BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fear: Robert Mugabe and the Martyrdom of Zimbabwe

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    Brutally Honest

    The Fear is an extremely well written account of the brutal actions of an insane dictatorship; desperate to remain in power. This book is not for the faint-at-heart and many Americans will find it difficult to conceive that these things are really happening in the world today.

    Upon it's landslide loss in the 2008 elections, dictator Robert Mugabe's ruling ZANU-PF party, it's military and terrorist CIO reap vengeance upon the civilians of the country whom they suspect may have voted against them. Mass torture, abuse and even murder are perpetrated though-out the country as the Mugabe's regime desperately seeks to remain in power through intimidation and violence. Author Peter Godwin bravely puts it all out there, in print for the world to see. Godwin calls out perpetrators by name and lists the atrocities of their actions. There is no "names have been changed to protect the innocent" here. In straight-forward, if not brutal honesty, Godwin describes in detail the horrendous conditions of the country as it is today.

    The Fear stands as a voice for the oppressed and brutalized citizens of Zimbabwe under the regime of Robert Mugabe. It describes the decline and destruction of a once vibrant and educated African nation which has been lead into serious death and declined under Mugabe's leadership. As an American citizen, reading this book makes me all the more appreciative of our diplomatic system in the USA, of our right to vote, to bear arms, and to freely express our opinions. "Give me freedom or give me death!" In Robert Mugabe's Zimbabwe, this phrase is uttered in the most literal sense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    A book everyone should read

    An evocative account of horrific and tragic plight of the people of Zimbabwe. Read it - It will both inspire and horrify you. Its certainly a book that will stay with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    The Real Zimbabwe Told

    Peter Goodwin returns to his native Zimbabwe after its long time leader, Mugabe, loses an election. Goodwin returns to find Zimbabwe a fear driven place full of horror and atrocities committed by Mugabe and his cronies. His recounting of the tales of the people he meets is done so with unflinching prose, yet he manages to maintain the dignity of Mugabe's victims. Incredibly enlightening book and a well worth read for anyone wanting more insight into Zimbabwe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    A powerful read.

    This was a book I could only stay with for for short periods of time. I had to will myself to finish it. How much torture can mankind endure? I pray for the people of Zimbabwe, Mugabe must go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent insight

    Great read provoking sometimes tough to get through but inspiational

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Horror and Humanity-A MUST READ!!

    Short Version:

    "This a book by a brave man about people who are braver still. Peter Godwin brings us closer to the filth of the Mugabe tyranny than is bearable and portrays with subtlety, authority, and respect those who, against all odds and at the cost of unimaginable suffering, continue the resistance against it. Their courage is the stuff of myth, and in Godwin they have found their chronicler."
    David Rieff

    Long Version:

    Some books are tough to read. Some we need to read. Peter Godwin's newest, The Fear, is one of those books. By far one of the most haunting books I have ever read, this work chronicles the fate of Zimbabwe's opposition after their victory, in a democratic election, to oust dictator Robert Mugabe after his thirty years of despotic rule. For their bravery in standing up and saying, "No more!", followers of the MDC party faced torture, terror, intimidation, and death.

    Right about the time that I felt as if this would be a book that I could not finish Peter returned to his wife and two young sons in New York, and he was feeling much the same way. While playing dinos with his boy he envisioned a chart hanging on the end of a young torture victim's bed, upon which the nurses had put a fierce-some T-rex sticker-a symbol of the boy's spirit. The dichotomy of his sons' lives and those of the children in the land of his birth overwhelmed him.

    In every act, every conversation, he flashed back to his homeland, and in doing so, he realized that he didn't write this book for himself-he wrote it for the thousands of victims of thirty years of Mugabe rule in his beloved Zimbabwe. This was a story he was called to tell, for the simple reason that he could. He must bear witness to The Fear, bring the truth of it to the attention of the outside world, and bring hope to those actively engaged in their country's fight for freedom from tyranny.

    Knowing that Peter Godwin is a print journalist, I fully expected excellent reporting, and he definitely delivered. The book is well organized and any digressions from chronology are clear and well transitioned. Despite dealing with a huge cast of players, he gave enough information to remind the reader where they had met a person previously, and no person ever felt extraneous. Some levity is injected into an otherwise dark narrative in the form of an almost gallowsish humor. What I did not expect was the formidable strength of his ability to paint Zimbabwe in my mind-her stunning natural beauty, economic free-fall, collapsed civil structure, and complex society were vibrant within his prose.

    Above all else, this book is about the triumph of humanity in the most wretched of circumstances. It is the story of people who stand, in the face of a reality so horrific that most of us can not even apprehend it, and refuse to be silenced, even unto death. Please read their story. Let Peter's decision to write this difficult tale gain traction in your ability to share your reading experience with others you know. The fight in Zimbabwe is ongoing. If democracy is to prevail-and the suffering of thousands of torture victims be vindicated-the world must listen and speak and stand.

    Star ranking: absolutely five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2