Customer Reviews for

fathermothergod: My Journey Out of Christian Science

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A heart wrenching conflict, beautifully and intelligently told

Mesmerizing This magnificent memoir conveys the shattering conflict felt by the author and her sibling(s) as they struggled to come to grips with the beliefs with which they were raised and the world they grew to experience for themselves. Though this experience of deve...
Mesmerizing This magnificent memoir conveys the shattering conflict felt by the author and her sibling(s) as they struggled to come to grips with the beliefs with which they were raised and the world they grew to experience for themselves. Though this experience of developing personal beliefs that differ from those of our parents is not unique, the stakes for that difference are rarely so high. Christian Science is not a cult; it is a religion practiced by some in surprisingly visible (leadership) roles in our society - yet it is devoid of nuance, tolerance or uncertainty for that which we cannot concretely know. It's narrow-ness is alarming and even frightening. I am grateful to Lucia Greenhouse for sharing her profoundly painful story with intimacy, immediacy and intelligence, and for shedding light on this unforgiving religion that quietly thrives in our midst.

posted by 1333285 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Amateurish twaddle

Lemme get this straight: The author went to a Christian Science Sunday School when she was a kid, then, in junior high or something, decided it was a load of crap, then refused to have anything more to do with it. I'm sorry, but how does this differ from the experienc...
Lemme get this straight: The author went to a Christian Science Sunday School when she was a kid, then, in junior high or something, decided it was a load of crap, then refused to have anything more to do with it. I'm sorry, but how does this differ from the experience of eleventy zillion other teenagers out there who've rebelled against the religion of their upbringing? The title, of course, hints at some rugged deprogramming regimen, maybe harrowing escape from the smothering clutches of some creepy cult. But you won't find anything like that between the covers of this book. Nope. Turns out, the author decided to stop going to Sunday School when she was 15. That was her "journey out of Christian Science"? LOL! And someone gave her a book contract to write about THAT?! ROTFLMAO! Whatever this girl's "journey," it wasn't a journey out of Christian Science. Evidently, it wasn't a journey out of whining, either.

posted by BS_Meter on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    A heart wrenching conflict, beautifully and intelligently told

    Mesmerizing This magnificent memoir conveys the shattering conflict felt by the author and her sibling(s) as they struggled to come to grips with the beliefs with which they were raised and the world they grew to experience for themselves. Though this experience of developing personal beliefs that differ from those of our parents is not unique, the stakes for that difference are rarely so high. Christian Science is not a cult; it is a religion practiced by some in surprisingly visible (leadership) roles in our society - yet it is devoid of nuance, tolerance or uncertainty for that which we cannot concretely know. It's narrow-ness is alarming and even frightening. I am grateful to Lucia Greenhouse for sharing her profoundly painful story with intimacy, immediacy and intelligence, and for shedding light on this unforgiving religion that quietly thrives in our midst.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I could not put this book down. Not only does it have beautiful written memories but also heart wrenching detail of a family in turmoil. This is a story of heartache and triumph as the author comes out at the other end stronger!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Intriguing, Interesting. The pages just kept turning.

    Similar to hundreds of others, I read fathermothergod in one sitting. I was planning on reading just the first chapter on a red eye from California, but decided I COULD NOT put it down. Greenhouse's storytelling techniques truly brought the reader into the story. Where other reviews claim the beginning of the novel to be just a bit slow, I found it to be a perfect introduction, allowing the reader to draw personal ties with Greenhouse. The pace picked up as her struggle ensued, and was eventually a suspenseful novel, creating a knot in my stomach at the turn of each page. Her ability to show the horrors of Christian Science, without making it look like a cult proves she was born a writer. 5 Stars..A MUST READ

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Could not put it down!

    May seem like an alarming Headline, but I honestly called in sick one day to stay home and finish this book! First, i knew NOTHING about Christian Scientists, and was stunned that they had such rigid beliefs...Second, I was moved by the struggle the writer suffered in terms of reconciling her family's beliefs and health issues without being able to turn to anyone outside her family. Finally, i was touched by the honesty of her voice. Ms Greenhouse readily admits this is her story, and that her siblings and others have different perspectives of the same events. But it was clear that it was a story that she had to tell for herself, her family, and wanted to share it with as wide an audience as possible. I for one, will never forget the story! It is not an easy one. I do not recommend this for a beach vacation, but it was moving and educational and well written. Thanks!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Makes you laugh, makes you cry, makes you THINK

    I LOVED this book. I couldn't put it down, which wasn't too difficult logistically because it's a page-turner and Lucia Greenhouse's prose is so easy to read. I thought she broke down the sections perfectly. In Part One, each story from her childhood was a further progression in the way she thought about and questioned Christian Science. Part Two was where I really couldn't put it down. There it's the questioning of Father-knows-best that got to me, as I think one's disillusionment with the wisdom of parents is one of the hardest parts of growing up. That the stakes were so high, because Lucia didn't agree with her father's, and her mother's, choice to refrain from modern medicine when her mother was so ill, makes this disillusionment all the more powerful. And Part Three, her epilogue, brought the reader out of the thriller-like Part Two into a thoughtful reflection that also ties up loose ends. While reading as fast as I could so that I could find out what happened next, I had to pause and marvel at the events as they unfolded, and I wondered time and again what I would have done had I been in Lucia's position. There are so many other elements to unpack and discuss and think about, and I think it would be perfect for a Book Club or a religion & philosophy class.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Loved it!

    I was riveted to this book! The internal turmoil that this family had to endure during such a trying time for any family was heart wrenching. Through Greenhouse's writing, one really gets a sense of the family dynamics and emotional struggles that transpired for her. Although her situation is unique to her, her descriptions allow her reader to relate to her inner turmoil. I thought the book was well written and heartfelt A page turner and a great choice for book clubs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Great Read

    I loved the book. It is extremely well written. It is filled with great descriptions of the people around and how difficult it was to to watch the consequences of her parents' beliefs. It is very clear how much she loved her mother, her family and her extended family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Beautifully written -Very thought provoking - would be a great book club book!!

    This story is so well written and drew me into the heart of the author's family right from the beginning. I truly could not put it down and read it in a day. To the author - thank you for sharing your life with all of us and for enlightening us in the deeply personal struggles within a Christian Scientist family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    A Riveting Read

    I found this book absolutely riveting and, like many others, I could not put it down until I finished it. I cannot improve on the August 10th review by "Anonymous," with which I completely agree. I taught medical ethics for decades, and I wish this memoir had been available for my students to explore the application of moral principles to real life. In a graceful narrative, Greenhouse lays bare her painful struggle with her parents' unyielding embrace of the methods of Christian Science in spite of their children's and siblings' growing confusion, doubt, and anger about decisions they will not even discuss with them. I was left to ponder whether the cold, even cruel rigidity displayed by Greenhouse's Practitioner father was owing to Christian Science itself or to his increasingly domineering personality. I suspect it was in fact an unhealthy symbiosis between the two. Observing the conflicts that arose within this family because of their unwillingness to talk about illness and death made me realize all the more how important it is for families to talk about these very things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    I Could Not Put This Book Down!

    What a heart-felt, well written account of how much one wants to believe their parents, to love their parents, and to respect their parents. The honest recounting of how Lucia struggled with those concepts as she grew and matured, and the conflicts she struggled with within herself regarding those concepts, showed how courageous she was to put her story into writing. I commend her with both thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    A Shocking Story, Told Beautifully.

    When I began this book, I knew nothing about Christian Scientists. As the story went on, I became more and more appalled with the outcome and couldn't believe that anyone had to suffer through it. However terrible the story, it is told with exceptional grace. The author uses an unflinching narration to show us exactly what she was thinking, but at the same time does not ask for pity. She wants everyone to see what she went through and how she changed because of it. It is a wonderful novel, and I would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Riveting! Engrossing! Highly recommended.

    Raised by devout Christian Scientists, Ms. Greenhouse shares a compelling, revealing and deeply personal account of her struggle to reconcile personal tragedy and religious doctrine. Through her experiences as a child and later, as an adult, she raises timeless issues concerning belief, religion, loyalty, family and love. I was completely engrossed and moved by her honest story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Forthright, Forceful, For the Ages

    It is clear Lucia Ewing suffered greatly during the times she chronicles in this memoir, yet she has done the impossible when writing about them. She is clear-eyed, unsentimental and fair.

    This is a book for anyone with any questions about religion, death, family relationships or survival and for everyone who wants to read an honest author with something important to say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    A Perfect Book Club Selection

    Ms. Greenhouse is a gifted wordsmith, and her skillful use of the telling detail drives this harrowing narrative of a famiy undone by a religion few of us know. Reflective, honest and brave, her memoir is a moving testament to the power of healing through writing. It is also a page turner; I read it in one sitting. A perfect book club selection. Don't miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Fascinating.

    I hope the author does a follow up book. The memoir was very informative, but I want more info. For example, why did the drug abuse in two of the sibling become a problem? Has the author ask professional if this behavior is typical of parents of this sect? Why didn't the author study Biblical teaching to grow beyond this abusive father? I felt this was a book worth reading and as you can see it will make you question it and continue to think about it. A+++ job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read - I could not put it down. Beautifully and masterfu

    A must read - I could not put it down. Beautifully and masterfully written; Lucia is a talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2