Customer Reviews for

Fearless (Brigid Kemmerer's Elemental Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great addition to the Elemental series!

Another great offering in the Elemental Series! Hunter's story gives a glimpse into his background, allowing us to meet his family and see the circumstances that cause him to behave the way he does when we meet him in Storm. As always, Brigid Kemmerer's writing is smoo...
Another great offering in the Elemental Series! Hunter's story gives a glimpse into his background, allowing us to meet his family and see the circumstances that cause him to behave the way he does when we meet him in Storm. As always, Brigid Kemmerer's writing is smooth flowing, witty and full of emotion. I knew how this would end but it didn't make it any less painful.

posted by Cupcakegirly on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

very short

This is only 42 pages long. It shows Hunter's backstory but it is not very long at all! If you are okay with that, get it. I just think it could have been added as a chapter in her book instead of having a completely separate book.

posted by 8203851 on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    very short

    This is only 42 pages long. It shows Hunter's backstory but it is not very long at all! If you are okay with that, get it. I just think it could have been added as a chapter in her book instead of having a completely separate book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Too short

    I did not like this book way too short, only 42 pages.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to the Elemental series!

    Another great offering in the Elemental Series! Hunter's story gives a glimpse into his background, allowing us to meet his family and see the circumstances that cause him to behave the way he does when we meet him in Storm. As always, Brigid Kemmerer's writing is smooth flowing, witty and full of emotion. I knew how this would end but it didn't make it any less painful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Not the same char

    Very disappointed that i spent two bucks on about thirty five pages. No more money from me. Furthermore...the char is nothing like the char in the original.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Ive got a question......

    What number in the sieres is this? Plz reaspond

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fearless is a short novella, but it is really good also. In Fea

    Fearless is a short novella, but it is really good also. In Fearless, we get to know more about where Hunter came from and his life before he arrived in the world of the Merrick's. We also get to find out more about Hunter's father and uncle. Hunter's a pretty tough dude, but knows that it's better to avoid a fight if possible, though he doesn't take any crap. Clare Kasten is one of the first girls to really show him any attention, and he is rather taken with her. In his desire to help her, and despite his father's advice, he finds himself in situation he'd rather not be in. For quite some time, he has been trying to get his father and uncle to take him on one of their missions with them. Finally, he gets his wish, a wish that later will change his entire life.


    Great, great novella. I loved getting to know about Hunter's background, and how his father and uncle fit into the story. We got to know Hunter in Storm, but in the novella, you really get to find out what shaped him into the guy he is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Nice addition

    This is Hunter's story before he met up with the Merrick brothers in Storm. Fearless gives us a look into his family dynamic and offers up the reasons behind his actions in Storm. As always, Brigid Kemmerer makes the story flow. Nice addition to the series. This is a novella.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    I didn't really find this all that good but it goes with the story and gives you a little more information on Hunter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Please read this.....

    Hey ummm.... i have question..... whats a novella???? Is tht like a short story or something? Oh and is there anything thats inappro-pro in this book cause im twelve and my dad would freak if there was???? Also could everyone please stop doing this weird like thing... cause its really annoying when u put like Bearclaw or Watro or something like that in ur heading and u play these weird game things. Can u people please stop? Please? These comments and reviews are supposed to be about the book not ur own little game or whatever. So please stop. Thnx. oh and reply to sarah.... bye

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

         I really liked being in Hunter's head. This novella did its

         I really liked being in Hunter's head. This novella did its job and gave me insight into his character, and I really appreciated getting to hear from him about his dad and his uncle. 
        I was curious about Clare and her interest in the guns, but that did lead to a deliciously hilarious conversation about rifles raiding the refrigerator in the middle of the night. 
         Again though, it felt like right as I was REALLY getting into the story, it stopped. And again, yes I know what happens with Hunter, but still...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Good

    I didnt like this book as much as the others in the series but it was still totally awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Nice but......

    Awesome series :) the only thing i do not like is the "used up" romance between each guy and girl.....after reading each of the books the romance started to become a little predictable....other than that the elemental series is really good !!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful series

    I loved the entire series, and I would recommend reading "Fearless" second. I firmly believe that Brigid Kemmerer hit a home run with this series. I love that she gives background stories for some of the other people in the group. I wish there was more books for this series, (Hint, Hint Kemmerer)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Another Great Novella!

    Alas… Hunter. He is one of the characters from Storm that I really enjoyed, though about halfway through the novel I was able to figured him out, partly. Kremmerer still threw me for a loop because, while I was 99% sure about him, that 1% still crept up and bit me. And he’s such a great character! Vying for Becca’s attention, totally swoon worthy, but something was always off about him…

    Now, if you haven’t read Storm, then you must before you pick up Fearless, as this novella would completely spoil your perceptions of Hunter (and perhaps this review will too, SPOILER ALERT DECLARED), and that would be a tragedy. So go read Storm. Right now. Seriously. It’s amazing. Then read this (novella and review). It’s really good too.

    I love that Kemmerer continues to give her readers glimpses into her characters’ lives in-between her full-fledged novels. First with Elemental, giving us insight into Michael, the oldest of the Merrick boys, and now with Hunter, an elemental outside the Merrick family. Not only does it help tide the reader over while we wait on pins and needles for the next novel, but it fleshes out the characters even more, giving us added insight into their personalities, and I absolutely love it.

    In this novella, which take place prior to the series’ start, we learn a lot about Hunter’s personality. Like I said, I really liked him in Storm, and his heroism continues to shine through in Fearless, though I really wish there was even more to this novella (aka. LONGER!). It was great to get to see how his family interacted/reacted to him, further solidifying some information we learn in Storm, and I truly enjoyed this quick glimpse into his life as the kid who gets picked on and is duped by a girl. It really put everything I previously knew about him in proportion and I can’t wait to see what happens next for him, especially after such a rocky conclusion in Storm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Another great addition...

    This also is a short story, filling in some missing information on our characters. This one is about Hunter. He isn't one of the 4 brothers, but he is an important figure in the story. A must read! Just love this series...great for young adults and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Fearless

    Really good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Let me start off with I'm a fan of this series and Fearless was

    Let me start off with I'm a fan of this series and Fearless was written
    well. With that said... THIS WAS A WEIRD READ. I’ve never been a real
    fan of Hunter. Hunter was the new kid in Storm. He had a mysterious
    flare and an uncanny knack for appearing everywhere, out of nowhere,
    when things got sticky. Then it turned out that he had some stalker-ish
    tendencies with a definite agenda. I didn’t trust him in Storm. I read
    this book and then Spark and after reading Spark, I’m just a bit done
    with Hunter. Hunter=0=Trust. You obviously want to read Hunter’s
    story because it lets you in on the events leading to his father’s
    death. It gives you a better understanding as to who his father, mother
    and uncle were as people and their whacked philosophies. I did walk
    away thinking Hunter was a different person in Fearless than the one we
    have met in Storm and Spark but on the flip side, a more dangerous one
    because of the events shown in Fearless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    dont waste your money.

    45 pages. 45 boaring pages.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Great read!

    Loved this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2