Customer Reviews for

Fault Line

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Fault Line

    What's going on here? Hardcover for $5.38 and Nook for $7.99. This is ridiculous, why would anyone buy this excellent writers books for a Nook at this price difference?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Highly recommend

    This is the first time I have read a book that was not a mystery, and I can tell you I was not dissapointed,the author captures your attention from the beginning and you have a hard time putting the book down. A must read for everyone,no matter your reading taste are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-read for spy fanatics

    As it is my first time reading Barry Eisler, I wasn't sure what to expect. I often have trouble reading books written by ex-military or ex-agents as they tend to get a little too heavy with technical jargon for me ~this is certainly not the case here! He does an exceptional job of keeping things realistic yet accessible. Though I must say that I saw where he was going with the plot, I really enjoyed how he got there.

    Eisler convincingly writes from the viewpoints of the three main characters in this novel, a literary style that can be disengaging if not done well. Each of the characters has their own conflicting politics and belief system and Eisler has made each sympathetic to the reader: the profiled, the profiler, and the self-proclaimed family martyr. In the end, Sarah, Ben, and Alex have their core ideals challenged, and find those to which they formerly clung seem far from solid.

    This is a fascinating read of espionage and modern political morals. A must-read for the spy fanatics.

    http://girlsjustreading.blogspot.com/2008/12/jenns-review-fault-line.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an action-packed cyberthriller

    The inventor of Obsidian encryption security software Richard Hilzoy is euphoric that he is on his way to the top of Silicon Valley as he heads over to see his attorney Alex Treven. That is his last thought as someone fires a bullet into his brain. Alex had arranged financing and worked with the Patent Office as he understood what Richard created. When Alex learns Richard and the Patent Office analyst were murdered, he did not need his PH.D in computer science to conclude he is near the top if not next on a methodical hit list related to knowledge of Obsidian.

    Alex needs help so he calls his estranged brother Ben, an undercover field agent. He quickly rushes to San Francisco where Alex explains the other knowledgeable person is Iranian-American law associate Sarah Hosseini. As the siblings continue their bickering started when tragedy struck their family as teens, but now with Sarah in the middle, they are in danger from unknown adversaries who want Obsidian under their control.

    Over the top of Nob Hill and Stanford, Fault Line is an action-packed cyberthriller that grips the reader with the opening it and never slows down as the battling brothers better band together if they are to survive. Both are attracted to Sarah, but Ben distrusts her as he believes she is the enemy leak. Although It Never Rains in California, the siblings know it pours.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love that Barry!

    I just love the action and fast-paced quality of his books. This is his newest but not his best. In my opinion the John Rain series is outstanding. I don't know why his movie, which was released in Japan, has not been released here. It would make a great movie and I would definitely go. I think he could actually have a TV Series with those books. I loved Fault Line even though it wasn't my fave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jam-Packed with Action!

    Fault Line was the first, but definitely won't be the last, novel I read by Barry Eisler. I was glad to find out that one of his other works (Rain Fall) was made into a movie. Hopefully this one will too. It has a lot of action, suspense and drama.

    Without giving the whole story away, it takes place in San Jose, CA, otherwise known as Silicon Valley, and it's about a guy (computer nerd) who invents a software program. The only problem is that there are some dangerous people willing to go to any lengths, and killing is no exception, in order to make sure this program does not reach the market.

    What I liked most was how the characters, from early on, got built up. This allowed me to conjure up an image in my mind of what each character is like. The language was very descriptive and was almost as though I had a movie running through my head. I can honestly say that this is one of the few books that I have been able to finish reading in a couple of days. It's one of those books that you want to finish in one sitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Not John Rain but still excellent.

    I am a big fan of Barry Eisler and the John Rain series. If you approach FAULT LINE expecting the same thing, you may be disappointed. This is still an excellent book; it is just different. Because it is not written in the first person, it is a little more difficult to get into the heads of the characters.
    Eisler still is very strong in character development and the two brothers, Alex and Ben, have very real problems that must be resolved.
    As in other Eisler books, the plot is very up to date and revolves around technological developments that are very real.
    Give it a try!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Another great McGarvey adventure

    Kept me involved and entertained.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Better Than Expected

    I was hoping for a new John Rain book, so when I found out this was not part of that series, I almost skipped it. Boy, am I glad I didn't. It has similarities without being a ripoff, which is what I was afraid it would be. A little predictable at times, I thought, but all in all, a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THIS IS HOW GREAT A THRILLER CAN BE !

    Some books have an opening line that catches your attention. A few rare one have openers that grab you, shake you a bit, and compel you to keep turning pages until the last. Such is the case with Barry Eisler's first stand-alone thriller Fault Line. We read, "The last thing Richard Hilzoy thought before the bullet entered his brain was, Things are really looking up."

    That's the starting whistle for a thrill ride story that boils with action as it simmers with national subterfuge, personal hubris, family loyalties , and sexual attraction. For the millions who believe there could never be another hero to equal John Rain, meet Ben Treven. He is one of three siblings in a family that moved often due to his father's work. This was no problem for Ben as he excelled at sports and was immediately accepted. Sister Katie was a sweet, beautiful girl who liked everyone and was liked in return. Alex, the youngest, was different - shy, smart and showed off his intelligence - not an attractive quality.

    Ben fought bullies to defend Alex time and again but that mattered naught the night Katie died. Ben was supposed to have driven her home from a party but asked another boy to do so. A small decision then a fatal car accident.. Alex blames Ben for their sister's death; Ben blames himself and believes his parents also hold him responsible. Family wounds are so deep that they might never heal. "He (Ben) hadn't known it at the time, but family was a fragile thing. Like a house of cards." So easily collapsed.

    Now, the elder Trevens are gone, Katie is gone. Ben and Alex remain - two brothers who despise each other and hope to never see one another again.

    But then there is Hilzoy who was supposed to keep an appointment with Alex regarding a patent application for Obsidian, "the world's most advanced encryption algorithm, destined to render all other network security software obsolete". ....Hilzoy is a once-in-a-lifetime ticket" for Alex. Then suddenly he is dead, supposed ly due to a drug deal. Alex believes none of that. Next, Hank, a very healthy Hank who was advising Alex on a cryptography application had a fatal heart attack, and Alex is attacked in his own home. He has become a target and has no idea why. Alex is terrified and knows there is only one person in the world who can help him and that is Ben - where is he, how can Alex find him, and would he come to his aid?

    Ben is in anywhere in the world, working with our military's Joint Special Operations Command. He's been through the CIA's Military Operations Training Course, and he's very, very good. He accepts the most dangerous assignments knowing that if he messes up he'll be left hanging out to dry. Sometimes he just waits for orders.

    "He didn't go out much. There were periods in his life where he would go days without even speaking, where his whole world would shrink to no more than the dimensions of the walls around him. " When he thinks of Alex at all it is only to remind himself that he doesn't have to deal with Alex ever again. But, what if his younger brother sends a desperate plea for help?

    For this reader Eisler has written his best work to date, and that's saying quite a bit after the Rain series. It is everything a thriller should be and more - rife with amazing plot twists, rich with familial bonds, and remarkable for its authenticity.

    - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2