Customer Reviews for

Fear the Worst

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hope for the Best

I have to say right off that I really enjoyed "Fear the Worst", by Linwood Barclay. The book is very well written. The narrative flows very smoothly, the characters are alive and very believable. You can feel the hurt and anguish of the father, Tim Blake, who's teenage ...
I have to say right off that I really enjoyed "Fear the Worst", by Linwood Barclay. The book is very well written. The narrative flows very smoothly, the characters are alive and very believable. You can feel the hurt and anguish of the father, Tim Blake, who's teenage daughter, Sydney, suddenly and inexplicably comes up missing. Tim's determination and dedication to find his daughter, no matter the personal cost to himself, tug at your heartstrings. The book has plenty of action as Sydney's dad closes in on her trail, with the reluctant help of some of Syd's friends. If they ever make a movie of this thriller, the father should be played by an actor with the strength of character of a middle aged Clint Eastwood.

posted by Ronrose on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fast and entertaining read

Divorced car salesman Tim Blake is thrilled when his seventeen year old daughter Sydney moves in with him for the summer. Sydney has a seasonal job working at the front desk of a local motel, and seems to be the typical teen girl. The nightmare begins when Sydney sudden...
Divorced car salesman Tim Blake is thrilled when his seventeen year old daughter Sydney moves in with him for the summer. Sydney has a seasonal job working at the front desk of a local motel, and seems to be the typical teen girl. The nightmare begins when Sydney suddenly disappears, and Tim starts to learn things about his daughter's life that don't make sense.

I thought this book was a quick and entertaining read, but it wasn't anything that knocked my socks off. The writing is pretty good, but the plot a bit predictable; and your typical mystery/thriller characters abound. It would make a good beach or vacation read; something that's fast to get through and doesn't require much exertion on the reader's part. There are a few really exciting scenes, and enough interesting things going on to keep you reading until the end.

posted by kren250 on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fast and entertaining read

    Divorced car salesman Tim Blake is thrilled when his seventeen year old daughter Sydney moves in with him for the summer. Sydney has a seasonal job working at the front desk of a local motel, and seems to be the typical teen girl. The nightmare begins when Sydney suddenly disappears, and Tim starts to learn things about his daughter's life that don't make sense.

    I thought this book was a quick and entertaining read, but it wasn't anything that knocked my socks off. The writing is pretty good, but the plot a bit predictable; and your typical mystery/thriller characters abound. It would make a good beach or vacation read; something that's fast to get through and doesn't require much exertion on the reader's part. There are a few really exciting scenes, and enough interesting things going on to keep you reading until the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's Not The Worst

    This mediocre tale of a car salesman whose daughter goes missing contains a variety of plot twists and turns that seemed to have been chosen by a committee. They may keep the story going, but they don't always add to the excitement, nor do they always make much sense. There is a large cast of people, so we don't get to know anyone of them too well. But, it's not the worst story you could read, so if you like rambling plots where the outcome is in little doubt, you need not fear reading this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hope for the Best

    I have to say right off that I really enjoyed "Fear the Worst", by Linwood Barclay. The book is very well written. The narrative flows very smoothly, the characters are alive and very believable. You can feel the hurt and anguish of the father, Tim Blake, who's teenage daughter, Sydney, suddenly and inexplicably comes up missing. Tim's determination and dedication to find his daughter, no matter the personal cost to himself, tug at your heartstrings. The book has plenty of action as Sydney's dad closes in on her trail, with the reluctant help of some of Syd's friends. If they ever make a movie of this thriller, the father should be played by an actor with the strength of character of a middle aged Clint Eastwood.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    ENJOYED

    Wasn't too sure about the book until the 3rd chapter. Just kept reading and finished it within 36 hours. Things just kept happening and I just had to know what was next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Super!

    Loved this story! My second book by Linwood Barclay and many more to follow:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Outstanding.

    This author did a great job. This is the first book I have ever read by this author. Even from the very first page i was hooked. I wrote a review before... but if your looking for a good mystery/thriller novel. Picking this one will surely get your blood flowing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Very good

    This book was very well written. This is the first book Ive read by this author. I have to say it kept me interested the whole way through. He makes you feel as if you're actually there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    Thrilling to the end!

    This book had me at the edge of my seat, I had a hard time putting it down. The writing style was great. I couldn't wait to see what happened next. Very dramatic,left me guessing to the very end. If you are into suspense, you'll love this book. I'd never heard of Barclay before, but I oplan to read more of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me reading

    Thought this was a fast moving interesting mystery with undertones of character darkness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling Page Turner!

    The book starts off with Tim Blake, a normal average car salesman who finds out his daughter is missing. When he goes where she's currently employed to ask if they might have seen her, he finds out they haven't even heard of her. In turn, this opens up a huge can of worms as Tim is set off on a wild goose chase that's filled with more twists and turns I have ever seen in a book.

    I liked how the main protagonist is a simple car salesman. We don't get very "normal average every day" people as the ones who are caught up in this sort of dilemma. It's a nice refresher and gives you a break from other stories which always include either a detective, a member of the police, or even a member of the military. It gives the plot an overall realistic flavour to it. However wrong it is, a lot of teenagers and children are missing everyday and we don't usually see it from the parent's point of view.

    My heart went out for Tim. I don't know how it feel like to be a parent but sometimes on my evil juvenile days I used to make my parents worry a lot and they would probably feel like Tim did. There were times in the book where his acts of desperation in finding his daughter just makes your heart want to sink. He's not exactly a character you would like or dislike, but he's someone you would cheer for until the end.

    I don't have many criticisms for this book. I just advise if you are going to read this, pay very close attention. :)

    The book has plenty of twists and turns and throughout the book you find everybody has a dirty little secret and as you follow Tim you eventually figure them out. I actually liked that, as some of their secrets are related to the disappearance of his daughter. Some weren't but it was just interesting to know anyway. The ending was something I did not expect. I was already putting the blame on whoever was coming along but afterwards when it all sinks in it's rather shocking and almost..creepy. I just like it how it all started with one huge large difficult puzzle and the pieces just fit together nicely in the end.

    It's a great book if you're into twists and turns and unexpected finds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You don't have to fear this well written novel.

    In "Fear the Worst" Linwood Barclay has written an excellent novel.
    Tim Blake's 17 year old daughter, Syd (Sydney) is staying with him for the summer. She works at the Just Inn Time Hotel in Milford, CT.
    One day, she doesn't return from work and when Tim goes to her hotel, the manager and other employees say they don't know her and that she never worked there.
    He works as a used car salesman and at first it seems very mundane and not the make up of a heroic character but that is what he becomes. He is attempting to keep his life at a level keel until the police tell him they've found Syd's car in a parking lot and that there's blood on it.
    Tim tries anything he can to find Syd. When he calls his former wife, Suzanne, she informs Tim that her boyfriend's son has also moved in. Tim thinks this is an explosive situation and confronts the boy where he witnesses eratic behavior and rebelliousness.
    Apparently Tim is making someone nervous because they set him up by ransacking his home and when the police investigate, they find something placed there to make him look bad.
    As one of the criminals pretends to take a car out for a test with Tim and then pulling a gun on him, Tim becomes a heroic figure and does a fine job in what comes next.
    The story was believable, the characters well drawn and sympathetic. Tim was likable and Syd's friend Patty Swan was unique and interesting.
    The setting in the Milford/Stratford area in CT was well described. I asked the author how he knew the area so well and he told me that although he lives in Toronto, he was born in New Haven and visited family in the area on many occasions.
    In short, the suspense grew throughout the novel and I enjoyed it thoroughly although the end bothered me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Must read all books by this author.

    Read his first book "The Accident",Then bought all the books he wrote..Have one waiting..was not disappointed with any..Great story lines in all his books..ansin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    This is a light read for when you don't want your brain to be t

    This is a light read for when you don't want your brain to be too taxed. Not too obvious, but not unsolvable and not un-put-down-able.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    suspenseful crime thriller

    Barclay delivers a suspenseful thriller filled with twists and unexpected surprises; as protagonist Tim Blake searches for his missing seventeen year old daughter Sydney. The first half of the book moved slowly for me, although it held my interest. At times I felt Barclay was too wordy, and a lot of the story could have been trimmed. The second half had me quickly turning the pages as more information came to light and Blake found himself the primary suspect by the police. While Blake is a pretty mundane chap, I found myself impressed by his ability to deal with his ex-wife, his crappy job and back-stabbing associates. Blake becomes an amateur detective unearthing every lead, and slowly putting the pieces together in his daughter’s disappearance. He also finds himself in serious trouble when he discoveries he is not the only one looking for his daughter. I found myself laughing at the exchanges between Blake and his ex-wife’s new boyfriend Bob. I applaud the way Barclay fed us the pieces of this mystery and slowly tied them together as we discover what events led to Sydney’s disappearance. I loved the twists and shocking revelations. The events that occurred with Sydney were downright scary and I breathe a little easier living in the burbs. The novel had a few action scenes and a climactic conclusion that are sure to please. I recommend this to fans of mystery, suspense and crime novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME FAST PACED!

    This was a great read, action packed and I could not put it down. I have never read anything by this author before and was looking for anything to read. Glad I stumbled upon this one. I will most def be reading another by Linwwod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Language

    The language was such that I felt I was reading in a barn yard.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Readers who enjoy the thrillers of T. Jefferson Parker and Joseph Finder will relish Linwood Barclay's latest tale

    Car salesman Tim Blake has his teenage daughter Syd staying with him for the summer. She works the desk at the Just In Time Inn but one day fails to come home from her job. The days pass without a word from her and the cops have no clues though they assume she is just another runaway. Tim searches for his daughter. He asks people if they have recently seen her, but no one has. One of Syd's friends sets up a website so if someone does they can contact Tim ASAP.

    While he investigates someone breake into his house; everything is wrecked but nothing seems taken as if they searched for something. He calls the police who find cocaine in his home, but the cops believe it is a plant. Tim keeps searching and the results are car chases, getting shot, finding the enemy, killing the enemy and setting up an investigation that surpasses what the police are doing.

    Readers who enjoy the thrillers of T. Jefferson Parker and Joseph Finder will relish Linwood Barclay's latest tale. The story line is enthralling to watch an everyman hunting for his beloved daughter as he fears the worst has happened to her; however he will soon learn that there are even more terrible things than he nightmares imagined; his blunders bring plausibility to the plot. Filled with twists and suspense, the audience will be spellbound to learn what happens next.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3