Customer Reviews for

Fear No Evil (Evil Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Great Series...check all her books!

    I started reading Allison Brennan by accident now I have gone back and order all of her books. Have not been disappointed with any of them. Great author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Fantastic

    Another good one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Overall Rating: 4.95 // Action: 4.5 / Emotion: 4.0 / Romance: 1.

    Overall Rating: 4.95 // Action: 4.5 / Emotion: 4.0 / Romance: 1.5 / Sensuous: 2.0 / Suspense: 5.0 // Laughter: 2 // Tears: 4 / Teary: 1
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Allison Brennan:  5.00:
    Allison Brennan is a favorite author.  She knows how to tell a story that grabs your attention at the first page and keeps it until the last sentence.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Fear No Evil: 4.95:
    Another well-written, intriguing, tension-filled, 'can't put this book down' read.  Brennan did not waste a minute before drawing one deep into the story and keeping the emotional anxiety and 'edge of your seat' suspense at a razor's edge.  Brennan rounded off the story by throwing in just a touch of romance.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Hero: 4.9:
    Dillon Kincaid:  Not your typical bad-boy hero sent to catch the bad guys using his might and his gun.  Dillon is a perfect example of how attractive an intelligent man can be.  With his strong sense of self-worth, strength of will, reasonableness, and good looks, Dillon came across as the kind of man you want to stand by your side and guard your back in a crisis.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Heroine: 4.0:
    Katherine "Kate" Donovan: Kate is the kind of heroine whose strength of will and stubborn determination saw her through many a crisis -- just the kind of heroine needed for a romantic suspense book.  Underneath that steel will was a compassionate nature that wins your heart.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    [quote]  You had to like someone who went balls to the wall when they believed in something.  (Mick, page 170)
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Story Line: 5.0:
    A truly chilling story line, featuring a remorseless villain who kidnaps young women to feature their rape and death on a live webcast.  Kate has been chasing Trask (the villain) for five years and when Trask kidnaps Dillon's youngest sister, Lucy, they unite forces (even though Kate was initially unwilling) to find Trask and save Lucy.  The story included plenty of twists and turns regarding the investigation as well as addressing the distant relationship between brothers.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Action: 4.5:
    Plenty of action scenes move the story along at a strong, fast pace.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Emotion: 4.0:
    Several emotions were aroused during the telling of this book.  {1} Aghast horror at the rape scenes.  This book will be impossible for some to read because of the realistically portrayed actions of the villain and his henchmen to Lucy (even though Brennan did an excellent job of restricting the details about the rape to its emotional devastation rather than to its graphic description).  {2} Compassion towards the entire Kincaid family as they witness this brutality to their sister.  {3} An emotional connection to Dillon and Kate as they weave their way into your heart.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Romance: 1.5:
    The romance factor of this book definitely took a back seat to the suspense.  It took a while for Dillon and Kate to became aware of each other (probably because of the heinous nature of the villain they were facing).  But once Dillon and Kate found that they were deeply attracted and emotionally invested in the other, there was no hem-hawing around -- bam -- they were in love.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Sensuous: 2.0:
    Brennan included a heated, spicy, emotional love scene to solidify the connection between Dillon and Kate.  Thankfully, Dillon was strong enough to command his own place in the twosome and not let Kate's overwhelmingly strong personality subdue his more laid back sense of self.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Suspense: 5.0:
    Brennan usually increases the suspense and tension in her books, chapter by chapter.  But in *Fear No Evil* the reader is mired in fear and tension almost from the get go -- because the horror Lucy is facing and that digital counter is always present in the back of your mind.  Yes, the suspense factor in the story continues to increase but that underlying fear and sympathy for Lucy hardly ever diminishes.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    Secondary Characters:  5.0:
    Brennan is particularly skilled at including wonderfully written secondary characters.  Brennan richly details the villain's boyhood and mindset as well as supporting his reign of terror with two henchmen: {1} Roger Morton and {2} Denise Arno.  The supporting cast of good guys that added a rich flavor to the story included: {1} Jack Kincaid, {2} Lucy Kincaid, {3} Connor Kincaid, {4} Carina Kincaid, {5} Patrick Kincaid, {6} Quinn Peterson, {7} Jeff Merritt, {8} Mick Mallory, and {9} Abigail "Abby" Resnick.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
    See Wolf Bear Does Books for a more in-depth, detailed review of *Fear No Evil*.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Fear No Evil" by Robin Caroll

    Jade Laurent, after witnessing horrific childhood abuse issues, dealing with the death of her parents and subsequent adoption, and her graduation from college in the field of social work, has moved to Eternal Springs to make a difference in other people's lives so they wouldn't have to suffer as she did. Her motives appear pure and unselfish, but her over-zealousness tends to undermine her work.

    She intervenes in a domestic abuse case, that may end up causing untold death threats, violence, and abduction. The fingers are pointing at the domestic abuser, but then things take on a baffling, different, more violent nature directed at her specifically.

    Lincoln Vailes, a former Great Smoky Mountains park ranger, who is now a police offer, has moved to Eternal Springs to aid his mother with his father's care. In his position of a police officer, he avails himself to Jade, hoping to catch the perpetrator and end her streak of mishaps.

    Robin's fast-paced, yet detailed circumstances, keeps you reading to find the perpetrators behind all the violence aimed at Jade. Interspersed within the main story line, Robin includes the ramblings of gang warfare-their plots to keep ahead and abreast of what is taking place among the three main gangs in Philadelphia.

    Robin also slips in a little romance between two resistant participants. Will this romance interfere with what is happening, hampering Lincoln's work of protecting Jade while finding the ones responsible for all the havoc?

    Robin will have you coming away with a different look at domestic abuse, along with the strains of dealing with gangs. This is not necessarily an easy read, but one needed for people to get involved where possible and necessary. She does an excellent job in bringing out hard issues we can't ignore. Fear No Evil is a great follow-up to her book, Deliver Us From Evil. Hopefully more are coming!

    I appreciated her use of Scripture at the beginning of each chapter. Made me go back and see how it applied.

    This book was provided by Julie at BHPublishing Group for my honest review.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    Fear No Evil is incredible. Fast-paced suspense that will keep you turning the pages. The Kincaid family stories are great..the characters really leap off the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this book in less than two weeks that's how good it was. Once I had started I couldn't put it down. I started reading the book around 11 PM and I put it down at 5:25 AM NO JOKE!! Once you started you will not put it down I garantee you. If you enjoy reading suspense you should look forward to reading this book. It will definetly keep you at the EDGE of you seat or should I say your bed just make sure you dont fall off:-'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE BOOK!

    I picked up the book at a tom thumbs grocery store read the first page and couldnt put it down!.. So far its been a month and im already in the 18th chapter!.. Everytime i start to read the book it gets so interesting and i feel like i dont want to stop!.. I recomend this book to people who love suspesful books that you cant really say oh i knew that was going to happen next!.. It is a really good book so far and im lookin forward to the end!...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    Riveting

    Have read all of Allison Brennan's books. Loved them all, but the suspense in this one, vying against a psychopath's clock, kept me on the edge of my seat. Only wish that victorious endings or tenable measures of justice for innocents prevailed to a greater degree in everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    The Best for Last

    Ms. Brennan has saved the best for last with Fear No Evil, the last in the Evil trilogy. The characters are full-bodied, real people you care about until the last second of the internet webcam countdown. A real page turner. Don't start this story late at night, you won't be sleeping until it's done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Not her best work

    I really wanted to love this book, because I have loved all of Brennan's other books, but I was truly disappointed in this one. I just could not get into the characters or the plot. I could hardly make myself finish the book. I kept trudging along, hoping it would get better, but in my opinion it never did. I do like the continuation of the characters from the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    tense romantic suspense

    Five years ago, FBI Agent Kate Donovan and her partner Paige were after Trask who has been putting on shows on the internet for $50,000 a pop for users who want to see a woman raped, tortured, or killed. Paige and Kate thought they have himcornered but they have no back-up as was promised. Trask kidnaps and kills Paige, and kills Kate¿s lover. For the next five years she has used all her computer and hunting skills to find him. Five years later Trask is still putting on his shows and his latest victim is Lucy Kincaid. Lucy¿s brother Dillon a psychiatrist and he his brother Jack track Kate to her mountain hideaway in Mexico. Dillon persuades Kate to let them help her find Lucy before the time limit is up. Working together Dillon and Kate realize they are falling n love, but first they have to save Lucy and catch Trask two situations that could end in their deaths. --- FEAR NO EVIL is a tense romantic suspense thriller in which the relationship between the two heroes is beautifully woven throughout the save Lucy storyline. Allison Brennan rotates perspectives between several characters, allowing readers to know what motivates them. The author cleverly imbues in the plot the danger of meeting someone from an online site and emphasizes the point subtly and cleverly several times throughout the latest Kincaid war against evil tale. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3