Customer Reviews for

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 189 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Just read this

    Seriously, just read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Badass Classic

    This is a great underrated book that should be read! This is one of those excellently excuted written books that classrooms sadly shy away from. This book is a great down to earth read with the bizzare mixture of crazy amount of drugs thrown in the mixture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    FANTASTIC!!!

    Everyone on the planet must read this book, it is absolutely fantastic! It is hilarious and every time you flip the page there is something new and strange that just draws you in. This book will grab you by your ears and take you for a hysterical journey into a mind set that is entirely different for most people. It is a must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Thompson's Masterpiece

    Beautifully written, brings up familiar feelings if you can relate to some of his feelings. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic journey into oblivion!

    What a brilliant play on words and trippy times! I love it by the pool, on a plane, or in a hammock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    American Masterpiece

    There's a handfull of books that qualify. There was never anybody like this guy. There was only a brief moment in history when stuff like this was even possible. He practically had to invent a vocabulary to describe it all. Bad craziness...........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Amazingly Trippy Book

    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is an amazing book. Hunter S. Thompson takes you on a thrilling adventure from California, all the way to Las Vegas. This book shows what the 70's were really about. Drugs, Rock N' Roll, and committing felonies upon felonies upon felonies. I cant even begin to comprehend how they got away with all of it. They racked up thousands and thousands of dollars on their hotel bills and always ran out without paying the bill. They also destroyed like two cars and never abided to traffic laws. My favorite part of the book was when Raul Duke and Dr. Gonzo take too much mescaline and huff a bunch of ether before going into one of the casinos where they made fools of themselves. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the drug culture. This is probably my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    HST-Gonzo lives!

    A drug fueled trip to Vegas in '71....a look back at the 60's...fear and loathing what was to come (politically? socially?) All of that and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    The good doctor may have reached the peak of his literary prowess with this book, at least in the sense that here he was willing to be his most funny and fun. There's actually a streak of sadness and depression that runs through this work, as was surely the case in Hunter's actual life, but for the most part it's a heck of a lot of fun and wackiness. The protagonist is trying to find the American dream and never quite tracks it down, but he does manage to get his hands on a whole lotta illegal substances, as well as a few legal ones, and some 1960s-like drugged out madness ensues! One of the more memorable scenes takes place between the California highway patrolman and the doctor near the middle of nowhere. It's also amusing when they attend the drug conference. If these events really had taken place exactly as written, it would've made for an interesting magazine article to say the least!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is one of the best books I've yet read in my life. It is the strangest take on the American drug culture I've ever read and is a great tip-of-the-hat to journalism and how amazing it can be. The late Thompson had created one of the best modern non-fiction titles of this day. It is an outrageously hilarious book, laced with insane drug humor and unconventional jokes and laughs you couldnt' possibly hope to find in any other author. My tip of the hat to Thompson for this awesome piece of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    Great fun

    This happens to be the strangest and funniest book I have ever read. It has more drug humor and strangeness to top it all. It is one of the greatest nonfiction titles I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    A trip to reality from light to dark

    This book is a tale of two men going to Las Vegas in search of the American dream written by Hunter S. Thompson. It took place in the late sixties which was also called the ¿dope decade¿ in the U.S.A. This book captures a certain audience because of the writer¿s artistic language and the imagery that it produces. One unique aspect of it is that the story is told from the eyes of a drug user, not just an onlooker. My favorite thing about this book is that somehow Thompson harmoniously has nonfiction and a fantasy story all in one. The imagery created is astounding. You can picture everything that the protagonists are going through, but you can also look at the other side of the story and figure out what is really happening to the men which brings an artistic element of humor to the book. Humor of this sort is hard to find because you really do have to see both sides of it to understand and it¿s not so much verbal but a situational irony type of humor. The book is not meant to be funny though, Thompson was trying to get across a message that the American dream along with the American system is corrupt. This fraudulence is shown through the several confrontations the men have with average American citizens and even business people who try to take them for granted, cheat them, and also fall for the Thompson and his attourney's distortions of the truth. By reading this mind trip a reader is shown a side of the world that is not usually written about, it is about the darker and very real side of the American dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Could it get any better

    After reading this book for the 2nd time i have come to realize that it is by far one of the greatest pieces of literature that i have ever read. The writing style Hunter S. Thompson uses is most definetly one of a genius. the book describes the bizzare drug indused adventures of raul duke (Thompson), and his attourney Dr. Gonzo. There Goal throughout this epic novel is to uncover the American dream. I belive that this book should most definently be at the top of any readers list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Long Live Gonzo!

    This book is perhaps my favorite book by the late Hunter S. Thompson. i can easily see why this book and the movie version (also amazing) have be come cult classics amoungst the drug culture. This book tells the story of Hunter S. Thompson (or Roul Duke as he often calls himself.) as he goes down to Las Vegas to cover a story. But they end up getting caught up in a whirlwind adventure of Drug Induced Craziness. This is perhaps one of my all time favorite books, and would recomend it to anyone who is a fame of the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Gonzo goes to the top

    This book shaped my career as a journalist. The overall genious of a drug frenzy is relentless in the pages of this masterpiece. WELL DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    This is one heck of a fun book!

    Thompson¿s classic novel shows that quest literature (in this case the quest for the American Dream) is not at all dead. This is tale is wonderfully crafted and will entertain until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    the great fear of Hunter S. Thompson

    Hunter S. Thompson is one of the great writers of the field of writing. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is one of his best ones. he is a mad man and the gonzo writing style is loved throughout the world and the writing world. i love the book because the the excitment that keeps you reading and learning. i only wish that he did not kill himself so maybe i could talk to him in person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Brilliant!

    After seeing the movie I figured I'd read the book. And the book was 10x better! The message and sarcastic humor was awsome. Now my favourite book I look foward to reading the other works of Hunter S. Thompson (RIP)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas takes you on a trip of all kinds of mind blowing illusions. A man and his attorney take a trip to Las Vegas to cover a desert race. Before leaving they pick up every drug that they can get their hands on. It turns out to be one big 'trip.' You'll experience the strip of Las Vegas like you never have before. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a great imagination. The story is pretty much painted into your head as you read. As i read this book i was sucked into all the action. I can honestly say that this was the most enjoyable book that I've ever read. YOu have to read it yourself though to find that out. So if you like what you hear you should definatly check this book out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    An Americans Dream

    One of my few favorite authors, along side with Chuck Palahniuk (Fight Club) and Edgar Allen Poe (The Tell-Tale Heart), Hunter S. Thompson makes a great contribution to literature here with ¿Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas: A Savage Journey To The Heart Of The American Dream¿ By `Raoul Duke.¿ With his invention of Gonzo Journalism, which objective is to completely ignore the assignment you were given, this infamous novel trails of a trip to Las Vegas. It¿s pretty easy to see why this novel is favored when it¿s oozing with disturbed young women, redneck officers, racing, journalism and drugs, well mainly drugs. With two colorful characters, Raoul Duke and his attorney Dr. Gonzo, it¿s hard not to be entertained. Some of the descriptions are difficult to imagine being real when your narrator is on drugs; as a matter of fact I wondered if he ever took the trip at all and just imagined it on a drug binge in a hotel. With his views on modern day America (70¿s) and many other observations made in Las Vegas it¿s a no wonder why it had such an impact when released. My personal reasons for loving this book are the characters encounters with other people; it¿s like letting wild animals loose in the city. I recommend this book to anyone who loves funky visuals, descriptions, characters on drugs, amazing writing and inciting views on journalism and politics, or for simple entertainment. If that¿s what you like then I deeply recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 189 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10