Customer Reviews for

The Favored Child (Wideacre Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unrelenting misery but a page-turner nonetheless

Wow. Philippa Gregory really knows how to pile on the misery! The Favored Child is well-written and the characters are interesting, but this second book in the series continues the story of ruin, misery, murder, and loss. It was hard to read and my stomach was in kno...
Wow. Philippa Gregory really knows how to pile on the misery! The Favored Child is well-written and the characters are interesting, but this second book in the series continues the story of ruin, misery, murder, and loss. It was hard to read and my stomach was in knots, as it was in the first book. I have to read the third one now to see if at some point redemption can be attained by any of Laceys.

posted by Lula1967 on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

By far the weakest of the trilogy

This book had it ups and downs. At times I was fascinated with the story and how it tied to the first novel, but then some of the plot near the end seemed ridiculous. I feel you should read the first novel before this one. It will explain alot. You can guess most of the...
This book had it ups and downs. At times I was fascinated with the story and how it tied to the first novel, but then some of the plot near the end seemed ridiculous. I feel you should read the first novel before this one. It will explain alot. You can guess most of the ending, but the very last few pages were good. I don't regret buying the book.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Unrelenting misery but a page-turner nonetheless

    Wow. Philippa Gregory really knows how to pile on the misery! The Favored Child is well-written and the characters are interesting, but this second book in the series continues the story of ruin, misery, murder, and loss. It was hard to read and my stomach was in knots, as it was in the first book. I have to read the third one now to see if at some point redemption can be attained by any of Laceys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    The Favored Child

    Great book. Second in the Wildacre series. Incest , witchcraft and bread wars. Characters you love to hate! As usual. Can't wait to get the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better than expected

    I am a big fan of Phillipa Gregory. I have read most of what she has written. The favored child did not dissapoint. I like Wideace the best but Favored Child kept me reading. The ending was worth reading the book alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Favored Child

    If you are looking for a book where you can connect with the characters, Philippa Gregory hasnt failed me yet. I've read four of her books so far and even when the character(s) is completely out of his/her mind, i'm still there cheering them on and hoping they will pull through in the end.

    After reading Wideacre I had high expectations for The Favored Child. At first I was afraid Gregory made the first one so shocking and scandalous that she wouldnt be able to top it and the next two books would be boring compared to it. But of course i was wrong. Just when you think you know how its going to end it always has a twist. ALWAYS. It happened in all three of the books in this trilogy. You will always want to know whats going to happen next. It was a hard book to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    My Favorite

    This was my Favorite of the Trilogy, in Widacre the incest was just alittle too heavy for my taste, but Phillipia managed to keep me glued to the book unable to think of anything else other than what could be coming next. It was incredible to see the personality of the charactors one being posesing every bit of evil passed down from Beatrice, the other portraying the gentle side of a woman that Beatrice could have been had she been treated with love as a child, and not made the certain decisions that sent her into an uncontrollable whirlwind of evil. I thought it was sorta goofy their fear in this book of her spirit, and I was thoroughly dissapointed in the main charactors cowardness of her brother, that she didn't defend her innocence. And yet all I could do was bite my nails until the third book came out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    I Almost Lost It!

    In this second book of the Wideacre trilogy, I almost became physically ill at one point. Could I or would I finish this book? Although the story line (mostly in Wideacre and The Favored Child) is uncomfortable, it is the storyteller that kept me going. Phillipa Gregory is a masterful author however I hope to read some work by her that is uplifting at some point in time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    Another Great Gregory Novel!

    The Favored Child is a great follow-up to the book, Wideacre. The characters are still struggling to get away from the lies and deception created by Beatrice. Although, Julia was not as strong as Beatrice, I still enjoyed her story. She tried to do better for Wideacre, but in the end was another victim of her own mother's schemes. Gregory's description of Wideacre makes the reader feel connected to the Lacey's and long for a peaceful conclusion to their story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Stunning and Unexpectant

    When I first started this book out I thought it was going to be another old century hoity toity love lost story, boy was I wrong. Intrigue, betrayal, incest, love, irony, etc. This book blew my fragile mind away. This author touched on many levels and all at once. I hadn't even read the first book to this trilogy but I am out to find it as we speak. Beatrice's so called badness and goodnes was passed to her twins but all of her good to the girl and all the bad and insanity to the boy. Only his equal, his twin, later to be his wife, could see it but did not want to. The only ones that were possibly privy were the animals who did not want to be around him. The insanity got so bad that it led to rape and murder. Julia , the daughter had an unselfish love, it almost took her to happy life with a man she met in Bath but her brother Richard took it away from her with one act of degridation. That one act had a dominoe affect that eventually have her living like the walking dead for she never lived at happiness again. The irony was that even through all his evilness towards her she remained The Favoured Child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Better than the first

    This book was much, much better than the first one which I thought was alright. In WIDEACRE, the mere thought of all of the incest was enough to turn my stomach yet it was so intriguing that I had to keep reading. I expected the same from THE FAVORED CHILD but was pleasantly surprised by the lack of vulgar detail. I completely disagree with the claims that there was little to no character development. Having read the first book of this trilogy, I thought that most of these characters were actually 'real' instead of incredibly far-fetched as in WIDEACRE. Also, although the first of this series is not the greatest I do not understand how people could have read this and appreciated the character references made throughout this book. It would be like starting a movie halfway through and expecting to love the movie. Read WIDEACRE first and be in awe of Philippa Gregory as much as I am. Also, appreciate the descriptions, I believe that is often left out--they are so beautifully written and anyone with a passion for anything can relate to the passages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    An Echo of The Sinful

    The Favoured Child reintroduces us to the world of passion and mayhem, that is, the Lacey homestead ¿ Wideacre. Although no longer the most flourishing land in Sussex, Beatrice¿s children are still there, growing up side by side as cousins in the dilapidated Dower house. Whispers abound that one of them will be the favoured child ,the one that will restore Wideacre to its splendour. Julia Lacey hears the sweet humming of the land and receives premonitions through her dreams. The villagers are certain that she is the true heir of Beatrice Lacey. However, her cousin/brother Richard¿s hunger for the land far outweighs Julia¿s kind intentions. Viciously, he manipulates the situation so that he would rule the land and be the squire and ultimate master. Laced with psychological twists and chilling suspense, Gregory has crafted a taut thriller driven by a villain guaranteed to give you nightmares. Some might consider The Favoured Child as a weak echo of its precursor, Wideacre, but what must be emphasized is the fact that the characters in this offering are definitely not cardboard cutouts of the first one. We have Julia Lacey, who, despite her corrupt background, struggles to cope with her evil roots in the face of jealousy and violence. She selflessly loves Acre and sets out to achieve for what is right for the land. She is in love with a nice gentleman she met in Bath and is prepared to marry him and live right by Acre. But our despicable male antagonist steps in and destroys her chance at happiness. Richard does not have an ounce of goodness to at least redeem his evil deeds unlike his mother, Beatrice, who, although evil, actually had the best interests of the villagers. The dark language and gothic feel will engross readers to the very end. It even has a historical touch to it : the eighteenth century setting and the backdrop of Sussex, England, the revolting unfairness in the differences between the wealthy and the poor in that era and the inevitable slow wave of change that gradually began to occur in that period of time. The book concludes with a heart thumping finale and a scarred but indelible heroine that is hell bent on setting things right again at Acre by wiping out the Lacey curse. Be prepared to put on your coats and head out for the bookstore in search of the next and last installment of this gripping series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Better then the first!

    This book was definatly better then the first...It was not as disterbing and it had a better ending...one with hope...I could not belive though how Julia allowed herself to be pushed around! Sometimes you just wanted to yell at her through the book!I really do suggest you read this and finish the trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    The Favoured Child

    I have not read any previous works of Philippa Gregory, yet I was still able to follow the plot and the backstory that ran parallel to the main storyline of this book. While the historical content is quite accurate and charming, the plot seems a little crowded. The actual events of the novel are well thought out and justly explored in the pages, but the constant changes in character that accompany them are frustrating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    almost as great as the first

    The author takes you to Wideacre and you begin to understand what life must have been like to everyone who lived in Acre. The time period comes on so strongly while reading this book that you might not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Anticipating the next generation

    After reading The Favored Child (The Wideacre Trilogy Book 2) I was unfamilliar enough with the author's work having read only Wideacre, to believe that the third book was somewhere out there. I see now that I'll have to wait. I cannot wait. The absolute intensity and frustration that I felt while reading both novels, leading up to the third, was entertaining in the extreem. I have already highly recommended both Wideacre and The Favored Child to several friends because they are completely enjoyable. The reader has it all... the romanticism, compelling characters, a bit of hair-raising menace, and a longing for the love of one's ancestrial terrain... wonderfully leaving to question whom to hate or love. Fantastic reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3