Customer Reviews for

Fatherland

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Great book, Horrible topic

    This was a very good book and I'd reccomend it to anyone. HOWEVER, the general topic of the book and even THINKING of the Nazi's having won the War brings much sadness and distress. Nonetheless, one should read it for it's entertainment value

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    This is an excellent read - a what if story that seems real.

    Very well written. The author is in the same category as Phillip Kerr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    Why can't I get this in e format for my nook? What gives B&

    Why can't I get this in e format for my nook? What gives B&N?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    altternate history

    interesting alternate reality. not much of a stretch either.of note is the terrorism scenario that seems eerily precient

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    the horrible thoughts of what this might have been.

    If you can stomach the awful ideas of what this could have been, The victory of this evil regime, it's a good read. I found it entertaining and interesting but personally most upsetting. I also disagree with the author that something like this could have been kept a secret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Springtime for Hitler

    In ¿Fatherland,¿ Harris paints a fascinating picture of a Europe as it might have been reshaped and defined by German victory at the end of World War II. It takes place in 1964, when Hilter's 75th birthday approaches. The story unfolds against the backdrop of preparations for this great event - which will include a visit to Berlin by none other than President Kennedy - President JOSEPH Kennedy, that is. The story takes us from a run of the mill accidental death to a crime that could bring an end to the existence of this perfectly-modeled Aryan society, not to mention world harmony. Caught in the midst of this maelstrom, a German officer struggles with his conscience. And with his love for an American journalist, threatened by powerful forces that want to sustain the existing power. The novel intrigues by reminding us, in a sinister way, that history is written by the winning side. And I liked the ending, as well: it may not be happy, but it is uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Alternate historical fiction that is suspenseful and intriguing

    FATHERLAND is a tale of homocide, government conspiracy and romance that will make the reader ask, " what if? " Set in Hitler's Greater Germania of 1964, the story uses the names and histories of real people from the W.W.II era, and gives a vision of the world that might have been had the Nazis been ultimate victors in Europe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    One of the best of its kind!

    This story was truly unique and amazingly entertaining. I was glued to the pages almost instantly and could not wait to get back to it after I put it down. It also had a very climatic ending. I highly recomend this book. I wish Robert Harris would or could write more books on a regular basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    great story

    I thought this book was a great read. Robert Harris is a great story teller. The book will have you thinking way after the last pages have been read. A sure to please novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    Spectacular!

    I could not put the book down for even a second...Fatherland is expertly written with a cool alternative history, classic romance, and a plot that twists and turns. This would make a great movie. If you're like me who enjoys books and films about World War II and Nazis...pick up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    good atmosphere

    I agree with what the previous reviewers have said. I enjoyed this book even though, in some sense, it must be said that the topic is somewhat depressing. I wrote this review only to note how well the book creates an atmosphere. When you finish a chapter its hard to remember you don't live in Germany.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    Amazingly real

    I found this book increadable, robert harris manages to portry a fictional world in a non-fiction book. All the characters and events seemed so real i have choose to study for my school RPR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    excellent

    what an extraordinary read ths was! i throughly enjoyed this book from cover to cover and recommend 'fatherland' to anyone looking for a great thought-provocating mystery novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    Terrific!!

    I would give this book 5 stars because its juct so damn good! Harris creates a powerful and detailed image of Nazi society in the 1960's. I alos recommend Archangel because whereas Fatherland delt with how Hitler didn't write any of his orders down, Archangel deals with the fact that Stalin did. Rob Harris is a great writer. BUY IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    good read

    interesting take on history...hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    A must!

    A great book. This book is not just a mystery, but a plausible interpretation of what could have happened if the Germans had won the war. It'll get you thinkin'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Marvellous

    Harris has written a very good 'what-if' Novel, he writes with a great touch and notices little details which make the book highly interesting. The characters are realistic and their motions even more. This thriller will hold the readers attention until the end. Only one thing disturbed me; In the end, Harris points out what really happened to some of the REAL charcaters he has used in his book, there´s no mentioning on the humane acts which Dr. Stuckart carried out during the war risking his own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2