Customer Reviews for

Fear the Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You know what they say about Karma right? Well I'm sure Caine ce

    You know what they say about Karma right? Well I'm sure Caine certainly
    does! He's spent so much time being an evil bastard that fate has come
    up with the most delicious punishment. He got his wish to turn from cur
    to a pureblood Were but at the same time he has taken on the task of
    protecting the most valuable creature in the world from dark forces.
    Unfortunately for him, he finds her irresistible and his newly found
    conscience is firm on not taking advantage of her naivety and innocence.
    Now one might think that Cassie would be a boring snooze fest of a
    character in a paranormal world due to said innocence but that's just
    not true. She's smart, sassy and a fast learner. Her naivety and
    innocence comes not from a prudish mind but from being locked up for so
    many years, unable to so much as socialize with anyone. Cassie is a
    grown woman, beautiful and tough but she also doesn't completely
    understand the world around her, giving her a child-like mentality and
    views from time to time, which doesn't help Caine's dilemma one bit.
    Cassie may be new to the world, but that doesn't mean she blindly
    follows Caine or lets him boss her around, she gives as good as she
    gets, even going so far as to call Caine out on him being a "sexist
    dog" when he wants to always be the one she depends on for
    protection. She isn't afraid of him or his sometimes cranky moods or the
    fact that as a full blood Were he's almost as big as a car and twice as
    mean. Cassie is most entertaining once she knows what she wants (Caine)
    and goes after it (him). The sexual tension was present from page one,
    Caine wants Cassie but he doesn't want to hurt or take advantage of her,
    something completely new and baffling at times for him. He isn't used to
    feeling something other than lust for a female and to have his bad ass
    self WANT to protect and care for such a pure creature such as Cassie
    drives him nuts for a few pages. Thankfully, Fear the Darkness doesn't
    spend too much time on the "will they or won't they" battle
    between Caine and Cassie because there's a much bigger obstacle in their
    way. I'm grateful for this because frankly, Caine and Cassie are just
    too combustible to be kept from each other for so long. They're a pretty
    hot couple that will definitely make you re-think the whole "Team
    Vampire" thing (If you were inclined in that direction before).
    Fear the Darkness is definitely filled with blood, danger, death and
    mayhem, it wouldn't be a paranormal romance if there wasn't at least one
    bloody fight would it? Keeping it balanced and from becoming an endless
    nightmare for her characters, Alexandra injects just the right amount of
    humor to distract everyone from the conflict, even if it's only for a
    moment. One of my favorites? Cassie's first taste of wine and pizza.
    Having read Alexandra Ivy's Guardians of Eternity series from the
    beginning and loving each one of her alpha males, I'm going to have to
    say here and now that Caine is officially my favorite. I was mildly
    intrigued by him when he was a cur, he had hints of decency in him but
    it was never more apparent than when he saw Cassie for the first time.
    He may not be as tortured as Styx, Viper or even Salvatore, King of the
    Weres, but he does have that whole "Will kill to protect"
    attitude and as bad as he can get, his tender way with Cassie kind of
    cancels out his cold hearted, bad ass factor. Fear the Darkness is a
    great read from beginning to end and definitely leaves you wanting more
    from the Guardians of Eternity and of course, leaves you with the
    feeling that the end of the battle is only the beginning of the war.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book but prefer the first books I read in the series.

    Good book but prefer the first books I read in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another hit for Ms Ivy! Salvatore Giuliani is the PISSED OFF rul

    Another hit for Ms Ivy! Salvatore Giuliani is the PISSED OFF ruling Were King and he thinks he is all that! He just has to find his mate and make some little Giuliani! What woman would not want him? Harley, that who! Harley is a rare pure blood were and she is so sick of bossy, controlling men and that goes double for ALL Weres! She doesn't want to have an ARROGANT King in her universe! She is not a puppy machine! Salvatore just wants to have her over , under or beside him and never like go. Harley doesn't want him, but he got that yummy body! Thus begins their Battle of Wills! Who will win? Will they kill one another? I have to ask, who will be on top? I give Ms. Ivy my THANKS for creating the Guardians of Eternity world that she GIFTED me with. She has the best imagination and creates better characters with each book! Ms. Ivy gives my top score of 5 fingers up and 10 toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic book and series. Love the character and storyline. I h

    Fantastic book and series. Love the character and storyline. I highly recommend this book and all of Ms. Ivy's books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Indera Book provided by the publisher for review Rev

    Reviewed by Indera
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I will start out by saying I have not read the first 8 books in the series. Because of this, I found myself a little lost and unsure of all the characters and how they tied into this story. I of course love any book with werewolves, witches, curs, vampires, and demons!

    I found this book to be about the battle of good vs. evil and of course a love story! Cassie is the “Prophet” that was altered in womb and is a pure blood werewolf that cannot shift to wolf. She was held captive for 30 years by a demon. Cassie is also gifted (or cursed) with visions of the future- a “true seer”. Caine is a werewolf has been sworn to protect her. The story leads to me to believe that Caine did not always lead life on the right side of the tracks. (This is where I feel reading the first books in the series probably would have been helpful.) At the beginning of this book I found the romance and chemistry between Caine and Cassie to be sweet. Cassie has been sheltered while she was held captive all those years and is new to many worldly things. Caine immediately tries to ignore his attraction to Cassie. The fact that Cassie seems to be clueless of her beauty and sexiness makes it hard for Caine to resist and …..his wolf wants this Were- desperately!

    Gaius is a vampire that has sold his soul to “The Dark Lord” in the name of love. His mate Dara was killed and in return for Dara returning from the grave Gaius is indebted to the Dark Lord. Gaius was unwillingly teamed up Sally- a witch Conduit and brother/sister team of curs (which also happen to be capable of magic) Dolf and Ingrid. Gaius despises witches and curs but has no choice to team up with them in their quest to capture the beautiful “seer” pure blood werewolf Cassie and deliver her to The Dark Lord. A lot of this book is told from the view of Gaius. I did enjoy getting in the head of the evil Gaius and The Dark Lord. I gained some insight as to how evil almost tries to rationalize its actions!

    This is the first book I have ready by author Alexandra Ivy and I will say I love her witty humor throughout the book. The romance did start out “sweet” between Caine and Cassie but eventually turns out to be hot and super steamy. Unable to ignore the attraction Caine eventually does give in. His wolf wants Cassie as a mate- forever! Cassie is new- and excited about these sexual feelings and urges that Caine brings out of her. She pleads with Caine to take her “innocence” but Caine holds back. He feels he is not worthy of having such a woman as a mate. During all the back and forth sexual tension Caine still has to find a way protect Cassie.

    The Dark Lord is looking to resurrect so he may rule with evil. He desires the gift of Cassie’s visions and also seeks the babies created centuries ago; “Alpha” and “Omega”. The Dark Lord encounters The “Phoenix”, Goddess of Light who tries to stop the Dark Lord in his quest to rule by chaos and evil. Everyone comes together in the battle scene to fight the classic battle of ‘Good VS Evil”. (This is another situation when knowing all the characters from previous books in the series would have made things a little less confusing). In the end does the Dark Lord unleash his demons and allow chaos to rule? Does Gaius fulfill his deal with the Dark Load and reunite with his beloved mate Dara? Do Cassie and Caine finally seal their love and mark each other as eternal mates? And finally, does Good or Evil prevail?

    I did enjoy the way Cassie changed and grew throughout the book. At the beginning of the story she seemed to be this innocent naive woman. She was unaware of her sexuality and seemed so fragile. As the story progressed Cassie grew aware of her attraction for Caine she became a little temptress. I liked how she also took control and tried to protect Caine when she had a vision and sensed he was in danger. She grew from a fragile shell of a woman to a strong woman that would risk herself and delve into the unknown to try to protect the man she felt so strongly for. I do love this kind of character development/growth in a book.

    I was surprised of how much I liked Gaius. Even thought he seemed like a heartless vampire I found myself feeling for him. Throughout the book he mistreated many of the other characters and just had a nasty demeanor. What touched me about him was that all he did was in the name of love. He was determined to pay off his debt to the Dark Lord so he would be reunited with his one true love Dara. I felt it was almost sweet how much he cared and wanted to be with his mate even thought he was an evil/bad person. It was all in the name of love.

    I normally enjoy many characters in a book, but there were entirely too many characters in this book. I found myself having to write down character names, roles, and relationships. I did also expect more of a back story for the sister. Since Cassie was one of the main characters in this book I would have liked to know more about sisters and their relationship.

    I did enjoy the excitement of the story. The story was not predictable at all and I did find myself wanting to read more to see what would happen next even thought I was confused and flustered by the switching of viewpoints and the number of characters in the book. I do appreciate that author Ivy did note the location at the beginning of each section when the view point changed. (Without this I would not been able to finish this book.)

    Overall I did enjoy the book but felt it was hard to follow. The story line was good and most of the characters were well developed (even not having read the previous books). I must say I do love the writing style of author Ivy and loved the story line. Ivy writes with much excitement, drama, humor and action! I would recommend this book to anyone currently reading the Guardians of Eternity Series. I will recommend this series but will definitely stress the importance of starting with Book 1!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Entertaining and enjoyable

    It is really nice reading about all of the old characters and their mates and seeing that they continue to play important roles in each book. Cain and Cassie were cute and entertaining. Ivy's books are always enjoyable to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Lifeguide

    Yes have her eat this it will help with her breathing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    Fear the darkness is the 9th book in the Guardians of Eternity s

    Fear the darkness is the 9th book in the Guardians of Eternity series and I highly recommend reading them all as there is an ongoing story arc.



    This installment focuses on Cassandra and Caine. Cassandra is the last of the Quadruplets to have her story told, we join her and Caine on the run as they continue to evade everyone in an effort to keep her safe. Caine has shown amazing character growth and development over the series, he began as the bad boy Cur and circumstances have changed him into Cassie's protector. Cassie remains naive and innocent despite the darkness she has seen in her life from her imprisonment in the demon's lair. The attraction between the two is palpable and I was rooting fro them to get a Happy Ever After.



    I really enjoyed the appearance of some of my favourite characters, especially Styx. I really enjoy it when he shares the page with Viper and the two of them play a large part in this story. Things with the Alpha & Omega are moving forward and new avenues are opened for the story to develop. Levet returns and he just makes me smile, I love that little Gargoyle.



    I'm really looking forward to seeing the direction the series takes next, a well deserved 4.5 Stars

    ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2012

    highly recommended

    must read the whole series. love love loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    O MY

    I just loved Caine and Cassies story.It was very well done and he just loves her so much it's swoon worthy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    I was very disappointed.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the previous books in the series and waited anxiously for the next in the series. This book was disappointing. I am not sure where Ivy was going with the ending, the other books were building a crescendo to a finale in this book but then the book left the end open for more books. While I would enjoy more of her books, Ivy cheated the reader of a solid conclusion to this series. I wish I'd never read the book and that I was still anticipating another good book instead of dealing with the disappointment of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Loved it

    I love Levet! ; ) he is hilarious. This has become one of my favorite series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ┬┐Fear the Darkness┬┐ by, Alexandra Ivy Alexandra Ivy is a wond

    “Fear the Darkness” by, Alexandra Ivy

    Alexandra Ivy is a wonderful author and I fell in love with her work from book one. “Fear the darkness” is the 9th book in her Guardians of Eternity series but like most romance series each book can stand on its own.
    In “Fear the darkness” Cassie (The prophet) and Caine (The Were) are trying to decipher Cassie’s visions of the future while fighting against the dark lord and his minions. Cassie isn’t only “The Prophet”, she is also a “Were” but without the ability to shift. Having spent most of her life as a prisoner, she knows very little of the outside world and is very much in need of a protector. Enter Caine who is newly turned from Cur to pureblooded “Were”. Caine feels a deep need to protect the fragile prophet (even from himself if necessary) and he will die before he lets any harm come to her.
    “Fear the darkness” has everything that I love in a paranormal romance. We have:
    *Vampires, Weres, Demons, and a host of other fantastic supernatural creatures.
    *Steamy love scenes that are swoon worthy.
    *Danger and a creepy, powerful dark force to fight against.
    *Many interesting supporting characters that you fall in love with.
    *Returning characters from other books. (This is important to me because I always hate to say goodbye to great characters)
    *Alpha males (I want one of my own) and strong capable females.
    The Guardians of Eternity series is wonderful fun and “Fear the darkness” reads like a dream. I own all of Alexandra Ivy’s books and I thoroughly enjoy getting lost in her stories. If you like J.R. Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Shayla Black, Kresley Cole, Christine Feehan, Jacquelyn Frank, Jeaniene Frost, or Gena Showalter then you will love Alexandra Ivy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    The whole series is great!! I've read them all! What a great ending for this storyline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fear the Darkness releases on August 28th and is book 9 in Alex'

    Fear the Darkness releases on August 28th and is book 9 in Alex's Guardians of Eternity series, which if you haven't read any of the others in the series, you won't be lost. Alex shows a knack for giving you exactly what you need/want to know at just the right time... I say -haven't read the others in the series yet- because after you read Caine and Cassie's story you will definitely want to get to know the rest of her characters. They are all so very intriguing running the gambit of Alpha, sexy, brooding, badass, and completely devoted to their women. Cassie and Caine just exploded off the page for me and I adored them both throughout the entire story. Usually I will like the hero over the heroine in most stories but they were both completely on par for me. Caine is badass and totally devoted to keeping Cassie safe even from himself, and Cassie, though tiny in stature, shows incredible strength of willCaine used to be a bad boy cur, who's greatest wish was to become pureblooded Were with power and women to spare. Well he has finally gotten his wish...one of them anyway. After having tangled with the darkest Demon Lord Caine is transformed into a powerful pureblood Were. Of course fate has to get her kicks in, and by golly has she whopped him a good one when she drops Cassandra in his lap.
    Cassandra is a Were, but unable to shift, due to some tinkering by the Dark Lord, and an extremely rare and much sought after prophetess. She has been held captive for her entire life, and has no idea how to behave in society once Caine springs her from the Dark Lord's care. Thus Caine makes her safety his number one priority, and with her visions constantly leading them into danger this is no small feat. On top of that he has to fight the near obsessive attraction he has for her fearing that her attraction to him is only due to inexperience. Can he keep her safe and resist her wiles? We shall see...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Fear the darkness is the 9th book in the Guardians of Eternity s

    Fear the darkness is the 9th book in the Guardians of Eternity series and I highly recommend reading them all as there is an ongoing story arc.

    This installment focuses on Cassandra and Caine. Cassandra is the last of the Quadruplets to have her story told, we join her and Caine on the run as they continue to evade everyone in an effort to keep her safe. Caine has shown amazing character growth and development over the series, he began as the bad boy Cur and circumstances have changed him into Cassie's protector. Cassie remains naive and innocent despite the darkness she has seen in her life from her imprisonment in the demon's lair. The attraction between the two is palpable and I was rooting fro them to get a Happy Ever After.

    I really enjoyed the appearance of some of my favourite characters, especially Styx. I really enjoy it when he shares the page with Viper and the two of them play a large part in this story. Things with the Alpha & Omega are moving forward and new avenues are opened for the story to develop. Levet returns and he just makes me smile, I love that little Gargoyle.

    I'm really looking forward to seeing the direction the series takes next, a well deserved 4.5 Stars
    ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great addition to this series...

    I loved this book...read it in one day. I enjoyed the story between Caine and Cassie....I have been waiting for it for a while! I will not go into the whole story line because, for sure, someone else has already done it. Start this series from the beginning to appreciate Caine's transformation from the love to hate bad guy slug to Prophet protector. This book is worth the read and I will definitely be purchasing the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3