Customer Reviews for

Fear of Flying

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

inside a woman's mind

Erica Jong¿s Fear of Flying in the 1970s was a huge sensation. Not only did it share the inner thoughts of a modern liberated woman, it gave women everywhere the freedom to be sexual.
Her term the ¿zipless fu¢k¿ for every came to symbolize the free and open expressi...
Erica Jong¿s Fear of Flying in the 1970s was a huge sensation. Not only did it share the inner thoughts of a modern liberated woman, it gave women everywhere the freedom to be sexual.
Her term the ¿zipless fu¢k¿ for every came to symbolize the free and open expression between two individuals with guiltless, emotionless sex. The clothes fly off like pedals and it is ¿on¿.
This book also has a larger message which is to face your fears. Women at that time held back, they were wives, mothers, daughters. The character in the book Isadora Wing, chronicles her adventures as a woman who discovers who she is. Afraid to fly, she joins her lover to travel to a psychiatrist conference where her adventures begins. By facing you fears, you are able to grow and overcome the limitations set by our self imposed boundaries.
Even after a generation of its publication Fear of Flying is paving the way for women everywhere to be honest to themselves and realize that the world is full of opportunity.
Fear of Flying is a seminal classic that both women and men need to read to unlock the power of sexuality and discovering freedom.
This reprinted edition contains a new forward and appendix with an interview with the Jong.

posted by Dr_Wilson_Trivino on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommend.

I was disappointed from the start. I stopped reading it about fifty pages into it. Was not enjoyable to read at all. Did like the plot or the characters.

posted by jazmine2290 on October 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    inside a woman's mind

    Erica Jong¿s Fear of Flying in the 1970s was a huge sensation. Not only did it share the inner thoughts of a modern liberated woman, it gave women everywhere the freedom to be sexual.
    Her term the ¿zipless fu¢k¿ for every came to symbolize the free and open expression between two individuals with guiltless, emotionless sex. The clothes fly off like pedals and it is ¿on¿.
    This book also has a larger message which is to face your fears. Women at that time held back, they were wives, mothers, daughters. The character in the book Isadora Wing, chronicles her adventures as a woman who discovers who she is. Afraid to fly, she joins her lover to travel to a psychiatrist conference where her adventures begins. By facing you fears, you are able to grow and overcome the limitations set by our self imposed boundaries.
    Even after a generation of its publication Fear of Flying is paving the way for women everywhere to be honest to themselves and realize that the world is full of opportunity.
    Fear of Flying is a seminal classic that both women and men need to read to unlock the power of sexuality and discovering freedom.
    This reprinted edition contains a new forward and appendix with an interview with the Jong.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Not Recommend.

    I was disappointed from the start. I stopped reading it about fifty pages into it. Was not enjoyable to read at all. Did like the plot or the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    Bought as a lark, Changed my outlook.

    In 1977 I bought this book as a lark for my girlfriend. She was flying to London to visit her father and was quite nervous about the trip. What began as something to get her mind off of the trip changed both of our lives (For the better). I still talk with her almost daily. A great friend whom I can talk about anything. At 43 now I can't imagine how thing would be if I had not bought this book! Thank you Erica!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    Fascinating with or without the scandal!

    This book caused a wave of shock at the time of its release. Today, now that we're sufficiently aware of womens' sexuality and somewhat numb, Fear of Flying stands out as a well-written and absolutely HILARIOUS novel. It's impossible to read this without smiling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    book not as good as I hoped

    no comment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tongue in Cheek

    As a mockery of The Feminine Mystique it's brilliant, to read it as anything else it's just plan sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    One of my top five books

    Despite the fact that it was published many years before my birth, I believe this book is extremely culturally relevant even today. It is frank and honest and something that all women should read. I really gained from the author's exceptional life, love, and sexual experiences and appreciated her candid self-evaluation. Every woman who has ever felt confused about how females should live and love should read this book and see that we are all asking the same questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Still unique so many years later

    I too was surprised to see that it was written before I was born. It is still unique today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2001

    Amazing book

    This book has it all: humor, erotica, drama, psychology... One of the few books that I've read lately that just kept me turning the pages. It was recommended by a friend as 'the book that will change my life' and I guess, in a way, it has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1