Customer Reviews for

Fault Line

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Not Eisler's Best

    Having read and loved all Barry Eisler's John Rain books, I was very eager to read his newest yarn. It pains me to say that this book is not nearly as exciting as his previous novels. As several scenes start off with promise and intrigue, none seem to truly deliver. The characters here seem more remote and not very interactive. Alex's potential love interest, for example, like his relationship with his brother is barely developed at all which makes it hard to understand or invest in these characters. They don't stir enough passion to generate much of a rooting interest. This book is less technical with fewer tricks and gadgets, but the biggest downfall seems to be the loss of the paranoia that surrounds John Rain. I understand that Alex and Ben are not Rain, but there are obvious parallels, and Rain's assassin is just a far more interesting character who always seems to be at serious risk of discovery or great harm. In short, if you are new to Barry Eisler, start with his John Rain series and you are in for a real treat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Stick to the John Rain adventures

    Love Barry Eisler as a writer, but this one was way off the mark. Even though I liked the characters, I had a hard time getting into the story. The premise was good, but the story was tedious...except those times when we had a confrontation and a satisfactory solution to it.
    I find that there is more thought in the Rain Novels.....maybe if we combined the action of Rain with these new characters, we would be looking at something better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not John Rain

    If you are looking for another John Rain thriller, this isn't it. "Fault Line" is Barry Eisler's first stand alone novel. This is the story about two estranged brothers, Alex (an attorney in Silicon Valley) and Ben (a government assassin). When those involved in a project that Alex is working on are killed, he calls his brother for help. Their personality's clash (Alex is by the book, and Ben, the rogue) and they also have some unfinished business due to the death or their sister when they were kids. There is certainly a lot of bloodshed, violence and some sex in this book, but it isn't one of Mr. Eisler's best. Although I was drawn to the characters and the story, it was somewhat predictable. The climax was a little of a shock but still then the ending wasn't much of a surprise. I enjoyed the book, but look forward to another John Rain adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good author -- bad book

    I like Eisler's work and have enjoyed his other novels.
    Not this one. It was plastic, predictable and poor. The plot line, even the ending, are entirely predictable after the first couple of chapters. The 'bad guys' are obvious and the lust angle just droll. The back story is just trite and the tension between the brothers just never feels real.
    If you're waiting for a flight and desperate for a book to read on the plane, this one might be a choice ... but otherwise steer clear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Much More Interesting than the John Rain Stuff!

    Finally Eisler tells a story with believable characters drawn from real life and also creates plot that allows them to interact. I see Eisler maturing as a writer of political thrillers. I still think he could be less didactic in his presentation of political issues. I just read Michael Segedy's Evil's Root and it made me think of Eisler. Eisler could learn from Segedy on presenting political commentary. Segedy's novel is much more integrated and non-preachy. Overall this work is a giant step in the right direction for Eisler. I hope to read more novels where he uses the same characters, or same type of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Fault Line

    What's going on here? Hardcover for $5.38 and Nook for $7.99. This is ridiculous, why would anyone buy this excellent writers books for a Nook at this price difference?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Highly recommend

    This is the first time I have read a book that was not a mystery, and I can tell you I was not dissapointed,the author captures your attention from the beginning and you have a hard time putting the book down. A must read for everyone,no matter your reading taste are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-read for spy fanatics

    As it is my first time reading Barry Eisler, I wasn't sure what to expect. I often have trouble reading books written by ex-military or ex-agents as they tend to get a little too heavy with technical jargon for me ~this is certainly not the case here! He does an exceptional job of keeping things realistic yet accessible. Though I must say that I saw where he was going with the plot, I really enjoyed how he got there.

    Eisler convincingly writes from the viewpoints of the three main characters in this novel, a literary style that can be disengaging if not done well. Each of the characters has their own conflicting politics and belief system and Eisler has made each sympathetic to the reader: the profiled, the profiler, and the self-proclaimed family martyr. In the end, Sarah, Ben, and Alex have their core ideals challenged, and find those to which they formerly clung seem far from solid.

    This is a fascinating read of espionage and modern political morals. A must-read for the spy fanatics.

    http://girlsjustreading.blogspot.com/2008/12/jenns-review-fault-line.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an action-packed cyberthriller

    The inventor of Obsidian encryption security software Richard Hilzoy is euphoric that he is on his way to the top of Silicon Valley as he heads over to see his attorney Alex Treven. That is his last thought as someone fires a bullet into his brain. Alex had arranged financing and worked with the Patent Office as he understood what Richard created. When Alex learns Richard and the Patent Office analyst were murdered, he did not need his PH.D in computer science to conclude he is near the top if not next on a methodical hit list related to knowledge of Obsidian.

    Alex needs help so he calls his estranged brother Ben, an undercover field agent. He quickly rushes to San Francisco where Alex explains the other knowledgeable person is Iranian-American law associate Sarah Hosseini. As the siblings continue their bickering started when tragedy struck their family as teens, but now with Sarah in the middle, they are in danger from unknown adversaries who want Obsidian under their control.

    Over the top of Nob Hill and Stanford, Fault Line is an action-packed cyberthriller that grips the reader with the opening it and never slows down as the battling brothers better band together if they are to survive. Both are attracted to Sarah, but Ben distrusts her as he believes she is the enemy leak. Although It Never Rains in California, the siblings know it pours.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Barry Eisler still has it.

    I am a huge fan of Barry Eisler's work. John Rain is one of favorite characters and I was looking forward to Eisler's writing beyond the Rain Universe. He does not disappoint with Fault Line. I found the opening chapters to be a little slow but the story picks up tremendously throughout. The main character may be viewed as an non-Asian John Rain, but he still isn't nearly as cool. My only problem with the book is it has a huge buildip to a very anti-climatic ending. Oh well, it is still a good read for fans of the Eisler world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    After an excellent start, second part of the book was a disappointment

    Alex Treven thinks that his dream is about to come true. He's worked his way up in his law practice and now he has an opportunity that may make him a full partner.
    He's met Richard Hilzoy, who has an invention, The Obsedian Toolbar which could revolutionize encryptology everywhere.
    Alex goes to his superior, David Osborne, and asks if the partnership will back Hilzoy. David agrees and asks Alex to work with a young Iranian lawyer in the firm, Sarah Hosseini.
    Just before Hilzoy is to sign contract papers he's killed. Then the patent examiner dies unexpectedly and Alex barely escapes when someone breaks into his home.
    He asks his brother Ben for help. Ben works for the military and eliminates people who might cause problems for the United States.
    Ben comes home and goes to Alex office where they find that the Obsedian info has been stolen. Ben thinks Alex and Sarah might be in danger and asks them to go into a secure place and work on the info that Hilzoy left in a hidden place. He wants them to reconstruct the missing information.

    The first part of the book was excellent. However, Alex comes across an an effete character, unable to control what is happening. Sarah is presented as a major character but we learn little about her past.
    Ben is just too convenient. Toward the end of the book, Alex does something totally out of his character.

    Eisler has written the excellent John Rain novels. The first, "Rain Fall" has been made into a film with Gary Oldman with a 2009 release.

    Eisler's fans may overcome the plot difficiencies because of their enjoyment of the author, however, I can only give a mild recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love that Barry!

    I just love the action and fast-paced quality of his books. This is his newest but not his best. In my opinion the John Rain series is outstanding. I don't know why his movie, which was released in Japan, has not been released here. It would make a great movie and I would definitely go. I think he could actually have a TV Series with those books. I loved Fault Line even though it wasn't my fave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jam-Packed with Action!

    Fault Line was the first, but definitely won't be the last, novel I read by Barry Eisler. I was glad to find out that one of his other works (Rain Fall) was made into a movie. Hopefully this one will too. It has a lot of action, suspense and drama.

    Without giving the whole story away, it takes place in San Jose, CA, otherwise known as Silicon Valley, and it's about a guy (computer nerd) who invents a software program. The only problem is that there are some dangerous people willing to go to any lengths, and killing is no exception, in order to make sure this program does not reach the market.

    What I liked most was how the characters, from early on, got built up. This allowed me to conjure up an image in my mind of what each character is like. The language was very descriptive and was almost as though I had a movie running through my head. I can honestly say that this is one of the few books that I have been able to finish reading in a couple of days. It's one of those books that you want to finish in one sitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Not John Rain but still excellent.

    I am a big fan of Barry Eisler and the John Rain series. If you approach FAULT LINE expecting the same thing, you may be disappointed. This is still an excellent book; it is just different. Because it is not written in the first person, it is a little more difficult to get into the heads of the characters.
    Eisler still is very strong in character development and the two brothers, Alex and Ben, have very real problems that must be resolved.
    As in other Eisler books, the plot is very up to date and revolves around technological developments that are very real.
    Give it a try!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Another great McGarvey adventure

    Kept me involved and entertained.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Eisler's latest book.

    Eisler created a new main character, and I was disappointed...with character, and plot. He should have stayed with a winner in the Rain series! I rushed to purchase it, before it had even reached your store. I called to be sure you had it, and dashed in to get my copy. Sorry to say, I won't rush in for the next release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Better Than Expected

    I was hoping for a new John Rain book, so when I found out this was not part of that series, I almost skipped it. Boy, am I glad I didn't. It has similarities without being a ripoff, which is what I was afraid it would be. A little predictable at times, I thought, but all in all, a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    A fast read that's thrilling and fun

    A fast, enjoyable read that's thrilling and fun. Good characters and situations presented originally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    Fault Line-- good for first-time readers of Mr. Eisler's novels

    I am a fan of Mr. Eisler's Rain novels. There were too many parallels between John Rain and Ben to really grab my attention. I kept asking, "What would John Rain do in Ben's situation?".

    For first-time readers of Mr. Eisler's work, I recommend Fault Line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finding Fault

    All it took to get me to buy this book was Barry Eisler's name on the cover. I have enjoyed his stories about John Rain, rumored to be in retirement now. Let's hope Eisler brings him back, because his attempt at something different doesn't have the same gusto going for it. Sure, there's a super hero and some good spy stuff going on, but the superhero has some baggage with his family, and the back and forth as he and his brother work out their differences just gets tiresome. Eisler adds some rather flat romance with a brainy lawyer, and I just didn't like it. All too predictable, and that's something I never predicted I would say about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3