Customer Reviews for

Fateful

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Story!

Let me start by saying when I read the synopsis for this book I was very worried for two reasons one I am a huge Titanic fan (not just the movie) I have studied the history, read many books, and seen many documentaries. Second I'm not really a big fan of werewolf books ...
Let me start by saying when I read the synopsis for this book I was very worried for two reasons one I am a huge Titanic fan (not just the movie) I have studied the history, read many books, and seen many documentaries. Second I'm not really a big fan of werewolf books but, I love Claudia Gray's writing and her Evernight series so when I had a chance to read and review a copy of Fateful I jumped at the chance! I knew right away I was either going to love this book or hate it and I was happily surprised when I completely fell in love with the book and the characters! Just one quick addition about the Titanic part of the story not only was this story well thought out but Claudia must have done a good amount of research because what she does write of the ship is very detailed.



What I loved about this story was that the ship wasn't the main character the people were! The ship was always lingering there in the background but lets face we know what happens to the RMS Titanic it sinks! So I was blissfully happy that even though I knew what happened to the ship I did not know what was going to happen with the characters. Were they going to go down with the ship (like Leo did in the movie)? Were they going to survive (which I had my fingers crossed for)? I had no clue and that's what kept me on the edge of my seat reading much later than I should have.



The love between Alec and Tess was intense for many reasons she was a maidservant he was first class, she was human he was a werewolf, he was being hunted down by his own kind to join some brotherhood, he could possibly kill her, and lastly the ship sinking. Through all that though their connection deepens to many of the other characters disapproval and scorning. It's like through everything they save each other (no that's not spoilery I didn't say if they die). I also loved the supporting cast of characters especially Alec's dad who has sacrificed so much for his son and Tess's new found friends in steerage.



Fateful comes out September 13th so go buy it!Happy Reading!

posted by Jaime13 on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Reader Girl

Hey this is for everyone who wants to know what this book is about. It is a romantic werewolf story. It takes place on the TITANIC. Im pretty sure everyone who wants to read this book knows the story of theTITANIC. There is a young lady who is a maid for a very rich fam...
Hey this is for everyone who wants to know what this book is about. It is a romantic werewolf story. It takes place on the TITANIC. Im pretty sure everyone who wants to read this book knows the story of theTITANIC. There is a young lady who is a maid for a very rich family. The thing is that the family is losing all of their family. Unlike most families, the rich family puts all their servants in 3rd class. The girl falls in love with a 1st class man who happens to be a werewolf. He is being chased and after falling in love with the young maid, he puts his life on the line to protect her. This story has twists and plots that will keep you sitting on the edge of your seats. Sorry, im not naming names. I dont want to give away too much. The young lady finds herself putting her trust in friends she didnt know she could trust. I recommend this story for ages 12 and up. Ummm.....not sure why the whole thingy is in spanish though. It wasnt like that when i got my book. Dont worry though, the book is NOT in spanish it IS in ENGLISH! I absolutely LOVE this book and strongly recommend it

posted by 6042075 on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Amazing Book!!!

    I absolutely loved this book!! The Evernight series was a bit boring for me, kinda dull for my taste. I really wish there will be a series for this book! I am a Titanic fan. Love how Claudia combined forbidden love, action, tragity, and history into one book! Lucas and Bianca bettee watch out. Because Alec and Tess are stealing the spotlight!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Titanic books fan

    This book melted my heart.there is definitely somthing about this book that stands out to me when the charecter laughs you laugh when the charecters mad your mad and when they cry you want to cry as well ,just like in the movie titanic if youve watch that at some points i kind of felt like it was the movie like the girl is like the poor boy from the movie and alex is like the rich girl,and they both are really sad at parts but in this book the main charecter dosent die! So this is a very good book and i hope you read it and then watch titanic.:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a great book. I wish it would have been longer because

    This was a great book. I wish it would have been longer because I didnt want it to end. If your thinking about reading it and your not sure, Id say go ahead and take a chance on this book. You wont be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Rating

    I even thought the sample is something, I'm getting the book now. The only bad thing is that the description is in Spanish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    must read for lovers of historic fiction and fantasy

    The first time I read the summary of Claudia Gray`s first book I was skeptical about it... It sounded like she was just another author trying to do the same thing that several before her had done. However, I decided to give her a try and I was rewarded! Bianca and her lovely man drew me into their world and I find myself a fan of Gray. When I saw that she had a new book on the shelves I immedietly became interested - and that interest turned into extreme excitement whewn I learned the subject matter.

    I absolutely adore historic fiction and perhaps my favorite thing out of history is the tragedy of the Titanic. Gray did her research while writing this book and it shows in her exqusite detail. People who don`t enjoy history and fantasy will not be all that interested in this story... but for those of you who do love them, this is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review Of ARC Fateful By Claudia Gray

    OMG, this book ROCKED. Ever since I saw the movie Titanic with Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet I was intrigued by what happened to the RMS Titanic. I LOVED how Claudia did the reverse of what the 1997 movie Titanic did, which is by having Alec be rich and Tess be poor. I also enjoyed how she placed real elements along with her imagination and characters.

    Tess Davies is a maid in the wealthy household of the Lisle's. Tess longs to get away from her life of servitude. The Lisle's are heading to America aboard the RMS Titanic which gives Tess a way to escape her life and start over.

    Alexander Marlowe is the heir to Marlowe Steel and just as trapped in his life as Tess is. Alec is trying to escape his demons and hide himself away back in American. He came to Europe with a personal mission, which by all accounts, he has failed at. He is struggling with what he is and what he wants in life.

    When Alec and Tess meet again on the deck of the RMS Titanic they are drawn to each other by an inescapable force. But since this is 1912, and servants and the upper class don't mix EVER, they try to deny the growing attraction between them. But that is easier said then done when werewolves are thrown into the mix. Now it's a race against time to make it to America and escape their enemies and come away with their lives.

    There are tons of things I want to say about this book but I don't want to ruin it for anyone. When I was told "If I love Werewolves and the Titanic than I would love this book" I was so determined to get my hands on it. I never wanted this story to end. Claudia is a fantastic storyteller with amazingly gripping characters. The way she tells her story I could almost feel like I was on the deck of the RMS Titanic. This is definitely a MUST READ book. On a scale from 1-10 I give Fateful a GINORMOUS 20. Yes, I know it is off my scale but this is just one of those books that I feel everyone needs to experience for themselves. It makes you believe in love and hope. It also teaches us that love trumps all social classes. If you love history, the Titanic, love, werewolves, danger, intrigue, secrets, and betrayal then Fateful IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. EVERYONE needs to pick up a copy of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great read

    This was a great story with unique characters and an awesome plot. I'll be reading this one again. Highly recommemnded.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love the story!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    Source: Purchased kindle version


    My Summary:

    Ever since Tess turned thirteen, she has been a maid for the Lisies family. Now eighteen, Tess is headed to America with her employer on the RMS Titanic. She has saved for two years to have enough money to give notice when the ship docks so that she can start a new life. But nothing comes easily for Tess and this trip is no different. Before she even boards the ship, she is attacked by a wolf and defended by the incredible Alec. Once aboard, the problems really start. As a third class passenger who serves a first class family, Tess struggles to push aside the feelings for Alec, who turns up again to help her. Their relationship quickly grows despite the difference is social status. But the wolf that plagues her on land has joined her on the ship. Trying to stay safe has become a full time job and that's without the destiny of the ship taken into account.

    My thoughts:




    5 stars - a must read

    So let me start by saying that I'm not a Titanic fan. I really didn't like the movie and I really don't like reading something where I think everyone is going to die. Talk about depressing. But I picked up Fateful for the Dark Days Tour and I'm really glad I did. I've always liked Claudia Gray as a writer and this book doesn't disappoint.

    I love the 1912 atmosphere that she creates for this story. Tess's employer is disagreeable and difficult. It's clear why Tess would want a different kind of life. I love the way that the Titanic isn't the center of the story. Yes we get to see what it looks like and how grand it is but the ship is not the story. The social status is certainly an aspect to it but it too is not the story. Tess and Alec overcome that as easily as Alec not caring what others think. (Which I love about Alec). The story is a paranormal romance where a brotherhood of werewolves are all powerful and influential. They want Alec and they will stop at nothing to get him. Tess's employer has something else they want and Tess is something of a play thing for them. The complex drama of the story develops well before any events on the ship come into play. There were twists and turns as the brotherhood made their moves and Tess tried to stay away from them. All the while, Tess and Alec become close despite both of their efforts not to.

    The characters are rich and full of depth. Tess is strong and bold, putting up with only as much as she has to keep her position as a maid. It's clear what draws Alec to her. I particularly liked Alec. He was in a difficult situation that caused his family a lot of pain. He tried very hard to do the right thing at a high personal cost. It is obvious that he has feelings for Tess but he tries very hard to set them aside so that she won't be drawn into the mess that is his life. When it becomes clear that Tess is involved, he tries to keep her safe and he stands up to social pressure as he spends time with Tess. At every step he chooses what is right instead of what is easy. Love that about him.

    Now about the ending, I become very stressed as I reached the last fifty pages or so. I knew that boat was going to sink, even though the story didn't (thankfully) dwell on the events leading up to the impact with the iceberg. I clung to the idea that Claudia Gray is a masterful storyteller as I plunged on to finish the book. I cried. There were some really hard scenes for me to read but I also hoped. I wasn't di

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Loved it!!!!

    Spoiler ALERT... I loved loved loved this book. I knew Tess and Alec would end up together but the way they did was surprising in a good way. This book was not predictable one bit. Claudia Gray did a great job at making you fall in love with the characters and hate the bad guys. I would recommend to anyone who loves supernatural romances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Amazing...

    This is a book you can't put down and keep wanting more. Claudia descibes the Titanic and events like no other author. The love between Tess and Alec is truely beautiful. I will recomend this book to all my friends and others. This is a Amazing book, it will be on my list of favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Buy this. Now.

    So I finished Fateful a couple days ago, but I've been putting of writing a review because I honestly don't know what to say. I LOVED this book. Way more than the Evernight series. I just... I don't even know. I don't think I've come across a book in a really long time that's touched me like this one, and I honestly don't know why. I think it's mostly to do with the romance and the fact that it's set on the Titanic. Coming in to this book, I set myself up for it to be a tragedy, hoping I would find some happiness in it. I did :) But I also found a lot of tears.

    I don't cry very often when I read books, it's a genetic defect or something. I bawled like a baby when I read Fateful. And I didn't just have wet eyes. This was major, sobbing, nose running, loud noise crying. My mom eventually came in my room and had to ask if I was okay. It was that bad. But the story was so good.

    I absolutely loved Tess. She's so practical and brave, but she spends the novel really finding herself. She's also pretty funny. And Alec is fabulous.. he's just so.. wolfish. He's pretty much the epitome of alpha male. If you've seen some of my future posts you know I love a good alpha ;) Their romance was absolutely remarkable. I honestly didn't know if they were going to work out or not. Not until the last 5 pages or so did I really get my answer. Gray kept me on the edge of my seat up until the very last word.

    The setting is also really fabulous, I mean, I werewolf romance on the Titanic?! How awesome?! I have never read anything else set amongst the Titanic, but I loved the movie. And I loved this story's setting. I was so heartbroken for Tess, living as a lowly servant with no fireplace in the winter, working for such a wretched woman. However, the contrast between upper and lower class really stood out. While the Lisle family had money and power, they were all miserable, but Tess enjoyed herself and Alec enjoyed being with the third class passengers much more.

    We all know how it should end, so no spoilers there. The Titanic sinks, but who lives and who dies is a real surprise :) I want anyone and everyone to read this book! It's absolutely wonderful! If I ever get the chance to meet Miss Gray in person I will hug her for writing this book! It's absolutely fantastic for laughs, cries, romance, paranormal, everything! Add it to your TBR list :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    OMG

    I just read a night to remember for a school project and loved it i wasnt sure if i really wanted to read another titanic book but this was one of the best books i have EVER READ!!!!!!! I totally recomend it. I was about halfway through it when i had to go to a potlock . So dissapointed i had to leave. I read all of the 248pgs today and started at 1. READ THIS BOOK!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Historical, Stunning, and Imaginative!

    Historical, stunning, and imaginative. Claudia Gray took a historical event and created a beautiful, thrilling story with werewolves, romance, and a tragedy.

    In April 1912, Tess is a servant to the Lisle family. The Lisle family has decided to voyage to the United States aboard the RMS Titanic, and upon arriving to the US, Tess believes she'll finally be able to gain some freedom. She never expects along the journey for fall for the handsome and rich Alec Marlowe. But Alec has a secret of his own, he's a werewolf cursed to changed every single night. For Tess and Alec that isn't their only problem. They're also being hunted by Mikhail, an extremely powerful werewolf. Being hunted, class-separated, and on a doomed ship these two must trust fate to guide them to what they deserve.

    I have to admit, I was a little skeptical about reading this one. Not because I thought I wouldn't enjoy it, but because (don't kill me...) I never really got into the whole "Titanic" event. I am SO, so glad I read it as soon as I did, because I absolutely adored this book. In my opinion, I don't think Claudia Gray could have made Fateful any better... it was brilliantly done. The writing was absolutely beautiful and perfectly written for the time period. The character were all perfectly developed and each had a role to play. And in regards to the Titanic, it was part of the story but it was left in the background... which I also thought was perfectly done! The story revolves around Tess and not the ship, and I couldn't have loved it any more.

    Tess is such a brave and admirable character. Yes, she is a servant and she knows her place, yet she does what she has to for herself and the people she cares about. She has a wise head on her shoulders, and is a protagonist you are sure to love. With the characters, I have to give a quick shout out to Irene. I loved Irene and her role in Fateful. I loved how she was the reserved girl, but could certainly stand up for herself and hold her ground. Finally, Alec. Oh Alec... with your chestnut waves, broad shoulders, and gold-green eyes... can I have you? Alec is the all-around perfect boy to fall for. He's wealthy, but is modest about it. He has the perfect father. And, Alec is so self-sacrificing and caring. I loved Alec so much, 100% one of my new favorite fictional boys.

    I am a huge fan of Claudia Gray's Evernight Series and Fateful in no way let me down. Honestly, I was not expecting it to have the ending it had but, I was so dang happy with it. With it's exquisite writing, flawless characters, and a brilliant story line, Fateful is not a book you want to miss! Five stars out of Five!

    *Side note! - The Fateful cover with Tess in the red dress standing on the boat, with her blonde hair whipping around and the moon and iceberg in the background is just STUNNING and perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    AllieCAT

    Amazing. No surprise from this author. Cant wait for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    LOVE IT!!!

    LOVE IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    OMG Ilove this book it has the intense romance plus supernateral spoiler alert. This book will have you keep on gessing whats going to happen next all the time you will whant to cry screem and sing for joy I LOVE this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Best ever

    This is a must read. Loved all of the charaters. A romance between a maid and a wearwolf on the titanic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Elders den

    EDLERS DEN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Sabrina Vaz

    Hey guys Sabrina Vaz here and I just want to say that this is a good book. I have the paperback book and I've read it many times. I also think you should read it too!!! Don't forget to check out my YouTube channel: sabrinavaz1. Also, comment, like, and SUBSCRIBE!!!! Bye!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2