Customer Reviews for

Fear Nothing (Detective D. D. Warren Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

So creepy!

Seriously. Creep factor was amazing. I fell in love with the D.D. Warren series years ago and this one did NOT dissappoint! Thank you, Lisa Gardner for keeping the series going!

posted by Me777DB on January 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

3 reviews and 2 are ruinous plot spoilers. Please bn, do something to these rude plot spoilers who feel the overwhelming need to read the book, then tegurgitaye the entire book in their own words as if the rest of the readers are too dumb to read. Hey, plot spoilers.......
3 reviews and 2 are ruinous plot spoilers. Please bn, do something to these rude plot spoilers who feel the overwhelming need to read the book, then tegurgitaye the entire book in their own words as if the rest of the readers are too dumb to read. Hey, plot spoilers....just a few lines are enough to say if the book is good or not. You do not have to retell the entire book.

posted by 8888649 on January 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    So creepy!

    Seriously. Creep factor was amazing. I fell in love with the D.D. Warren series years ago and this one did NOT dissappoint! Thank you, Lisa Gardner for keeping the series going!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    New fav author

    Loved it!! Can't wait to read more of her books!!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    What a ride! Incredible! I intend to read more of Lisa Gardner's

    What a ride! Incredible! I intend to read more of Lisa Gardner's books. The storyline is riveting and intense. I always like a hint of spirit in the books I read so this one filled the bill for my perfect read. I recommend highly for those who love to hang on to every word and sit on the edge of the seat.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Loved it!

    Lisa did not disappoint me. Couldn't put it down!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Detective D. D. Warren is called to work on a horrendous crime s

    Detective D. D. Warren is called to work on a horrendous crime scene with a signature rose left at the scene but a killing technique that is a shocker! Having to visualize such a scene is bad enough but soon D.D. returns to the scene where she herself is viciously attacked and shot off her gun three times. Although she is physically recovering from the event, in excruciating pain beyond description, she pursues two directions. One is fulfilling the orders of her superiors to see a psychiatrist, Dr. Adeline Glen; and the other is meeting with her peers to continue to solve the initial crime that has now occurred a second time.
    Dr. Adeline has her own problems, the first being an inability to feel any physical pain whatsoever. While that might seem terrific, in reality it’s a huge risk because she has to monitor against infection or the breaking of any body parts several times a day. Feeling is a protective device against any external or internal threat to the body. What would it be like to be lacking such an essential part of one’s internal defense system?
    Add to Dr. Adeline’s dilemma the fact she has a psychopathic sister, Shana, who is serving a life prison sentence. She’s the emotional opposite of her Adeline. Shana seethes with unbridled hate against her sister. Adeline has no idea why she committed vicious murders both outside and inside prison. Their father, by the way, was the famous Harry Day, who killed woman and buried them under the floor boards of their home, that is until the day he was killed by another family member.
    With all of this mayhem continuing and now connecting all of these characters and two other critical people, detectives and D. D. are attempting to discovery the identity of the Rose Killer. Ironically, one begins to believe it may be one of our main characters who is doing the killing, logically thinking. But logic is a liar over and over in this hair-raising tale. One feels the tension building by leaps and bounds as the story continues and ends with several solutions that the reader is in no way prepared for – phenomenal!
    Lisa Gardner writes a novel that is thriller, crime fiction, paranormal tale, and mystery that clearly marks her as a professional in her trade and one to follow avidly. Stunning, mind-boggling, amazing novel, Ms. Gardner!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    I tend to read a lot of thrillers, but almost none of them grab

    I tend to read a lot of thrillers, but almost none of them grab me in the way Fear Nothing did. With a unique protagonist, villains you feel oddly connected to as a reader and and an intelligent plot, this is one of the must-reads on your reading lists for this new year.

    Fear Nothing has two protagonists. One of them is the familiar trope – a female detective, struggling to balance the job with life at home. She’s intelligent, clever, and not afraid to think out of the box. But when she investigates a murder scene on her own and gets attacked by the murderer, something inside of her breaks.

    She’s sent to a therapist, Adeline Glen, who helps D.D. get over the anger she feels toward her pain now she can’t use her arm anymore. While Adeline helps D.D., she also reveals clues about herself, and gets more and more involved in the investigation. Because Adeline is no ordinary therapist. She hides two dark and terrible secrets.

    She can’t feel pain. And her sister is Shana Day, a murderer in her own right. They’re both daughters of Harry Day, a serial killer who’s legacy runs on, even today.

    When the investigation leads toward Adeline’s sister, Shana, who’s been locked up in prison for several years, Adeline realizes she has no choice but to confess the truth. Because whoever is murdering these women – skinning them – may be after her too.

    D.D., our lead detective, didn’t surprise me all that much. She was an enjoyable character, not all too grumpy, thank God (it seems like the grumpy detective is the new way to go if you read the latest thrillers) but she’s not that original, nor refreshing. Adeline on the other hand…wow. Now that’s a character so complicated it’s dazzling. With a background story that would make any reader jump in their seat, and an ever-changing personality, she’s drawn between the person her adoptive father wanted her to be, and between the person her real family made her become. With a fascination for her own legacy, a deep, dark secret, and her inability to feel pain, her difficult relationship with her sister, she’s one of the most fascinating, intriguing characters I’ve read about in ages. If she were the main character of this book, only her, without D.D., or she’d been forced into the role of the detective, that would’ve been fireworks.

    Unfortunately, that’s not the case, and it’s time to talk about two other intriguing characters. Shana Day, Adeline’s sister, so observative she notices everything that goes on around her before anyone else does. Shana, who portrays no emotions, but would go to any length to protect her sister. Shana, who was forever scarred by what her father did to them. She was a lot darker than Adeline, yet not truly a villain either. I felt for her, wrapped up as she was in her own sadism, and anti-social personality, messed up by those early years of life, the most fragile ones. It was hard to grasp her, to figure out what was going on in her mind, and that made her interesting.

    Then the last protagonist – the villain. I won’t say much about it, except that it left me guessing for a long, long time.

    As for plot, it’s a complicated story that has enough twists to entertain even the most well-read mystery fans. More even than about catching the killer, the book is about family, about what makes a murderer, and about the traces that leaves, not just to the victims and their families, but to the murderer’s own family.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    This is one of her best.

    This is one of her best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Love it

    Another well written book by Lisa Gardner! I have read them all and this did not disappoint. I could not put this down! It leaves you guessing the whole way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Read nothing except "Fear Nothing" before reading anyt

    Read nothing except "Fear Nothing" before reading anything else. I have read and loved every one of Lisa Gardner's work . "The Neighbor", "Live to Tell", "Love You More", "Catch Me", "Touch & Go", and now "Fear Nothing" have all received A or A+ ratings from me! That is high praise from an avid reader of 3 to 5 books a week. I am so pleased that this author has continued to live up to my high standards. I can't say that about most of my other FORMERLY favorite authors. They're pumping out  so many books so quickly they seem like they're written by someone else. I read Gillian Flynn's "Gone Girl" when it first came out over a year ago and every book paled by far in comparison until "Fear Nothing". It's VERY rare that I'll pay for a hard cover on its first day out which I do with Gardner's books. Keep up the great work and stick to your high standards, Lisa; no pressure right!? :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Hannah's fear

    SPIDERS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    My greatest fears...

    I fear being able to protect the ones I love, especially from themselves. I fear not being able to protect myself and others from me. I do not fear the dark; I fear that I no longer see the things that lurk, not only in the night, by day as well. I fear that evil and corruption are not as obvious as they seem. I do not fear physical things: spiders, snakes. There are much worse things to be scared of. Death does not scare me, but I do not wish for it. There are worse things than death. I fear hurting those who care, by dying, by leaving them. I do not fear that I will never be perfect; more than that, I fear that I have already accepted that I will never be close to perfect. I fear that I don't even try to care about being good enough, that I don't have ambition. I fear that I don't care. I fear I have given up. I fear that I feel as though life is meaningless. That all we are all just here to live, reproduce, die. I fear there is a he<.>ll and I will go to it. I fear there is nothing after death. I fear that I doubt myself, and my God. I fear the darkness in all of us. I fear I'm not who I think I am. I fear I am who I think I am. I'm not afraid of not being remembered; I fear that I will never truly accomplish anything. I fear there are no real, lasting accomplishments; that nothing actually matters. I realize that there are plenty of reasons to live, but that everything changes, and we are mostly powerless, in the grand scheme of the endless eternity of the universe. I fear having power, and I fear being powerless. I fear that the choices I make, the things I say, the things I think define me, because how else am I supposed to know who I am? I fear that humanity is slowly becoming less and less humane. I fear that I cannot do anything to change almost anything; I fear that I could change it for the worse. I fear that I cannot make black-and-white choices. The way everything is not merely in two colors, or even in various shades of grey. It is a full spectrum of colors that I cannot begin to comprehend. One thing I would like to point out, though, is that I do not usually think about all of this. I suppose I fear having these fears, acknowledging them, because thinking about those fears? I fear it might make them all the more real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    My fears:

    ((Please note, I am not copying anyone, no matter how much it may seem.)) <br>
    <p>
    I fear heights, drowning, living on my own, burning to death. I do not fear going to he<_>ll as much as I fear eternal oblivion after death. I fear being blind. I fear being embarassed. I fear growing up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Logan's fear

    Fire, clowns, and stained glass windows

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Skys fear

    Tight spaces and not being able to talk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Ryans fear

    Not waking up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Maddi fear

    My husband quitting rp. If u try to scare me i CAN tell an imposter. Easily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    ☲'s fear

    Oblivion, tight spaces, and hights

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Axios

    Whips.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Man in black

    He set her on a bed and say heal up young girl and lays naked with her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    I love this series and again I was not disappointed. The story l

    I love this series and again I was not disappointed. The story line is so creepy and interesting! I loved it and I look forward to the next one!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4