BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fate's Edge (Edge Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

an action-packed zany thriller

In the Cascades, Audrey Callahan quit being a con artist thief always On The Edge while working in the mundane Broken and magical Weird planes. However, her retirement is delayed with one last job as her dad pleads with her to help her brother Alex the addict with the ...
In the Cascades, Audrey Callahan quit being a con artist thief always On The Edge while working in the mundane Broken and magical Weird planes. However, her retirement is delayed with one last job as her dad pleads with her to help her brother Alex the addict with the theft of a valuable magical artifact. She initially refused until her father used the mom card and vows this would be the last time. She tells him this is her last job as he once again picked her sibling over her; she further explains she no longer has parents as he expects her to steal from the Pyramid of Ptah in West Egypt on the Weird side, a death assignment.

She succeeds, but the robbery has major secondary effects as several countries on the Weird plane are preparing for war. Adrianglia's Mirror group Renaissance Man (who has feet on both sides of the law) Kaldar Mar amongst others with diverse goals search for the siblings and the relic. He is shocked that the cat burglar and her muscle took under twenty minutes to steal the treasure inside of a locked pyramid. Kaldar finds Audrey, who agrees to help him retrieve what she purloined for her sibling. At the same time Adrianglia's archenemy the Hand society seeks the same artifact, which means find the Callahan siblings in order to extract information using coercive interrogation techniques.

The third Edge urban fantasy (see On the Edge and Bayou Moon) is an action-packed zany thriller starring two distrusting individuals who fight, fuss and fall in love while working the retrieval. Fast-paced with strong spins, readers from the Broken plane will enjoy the awesome adventures of Kaldar and Audrey in the Weird.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

L

She strikes again. Harriet klausner ruins another book. Look, just because yiu read it does not give you the liberty to tell everything that happens and ruin it for others. I am reporting you by name to bn. I am sick to death of you ruining every book i am interested in...
She strikes again. Harriet klausner ruins another book. Look, just because yiu read it does not give you the liberty to tell everything that happens and ruin it for others. I am reporting you by name to bn. I am sick to death of you ruining every book i am interested in.

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an action-packed zany thriller

    In the Cascades, Audrey Callahan quit being a con artist thief always On The Edge while working in the mundane Broken and magical Weird planes. However, her retirement is delayed with one last job as her dad pleads with her to help her brother Alex the addict with the theft of a valuable magical artifact. She initially refused until her father used the mom card and vows this would be the last time. She tells him this is her last job as he once again picked her sibling over her; she further explains she no longer has parents as he expects her to steal from the Pyramid of Ptah in West Egypt on the Weird side, a death assignment.

    She succeeds, but the robbery has major secondary effects as several countries on the Weird plane are preparing for war. Adrianglia's Mirror group Renaissance Man (who has feet on both sides of the law) Kaldar Mar amongst others with diverse goals search for the siblings and the relic. He is shocked that the cat burglar and her muscle took under twenty minutes to steal the treasure inside of a locked pyramid. Kaldar finds Audrey, who agrees to help him retrieve what she purloined for her sibling. At the same time Adrianglia's archenemy the Hand society seeks the same artifact, which means find the Callahan siblings in order to extract information using coercive interrogation techniques.

    The third Edge urban fantasy (see On the Edge and Bayou Moon) is an action-packed zany thriller starring two distrusting individuals who fight, fuss and fall in love while working the retrieval. Fast-paced with strong spins, readers from the Broken plane will enjoy the awesome adventures of Kaldar and Audrey in the Weird.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was a GOOD game, which is high praise from me when it

    This book was a GOOD game, which is high praise from me when it comes to books. It managed to lift me out of the doldrums, and take me on an adventure that had me jumping in place, running around with happy giggles, and practically bursting with the feeling that I had just discovered the greatest thing ever! This is not just a candy book; it’s a whole delectable chocolate cake, smothered in rich ganache, and liberally peppered with the sweet-tart freshness of ripe raspberries. With all of the satisfaction and none of the calories, this book is a win/win and on my must read list for the year.

    Fate’s Edge was a fun book from start to finish; filled with the epic world-building that Ms. Andrews so excels at, it expanded on the universe that the previous two books in this series built and mastered the depiction of some pretty particular characters. The plot of this book served to both further the overall story-arch of the Edge series and to help us explore the characters in this story in new and fascinating ways. Both old and new characters find new light in this book; all while keeping a pulse-pounding pace one step ahead of disaster and a humorous voice that made this volume a joy to experience. My one critique would be that the ending pulled together too quickly for me; it is hard to say that a 372 page book was too short, but I would have loved an extra hundred pages or so to give the ending as much build-up as some of the capers in the middle of this book. And if wanting another hundred pages of the same doesn’t give a high opinion of a book, I don’t know what does.

    This series just keeps getting better and better, and I cannot wait to see what Ms. Andrews comes up with next in the Edge.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Another great story from the Edge!

    Ilona Andrews has written another great story in the Edge. Each book in the series is a must read if you like magic, adventure, action and romance all rolled into one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great characters!

    This book is my favorite of the series! I usually don't read a series that doesn't center around the same main character throughout but I'm hooked on the Edge series. I love the interaction between Kaldar and Audrey! They have to work together while Kaldar attempts to seduce Audrey and she just as quick-minded avoids his traps. Great read, would recommend to friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Another outstanding adventure!

    Another outstanding adventure from Ilona Andrews. I loved this book, this series, everything they write. I hope there will be many more in this series and more "Magic" books too.
    "She tasted...just like a sunny day in the middle of a dark night." page 197

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I can't Wait!!

    I adore this series and I'm counting down the days until book three comes out. I haven't been disappointed with anything from the Ilona Andrews team yet. Keep up the good work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved how the Kaldar and Audrey interaction!

    I don’t know who I would have pictured for Kaldar, but once I read how Audrey interacted with him, I realized they were absolutely perfect for each other. Neither one of them could fool the other, and that only made them hotter for each other.

    As usual, the Hand horrors dogged their steps, causing death of people close to them, and together they must find and keep a sacred object from those monsters. Led by none-other than Spider’s niece.

    Again, the horrors the Hand (or Hound in this case) are willing to do are horrendous, but because they are bad guys, it’s necessary. I actually like novels that add some realism to their villains, so rather than simply “I want to take over the world” it is instead “I’ll take over the world and slaughter and eat people who stand in my way.” Much more satisfying when they go down.

    Kaldar is honestly more likable in this book than in the previous, though I would have throttled George and Jack for the crap they pulled, and thrown Gaston under a train as well. Then again, I’m an aunt who really dislikes when kids don’t listen to the important “NO” you give them. And Jack’s lack of trying did get on my nerves a lot, but that really was the point.

    All in all, a great novel. This series gets better with each installment practically! 4.5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is a well written book that keeps you entertained and wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Love both series by these authors!! The Edge series and Kate Dan

    Love both series by these authors!! The Edge series and Kate Daniels series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Save place

    safe place

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4