Customer Reviews for

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Better than the movie

    funny as heck. Very well written in most parts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Alex

    I have to go. He whispers in her ear. His hand traces down her chest and he kisses her again. He grabbed his shirt and ran away from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Fear and Loathing Hunter S. Thompson defines the true defin

    Fear and Loathing




    Hunter S. Thompson defines the true definition of drug induced fear and paranoia in his 204 page long “gonzo journalism” novel entitled Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. This wicked drug induced haze pushes the limits from cover to cover while solidifying  and taking Thompson’s “gonzo journalism” style of writing to a whole new level. The book itself , riddled with controversially horrific pictures,  displays the culture of the 1960s from a perspective never before seen. This novel was published after Thompson’s novel, Hell’s Angels, and did not disappoint the expecting fans. The Crawford Wood’s quote from the New York Times defines the novel as "a custom-crafted study of paranoia..” . This being one of the first positive reviews of Thompson’s novel; Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas become the benchmark in American literature it is today.
    The novel begins as Hunter S. Thompson, disguised as the journalist Raoul Duke, recovers from a hallucinogenic trip as he speeds towards the “American Dream” that awaits him and Dr. Gonzo, his attorney and counterpart. Raoul is assigned the task to report a famous motorcycle race, centered in Las Vegas. His path is quickly altered by his “kit” of recreational drugs that shockingly transforms the focus of the novel  into an insane ride of trips, fear, and loathing. During which they dangerously explore the “ins and outs” of 1970’s American culture. This acts as Raoul and his attorney’s attempt to free themselves from the reality and hardships of man.
    Thompson is purposely elusive on proclaiming the identities of the protagonists of the novel. The main character, Raoul Duke, is believed to be a disguise for Thompson, and his attorney. Dr. Gonzo, is referred to as “my attorney” throughout the novel while only revealing his name on sparing occasions. Raoul is both the main character and the narrator of many of Thompson’s books. He is depicted as a distrusting character whose daily life consists of constant intoxication and drug abuse, he portrayals Hunter Thompson’s alter-ego. However, Raoul is nothing without Dr. Gonzo, “Raoul Duke without Dr. Gonzo is unthinkable” , he serves as the ever necessary companion to Raoul.
    Raoul Duke and Dr. Gonzo begin their journey into “the belly of the beast” on their way to the Mint 400 motorcycle race in which they are assumed to report on the events of the race. The pair soon become deranged and vear from their intended path, illegally acquiring all their possessions and soon trashing the better of them. Their possessions include their red Convertible, hotel room, drugs and money; all conned off numerous oblivious Americans. Through the occurrence of these events the two become massively demented, and after surviving massive waves of paranoia they add to their growing list of felonies by illegally acquiring a room at the hotel known as the “Flamingo”. Procuring a new white Convertible as they attend the “National District Attorneys Association's Conference on Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs“. Pushing their demented adventures to a close, the two narrowly escape numerous accusations and Dr. Gonzo catches a flight out of Las Vegas, soon followed by Raoul Duke. When he finally arrives in Denver, he continues his daily use of drugs and alcohol when finally arriving in Denver.
    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas held my attention from cover to cover as the grotesque and vulgar story unfolded. The culture of the 1970s is represented perfectly as Thompson informs the reader of the political standpoints of America at the time. The average American male is flawlessly depicted , through Thompson’s imitation of the ever growing ignorance in the society at the time. Thompson’s critique of the government through the representation of the police department presents us with evidence of the many ways in which the American government and legal system is flawed. Thompson refers to police officers as “swine” several times throughout the novel and explains the flaws of “the system”  through his narrative tangents. Including a portion narrated by Raoul Duke where his neighbor is sent to jail on the basis of nothing, and how poorly he was treated. The only aspect of the novel that some may see as a flaw is the lack of a clear narrative and constant hallucinations that leaves the reader unclear as to whether what is happening is real or only imagined. Although, this applies to Thompson's style of writing and made this extraordinary stunning novel ever more enjoyable.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas By Hunter S. Thompson 4 Stars T

    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas By Hunter S. Thompson

    4 Stars

    This was not on my to read list this month but my son wanted to watch the movie so I had to step it up. I did watch the movie directly following and found it to stay fairly true to the book.

    I thought I would have a difficult time getting throught this given that I had heard stream of conscienceness in reference to the book. I do not do well with those. However Ulysses this is not so I sped right through the short 200 pages.

    The novel unfolds in the deserts on some amazingly wild rides. Roaul Duke and his lawyer Dr. Gonzo speed throught the deserts picking up stray hitch hikers and avoiding many other, "hazards" on their trip, many self-induced. They have a cache of every major illegal drug they can get their hands on. They are in search of, "The American Dream" does it exist in these times? These times being the 1960's and beginning of 1970's. It must somewhere and they are going to find it but first, pass the ether would ya?

    Gonzo Journalism is a term penned by Hunter S. Thompson and is used in this novel. The melding of fiction and fact. The character Roaul Duke calls himself a doctor of journalism and his lawyer is Dr. Gonzo. Did Mr. Thompson go on a trip to cover the Mint 400 with his lawyer, yes indeed he did. Was there a drug fueled, hallucination filled, hotel room destroying good time had? Maybe, that is an argument for the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Is this a classic yet?

    I discovered this book in 1974 when I was in tenth grade, and while it did not change my life, it changed how I wrote--for the worse. In spite of that, and in spite of all the wannabe Thompson clones, this is still a classic book.

    Thompson and Tom Wolfe are credit with the "New Journalism" but Thompson was the one, in my mind, who warped the genre into something worth trying to emulate. As a kid, this was drug porn. Rereading as an adult I found it goes much further, and is much darker than I realized. This is not a druggies dream, it is a nightmare, and as such stands as a classic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Twisted and entertaining

    I am a fan of Hunter S. Thompson and loved the movie Fear and Loathing. This book brought me into the acid craze and mescaline binge.
    He writes poetically even under the influence of multiple layers of illicit drugs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Hunter

    Incredible book that is very easy to get through in a short amount of time. I just wish theyd add more of Dr Thompsons books to the Nook store

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Exactly What Happens in Vegas?

    Hunter S. Thompson is assigned by Sports Illustrated to cover the Mint 400, a motorcycle race in Las Vegas¿ desert, during the end of the Nixon regime. When Thompson decides to bring along his drug-pushing attorney, his assignments are set aside as he ends up in a search for the American Dream while in Las Vegas. After receiving the call, Thompson and his attorney spend the rest of the day preparing for their trip to what Thompson believes is the ¿heart of the American Dream¿. With the meticulous, materialistic manner that Thompson plans his trip, it seems as if Thompson is a believer in the American Dream. At the end of the day Thompson leaves California with a convertible car and a trunk filled with anything they could possibly need while on vacation as well as a suitcase loaded with a cornucopia of narcotics. After leaving California, Thompson and his attorney do not return to a normal state of mind until the end of the trip. To avoid future complications, Thompson and his attorney used pseudonyms while in Las Vegas. With their alter egos, Raoul Duke (Thompson) and Dr. Gonzo (attorney) go around Las Vegas terrorizing the citizens and tourists, trashing their hotel rooms, searching for the American Dream, getting removed from bars and casinos, destroying their rental cars, experimenting with mind expanding psychedelics to explore the human psyche, and somewhere in the whole mess they went to the Mint 400 and the Drug conference that Thompson was later assigned to, though because of his mind¿s state, Thompson did not recall too much from either of the events. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream offers an interesting critique of the social state of the United States during the time of Nixon¿s presidency, as well as a critique of the American Dream. I found this book unique in the perspective from which it was written. The book has very few dull moments and many outlandish stunts executed by Thompson and his attorney, which are all tied together with the author¿s good sense of humor and odd sense of reality. Though at some points the plot may seem a bit vague, the book more than compensates for this with everything else it has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    Hunter shows us how the counterculture careened off course. The wild ride isn¿t so cute after a while. One¿s lawyer ought not inspire one to commit crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    What a mad drug binge

    I personally thought this book was just a mad drugs binge. There was no real reason for the Raul Duke and Doctor Gonzo to go on this mad journy to cheat the system. If they really wanted to do all the drugs they did they didn't need to go all the way to Las Vegas to do them they could of stayed in LA. Even when they got to LV they didn't even make an impact on anyone because they blew off the original excuse to go to Vegas so they could find the American Dream in a crazed drug binge. The reason why I read this book was because I didn't have the attention span for the movie and now I read the book the movie just seems too ridiculous to watch again. Their mad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    The point

    I agree with everyone, about the story, the drugs,ect. but what a lot of people forget is that the book is actually about the breakdown of american society and that 'The American Dream' has really been horribly peverted..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    WHOAAA

    Leaving California a journalist named Dr. Raoul Duke and his attorney Dr.Gonzo take a trip to Las Vegas to do a report on the Mint 500. Once in Las Vegas Dr. Raoul Duke doesn¿t even remember what he is supposed to be doing because he was so intoxicated with numerous types of drugs. Their whole trip to Las Vegas was really pointless because of all the usage of narcotics nothing was ever finished. The whole story really tells how people in that decade in time really over did using drugs. I enjoyed this book because of the main character Dr. Raoul Duke made it funny while hallucinating on so many drugs. The way he wrote it made me feel like I was actually tripping on a drug because his thoughts were so crazy and out there as were his attorneys. I think it shows you that while on drugs you cant really complete the job that you were assigned. The characters in the book made it so great and enjoyable to read. I think this is a good book for a younger audience to read because it tells about a decade that was so much different then ours and it is very interesting to learn about. Not only do you learn about weird trips on acid, you also learn about how drugs won¿t ever get you were you want in life but only hold you back from what you trying to succeed in your life. It is a very entertaining novel as well as educational. Hunter S. Thompson was an amazing writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    What the 'American Dream' is really all about!

    Hunter S. Thompson has done it again with his sinister story of two men in search of the 'American Dream'. With a pocket full of money, that's not theirs, and a briefcase full of drugs, is how these two go throughout their crazy and wild escapades in search of the 'American Dream'. While they drive around Las Vegas consuming their wide array of drugs in the 'Great Red Shark', they are faced with odd encounters and experiences that will blow any readers mind away. For all those people that think that the book is better than the movie, than your right with this one. There is never a dull moment with this book and it will have you at the edge of you seat the whole way through. I deeply recommend this book to anyone who has trouble with books because from the start till the finish you will want to read and continue with this wild and twisted journey in search of the 'American Dream'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    great book

    Love the journalist style and entertaining tale. Similar, just as wonderful author in AC Weisbecker. If you like this book, you will adore 'Cosmic Banditos' by Weisbecker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2001

    Trippy!

    Now the movie makes sense to me. I liked the movie when I saw it the first because of Johnny Depp and Benicio Del Torros excellent performances, and the incredibly strange way of filming. It's a good one to watch when your stoned! The book, is even better because it actually makes sense, and when I watched the movie again after reading the book, it too made sense. I loved this book because it honestly made me laugh so hard that my stomach hurt. Duke's hallucinations are sometimes so funny, and yet so poigniant. He brings up many interesting points and subjects that are worth thinking about. Definatly read it, you won't be disappointed! This is one of the most original books i have ever read, because not once does it preech to you. There is no little message saying drugs are bad, there is no rehabillitation, no overdosing, it's not depressing. Duke loves his life, even if it is screwed up, and that is why I loved his charector so much! Email me to talk about this book or any other one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4