Customer Reviews for

Fearless

Average Rating 3.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

fascinating romantic suspense

In San Antonio anyone looking at pint sized Gloryanne Barnes would not connect her to being a tough district attorney, but she is. Besides being small, Glory is handicapped by a bad hip, broken twice as a child by her volatile mother Beverly who got off the child abuse...
In San Antonio anyone looking at pint sized Gloryanne Barnes would not connect her to being a tough district attorney, but she is. Besides being small, Glory is handicapped by a bad hip, broken twice as a child by her volatile mother Beverly who got off the child abuse hook due to her affair with wealthy Myron Pendleton his lawyers persuaded the jury that Gloryanne¿s father harmed her and he went to jail in spite of his daughter¿s crying testimony otherwise. --- When drug czar Fuentes is sent to jail by her testimony, he arranges for a hit to silence the only witness. His assassin almost succeeds, but the bullet misses her ear by a fraction. To keep her safe, Glory is exiled to work undercover at a small organic farm as a canner. Manager Rodrigo Ramirez wonders why she is working here when she cannot get around she also ponders about her employer who seems to be out of place on the farm. Attracted to one another although neither will admit it, as danger mounts, they need to trust one another something neither is used to doing. --- FEARLESS is a fascinating romantic suspense starring a likable heroine and a reticent hunk willing to risk his life keeping her safe. The story line starts a bit slow as Diana Palmer introduces Glory¿s inglorious past to the audience, but once it accelerates the story lien never brakes until the final denouement that the heroine is no longer on the market. Fans will enjoy this solid Texas thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Verbal Abuse is NOT hot!

I cannot fathom any woman today with an ounce of integrity enjoying this book. The male main character was rude, verbally abusive, narcissistic and a snob. Verbal abuse and bullying are OUT! This is the first book I have read by Diana Palmer, and probably the last. Too...
I cannot fathom any woman today with an ounce of integrity enjoying this book. The male main character was rude, verbally abusive, narcissistic and a snob. Verbal abuse and bullying are OUT! This is the first book I have read by Diana Palmer, and probably the last. Too predictable.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Verbal Abuse is NOT hot!

    I cannot fathom any woman today with an ounce of integrity enjoying this book. The male main character was rude, verbally abusive, narcissistic and a snob. Verbal abuse and bullying are OUT! This is the first book I have read by Diana Palmer, and probably the last. Too predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating romantic suspense

    In San Antonio anyone looking at pint sized Gloryanne Barnes would not connect her to being a tough district attorney, but she is. Besides being small, Glory is handicapped by a bad hip, broken twice as a child by her volatile mother Beverly who got off the child abuse hook due to her affair with wealthy Myron Pendleton his lawyers persuaded the jury that Gloryanne¿s father harmed her and he went to jail in spite of his daughter¿s crying testimony otherwise. --- When drug czar Fuentes is sent to jail by her testimony, he arranges for a hit to silence the only witness. His assassin almost succeeds, but the bullet misses her ear by a fraction. To keep her safe, Glory is exiled to work undercover at a small organic farm as a canner. Manager Rodrigo Ramirez wonders why she is working here when she cannot get around she also ponders about her employer who seems to be out of place on the farm. Attracted to one another although neither will admit it, as danger mounts, they need to trust one another something neither is used to doing. --- FEARLESS is a fascinating romantic suspense starring a likable heroine and a reticent hunk willing to risk his life keeping her safe. The story line starts a bit slow as Diana Palmer introduces Glory¿s inglorious past to the audience, but once it accelerates the story lien never brakes until the final denouement that the heroine is no longer on the market. Fans will enjoy this solid Texas thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Diane Palmer what were you thinking?

    This has to be one of the worst books I've ever read! The male lead was verbally abusive and beyond cold. The lead female although confident in her job was emontionaly crippled. Yes, she had had a horrible childhood but still... what self respecting female would ever put up with the stuff she put up with. Thank goodness this is not the first Diane Palmer book I've read because if it had been It may have been my last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Bad

    i have to agree with everyone this book it is the not worth reading unless you like snobs and all out bad person that rodrigo was to glory in this book i enjoyed it when she finally started talking back to him so no this book is not woth buying unless you like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Liam

    And that su.cked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great Book

    I think this was a great book. I don't agree that he was jerk. If you read the book the two main people both have very hard back grounds. Rog who killed people for a living and then to have his sister killed because of his job really made him lose himself. Plus to love somebody and take care of them for three years to have a man who left her take it all way leaves some pretty hard feelings on women and love. I think he was in love with Glory from the begining. I think the cruel things he said were to mask his true feelings. I am not sure making him a sappy puppy would have made Glory become the women she did at the end. Plus they built their relationship on lies. So if you look it in that way you can understand the harsh words and the rebuilding of Rog in the end. He is human and he loved Sirian. His job was a hard job to settle down and he thought she was perfect. Glory really didn't fit the mold. I love the love scenes. He was tender and made her feel wanted. Like I said most people who marry know everything. The point of story I think is being honest and upfront with your feelings or you get burnt and lose it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Good Read

    I don't believe that explicit sex really adds to a story. Diana Palmer walks very close to the line weaving tension in with sex. I picked this because I was in the mood for a Western, cowboy book, missing my own wandering cowboy. It's not a Western, ignore the cover, but it is full on intrigue and suspense. The only part I would re-write are words spoken can never be taken back (I won't spoil it for you). There are some things that can never be recovered from, but this is fantasy so there is a happy ending. I wasn't looking for realism so it worked for me. I enjoyed the book and was late to work because I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    heartless I'd call it(major spoilers)

    <spoilers> okay so i did read the book a long time ago so if im wrong about small things excuse them,but i remember all the big things and especially the things that ticked me off the most, I just never really gave it a review. Awful. Rod is just plain mean. He loved another women and only settled for Glory then called her a hick, abandoned her, made her loose her baby, and said terrible things to her and about her. Then when he finds out she's a rich and sucessful lawyer he all of a sudden "loves her", takes her back, and they live happily ever after. I am not buying it- he doesn't ever make it clear that he has even an ounce of feeling for her, and it's not one of those clasic cases of denial it's callous neglect and rudeness that no women should have to suffer especially a women that's seem to have had it so rough. I absoulutly hated rod but glory is definally someone i could admire. She puts her life back together once and then does it a second time after rod, and i believe she does it with little graveling. she picks up the pieces after he shatters them and moves on which is admirable. What is not admirable is the fact that she took rod back after everything she was put through. a PLAIN AWEFUL "love story". i want to read about true love because its the only way a girl can believe in it anymore. If your a romantic like me save yourself the heartbreak.
    * I don't remember a lot about the plot. it must have been good to have keep me reading because i was so disgusted i wanted to flush it down the toilet or rush it to the city dump... to bad it was borrowed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Fearless

    This book was a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romance and Suspense At Their Best

    I've been a Diana Palmer fan for years and Fearless is certainly a treasure among her finest novels. Gloryanne Barnes knew too much about a local drug lord. It was time for her to shed her fashionable clothes and makeup and try to "disappear" in the small town of Jacobsville, Texas. There, she would just be one of the hired hands.

    What Glory didn't count on was dark and dangerous-looking Rodrigo Ramirez, her employer at the ranch. Ramirez took over a room as soon as he crossed the threshold. Just being in the same house with the large man made Glory's blood pressure rise, a dangerous occurrence with her frail health. Again and again, the pair danced around each other as the ruthless drug lord slowly tightened the circle of adversaries around their throats. Who was a friend and who the enemy? Even worse, Glory began to wonder if it was possible to fall in love with the very man who just might be plotting to kill her. Filled with a delightful combination of suspense and romance, Fearless will keep you guessing until the final pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    Not Good for a Romantic Read

    I agree with the reader who can't believe a woman would take all the verbal abuse & put-downs by the male "hero" (NOT!) and still love him and want to be with him! Give me a break! The story dragged and I could not get into the characters because I did not like them. I'm not sure I'll try another Palmer novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Please Don't read this book!!

    I love Diana Palmer. I find most of her stories interesting and romantic, this book is neither. If I had not read her name on the cover I would have doubted she wrote this. I have to say Rodrigo changed from images from what I previously thought of him.I expected alot more from her witht he characters. The only good thing about this book was that I had to finish it once I starte3d it in hopes that it would get better. It did not. If you have not read any of her other books, please, dont use this as a referance!! She has many great books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    Don't Bother

    I made no connection with the 2 main characters. I found him to be a self absorbed snob and she was pathetic. Her character made gang lawyers shake in there shoes but repeatedly took verbal abuse from the male lead, and crawled back for more!Some of the nasty comments made by the male lead were things you would think to hear from a "bad guy" character not the hero???I found other male charcters in the book with far more redeaming qualities, and found myself leaaning toward 2 of tham to end up beinging the hero charcter.I also found that there were far too many references to characters from prior books included in this book which seam to have alot of weight to the storyline but not enough detail to make this an easy read for a stand alone book. Having not read Diane Palmer before, I can say I do not think I will be trying any other of her book. If these charcters are the best she can do for leads, it would be a waste of time and money. I already feel I have wasted enough with this book. I read 3-4 books a week from various genres and this is the first time I have EVER written a review. I was so disgusted!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    The worst book ever!

    Rodrigo Ramirez was so nice in other books. I looked forward to his story for so long and the book was awful. Could Dina Palmer give Gloryanne Barnes anything else wrong with her? Rodrigo is mean and has no redeeming qualities. He verbally abusive expect to SarinaCarrington. I like to know what happens to the other secondary charactors Diana Palmer puts in her story like Hayes Carson. If this is an example of a likable man getting his own story, I don't want to see or read about any of the other charactors. BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!! I would like to give it zero stars, however that is not an option.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    A waste of money

    LIke several other reviewers, I found this book to be a total waste of my money and time. I have not read every single book Palmer has writen, but the ones I did read were a better caliber than this one. What was wrong? Actually, I would ask, what was right. Too many characters thrown in with no background knowledge very little plot developed and my big gripe: The male lead in this novel was pathetic. This character had no redeeming qualities as far as I could see, and Palmer actually allowed him to be 'verbally abusive' to the main female character. I, for one, would never allow a man to come back if he acted/treated me as this Rodrigo did. Palmer needs to seriously get with what makes an endearing main male character instead of this tough, treat you bad and badder sort of guy she's prone to create. Just not worth your time ladies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Not what I'd want in a man.

    Rodrigo was a self absorbed idiot! He kept using his past 'love' of another woman to continually tell himself that Gloryanne was 'beneath' him. If anything, he's beneath her. The last time I truly didn't care for a character from Diana Palmer was with Boss Man. The whole belittle of women idea is not what romance is about. The action was okay but the entire story was a bit predictable and not what I would expect from Diana Palmer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Not her best

    I have been a fan of Ms. Palmer's for many years, haunting bookstores for her new releases. This effort was disappointing. The pace alternates between too much info. too fast, to not enough movement. And while my romantic heart enjoys the 'innocent girl' vs. 'strong, jaded man' fiction, this plot line of victimized girl and done-her-wrong man seems a bit recycled. First-time readers will enjoy. Die-hard, veteran fans...either wait for the paperback or go back to the oldies but goodies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Careless

    I have read all the Diana Palmer books but this was just careless. First, update the vocabulary. What men call women 'dishy' anymore? Come on. Also, Gloryanne is in top secret hiding from the evil Fuentes, yet she tells her doctor and cardiologist her entire sob story. And, then Consuelo takes a phone call, leaves, and then two gang members go after Gloryanne. Do they fire Cosuelo? Take her in for questioning? Oh, she has a rap sheet, too, yet is allowed to live in the same house as a protected witness. Please. Watch IN PLAIN SIGHT' for some tips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4