Customer Reviews for

Fearless: The Undaunted Courage and Ultimate Sacrifice of Navy SEAL Team SIX Operator Adam Brown

Average Rating 5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

A Heart Warming Tale of Personal Courage

Love, strength, caring, fearlessness, faith, dedication, selflessness, these are all qualities that Adam Brown possessed. As a Navy Seal he epitomized the American warrior. Of the many stories that could be told of the Seals, his comrades invariably pointed to his story...
Love, strength, caring, fearlessness, faith, dedication, selflessness, these are all qualities that Adam Brown possessed. As a Navy Seal he epitomized the American warrior. Of the many stories that could be told of the Seals, his comrades invariably pointed to his story as the one they would like told. He was no saint. He would would be the first to admit he had his faults and his demons. Shortly out of high school, he became hooked on drugs, after he failed to find a direction for his life. He fell to the depths of lying to and stealing from his own family to support his habit. The turning point came when his parents realizing they could not help him, turned him in to the police. His mother was overcome as she and her husband watched him being handcuffed and taken to jail. Adam was crushed, but found remorse and the Lord while in jail. He resolved to beat the drugs and to once again become the type of person of whom his parents would be proud. It wasn't an easy road. He was helped by his new girl friend and future wife, Kelley. He determined to enlist in the Navy and become a Seal, the best the Navy had to offer. How could a man who admitted he was addicted to drugs turn his life around and become a Navy Seal? This book is the story of a man's struggle to overcome all odds. He started by devoting his life to faith in God, by not taking no for an answer, by not allowing others to tell him he could not get where he wanted to go. Adam Brown overcame obstacles that would stop most men dead in their tracks. At one point in training he lost the sight of his right eye in a training accident. Instead of giving up he trained himself to use the other eye to aim with, maintaining his marksmanship qualification. Later on a mission, the fingers of his right hand were crushed and nearly severed. He endured the pain of having his fingers reattached and when he found they would not work efficiently, he trained himself to shoot accurately with his left hand. He accomplished all of this with the support of his family, his teammates, and his faith in God. He seemed to be able to overcome any odds, until that night raid in Afghanistan on March 17, 2010. This is a very good book which recounts the life of a man who stood for all the best this country has to offer. He was selfless and brave. A man of faith and family. He was a man to look up to. His story, one that in these times truly needed to be told. The way he led his life was inspirational. A man any of us would be proud to know. This book was provided by the publishers for review.

posted by Ronrose on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

I owe it all to Him!

Got about 50 pages in and felt the bile rising in my throat from all the religious references. Great book for jesus freaks and hand waivers but definitely not for me.

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have already recommended this book to my friends. The book is written so that it just keeps flowing as you read it. You don't want to put it down. What a remarkable story and to know that it is true! This book helped me understand a little more what our service men and women go through and why they are willing to sacrifice all that they do. I also appreciate that the Brown family was willing to share their family story so others can be inspired and realize what is truly important in life. It touched my heart in so many ways reading his story and it made me realize there are so many deserving heros in our land that we don't even know about. I think it was very well written and handled all sensitive areas extremely well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Respect the Man

    Book wasn't too bad, but it appears to be written for money... I really respect the man Adam Brown, but question the reasons for which the book was written. A little too religous for me. Still a good read for me....

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    true hero

    Great book about a true hero. Not justfor his military service but because of his past demons he had to get through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Dalton

    "Aw."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    !

    Tp

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

     Before SEAL Adam Brown went to the battle field, he asked that

     Before SEAL Adam Brown went to the battle field, he asked that if he died his story be told. All of it. He wanted people to know what his life was like before Jesus. This man whose story of how he  physically excelled in the training was amazing enough without the story of his past. Adam Brown, Christian, Husband, Father, SEAL, was a former cocaine addict, in a hole so deep the reader is afraid for him and his family. When he came out of the hole he understood the prodigal son in Luke Fifteen, in a way some of us never will. I tend to read the prodigal son cleaned up- minimizing the dirt and pain of the son, and thereby minimizing the Grace of the Father who takes him home. Adam rips the "cleaned up" cover off the story, and shows us a prodigal son in a deep pit, afraid of dragging his loved ones in and yet unable to get out alone. It makes us realize that we are not clean, good hearted prodigals. We are the dirty ones, addicted to sin, we are the ones in need of Grace.
    We are the ones who have received the same Grace that God gave Adam for the same reason. We need it. Adam would be the first to tell us the choices he made were made without wisdom, that could have taken his life and he would be the first to point us to Christ, who saved him in a jail cell and showed him the love of his Fathers again. His Heavenly Father who welcomes him back with loving arms, and his earthly father, who came to Christ because of Adam's battle against the drug that sought to claim him, body and soul. 
    We also meet Kelley, Adam's wife- a help meet fit for him. Her story is one of selfless devotion- from the nightmare of searching for her Adam in crack houses, to their honey moon days when he was training to be a  SEAL, she went through late night uniform ironing and early morning breakfasts to push Adam on to his goal. Her prayers carried him before God, and she encouraged him that he had more to give.
    The details of the drug use and some stories in here about Adam's life before Christ are so scary I cannot give this book to anyone under the age of eighteen at least.  The details of the training for the SEALs are awe inspiring- the human body is amazing. God designed us to take so much and keep on pushing forward. This is important to keep in mind, considering how Paul compared the Christian to a Soldier, and we have a Kingdom to Advance. 

    Thank you to Kelley and Adam's friends for telling his story. God protect out military and draw them to Himself. In Jesus' name Amen
    The Undaunted Courage and Ultimate Sacrifice of Navy SEAL Team Six Operator Adam Brown.  Written by Eric Blehm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Great book !!!

    Great book !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Eye opening read!

    This book enables the inquisitive mind to see the in depth life of Adam and what it really takes to live the life of a SEAL. We all have that "fire in our gut", it just depends on what you do with it. This book will inspire you to get out of bed in the morning and do something with your life for the common good. OUT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you¿re on the wrong road, God allows U-turns ¿ that is the le

    If you’re on the wrong road, God allows U-turns – that is the lesson
    that the life of Adam Brown, as expressed in Fearless by Eric Blehm,
    brought home to me. A Chief Special Warfare Operator in Team Six of the
    Navy SEALS, Adam was killed during deployment to Operation Enduring
    Freedom in March 2010 in Afghanistan. Fearless was born out of Adam’s
    desire to share his spiritual testimony with the world. Adam was keen
    that the testimony cover not only the positive aspects of his life but
    also the nightmare of substance abuse and felony that his life
    degenerated into before he allowed his faith to guide him. Adam had a
    formidable reputation. To his friends from high school and his SEALS
    brothers, he was one who never feared anything. His fiercely protective
    and loyal nature was evident from the beginning. He was the underdog who
    stood up for others. From being the most popular kid at school, Adam
    found himself a Nobody in college. His grades began to slip and he
    allowed himself to go astray, drinking alcohol and getting addicted to
    drugs. It was the beginning of a long ordeal in which he would lose the
    trust of those that cared for him Then began a life of desperation. Once
    a model employee at his dad’s business, his work ethic, and then his
    attitude began to deteriorate. To support his drug habit, he began to
    steal, eventually getting arrested for committing 11 felonies and doing
    time in jail. It was at the lockdown treatment centre, to which he was
    forced to go that Adam first got on the road to recovery. But the tough
    times were not over. Parents Larry and Janice had to accept God’s
    presence in their lives for a much-needed miracle to take place. Adam
    signed up for Teen Challenge, a de-addiction and rehabilitation
    programme, but went through numerous relapses before signing up for the
    hard-core SEALS training. Then began an awesome lesson in “I can do
    everything through Christ who strengthens me,” a faith which gave him
    the strength to beat the demons that gnawed at him. Blehm’s writing
    helps us sympathise with Adam through his addiction and rejoice through
    his triumph as a SEAL of the highest order. The author’s prose
    dramatises the events beautifully, creating the exact amount of detail
    needed to enable the reader to live the momentous events of Adam’s life.
    The writing is sufficiently taut and urgent as to make the story more
    real to the reader. I could not help but be touched by the sentiment and
    emotion that Blehm has imbued his writing with. Through the course of
    the book, my reactions changed from shock and disbelief at the
    destruction that Adam was hurtling towards to eventual hope that he
    would rise out of the morass that his life had become. Eventually Adam
    drove himself to qualify for the Naval Special Warfare Development
    Group, better known as DEVGRU, and was selected as the best of the best.
    He proved his mettle time and time again. Through the course of several
    combat exercises, Blehm takes us through the excruciatingly punishing
    SEALS training. He also gives us an understanding of the toughness of
    character that was Adam’s great strength. I was impressed with the
    manner in which Blehm entered the world of the SEALS, learning the
    intricacies and the hazards of their everyday life. Through it all,
    Blehm never allows us to forget that Adam was what he was because of his
    faith. Blehm paints Adam a hero, one who fights his inner demons,
    struggles against his weaknesses and overcomes his circumstances. Truly
    an inspiring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Excellent

    This is an inspiring story of determination, resolve, faith and providence at work. Adam was a hero, he had honor and commitment. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Top notch

    Book is all we expected, Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Captivating for historians & casual readers.

    Goes beyond personifying a US Navy Seal. Actually builds the story of the ups-and-downs life of a young boy thru his enlightened yet humbling goal of becoming the elite of elite. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Inspirational; well worth the time but be prepared for a regrettable ending!

    Very easy to read and follow the story. Truly inspirational in terms of one man's commitment to family and country, despite some early detours in his life. I read this around the time of Memorial Day; coming from a military family, it reminds one again of the sacrifices men and women of the armed forces make on a daily basis to protect our country.
    While this was inspirational, my heart went out to Adam's wife and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1