, Tess has a lot of other obstacles to overcome on this voyage, both good and bad. Alec Marlowe falls into both the good and bad category. Besides being swoon-y and an all-around perfect gentlemen, he’s got a lot of dangerously bad baggage that causes a lot of problems for those around him. There’s a lot of ups and downs in the Tess & Alec relationship-building process. On one hand Tess is third class compared to Alec’s first class which really puts a rift between the two. Alec also has a lot of secrets and repeatedly tries to convince Tess to stay away from him for her own good.

    This book was emotionally powerful. Though, how could it not be when dealing with one of this past century’s most horrific tragedies. The sinking of the Titantic, whether taught in school, featured on the history channel, or widely known by the super-long movie featuring the yum-tastic Leonard DiCaprio, is common knowledge in this day and age. Over two thousand passengers boarded the Titanic in April of 1912 with over half dying after the ship hit an iceberg and sank. Reading Fateful was like reading Romeo and Juliet, you already know the ending is tragic which makes you want to delay the reading journey. Although I was completely engrossed in Fateful it took me a couple days longer to finish it. I dreaded the inevitable ending and the pain and sorrow that I knew would come.

    I really liked and respected Tess while reading. Society forces the idea of some being better than others on people like Tess, but regardless, she knows that she deserves just as much as anyone else. Although she plays the part of dutiful maid she still has goals and is committed to living a more comfortable and fulfilling life. I also liked that she didn’t immediately fall in love with Alec. Insta-love is a total turnoff. Even though the two only knew each other for a short period of time it felt like their relationship progressed at a decent pace. A lot of trust-building and near-death experiences helped bring them closer together. They also were able to relate to each other on deeper level, one in which they haven’t been able to reach with anyone else. Alec was basically the perfect male lead, courageous, chivalrous and full of kindness; I fell for him almost instantly.

    I loved the ”Titanic” setting for this story. Aboard a ship and surrounded my hundreds of miles of ocean water, the danger ended up being always real and constant. You couldn’t run and most definitely would have a hard time hiding from the bad guys in this story. Fans of supernatural romances and James Cameron’s Titanic will love this book! Expect a lot of strong emotions especially sorrow along with sweet romance and mystery. There’s also a lot of great, new werewolf lore courtesy of Gray’s amazing imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This was a most wonderful read. I totally enjoyed every part of


    This was a most wonderful read. I totally enjoyed every part of this book. I have always shied away from things to do with the Titanic, more from the fear of being on a ship and it going down. Also just knowing the Titanic was a real ship, a real story about real people who lost their lives, to drown, what a horrible way to die and not being able to save yourself. Men being told they had to leave their families and basically await their death as the ship went down. Well you get now why I have shied away from even seeing Titanic the movie with Leo and Kate. Just a sad , real story. Knowing the outcome is rather heart breaking.

    Well, I loved this book and it’s as close as I have come to voluntarily picking up something to read that talks about the Titanic.

    ......Back to ‘Fateful’.

    The story within these pages doesn’t focus on the Titanic, infact , sometimes I even forgot I was on the Titanic. It is the story of a maid, Tess Davies and the people she comes into contact with on the ship and how they affect her.

    Tess’ troubles start even before she gets onto the ship. She is a very intelligent, patient, strong character, and is thrown into this hide and seek game with Mikhail.

    Mikhail is a rather unsavoury character who taunts Tess , she is a means to an end for what he has come on board for. His ability to taunt her and try to get at her ends up a bonus, he wants to hurt her, he is a werewolf , a killer.

    Alec Marlowe is a swoon worthy character of first class means and the son of Howard Marlowe of Marlowe’s Steele. Tess is a maid of third class means and they make a connection. A trust is formed between them and a love. Class doesn’t stand in their way. Guilt does.
    Admittedly it was a quick love, but if this is a stand alone book, well it had to be. No dragging it out over a series.

    I really liked Myriam and her strength of character, she was very determined to get to America and make something of her life, meeting George was a wonderful thing for her on the Titanic.
    The voyage was such a hopeful trip for Myriam, Tess and the families that wanted a better life.

    Claudia gets the reader emotionally by getting us to meet some of the passengers on the Titanic...and we know why....* Kleenex, blows nose* .

    I was even getting a bit anxious reading as some chapters have the dates and you know you are getting close to D-Day.

    For a while you can forget what happens on the Titanic on that fateful day in 1912. Claudia has us following Tess around with her getting into trouble with Lady Regina and staying away and alive from Mikhail and learning that first class people also have skeletons in their closets.

    We spend some time in third class with the warm and friendlies who are making a racket with their singing and dancing, kids playing, all very lively. But then those chapters get closer to that day in 1912.

    The weather gets colder......

    You can’t help feeling sad for what is inevitable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Amazingly Unique

    This story was an impressive, paranormal account of what occurred on the Titanic. The author's ability to co-mingle the facts of a tragic historical event with the paranormal was quite brilliant. I don't think there are many authors who could successfully pull off werewolves on the Titanic. The characters are well presented and easy to relate to whether you are meant to love or hate them. Of course, the sad part as we all know is the fate of the Titanic which means that, inevitably, the majority of characters we come to love will die. Yet, just enough survive to give a little happiness at the end.

    I also enjoyed the romances. There was a lot of strength in the characters of Tess and Alec, Myriam and George, Irene and Ned. They all fight their own battles for themselves and those they love. They don't whine, complain, or brood. They accept and act as they must in order to be happy, to preserve life or to be honorable. Each is flawed but not in silly ways. The choices they must make are real and meaningful.

    The author has very descriptive passages which, at times, make the reader feel what is happening. The imagery and sounds come to life. I admit I teated up more than once because I knew how it would end and the nobility portrayed in the story is as its portrayed in history as well. There were those on the ship who stayed out of duty, loyalty and honor. That bravery and the acceptance of the fate that comes with those choices is amazing and heart wrenching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful read!

    Fateful drew my interest the moment I read the synopsis for the book. Seriously, imagine werewolves on the Titanic. Can you see why I was so interested in seeing how that would play out? I was even more interested in the ending of the book. We all know how that the Titanic had a very tragic ending.

    Let¿s start off with the characters. Tess Davies is a ladies maid for the Lisle Family, particularly for the daughter, Lady Irene. I liked Tess. She was kind hearted, but still strong willed. She has big dreams for the future, and she keeps a hold of those dreams throughout the novel. She never gives up on them. I think that¿s very admirable. Alec is the son of a wealthy steel magnet, and also, a werewolf. They couldn¿t be more wrong for each other, but it works. I love their relationship. Alec is so sweet, caring and very protective of Tess. They are definitely a great couple.

    The secondary characters were well written as well. There are ones that I love; Irene, Myriam, Mr. Marlowe, Ned, George. I really loved and enjoyed reading about all of these characters. There are also ones that I love to hate; Mikhail, Lady Regina and Layton. These are characters you can really hate with a passion.

    I used to be a huge history buff growing up, and I¿ve always loved to read about the Titanic. I love how Ms. Grey wrote her fantasy around the events of the Titanic. It made for a really great read. The storyline was very creative, and was also well paced. I loved the descriptions of the ship, and of the time period. I was really anxious to see how the book was going to end, I just couldn¿t imagine it. I was, however, very satisfied with the ending.

    As stated in the Authors Notes at the end of the book, Ms. Gray did take a few liberties with the book to make it more dramatic than accurate. Instead of fictionalizing some of the people that were really on the ship, she chose to invent new characters. We do have a scene with one person that was really on the ship, and that is Mr. Andrews, who helped design the Titanic.

    Overall, I thought this was a really great read, and it will definitely be a welcome addition to my collection. One note- Try not to think of the movie when you read this. Otherwise, you may have the music from the movie stuck in your head while reading it, as I did.

    Happy Reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    BookHounds

    Tess is young enough to not exactly know her place as a servant in the Lisle household, so when the family leaves on the Titanic for America, she is traveling in third class, but has no fear of first class and moves effortlessly upstairs from downstairs. She is also mature enough to know when she is being taken advantage of, so she makes plans for her future when she gets to America. While she is tending to her employers, she meets a man, Alec, that has a secret that he would rather not share. Well, you already know the outcome of the Titanic, so the story is based around the facts and what it was like to be a servant during this time period. Everything is historical spot on and you will even learn a few things about this era, which for me was perfect.

    Alec is a mystery, even after you know his werewolf secret, I found him very the perfect foil for Tess. As an American millionaire, there was less of a class divide between the two of them, so the romance part of this story worked and was more believable. Even more believable was the creepy description of the actual sinking of the Titanic. This is no gloss over. You can imagine the exact feelings of the passengers and the horror they witnessed as this ship went down. I am really impressed by the historical detail that is built into this world of both historical and paranormal situations. It is hard enough to get one of these right and Gray nailed both of them. Obviously, I cared more about Tess since she is so feisty. I am trying not to giveaway the finale, but well, you already know the ship sinks and I will leave it at that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Makings of a Stellar Series. Too Bad This is a Stand Alone.

    Faithful fans of the Evernight Series will be pleased with Claudia Gray's latest release Fateful. Readers like me who were disappointed in the lack luster conclusion of Afterlife will find Fateful a return to all the wonderful things that drew us into Evernight and Stargazer.

    Tess Davies is a woman of lower class and circumstance that has forced her to the employ of the Lisles. But Tess's current station hasn't dampened her determination to free herself of a life of servitude. She plans to strike out on her own in the new world. Before her journey can even begin Tess stumbles upon some supernatural trouble that follows her along her voyage and a mysterious handsome young man with a dangerous past who's quickly becoming Tess' personal knight in shining armor.

    If the bad guy doesn't kill her or the werewolves, the trip might do the trick, because this ship is destined to go down, the only question left is who's going down with it.

    Gray created some pretty compelling characters. Tess was interesting in the way she knew her place but also knew regardless of how society viewed her, she was worth more and patiently planned for a better future. Fateful was full of turn of the century socially imposed prisons and had a great cross section of women role models that spanned different classes and virtues. Tess being hardworking and patient, Irene kind, Myriam strong, fearless, self assured. There was also a great love story at the heart of this book, though it was a bit more progressive than most from this era, I personally don't mind the less than chaste version, it seems more accurate and is mostly used to point out the difficulties that faced young women at the time.

    I think my biggest gripe about Fateful is that it's only planned as a stand alone book. Not being able to visit these characters again is a great disappointment, the time period is always a great one to read about because of all the rules and social mishaps. Wonderful characters, a great setting, true love, and mortal danger, this has everything for the makings of a stellar series. Hopefully Gray will one day utilize the openings she left at the end of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very exciting read!

    WEREWOLVES? On the TITANIC??? Epic win!

    Tess and Alec... no matter which way I look at it, or turn it around in my head- their relationship never felt REAL to me! I was never convinced of either of their feelings for the other. They fall "in love" like *BAM*, after a series of less than pleasant meetings and there is nothing supporting it!

    Their relationship does become more plausible as the book continues, but only because we're more invested in the story and the characters! There was still never any real basis for WHY she was suddenly so in love with him.

    The several subplots in Fateful were VERY well done, and very, very exciting! The noble family of Lisle... PENNILESS! Their son and heir impregnating a lowly servant girl, and letting his parents cast her out to starve! Their meek and timid, but kind daughter in love with someone she can never have... These were FLAWLESS and I loved every second of them!

    George and Myriam... I'd have LOVED to hear more about them!!! George is an officer on the ship and Myriam is a third class passenger, their insta-love connection NEVER felt forced! It was sweet, romantic and as simple as "hello". *sigh*

    You know... it's not like I didn't KNOW how this story would end. Obviously, the Titanic sinks... it's still terribly tragic! Gray does a beautiful job of recreating these terrifying and heartbreakingly sad moments,

    "As I look past him and realize there are no more lifeboats close by, I wonder if we've found each other too late."

    "Won't you tell Myriam- I'm sorry not to have had more time with her." -George (my poor, sweet George)

    "When she takes my hand, I know it's all been real- all of it- and the horror is even more powerful than the fact that I've survived." -Tess

    I had finally been completely won over by this story- I'm talking 4.5 stars, only knocking the .5 because of my initial reservations toward Alec and Tess.When I got to the very last few pages, I was completely disappointed! My heart was breaking into 1000 pieces (which is good... I'm feeling EMOTION for Tess, finally!) and NO, I'm NOT going to tell you how it ends!

    I have NO doubt in my mind that a lot of people will probably love this ending- I, on the other hand was not a fan. So after much deliberation... 4 STARS!

    . . . . . . . . .

    And HOW freaking gorgeous is the new cover?! I absolutely LOVE it, the crimson dress she wore the day her and Alec had their date... her BLONDE hair (I wondered who the brunette chick was on the other cover!), the ice, the moon... everything is perfect! I loved the other one, but this cover is FAR more suited to the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I have to admit that when I started this book, I was a little skeptical how werewolves in the Titanic would work. It worked. Ms. Gray wrote a compelling story that filled me with the history of the Titanic, it's passengers, and a love that I can read over and over again!



    First off, the story line. I really love it. Like loved it so much I can't get enough of it. Once I stared the book I am immediately taken back by amazing writing, setting me in the Titanic. Ms. Gray did a great job in taking the reader back in time. Placed on the Titanic and in Tess's shoes, the reader is thrown into a world like no other.




    The characters of the book were awesome. I really enjoyed the main character, Tess. She is a servant girl just trying to make her way to the US. I loved the Tess is not your normal servant girl. She has hopes, dreams, and expectations that she set out for herself that she is reaching no matter what the cost. I also loved the drama with the family she worked for. It had my heart racing and fleeing for hope as I read about Tess and the troubles.




    The love interest in this book is simply fantastic. I loved watching Tess become more than what she is, taking risks, making choices that could change her life forever! The love in the book is overflowing the pages and the sacrifice made made me weep! The addictive romance will have you in love with the book!!




    I never would have thought that this book could work but man, it did. It is the perfect balance of historical fiction with a great love! Weaved with loads of paranormal aspects, Fateful is a book that you are not willing to put down. Once you start, it will enslave you till the very end! Dark and engaging, Fateful is a must read!




    *Implied sex, curse words*

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2015

    Well Done

    I enjoyed reading this book. I thought it was something similar to the TITANIC, but with a twist of fantasy. I really love the romance complication and the roles of the characters for this well written book. The tale of the werewolves is interesting too and I am glad the author did her research and understood the importance of adding such an event into this Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Why with the werewolves?

    Seeing that this story took place on the Titanic, I HAD to have it. The book is so well written and captivating and the main characters are great.
    Then comes the dark and distant love interest. He's cold and disinterested in Tess. Where is the appeal? The only appeal I see is the fact that he's described to be a "hottie". Classic YA douche bag.
    And of course! He's a werewolf. This talented author put WEREWOLVES on the Titanic. I nearly put the book down forever.
    Crazily enough, this isn't even a bad werewolf book. I was still hooked on it, despite myself. Had this book been set anywhere else I would've rated it lower. Alas, I am a total sucker for historical events.
    Had the book been without werewolves it would've gotten a perfect rating. However, Claudia is an excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love Claudia Gray's writing style. It grabs you and immediatel

    I love Claudia Gray's writing style. It grabs you and immediately pushes you into whatever world she is trying to portray, whether it be the dark halls of Evernight Academy, or, in the case of Fateful, 1912 England. Right before the Titanic sails. The history was what I loved most about this book. The sinking of the Titanic is such a fascinating, tragic event for anyone who loves history, and this book perfectly shows the many things that might have happened to people on that ill-fated voyage. (Except for the werewolves, of course.) You see the hope of so many as they travel to America to make new lives for themselves, the decadence of the first class passengers and the bravery of the crew. Ms. Gray invented the entire principal cast of players, yet they are all very believable as people of the time.

    Tess Davies, our heroine, is a lady's maid traveling with the somewhat dysfunctional Lisle family. Being an enterprising sort of miss, Tess does not plan to be a maid forever but rather start anew in America. Her plans are disrupted by mysterious gentleman and wolves even before the ship sets sail. She meant to just quietly go about her duties through the trip, but finds herself embroiled in a battle of wills between two werewolves. Alec and Mikhail. To complicate things further, she finds herself falling in love with Alec, though she knows nothing can happen between a servant girl and a first class passenger, even without all the supernatural goings on. I do love Tess; every inch the proper maid, she keeps secrets and faces the most shocking discoveries with a complete lack of hysteria. Her sensible beliefs are turned upside down and though she knows she shouldn't get further involved her heart won't let her start.

    Alec is a dreamer whose future fell apart when he was bitten. While a dangerous pack of powerful werewolves want him and his father's influence at their control, he is determined to retain his freedom, but freedom can come at a terrible cost. I love his bravery and stalwart determination as he tries to protect everybody without losing himself.

    The minor characters in this novel are as wonderful and well-developed as the main ones. Alec's father is wonderful; strong and supportive while so scared for his son. Tess shares a room with a Lebanese woman named Myriam and two elderly Norwegian ladies who speak no English. The ship is full of passengers from everywhere in the world. The crew is represented by one Seventh Officer Mr. George Greene, and unflappably English gentleman. The Lisle family are as different from each other as family members can be with kind Irene, pasty Leyton and overbearing Lady Regina. These are just a few of the lovely minor characters and you can't help but become involved in their fates, though you know they won't all survive the end.

    My one disappointment in this novel was that in Ms. Gray's other books there was always some magnificent plot twist that you didn't see coming (read Evernight and you will see what I'm talking about) and in this one there was not. However, that only barely diminished my overall enjoyment of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1