Customer Reviews for

Father Elijah: An Apocalypse

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Amazing

From the second you open the book, you do not put it down until the last page!!! Extremely good book for the "spirtually hungry." Teaches humility, obedience, and prayer.

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This book is so close in so many ways to the way things have been going in the Church (unfortunately) and in the world right now, that it is clear that the writer has been awake and listening vigilantly, as we are urged to do in Holy Scripture. It is an eschatology for...
This book is so close in so many ways to the way things have been going in the Church (unfortunately) and in the world right now, that it is clear that the writer has been awake and listening vigilantly, as we are urged to do in Holy Scripture. It is an eschatology for Catholics, and entertaining enough to read for pleasure, but frightening enough (as well as realistic enough)to remain with you a long time, and cause you to look more carefully at our world.

posted by 1401400 on November 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    a great novel

    I read a an average of a book a week. this is on the top 20 list of best so far in over 40 years of reading! A super and very thoughtful thriller/novel, with enough real meat to give you something to think about at the same time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Favorite Ever

    I thought I was alone in thinking this was one of the best books I ever read. It is captivating and intense in a way few other books have ever been.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ!

    This book will hold your interest from page one to the end. I have read this book four times and each time it becomes more real. I have also enjoyed reading other related books by Michael D. O'Brien I am looking forward to any new books he may write.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Absolutely Amazing

    From the second you open the book, you do not put it down until the last page!!! Extremely good book for the "spirtually hungry." Teaches humility, obedience, and prayer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is so close in so many ways to the way things have been going in the Church (unfortunately) and in the world right now, that it is clear that the writer has been awake and listening vigilantly, as we are urged to do in Holy Scripture. It is an eschatology for Catholics, and entertaining enough to read for pleasure, but frightening enough (as well as realistic enough)to remain with you a long time, and cause you to look more carefully at our world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Completely Unexpected!

    This was on the list of choices for required-reading tests in my religion class. I expected it to be a long, hyperbolic biography of a "Father Elijah," similar to Padre Pio. I knew absolutely nothing of this book prior to picking it up. To my surprise, it is a page-turner, a work of Catholic fiction! I never expected such a work to exist. It wonderfully puts modern perspectives of religion, faith, and the Church back into place. O'Brien does a magnificent job of crafting his characters from humanity's flaws. I highly recommend this book to any and everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    Just a tad conflicted

    I want to give this book a five, but I cannot ignore a few of the flaws. On the plus side, O'Brien tells a compelling story. Catholics and Christians at large who read the book and take their faith seriously will have much to ponder, even if the events described are a bit more dire than real life (but not by much). Those who are not Christian will find a good story as well and strong arguments for the Christian message. The characters are well drawn and the plot is not what one would expect. On the minus side, O'Brien's book is in places a lot of dialogue, back and forth conversations. His major flaw as a writer is failing to indicate who is speaking during long stretches of dialogue. At points, it is easy to get lost and wonder just who is speaking. I don't usually have to back up and figure out who is speaking, but when I have to do it several times in a book... Overall, it is a great piece of Catholic literature, but not without its weaknesses in style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    a good look at catholic teaching inserted into a novel

    Take your time reading
    Excellent story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Standard for Eschatological Fiction

    "Father Elijah" is an apocalyptic thriller portraying a Catholic Christian scenario on the end times. Published in 1996, its main character is a Carmelite (Catholic) Priest, Fr. Elijah Schäfer-a Holocaust survivor and Jewish convert who at one time had been slated to become the most powerful political figure in Israel. The central plot focuses on a clandestine assignment given the priest by the highest office of the Vatican; infiltrate the inner circle of a powerful emerging political force-a man some believe could very well be the prophesied antichrist.

    I have to begin by saying that I know of no contemporary Catholic fiction writer that matches the literary prowess of Michael O'Brien. His entire "Children of the Last Days" series (the loosely connected series of books that are not necessarily sequential in nature) functions as a treatise-in-fiction of John Paul II's rich philosophical/theological approach to man's place in existence and experience of God. The characters in Father Elijah are multi-dimensional and the pace is fast, yet at certain points the author permits a sub-plot to play out which deepen the reader's appreciation of how the classic battle between good and evil play out within a character. One chapter in particular, titled "The Confession", still sits with me nearly ten years after my first read of the book. O'Brien's understanding of the human person-the seductive nature of sin and its relation to the human impossibility of true forgiveness without God's grace plays out in a masterfully written sequence.

    In attempting to find something critical to write about this work, I am admittedly hard-pressed, but would perhaps suffice to say that the author's skills in literary writing only improve after this book. I perhaps would have liked him to play his scenario out further, but I suspect O'Brien was very deliberate in attempting not to be an "end times Prophet" in the sense of interpreting and predicting how specific events from Biblical prophecy will play out. However-and I speak here of the entire series-I do believe his portrayal of societal/political "progress" will continue to prove quite prophetic.

    I would recommend this book to any person who desires to engage in serious reflection on the world we live in and their particular place in it. The non-Catholic Christian, agnostic, and even atheist need not fear reading this work-it is clearly not evangelical and/or proselytizing in the true sense of these words. While it is true that the book includes elements of Catholicism-often portrayed in a favorable light-the objective reader should have no more difficulty with this than the same elements being projected in a more sinister fashion in widely read works such as those written by Dan Brown. One should never let one's personal biases interfere with their enjoyment of a good work of fiction. after all. it is FICTION. isn't it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    My first catholic fiction novel: Very inspiring!

    I wanted to strengthen my understanding of what it means to be Catholic and to understand an example of how to live a more deeply spiritual life. I think both of those goals were met but in addition I was blown away with an incredible story as well! The story is written from the eyes of a Catholic priest and truely inspired me. It was a book that was hard to put down. As the story unfolds at various historical religious locations across Italy, one gets a better sense of the history and influence of the Catholic church on society and visa versa. I can't wait to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ¡AWESOME!

    This book can fall into most every genre and satisfy most every literary thirst. It is brilliant - a bit confusing at times and far from short - but all the same, beautiful, dramatic, thoughtful, intriguing, exciting, and most other positive adj. Just as a warning, if you pick this up, make sure you have time because you won't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2002

    Best Book I've Ever Read

    This is the greatest book I've ever had the pleasure of reading. Not only was my mind given a treat, my soul was strengthened by the solid theology embedded within this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Witnessing to Hope

    The best book I've read in years. Written by a sensitive soul and powerful mind, this tale is sure to have you searching your own soul. 'Father Elijah' is a theological powerhouse that leaves you vigilant for truth, armed with his images of pure Love and the transforming power of the Gospel. It is a witness to Hope. While it is uncompromisingly Catholic, readers of all religious and secular persuasions will appreciate his prophetic and imaginative opus dei.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Extremely wonderful

    Read this book an you will surely be captivated at what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    Book of Spirit full of action

    Book starts a little slow but after the first chapeter it is very difficult to put the book down. It is worth reading many times. I have! It is religious in a non tradional sense but very real and causes one to think about today's issues facing people. Yes there is action romance and drama. bottom line it is a great book!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    The Last Great Novel of the Twentieth Century

    This novel is the fullfillment of the Canadian metaphysical realist tradition of Hugh Hood and Alister Macleod. Dostoyevsky and Solzhenitzyn are O'Brien's prophetic peers. This is last best novel of the Twentieth Century and is written for the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1