Customer Reviews for

Fear and Loathing: On the Campaign Trail '72

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Still Relevant

I read this book in light of the current presidential campaign and found it relevant, insightful, funny and outrageous. Thompson was unique, fortunately, and while he could not be objective, he still presented the facts as he uncovered them. Some things have changed (fo...
I read this book in light of the current presidential campaign and found it relevant, insightful, funny and outrageous. Thompson was unique, fortunately, and while he could not be objective, he still presented the facts as he uncovered them. Some things have changed (for example, the national party conventions are now unimportant) and others have not (such as the need for skillful use of TV and on-the-ground volunteers).

posted by rodamu on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book; must read

I read this book very thoroughly. George McGovern was the biggest idiot to ever grace American Politics. I never could understand for the life of me why Nixon was as crooked as he was. This shows the glory of the 1972 Campaign and the highs and lows of it

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Still Relevant

    I read this book in light of the current presidential campaign and found it relevant, insightful, funny and outrageous. Thompson was unique, fortunately, and while he could not be objective, he still presented the facts as he uncovered them. Some things have changed (for example, the national party conventions are now unimportant) and others have not (such as the need for skillful use of TV and on-the-ground volunteers).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    R.I.P. GONZO

    This is my favorite book period. Hunter S Thompson is the greatest writer ever because he tells it like it is bubba. This book (like all of Hunter's books) is both funny and insightful. I think this is Gonzo's best work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Perfect Book for political junkies

    Doesn't matter how long after 1972 you were born (or how long before), this is one of the best books about the Primaries, the campaigns and the political process. It lags toward the end when it becomes obvious that McGovern doesn't have a chance of beating Nixon, but that doesn't detract from it in the slightest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    A Whirlwind

    Great insights into the wicked, perverted realm of America's first and last true Blood Sport: Politics! The author charges about his chosen arena with no less gusto than Tarzan zigzagging about the jungle, exploding from vine to vine - seemingly without calculation, yet, no denying it, adroit precision...readable and not in the least bit dated, although it should be since its primary concern the minutia of the 1972 presidential election. Eerily, perhaps, more relevant today. Look for the Florida swimming pool episode.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    Great book; must read

    I read this book very thoroughly. George McGovern was the biggest idiot to ever grace American Politics. I never could understand for the life of me why Nixon was as crooked as he was. This shows the glory of the 1972 Campaign and the highs and lows of it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    The Bunker's Creation

    In Fear and Loathing On The Campaign Trail '72, Hunter S Thompson showed the world (and much to the chagrin of his publishers/editors) that he was the clearest and most concise voice of the Left. Following a presidential campaign from start to finish is more than just a daunting task or an exhausting dive into human foolishness, it is an art form and HST proves that his pallette is full of cynicism, wit, humor, fear and honesty. From primary to presidential election, HST gets down to the bare bones and marrow of each individual candidate with even an iota of hope to win the election that year, even if they were up against one of the most heinous and vile men of our time, Richard Milhous Nixon. Obviously Democratic and purely Left, this book is not for the faint of heart or the detail-challenged. Filled with insight and wisdom, often dotted with fantastic scenarios from Thompson's warped and beautiful imagination, F&L On The Campaign Trail '72 not only solidified HST's place in American Political Journalism, it shows that you don't have to be a genius to be involved in politics...you just need a cut-throat approach and a 'take-no-prisoners' attitude that so few in this world truly have. HST? He's chock full of it...with more to come

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    Saucy and Scandalous: that¿s HST

    For anyone who is trying to catch a glimpse of the madness that was the early 1970's, read this book, everyone was in the Wasteland of what the 1960's had wrought and this book takes you to that very place where people from both sides were getting over the burn. This long & large book chronicles the events leading up to the re-election of the corrupt Nixon administration that rightly got swallowed up by its own greed & backdoor dealings, there is a stage where HST actually gets an interview w/ Tricky Dicky & they watch the football game together since it is a common interest/passion, & there weren't any others, HST throws himself into another stage as he gets in another drug haze & that chapter gets written by the editor, that¿s almost as surprising as when you get reminded several times the revelation of Muskie's Ibogaine addiction remains priceless. For someone who doesn't read political historical books like HST's writing style makes it more than interesting enough, he could probably write about paint drying & make it a genuine literary masterpiece. I most of the publications of this book included cover art by the one and only Ralph Steadmann & occasional illustrations and pictures inside too good stuff. Beyond that, HST was at the top of his form, weaving a maniacal tapestry of tales of debauchery, inside dope on what drives a campaign, and hard-nosed, clear-eyed evaluations of the losers who stormed the countryside looking for our votes. You can't read this book and ever think about Hubert Horatio Humphrey or Ed 'Ibogaine' Muskie or Tricky Dick the same way. And when your read the pale, evenhanded 'journalism' that recounts recent campaigns, you will long for HST back when he was in his prime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    Politics without filters

    Thompson describes the degredation of the national political system and still puts a smile on your face. Its impossible to put this book down, the Gonzo journalism treatment is the best way to cover any story, and Hunter is on top of his game. For politics junkies and other interested parties.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    Emmalane

    I walk in and pick up a few books, open them and smush doughnuts in them. A fat cop comes in and I laugh at him. "You can't handle me!" I run out the door, bumping into Alex. I pat him on the shoulder. "Gotta go. The popo are onto me." I give him a quick peirced lip smile and run out the door. "Hey! Emmalane! Get back here! Those are for my lunch!" I smirk as I yell back. "Not now fatty! Im busy running!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Alexander

    "It would giv me and excuse to go there more..." standing back up (im still getin osver being sick so i gtg to sleep now im sorry)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Shay

    *sits next to her grabs the paper* whats this? Look if its try outs go try it then ok lucky.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Kaito

    (Its oky i understand bye)<p>
    "Exactly.vplus I wont get wierd looks for my aopearance or lip pircing or anything! So yeah. Kfc can suck it," l saud smurking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Jai

    She walks in, and grabs a few books off the shelves. Each book she picks is about animals. She sits down and reads them aloud to Angel and Clancy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Lazarus

    I sigh and walk away, being complety ignored in my attempts to help

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Lucky

    (Sorry had dinner.) Get up and signins softly as she walks dn then empty halls ways "i wish to go to the festival......the wonderful music festival........"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Jake

    Jogs in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Shadow Link

    Ok

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Labryna

    Ok! I wanna go save a princess!!!*her long blue braid flies as she jumps* But we need to know where they are first.........rotten pumpkin.....

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2