Customer Reviews for

Fearless

Average Rating 4
( 625 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(314)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Life Changing!

In a day and age where everything is in fluxe, this book actually helped me realize that I have to let go and let things happen. I am a very poor sleeper meaning that I toss and turn worrying and thinking about things. The first night after I started this book I had the...
In a day and age where everything is in fluxe, this book actually helped me realize that I have to let go and let things happen. I am a very poor sleeper meaning that I toss and turn worrying and thinking about things. The first night after I started this book I had the best night's sleep I have had in a long time. I realize while I can't control things that happen to me, I can control the way I react. I have slowly learned to take that leap into faith and let God take me on my path. I recommend this book to anyone who lives in fear and wants to live in faith!

posted by Pa_tee on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Explores the concept of fear and faith

I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold.

This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspir...
I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold.

This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspirational challenge for us to imagine our life without fear. It asks the question, "Would it create a very different life?" It also explores the question which may arise in our hearts and minds, "Are we living the life we want, or is fear holding us back?"

I like the way the author uses descriptive words which help form a picture in my mind of what he is expressing in the form of wee stories. There is a sense of humor in the author's writing which I think is great. It certainly makes the topic of fear take on a light hearted approach.

The book has several bibical refrences to scripture, and the author explains well how Scripture can relate to everyday life. This book contains a lot of examples of the difference between fear and faith and explains this. I do think it would have been an idea to have more practical suggestions or steps in overcoming fear in the book. However I would encourage anyone to take part in the discussion guide at the end for those wanting to have a deeper understanding of the subject of faith and fear.

My favorite quote in this book is:

"When everything else changes, God's presence never does. You journey in the company of the Holy Spirit, who 'will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you (John 14:26)'.

So make friends with whatever's next.
Embrace it. Accept it. Don't resist it.
Change is not only a part of life;
Change is a necessary part of God's strategy."

To me the book demonstrates that through Jesus Christ we can overcome anything. No matter how big or how small our fears may be, we don't have to be ruled by fear.

posted by princesaKL on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Absolutely Life Changing!

    In a day and age where everything is in fluxe, this book actually helped me realize that I have to let go and let things happen. I am a very poor sleeper meaning that I toss and turn worrying and thinking about things. The first night after I started this book I had the best night's sleep I have had in a long time. I realize while I can't control things that happen to me, I can control the way I react. I have slowly learned to take that leap into faith and let God take me on my path. I recommend this book to anyone who lives in fear and wants to live in faith!

    36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review of Max Lucado's "Fearless"

    From the author Max Lucado is his new book "Fearless", which is an amazing book and one that is so timely and needed right now. This book talks about fears that everyone has in life and this existence and how to deal with those fears by giving them to God and trusting God. The book is filled with biblical stories and references to highlight fear and why we should not fear. The message of the book is that people who follow God should fear not. "Though the world may collapse, the work of Christ will endure", seems to be the main message overall to all people, Christians or not. The book also offers encouragement that you shouldn't be afraid, you shouldn't worry; you shouldn't fret because it is all in God's hand and part of his divine plan. This was a great book that I thoroughly enjoyed reading and learning from. I would recommend it to all my friends, family and Christians and non-Christians alike. After reading this book, I think I want to read more of Max Lucado's writing. He puts stories together very nicely and has a way of always expressing God's word to intertwine with the story. The author and the book made me stop and think, question my thoughts, my fears and my relationship with God. Max successfully conveyed Biblical truths in his book and the information was clear and easy to understand. The book was able to hold my attention and I didn't want to stop reading it once I became engaged with it. I am a book review blogger for Thomas Nelson Publishers. If you would like to become a book review blogger or learn more information on it please go to http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Explores the concept of fear and faith

    I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold.

    This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspirational challenge for us to imagine our life without fear. It asks the question, "Would it create a very different life?" It also explores the question which may arise in our hearts and minds, "Are we living the life we want, or is fear holding us back?"

    I like the way the author uses descriptive words which help form a picture in my mind of what he is expressing in the form of wee stories. There is a sense of humor in the author's writing which I think is great. It certainly makes the topic of fear take on a light hearted approach.

    The book has several bibical refrences to scripture, and the author explains well how Scripture can relate to everyday life. This book contains a lot of examples of the difference between fear and faith and explains this. I do think it would have been an idea to have more practical suggestions or steps in overcoming fear in the book. However I would encourage anyone to take part in the discussion guide at the end for those wanting to have a deeper understanding of the subject of faith and fear.

    My favorite quote in this book is:

    "When everything else changes, God's presence never does. You journey in the company of the Holy Spirit, who 'will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you (John 14:26)'.

    So make friends with whatever's next.
    Embrace it. Accept it. Don't resist it.
    Change is not only a part of life;
    Change is a necessary part of God's strategy."

    To me the book demonstrates that through Jesus Christ we can overcome anything. No matter how big or how small our fears may be, we don't have to be ruled by fear.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read Fearless and Fear Less!

    Fearless by Max Lucado is a timeless book that is quite timely. These days, so many of us have so many fears. Many fear the impact of the economy on our current livelihood and our future retirement. Some fear something horrible happening to our children, and others even fear "fear" itself. Fearless addresses our most common fears in understandable and practical terms, and backs it up with innumerable Biblical promises.

    Through real-life everyday stories, the brilliant story-teller, Max Lucado, inspires us to apply this simple but significant idea: put all your cares on Christ because Christ cares for you. In his laid-back but in-your-face style, Lucado reminds us that the only healthy fear is our reverent fear of the one and only true God. Once we recognize His significance, our fears become insignificant. The message is unmistakable: our great God wants us to live a life without fear, and He paved the way for us to defeat our fears when Jesus defeated death on the cross. Trust and obey Him, and you can live a full life without fear. Read Fearless by Max Lucado, and fear less.
    (http://flexiture.wordpress.com I am a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program http://brb.thomasnelson.com/).

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    This is a religous book

    The sample doesn't clue you in. So I bought it and wasted my money.

    8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book on Fear

    Wow! Amazing! Superb! Those were words going through my mind as I read Fearless. Max Lucado's book Fearless tackles the topic of understanding how to handle fear in a Christian life the way his book He Chose the Nails tackled the topic of understanding how God's love is unconditional for a Christian. This was the first Lucado book I've read since He Chose the Nails, and like that book, I will be buying extra copies to give to people for their edification.

    In Fearless, Lucado has a great balance of humor and poignancy that help the reader through the book. A few of my favorite Points-to-Ponder (PTP) from the book are as follows:

    PTP#1: "Fear, at its center, is a perceived loss of control. When life spins wildly, we grab for a component of life we can manage...The more insecure we feel, the meaner we become" (p. 9).

    PTP#2: "Jesus faced his ultimate fear with honest prayer" (p. 83).

    This is so true in our life. When we lose control of events and life begins to become chaotic and in disarray, immediately we turn to fear when we should be turning to God for direction and peace. We much too often forget that going to God in prayer over a situation has greater results than when we try to handle the problems causing our fear.

    I would highly recommend Fearless to anyone struggling with thoughts of fear. The time I spent in the book has been enriching, and there are many PTP that I will take with me for further meditation. This book came to me at the right time in my life. Thank you Max Lucado!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Pointless

    There is no doubt about it Max Lucado has been endowed with a wonderful gift, he is a genius when it comes to his writing style and he has a great imagination. His illustrations drawn from real life are riveting and he has much to teach us from his own Christian walk and that of others who have crossed his path. However in spite of some great moments especially towards the end of the book it felt to me like he had nothing to say. Part of the problem to mind is for much of the book he doesn't know who he is talking to too. He says that this is a book for Christians and for those without faith but later in the book he talks about having nothing to fear because after death we have Heaven waiting for us. This isn't true for those without Christ, as Lucado knows. The book gets better as you move on, he moves away from the easy believism suggested at the start of the book to a real vigorous self denying type of faith by the end of the book. While I was disappointed for much of the book it was nevertheless a joy to read because his style is so thoroughly readable, I just wish he had something more to say.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    fear less

    this book is a great book, that helps christians understand that we don't have to be afaird in this dark world, because we have the ultimate light, which is Jesus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Simply Amazing

    I read this book through the ebook review program. I was on the fence about this book because the pride in me said, "well you're already fearless". As I went through this book it challenged me in several areas. Shortly after reading it, my church small group went through it and WOW I found this book simply amazing. Yes I still feel fearless in many areas but through this study I found where I needed to increase my faith and trust God's plan for me. Thank you Max Lucado for presenting a book that gently digs deep in the topic of fear and courage.

    The message is clear: have faith and lose your fears. Max Lucado references biblical scriptures in which Jesus tells his disciples "do not be afraid" and to "have courage". Jesus doesn't want us to be fearful of the world. Instead he wants us to face it with courage and find strength in him to do so. This book is a must read and a gift I recommend giving to everyone you know.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended for any man of God and those struggling with Fear in this day and age.

    A great book which gave me a better understanding of the peace that comes with a life in Christ. Recommend it for father's and mother's who find themselves up on sleepless nights worrying about the times and season we are in. It gave me a new perspective on battling fear and worry as a father of two sons in college and a major career transition. I can breathe easy now, without fear, worry or fret. This is powerful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Highly recommended - you must check it out!!

    Wonderful, wonderful book. Max Lucado is fantastic, as always.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    The greatest book ever

    I love the courage of this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Fearless

    Great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    What.. What...

    Is it a kids book? If not does any body have a suggestion for a 10 year old? Make your headline say nyah if you do

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Nyah

    For 10 year olds i reccomend harry potter or lord of the rings or the hunger games or the amulet of samarkand.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Little less fear and a little more reality

    In a day and age where corporations are using politicians in the exploiting and inflaming of religious fundamentalist to create a smoke screen to cover the layoffs at work, slowdowns in the economy, flare-ups in the Middle East, turnovers at headquarters, downturns in the housing market, upswings in global warming and the plague of our day, terrorism; that they are responsible for...the last thing we need is a book on delving more deeply into religion to get through it.

    I'd love to see a book that reminds Christians of what true Christian values are and turn our energy to getting rid of the things that are creating fear. To not let corporations pillage the tithing box while we fight over who prayed the hardest and has memorized the most scriptures.

    How 'bout them apples?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Buy it!

    Once again, Max takes biblical teachings and ties them to everyday life in a way that you can understand. I read this book in two days and found it to be inspiring and reassuring. He reminds us of God's promises and shows us over and over again how many times God's assurance appears in the bible. The book covers different fears in separate chapters. While not every one of the chapters applied to me, I found great comfort in the one regarding raising children. There are also chapters on money, feeling alone, disappointing God and so forth. I enjoyed this book so much I gave it to my mother for Mother's Day. There are also companion books as well if you enjoyed this one. Bottom line is quite wasting so much of your life being afraid and spend more time trusting God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Great book!

    A great book and a quick read, Max Lucado succinctly sums up the common denominators of all fears and helps to resolve them. Firmly relying on scripture and personal experience, the book has some genuinely moving moments. While the writing feels more like a coffee table book than an informative one, you will finish this book feeling lighter, enlightened, and ready to be fearless.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    Awesome and Uplifting

    Max has a very interesting twist in applying messages in the bible to our real lives. Profound and heart felt. His messages are clear, concise and logical. His messages truly change your outlook in life for the better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THOUGHT-PROVOKING for sure!

    Some of us more than others live in fear of everything and anything all the time, but we don't understand WHY!! As has already been said this book is instrumental in helping to guide us out of this uncomfortable place. Bravo Lucado! You've done it again! Another book I'd like to recommend to pull you out and put you in the right frame of mind is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG....It's listed as romantic suspense but it's so much more than that! It left me feeling joyous and so much better off for having read it! I'm hopeful for a sequel! Check out the reviews! They hooked me big time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32