Customer Reviews for

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and Other American Stories

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Nathan James Mikesell DRUGS! DRUGS! Aparently this book was the


    Nathan James Mikesell
    DRUGS! DRUGS! Aparently this book was the American dream in the 60's, I wouldn’t know I’m 18. For a brief description its about two men one a news reporter the other his lawyer. Their journey begins with a road trip to Vegas too cover a news story about a desert race, really nothing to do with the whole story. On the way there and in Vegas they do a countless number of drugs and a abundance amount of alcohol. Its just about how the drugs feel and not being sober for a few weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Version of this Book!

    If you are going to buy this book I would suggestion giving this version I thought. I personally like this one the best because it also includes two other pieces of Thompson's writing. The second one is the first thing I ever read by Thompson. Also, The Kentucky Derby is Decadent and Depraved is the first piece of "gonzo" work Thompson ever did. This book overall is a most have for any Thompson fan and a great place to start for readers interested in his writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Masterpiece!

    You really had to be there, the seventies I mean. You see, what really made the seventies even possible was drinking and driving. And the drugs. And the fact that the cops hadn't gotten up to speed in terms of enforcement yet. It was a crazy time when outlandish behaviour was tolerated, expected even, and nothing was considered over the line. It's one thing to make that journey into the dark heart of the American dream, it's another thing altogether to come back and tell the tale. Few qualify. No one has done it quite so well. RIP Hunter Thompson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    What can I say

    Buy the ticket,take the ride.A must read !!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    The best book I have ever read.

    The story is an account of Thompson and attorney Oscar Zeta Acosta¿s trip to Las Vegas. They are referred to as Raoul Duke and Dr. Gonzo respectively. Thompson was interviewing Acosta for a story he was working on for Rolling Stone. It was a story on the murder of Ruben Salazar by Los Angeles police during the National Chicano Moratorium March against the Vietnam War. Thompson was also supposed to write photo captions for a race in Las Vegas for Sports Illustrated. Thompson thought that if he got Acosta out of LA he would be more inclined to talk openly for the interview. Thompson was hired to write 250 words for the photo captions, but when he submitted what turned out to be a 2,500 word manuscript, Sports Illustrated ¿aggressively rejected¿ it. He then ended up having it featured in Rolling Stone before it was put out in novel form. This book is one of my favorites of all time not just for its writing style, which I adore, but also for its overall meaning and themes which can get lost in all of the violence, drug use and insanity. This book is not for everyone and definitely not for the faint of heart. It is a screaming roller coaster of insanity that eventually spirals out of control and crashes. It can be very ugly and depressing, but at the same time I still consider it one of the best things I¿ve ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Andoni's favorite

    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas How many of us had dreamed with leaving everything and running away to live a life full of excess, cutting with your normal and ordinary life? Wouldn¿t you like to stop the monotony of your every day life? Then ¿Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas¿ is a book that you should read. The book can be the reflection of the life of more than one that left everything in search of the so called ¿American Dream¿. The uncertainty and locomotion that Hunter S. Thompson gives to this story is unique. The story of a magazine writer and his attorney in the search of new life style is the main idea of the story. A life full of excess in a time that would give all that you need to adopt this life style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2004

    Masterpiece & Extremely Fun Read

    Hunter S. Thompson's masterpiece, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, is not only a fine work that showcases the beginning stages of Thompson's innovative invention 'pure Gonzo journalism,' it is also a hilarious fast-paced trip through Las Vegas circa 1971, with some fresh mournings on the death of the Swingin' Sixties and the consequences that the flower children and other survivors will need to face to make it through the seventies. This is NOT A BOOK FOR THE QUEASY OR CLOSEMINDED, yet this is a book of several themes that a wide range of people can enjoy, even the more straightlaced. Those interested in history and politics will enjoy the biting social commentary, those interested in journalism and writing might find the action-filled first person intriguing, and those interested in psychology and drug abuse or drug culture will find 'Duke' an interesting study. Above all, however, this book is about FUN. Thompson admits that he immensely enjoyed writing this story (which is rare, for him), and the whole excursion centers around basically just trying to have a great time, and succeeding despite outside influences... for good or bad. This is also a jaded look at the American Dream. I recommend seeing the movie before AND after reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    Righteously twisted

    Dr. Thompson gets to the heart of America by tripping all the way. I thoroughly enjoy all of his writing, but this had a certain unique branding to it. Sometimes hard to follow, but always entertaining and actually made you look at what America does stand for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Best book I have had an opportunity to read!

    This is a oh so truthful book sadly to say. It clearly shows the down fall of the American civilization. A dream long since dead and visible in Las Vegas a cheap town where anything goes. I enjoyed this book very much. The detail of the drug usage is real very real. NOT THAT I WOULD KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THAT. The story also made me sad to realize I live in a long dead dream and the civilization is wa past its prime. Oh what I wouldn't give to be a flower child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1