Customer Reviews for

Fate's Edge (Edge Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

an action-packed zany thriller

In the Cascades, Audrey Callahan quit being a con artist thief always On The Edge while working in the mundane Broken and magical Weird planes. However, her retirement is delayed with one last job as her dad pleads with her to help her brother Alex the addict with the ...
In the Cascades, Audrey Callahan quit being a con artist thief always On The Edge while working in the mundane Broken and magical Weird planes. However, her retirement is delayed with one last job as her dad pleads with her to help her brother Alex the addict with the theft of a valuable magical artifact. She initially refused until her father used the mom card and vows this would be the last time. She tells him this is her last job as he once again picked her sibling over her; she further explains she no longer has parents as he expects her to steal from the Pyramid of Ptah in West Egypt on the Weird side, a death assignment.

She succeeds, but the robbery has major secondary effects as several countries on the Weird plane are preparing for war. Adrianglia's Mirror group Renaissance Man (who has feet on both sides of the law) Kaldar Mar amongst others with diverse goals search for the siblings and the relic. He is shocked that the cat burglar and her muscle took under twenty minutes to steal the treasure inside of a locked pyramid. Kaldar finds Audrey, who agrees to help him retrieve what she purloined for her sibling. At the same time Adrianglia's archenemy the Hand society seeks the same artifact, which means find the Callahan siblings in order to extract information using coercive interrogation techniques.

The third Edge urban fantasy (see On the Edge and Bayou Moon) is an action-packed zany thriller starring two distrusting individuals who fight, fuss and fall in love while working the retrieval. Fast-paced with strong spins, readers from the Broken plane will enjoy the awesome adventures of Kaldar and Audrey in the Weird.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

L

She strikes again. Harriet klausner ruins another book. Look, just because yiu read it does not give you the liberty to tell everything that happens and ruin it for others. I am reporting you by name to bn. I am sick to death of you ruining every book i am interested in...
She strikes again. Harriet klausner ruins another book. Look, just because yiu read it does not give you the liberty to tell everything that happens and ruin it for others. I am reporting you by name to bn. I am sick to death of you ruining every book i am interested in.

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an action-packed zany thriller

    In the Cascades, Audrey Callahan quit being a con artist thief always On The Edge while working in the mundane Broken and magical Weird planes. However, her retirement is delayed with one last job as her dad pleads with her to help her brother Alex the addict with the theft of a valuable magical artifact. She initially refused until her father used the mom card and vows this would be the last time. She tells him this is her last job as he once again picked her sibling over her; she further explains she no longer has parents as he expects her to steal from the Pyramid of Ptah in West Egypt on the Weird side, a death assignment.

    She succeeds, but the robbery has major secondary effects as several countries on the Weird plane are preparing for war. Adrianglia's Mirror group Renaissance Man (who has feet on both sides of the law) Kaldar Mar amongst others with diverse goals search for the siblings and the relic. He is shocked that the cat burglar and her muscle took under twenty minutes to steal the treasure inside of a locked pyramid. Kaldar finds Audrey, who agrees to help him retrieve what she purloined for her sibling. At the same time Adrianglia's archenemy the Hand society seeks the same artifact, which means find the Callahan siblings in order to extract information using coercive interrogation techniques.

    The third Edge urban fantasy (see On the Edge and Bayou Moon) is an action-packed zany thriller starring two distrusting individuals who fight, fuss and fall in love while working the retrieval. Fast-paced with strong spins, readers from the Broken plane will enjoy the awesome adventures of Kaldar and Audrey in the Weird.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    L

    She strikes again. Harriet klausner ruins another book. Look, just because yiu read it does not give you the liberty to tell everything that happens and ruin it for others. I am reporting you by name to bn. I am sick to death of you ruining every book i am interested in.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was a GOOD game, which is high praise from me when it

    This book was a GOOD game, which is high praise from me when it comes to books. It managed to lift me out of the doldrums, and take me on an adventure that had me jumping in place, running around with happy giggles, and practically bursting with the feeling that I had just discovered the greatest thing ever! This is not just a candy book; it’s a whole delectable chocolate cake, smothered in rich ganache, and liberally peppered with the sweet-tart freshness of ripe raspberries. With all of the satisfaction and none of the calories, this book is a win/win and on my must read list for the year.

    Fate’s Edge was a fun book from start to finish; filled with the epic world-building that Ms. Andrews so excels at, it expanded on the universe that the previous two books in this series built and mastered the depiction of some pretty particular characters. The plot of this book served to both further the overall story-arch of the Edge series and to help us explore the characters in this story in new and fascinating ways. Both old and new characters find new light in this book; all while keeping a pulse-pounding pace one step ahead of disaster and a humorous voice that made this volume a joy to experience. My one critique would be that the ending pulled together too quickly for me; it is hard to say that a 372 page book was too short, but I would have loved an extra hundred pages or so to give the ending as much build-up as some of the capers in the middle of this book. And if wanting another hundred pages of the same doesn’t give a high opinion of a book, I don’t know what does.

    This series just keeps getting better and better, and I cannot wait to see what Ms. Andrews comes up with next in the Edge.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Another great story from the Edge!

    Ilona Andrews has written another great story in the Edge. Each book in the series is a must read if you like magic, adventure, action and romance all rolled into one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    I think I'm finished

    I've read each book in this series & the violence is really getting to me. I like the books' environment & most of the characters, but the bad people are just too sadistic for me. I was hoping we were finished with this villain but it looks like we have two of the same vein now & they will continue to be in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great characters!

    This book is my favorite of the series! I usually don't read a series that doesn't center around the same main character throughout but I'm hooked on the Edge series. I love the interaction between Kaldar and Audrey! They have to work together while Kaldar attempts to seduce Audrey and she just as quick-minded avoids his traps. Great read, would recommend to friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I liked the characters and story line. Just like the others in the series, it was fast paced, full of adventure, and fun to read. If you like the Magic series I reccomend you read the Edge series as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Another outstanding adventure!

    Another outstanding adventure from Ilona Andrews. I loved this book, this series, everything they write. I hope there will be many more in this series and more "Magic" books too.
    "She tasted...just like a sunny day in the middle of a dark night." page 197

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I can't Wait!!

    I adore this series and I'm counting down the days until book three comes out. I haven't been disappointed with anything from the Ilona Andrews team yet. Keep up the good work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    This was a fun read. Like the others in the series it is action

    This was a fun read. Like the others in the series it is action packed with blood and gore and magic.

    (There is some language and a sex scene.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is a well written book that keeps you entertained and wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Love both series by these authors!! The Edge series and Kate Dan

    Love both series by these authors!! The Edge series and Kate Daniels series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Save place

    safe place

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Another win by the Illona Andrews team!

    While the edge books are slightly predictable, the Andrews team have such great storytelling abilities that they can turn a far fetched, silly story into gold. I'm not a big fan of romance, but after reading the Kate Daniels series, I would read anything they put out. This book as quite enjoyable. The story moved along at a nice clip with lots of action, and we got a more in depth look at some old characters. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi Fate¿s Edge is the third i

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

    Fate’s Edge is the third installment of The Edge series written by the husband and wife writing team that is Ilona Andrews. This is the first series that I’ve read from them and so far I’ve liked the books, but didn’t love them. There was always one thing or other that made it impossible for me to get over that hump. Well what can I say, with Fate’s Edge I have finally made it over that hurdle!

    We were introduced to Kaldar in the previous installment, Bayou Moon, and he was a pain in William’s derriere, but I found myself loving him! In fact, I was loving him more than the main characters of the story, which could be why I only liked that book. I enjoy his humor and the whole betting thing is a lot of fun as well. So I was ecstatic to learn that Fate’s Edge was all about my favorite swamp rat!

    It’s been a couple of years since the Mars and William faced off against the Hand, which severally decimated the numbers of the Mar family. William traded 10 years of service to the Mirror in exchange for asylum for Cherise’s family. But Kaldar wasn’t satisfied with somebody else paying his debt so he took a job with the Mirror as well.

    Now Kaldar is on a new assignment. Somebody broke into the Pyramid of Ptah, a place that was considered impossible to penetrate, and stole a valuable artifact that could allow powerful magic users to pass into the realm of the Broken. The burglary appears to have been contracted by the Hand, but they were somehow thwarted in receiving the goods. Now it’s up to Kaldar to find out who stole the relic and to return it to its rightful place before the Hand can release their monsters into the unaware world of the Broken.

    Audrey was born into a family of grifters, but has decided to break away from the family ‘business’ and live life on the straight and narrow. And, right when everything seems to be falling into place her father shows up asking for her to help with one last heist to fund her addict brother’s next stint in rehab. She decides to do it this one last time to get rid of her family once and for all. But her new life comes crashing down around her when Kaldar shows up and knows that she had a hand in the thievery.

    Kaldar and Audrey must work together to fix the mess that was created by unleashing this powerful relic on the world. And, did I mention they have to do it with two stowaways? George and Jack snuck onto Kaldar’s transport to avoid problems at home and are faced with life and death situations right along with Kaldar and Audrey.

    Audrey’s grandmother always warned her never to fall in love with a con man because you can never tell when they’re being sincere. But in the battle between her head and her heart, which will win out? And, how can Kaldar prove that there is more to him than meets the eye and that he’s not just using her like all the other men in her life?

    I can’t say it enough, I really enjoyed this book. I ran the battery out on my ereader hoping that it would last long enough for me to finish. Thankfully it did....

    Continued at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely and Positively Dreadful It took me five months and f

    Absolutely and Positively Dreadful

    It took me five months and four tries to get through this book. The plot was about as slow as molasses in January and just couldn’t grab my interest. The story was predictable and dull, which is surprising because the Ilona Andrews duo are among my favorites authors.

    Unfortunately, this installment never found it’s rhythm for me. I never became fully engrossed and invested in the story.

    I won’t be reading any future books in this series. I just don’t feel the “pull” to care about what happens in this saga. After having read all three books in this series, I can honestly say I can live without it and if I had never read these books, I wouldn’t have missed a thing.

    I love the Kate Daniels series and will continue to enjoy the adventures of Kate and Curran with a passion. It has never let me down and also manages to entertain me to the fullest. Normally, I would give my favorite authors more than one chance to woo me back, but sadly, in this case, this series is just not worth my invested time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this book. I found the characters to be engaging

    I really liked this book. I found the characters to be engaging and interesting and the writing to be easy-to-read. My only negative comment about this book is that the further I got into it, the harder it was to keep the characters and different societies separate in my mind and figure out who was fighting who and why and where they were located. A map at the beginning of the book and a family tree of characters would have been helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Same old, same old

    I enjoyed the first two of this series but find I have begun to bore. I love the settings, the Weird, The Broken and it seems everything in between but I am finding the characterization rather weak and predictable.

    What we have is a similar thread, independent women trying to cope with the family situation or lack of it and in sweeps the proverbial prince charming whether he be prince, werewolf or anything else does not matter. The falling in love scenario has replayed in exactly the same pattern too many times for me; it really is just the same old same old repeat of the success of the first two.

    I did enjoy the development of Jack and George a bit more this time but truly Audrey and Kaldar irritated me because Audrey is a repeat of Rose and Cerise from the past novels and Kaldar is just another repeat of Declan and William

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great series

    The third book in Andrews' rural-modern fantasy series is also the first to be a less satisfactory starting place for new readers. And again fans of the series already will find all the things they love about it here for their eager eyes.

    In the Edge series there are three world settings, the Broken, where magic doesn't work, the Weird, where magic developed instead of science and fantasy-style nobles and bluebloods rule, and finally the Edge, a space between the Broken and Weird that collects exiles, runaways and all manner of odd folk. Fate's Edge focuses on Kaldar (also in the second book) a swamp rat swindler turned Special Agent for the Weird. His female lead is Audrey, a woman whose family used her magical talent for thievery only to betray her in favor of her addict, abusive brother.

    There's a lot more world-building and setting related material here than in the previous books. The past books and the Weird politics are far more essential to the story. Likewise, there's a difficulty in a book where both leads are, by legal if not moral standards, bad guys (just not as bad as the evil, magical skewed, murdering Hand). There's quite a few times where the romance element between Kaldar and Audrey is shoved to the background. The main plot, too, takes an unconventional path as the leads seem to get distracted with side plots rather than attacking the problem at hand directly (like the leads in the first 2 books did).
    That said, I really enjoyed it. Andrews' writing style is richly detailed, wonderfully expansive and unconventional. It's action-y and engaging, an enjoyable read from page one. But this isn't where new readers should start (you should start with On the Edge).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful continuation of the arc

    Ilona Andrews is an author I will buy no questions asked. This book only serves to solidify that opinion. The character development across the series is wonderful, as is the fleshing out of the youngest members of the crew as they now enter their early teens. I _loved_ the twists in the story's unfolding, the "oh ####!" moments that peppered the story and the little bits that worked so well to tie the books together. The team that is Ilona Andrews continues to develop strong female characters who more than hold their own. I have never picked up an Andrews book only to finish it wishing the girls kicked a little more butt or had a little more attitude. The younger characters in the stories are also portrayed consistently well, with just the right level of "teen-ness" to keep them real. I'd be fine having any of those kids around! The backbone of the fantastic aspects of the books continues to play a unique role in the storytelling, with the Weird, the Edge, and the Broken each providing a flavor and challenges of their own. All in all, this installment in the series only helps to keep me addicted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5