Customer Reviews for

Father Fiction: Chapters for a Fatherless Generation

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Not just for the fatherless

    Miller has an amazing ability to draw you into his story--honest, vivid, humorous, and packed with nuggets of great insight. Though this book is primarily written for those who grew up fatherless, those who did grow up with a father will benefit from this book also. Miller shares about his childhood, the ways in which he felt left out of circles because he didn't have a father, and how those moments shaped how he related to God. Whether you are a man, woman, fatherless or not, this book will help you understand more of the heart of God and how you can relate to Him as a child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    This book needs some help

    Ok this book got off topic just putting that out there cause i was reading and somewhere he had a little girl that he knew and talked about feeding her and like he got so off topic it was good just not what i thought would happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Excellent, easy and humorous read. Down to earth. After readin

    Excellent, easy and humorous read. Down to earth. After reading it I bought a copy for all three of my sons and a couple of friends as well. Some fatherless, some poorly fathered, some fathers themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A dollar well spent

    I found this hardback at the Dollar Tree-sorry, B&N. I don't know if I would have picked it up for full price as I'm not a huge fan of Donald Miller, mainly because of his fuzzy approach to theology-a lot of "conversation" without saying much in the way of objective truth. This was a refreshing departure from that. Father Fiction is aimed mainly at readers who grew up as Donald did, without really knowing his father, and he recounts stories in his usual humorous style, expounding wisdom from those experiences. Don's faith plays a big part, and although he shies away from Biblical references, Biblical concepts are evident throughout. I don't have the same experience he had with his father's absence, but as a son and now a father myself, I really enjoyed his perspectives on what he had learned, particularly on the metaphorical link between earthly father/son relationships and that of our heavenly Father to us. He also shares insights on other relationships, education, work, manhood, authority, making good choices, forgiveness, and he's really funny in the right places. I'd recommend Father Fiction for really anyone, even if it costs more than a buck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hope for Fathers

    Donald Miller has produced another great work. In Father Fiction, Don tackles one of the hardest issues facing our generation today - lack of a father influence. He shares his own struggle with growing up with out a father, and subsequently his own search for his father and answers that had eluded him for decades.

    Donald identifies some key areas for discussion regarding why a father is so important in the life of young men (primarily), but also with women.

    * Manhood: God made men - boys need to understand that key point

    * Authority - if a boy grows up without a father, it is more difficult for them to understand the role of authority in their lives

    * Role Models - even if a child grows up without a father, key men can come alongside the child and show them how to be a man

    * Work Ethic - seeing how a man works, and the value of that effort is often learned at a young age. This value is sometimes overlooked, but certainly helps a boy become a man.

    Perhaps, the greatest point made in this book surrounds the idea of forgiveness. If your father walked away from you or your family, you still have the power to forgive him. Your choice is independent of any relationship that may or may not develop as result of your forgiveness. Forgiveness is a matter of the heart.

    This is a must read for men, especially those who grew up without a father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1