Customer Reviews for

Fearless

Average Rating 4
( 628 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Life Changing!

In a day and age where everything is in fluxe, this book actually helped me realize that I have to let go and let things happen. I am a very poor sleeper meaning that I toss and turn worrying and thinking about things. The first night after I started this book I had the...
In a day and age where everything is in fluxe, this book actually helped me realize that I have to let go and let things happen. I am a very poor sleeper meaning that I toss and turn worrying and thinking about things. The first night after I started this book I had the best night's sleep I have had in a long time. I realize while I can't control things that happen to me, I can control the way I react. I have slowly learned to take that leap into faith and let God take me on my path. I recommend this book to anyone who lives in fear and wants to live in faith!

posted by Pa_tee on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Explores the concept of fear and faith

I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold.

This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspir...
I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold.

This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspirational challenge for us to imagine our life without fear. It asks the question, "Would it create a very different life?" It also explores the question which may arise in our hearts and minds, "Are we living the life we want, or is fear holding us back?"

I like the way the author uses descriptive words which help form a picture in my mind of what he is expressing in the form of wee stories. There is a sense of humor in the author's writing which I think is great. It certainly makes the topic of fear take on a light hearted approach.

The book has several bibical refrences to scripture, and the author explains well how Scripture can relate to everyday life. This book contains a lot of examples of the difference between fear and faith and explains this. I do think it would have been an idea to have more practical suggestions or steps in overcoming fear in the book. However I would encourage anyone to take part in the discussion guide at the end for those wanting to have a deeper understanding of the subject of faith and fear.

My favorite quote in this book is:

"When everything else changes, God's presence never does. You journey in the company of the Holy Spirit, who 'will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you (John 14:26)'.

So make friends with whatever's next.
Embrace it. Accept it. Don't resist it.
Change is not only a part of life;
Change is a necessary part of God's strategy."

To me the book demonstrates that through Jesus Christ we can overcome anything. No matter how big or how small our fears may be, we don't have to be ruled by fear.

posted by princesaKL on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Explores the concept of fear and faith

    I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold.

    This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspirational challenge for us to imagine our life without fear. It asks the question, "Would it create a very different life?" It also explores the question which may arise in our hearts and minds, "Are we living the life we want, or is fear holding us back?"

    I like the way the author uses descriptive words which help form a picture in my mind of what he is expressing in the form of wee stories. There is a sense of humor in the author's writing which I think is great. It certainly makes the topic of fear take on a light hearted approach.

    The book has several bibical refrences to scripture, and the author explains well how Scripture can relate to everyday life. This book contains a lot of examples of the difference between fear and faith and explains this. I do think it would have been an idea to have more practical suggestions or steps in overcoming fear in the book. However I would encourage anyone to take part in the discussion guide at the end for those wanting to have a deeper understanding of the subject of faith and fear.

    My favorite quote in this book is:

    "When everything else changes, God's presence never does. You journey in the company of the Holy Spirit, who 'will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you (John 14:26)'.

    So make friends with whatever's next.
    Embrace it. Accept it. Don't resist it.
    Change is not only a part of life;
    Change is a necessary part of God's strategy."

    To me the book demonstrates that through Jesus Christ we can overcome anything. No matter how big or how small our fears may be, we don't have to be ruled by fear.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Pointless

    There is no doubt about it Max Lucado has been endowed with a wonderful gift, he is a genius when it comes to his writing style and he has a great imagination. His illustrations drawn from real life are riveting and he has much to teach us from his own Christian walk and that of others who have crossed his path. However in spite of some great moments especially towards the end of the book it felt to me like he had nothing to say. Part of the problem to mind is for much of the book he doesn't know who he is talking to too. He says that this is a book for Christians and for those without faith but later in the book he talks about having nothing to fear because after death we have Heaven waiting for us. This isn't true for those without Christ, as Lucado knows. The book gets better as you move on, he moves away from the easy believism suggested at the start of the book to a real vigorous self denying type of faith by the end of the book. While I was disappointed for much of the book it was nevertheless a joy to read because his style is so thoroughly readable, I just wish he had something more to say.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Little less fear and a little more reality

    In a day and age where corporations are using politicians in the exploiting and inflaming of religious fundamentalist to create a smoke screen to cover the layoffs at work, slowdowns in the economy, flare-ups in the Middle East, turnovers at headquarters, downturns in the housing market, upswings in global warming and the plague of our day, terrorism; that they are responsible for...the last thing we need is a book on delving more deeply into religion to get through it.

    I'd love to see a book that reminds Christians of what true Christian values are and turn our energy to getting rid of the things that are creating fear. To not let corporations pillage the tithing box while we fight over who prayed the hardest and has memorized the most scriptures.

    How 'bout them apples?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Ok

    It's ok.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Fearless

    For 8 year olds I do not recomend this book for elder adults sure but I have to say it teaches you a little about how to fight fear and not be afriad and know that god wolnt let eny thing hurt you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Fearless!

    This book by Max Lucado is definitely a one-time read. It's perfect for people who are going through a rough patch and maybe even for those who want to regain their faith in God. But don't pick up the book in case you expect something wild or fun (The lovely cover of the book drew me to it first).

    I liked the book- it was different- but please be ready to expect large dollops of spiritualism and Christianity in the book.

    As taken from Chapter 1 of the book, 'Jesus takes our fears seriously. The one statement he made more than any other was this: don't be afraid. I wonder if the disciples ever reflected on the most-often-repeated phrases of Christ. If so, they would have noted, "He was always calling us to courage."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fearless Falls Short of Lucado's Brilliance

    Normally, I am very excited about the publication of Max Lucado's books. I enjoy reading his works and appreciate his ability to challenge his readers and offer positive solutions in an engaging and entertaining way. However, Max's latest, Fearless (ThomasNelson) fails to engage and entertain when compared to his previous works.

    In Fearless Max presents the question, what if you replaced Fear with Faith? In his tried and true format Max takes on the source of our fear and anxieties and uses scripture as a way to show the reader how to replace those fears with faith based solutions. Now this formula usually works, but in this case, it just doesn't work.

    As I stated above, I enjoy Max Lucado's writing and his ability to engage and entertain the reader, but Fearless just does not measure up to the authors usual insight and brilliance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A guide to live a Fearless life

    In his book, Fearless, author Max Lucado shares with his readers real life stories weaved together with Jesus' teachings. He also shares words of encouragement to conquer their fears by trusting in Him.

    The book cover shows a fearless young boy jumping into a deep blue lake with open arms as he is enjoying the freedom of the moment and the knowledge that everything will be ok. God wants us to be like children and go through life Fearless.

    The book is divided in 14 easy to understand chapters with topics that the reader could easily identify with. Each chapter ends with a small summary of the roots of the fear and its conquest. The book concludes with a discussion guide to help the reader to maneuver through life Fearless.

    I have been a big Max Lucado fan for many years, however, I had a very hard time following this book. Although the stories and Bible principles discussed are easy to understand, I was not very impressed with it. I felt his previous book, His Name is Jesus, was more complete and inspiring than this one. I had the impression that Max rushed through the writing of this book to meet a publishing deadline.

    Nevertheless, in spite of my personal disappointment with this book, I can recommend it to people who are looking for a book and study guide to help them live a Fearless life - while trusting the Word of God.

    Member of the Thomas Nelson's Book Review Bloggers Program. (A copy of this book was mailed to me by the publisher for review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    When Fear Leans On Your Doorbell

    Afraid? Anxious? Insecure? Max Lucado, pastorally leads the wandering sheep from the fields of fear into the fields of faith. His inimitable engaging style of writing connects the reader with the feeling that he himself has felt the fangs of fear, but more importantly, has received the healing grace of fearlessness. In our own strength, "You may deaden the fear, but you can't remove it. Only God's grace can."

    I recommend this book as one of my Lucado favorites, don't skip it! Fear and anxiety are the twin chisels that erode our faith. Anxiety in the life of the believer will paralyze your peace like an anaconda and suck the life out of you like a vampire .therefore: Do not be anxious about anything! No thing! Grab a hold of the powerful promises of Christ, "Tether your heart to this promise, and tighten the knot. Nothing fosters courage like a clear grasp of grace. The answer rests in the Jerusalem graveyard. If Jesus'tomb is empty, then his promise is not." Fearless is the book that will lead you to fear God more so that you fear-less!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fearless?

    I chose this book primarily because the topic resonated with me. I'm not going to lie - 5 days from now, I will officially have graduated from my Masters program. I've been job hunting for months with no luck, my housing lease ended a few weeks ago (effectively rendering me homeless). and I'm in a foreign country with 99% of my loved ones across the Pacific Ocean. Yes, I am afraid - very afraid - of my future, or lack thereof. I was hoping that this book would provide me with some hope and insight with regards to God's word when going through times such as this.

    This is my first Max Lucado book, although I've heard a lot about his work - and unfortunately, I was disappointed. It's not bad, I was just expecting more.

    There are some really great, insightful parts. For example, in the first chapter, Lucado takes apart the calming of the storm scene and relates it to how we react with fear. I've taken some Bible study classes before, and I really appreciated the depth of analysis that Lucado placed on this topic. Unfortunately, I did not see this repeated in any of the later chapters.

    Lucado intersperses Bible verses, book quotes, movie scenes, life stories, poems, and prayers throughout the chapters. Though some of his quotes are definitely gems, at times I felt that he was putting in the random anecdote just because. The message throughout the book is constant - how fear cripples our lives, yet how we should continue to trust that things will eventually work out in the end because God loves us. There are many variations to this theme in different chapters (Lucado talks about the fear of not mattering, fear of disappointing God, fear of running out, etc.) but I didn't find the chapters really that much different from each other.

    I'd have to say that after reading this book, the only things I really remember are the first chapter and a handful of good quotes. It's a light, easy read. Probably good for a quick pick me up for the average person, but I wouldn't recommend it to someone who was facing really deep-seated fears and looking for reassurance.

    ==
    Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program
    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thought stimulating...

    Being Fearless is perhaps the most daunting thing for all of us to do. Being free from fear would free our spirit and mind and help us achieve so much more. However that's easier said than done. That is what Fearless tries to change and preach. Max Lucado has interpreted teachings of Bible to convey that even Jesus would want us to live a life free of fear. He picks up many examples and sayings from Bible and beautifully drives home the point that being fearless is the way towards life. Max takes examples of our daily lives and tries to dissect the reasons that make us fear. He harps upon the questions that plague our minds and inhibit us all from living life to the fullest.

    This is a book that will make sense to a Christ-follower as it talks from many anecdotes from Bible. For someone who is not a follower, Max tries to interpret the meaning of the anecdote and makes it extremely simple for readers to follow his line of reasoning and thought. Max also passes on the message that instead of questioning God we should place our faith in him and not let Fear corrode our confidence in God.

    Overall, I found the book to be thought stimulating and a good read. However, I would also like to put in a word for readers that this book demands a serious reading and attempt at interpreting teachings of Christ. It's not a story and is rather a way of life. As Max says, Imagine your life without fear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Timely Release From Lucado

    It's release day for the new book from Max Lucado, 'Fearless'. It's no secret that Lucado is incredibly skilled at catering to people's emotions, and he does it again in his latest release, which addresses the 'culture of fear' that society (specifically North American) has built up around them, regardless of whether they realize it or not. Bad economy, job losses, terrorist attacks, mortality, crime-laden news media reports... there's more than enough fear to go around. But what if you could live your life without fear? Live fearlessly, relying on God's strength in the face of things you can't control?

    Lucado weaves anecdotes in and around his statements on fear and living fearless, tugging on the heartstrings and provoking an emotional response. Some might say he manipulates emotions through the anecdotes he shares, but doesn't every writer manipulate emotion in one way or another? At the very least, the book is timely and will likely be a beacon of hope for those struggling with job loss, uncertain financial futures, and so forth.

    The book is a good reminder that we can't control everything, and we wouldn't want to. God is the only one who knows what's going on, and He has promised the best for us... so why not stop being afraid and start trusting more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Review: Fearless

    I am doing this for the Thomas Nelson Book Bloggers.
    Fearless: Imagine your life without fear.
    By Max Lucado

    From The Back of the Book:
    Each sunrise seems to bring fresh reasons for fear.

    They're talking layoffs at work, slowdowns in the economy, flare-ups in the Middle East, turnovers at headquarters, downturns in the housing market, upswings in global warming. The plague of our day, terrorism, begins with the word terror. Fear, it seems, has taken up a hundred-year lease on the building next door and set up shop. Oversized and rude, fear herds us into a prison of unlocked doors. Wouldn't it be great to walk out?

    Imagine your life, wholly untouched by angst. What if faith, not fear, was your default reaction to threats? If you could hover a fear magnet over your heart and extract every last shaving of dread, insecurity, or doubt, what would remain? Envision a day, just one day, where you could trust more and fear less.

    Can you imagine your life without fear?

    My Review:
    Well, to be honest, I did not read this book. I signed up to be a book blogger for Thomas Nelson Publishing House.
    This is the first book that I did not read or review. Why? Well, I have a few reasons. First, it is not the book I thought it was. Sometimes they have great fiction books that come up and I snatch them up, read them, and review them. This one I simply did not pay close attention to it enough to know what it was or what it was about. Second, once I got the book, I realized it was not for me. I am not full of fear at this time in my life, and when I am, I have other books I refer to. I am not real big on reading self help books, but I have nothing against them, they just are not for me.

    I do feel like I need to post something about FEARLESS though, since I did sign up for it. I got on Goodreads and looked at some other reviews and noticed that the people who have read it really liked it, and gave it high ratings. I think that this book could help a lot of people. That is why I am going to donate it to a local hospital, because I think that is a place where people could use a good, positive, uplifting, spiritual book.

    -Jena

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LIVE LIFE FEARLESS

    "Imagine Your Life Without Fear"

    That's the subtitle to Max Lucado's new book FEARLESS that hit the streets today. Max talks about some real fears that ALL of us as humans deal with such as; Fear of not mattering, Disappointing God, violence, not having enough money, death and many more. FEARLESS is packed with truth from the Bible and scriptures that resonate with me. Max states in the book Jesus' most common command, he states it like this: "His most common command emerges from the 'fear not' genre. The Gospels list some 125 Christ issued imperatives. Of these, 21 urge us to 'not be afraid' or 'not fear' or 'have courage' or 'take heart' or 'be of good cheer'''. Max's choice for a subject is wonderful and Thomas Nelson did a fantastic job with the publishing.

    What would our lives look like if we would fear less? This is something that I have asked a lot over the past eight months of my life. If we could grasp the consequences of fear and just how much fear affects the deepest fibers of our being and walked by the Spirit with less fear we would come closer to living the lives that God has intended for us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Book Review; Fearless By Max Lucado

    As I was reading some of the 'Praises' for Fearless by Max Lucado, I noticed that Donald Miller provided some positive thoughts about Lucado's latest book. I decided that I would give it a try even though I wasn't overly impressed Lucado's work on For The Tough Times.


    The nature and tone of this book seems very appropriate in today's culture which is largely driven by fear. I found myself nodding along as I progressed through the book, while at the same time not blown away. Something that Lucado does successfully is that you can't help but feel truly comforted as you embrace the words of Lucado as he speaks about our biggest fears including death, violence, parenting, and enduring just to name a few. Unfortunately, much like other books by Lucado you also are not covering much new ground with this book either. With that being said, I do believe the book succeeds in what it is trying to accomplish. Lucado doesn't offer pat answers and black and white clarity. What he does provide however are appropriate reflections on various passages that truly comforts. Fearless is worth a read with appropriate expectations of what it is and what it is not.


    Dan Jones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Encouraging. It Grew On Me.

    First, thanks to Thomas Nelson for this review copy of Fearless!

    This book attempts to put life in perspective, helping believers realize that fear destroys life rather than increasing its joy. Max Lucado addresses a number of key areas that can (and often do) cause us to fear. They are so commonplace that they all hit home in one way or another. The book is a call to individuals to live outside fear of the day to day, trusting in Christ who has given us every reason to throw off fear, and hope in him.

    Lucado is able to bring together a number of stories and a lot of Scripture to make a book that is very encouraging for those fighting fear. I read the first chapter unimpressed, but the farther in I got, the more powerful the text was. While I read straight through, there seems little need to do this; each chapter speaks to a particular fear we face as members of humanity: the fear of not mattering, of disappointing God and others, of failing in our obligations at work and at home, of economic fallout, of death, of not having enough, and many more.

    In the context of my own life, I found chapter 12 (Fear That God is Not Real) to be the most poignant. Lucado presents the fear of the disciples, and the fear of many in our day. He moves from the death of Christ to the promise of hope found in encountering the living Jesus, touching his body. He then brings that into perspective for those of us who don't have that direct contact with the physical body of Jesus. We have the body of Christ, believers who we can encounter, and see Jesus operate through. As we struggle together, encouraging and challenging each other, we have the opportunity to find hope and security in God's presence. This was a very encouraging and thought-provoking line of reasoning for me.

    Lucado centers his thoughts on the Bible and what it offers to us about fear. And seldom does he miss the mark. His comments on Jeremiah and his response to fear (p 74-75) stood out powerfully to me. But there are moments where I felt that he pushed the text further than it would go, as in his use of the Genesis story of the fall as a picture of how fear is a cause of sin. I agree with the author that fear is a cause of sinful behavior, but I think his use of scripture in this case doesn't really stand up - more suggestive than definitive.

    This is a good book to read when you are struggling with doubts, insecurity about the future or your own worth to God. I think this would be a great book to offer someone who has been pulled away from Christ by the cares of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Book Review: Max Lucado's "Fearless"

    Max Lucado's "Fearless" comes along at an appropriate time for out nation and, I suspect, for many individuals. In his latest work, Lucado lays out Scripture after Scripture which demonstrate that fear of circumstances is ungodly, unwise, and harmful to us. In other words, when God tells us "do not fear", He is doing so not just to pat us on the back reassuringly; His command, when followed, will keep us from doing damage to our souls.

    Lucado identifies various areas of our lives in which we commonly let fear have its way, (usually one per chapter). Some, such as death and change, are fairly obvious. Others, such as the fear of disappointing God, were off my radar. In each case, though, the author provides modern and scriptural examples.

    As with most Lucado works, the illustrations are the thing. He is a gifted parable composer, and the analogies that he employs are masterful, especially when he personifies Worry in Chapter 4: Woe Be Gone--The Fear of Running Out.

    The topic that Christians are not to fear is nothing new. Where "Fearless" sets itself apart is perhaps the most valuable contribution that this books makes to the discussion of the subject of fear. He methodically illustrates that fear is the root of many of our sins. We fear that we won't matter, so we follow fads and try to keep up with the Joneses. Fear of alienating our kids makes us into permissive parents, doing the kids more harm than good.

    Lucado's most solid point, though, is that fear of anything except God is rooted ina lack of trust in God. I like the way he put it in Chapter 4:


    "Seek first the kingdom of wealth, and you'll worry over every dollar.
    Seek first the kingdom of health, and you'll sweat every blemish and bump.
    Seek first the kingdom of popularity, and you'll relive every conflict.
    Seek first the kingdom of safety, and you'll jump at every crack of the twig.
    But seek first his kingdom, and you will find it. On that, we can depend and never worry."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Great Message, Not Very Challengin

    Fear is something that, at some point in our lives, we all deal with. Whether it is the fear of losing our job, the fear of what the economy may bring, or the fear of sickness, we all, at some point have it. In Max Lucado's new book, Fearless, Lucado outlines why there's hope and what we can rest in instead of our fear.

    This is a very easy read and I definitely enjoyed reading it. I especially enjoyed how Mr. Lucado wove in Biblical examples to get his message across. I felt, however, that the message was covered early on in the book and then repeated. I also felt that the book did not challenge my thinking as I had hoped it would. If you are looking for something that is challenging, this may be the book you are looking for. If you are, however, looking for a book that is easy to read, with a very good message, I would definitely recommend it.

    I reviewed this book as a part of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger program. To see other reviews of this and other books, or if you would like to join this program go to http://brb.thomasnelson.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Imagine your life without Fear...

    These days we find plenty of books on motivation and self-help in the market. But one book that seems to capture the attention is 'Imagine your life without Fear' by Max Lucado. Part of the Thomas Nelson book blogger club, I came across this book in the list presented to us, and the cover page not to mention a recommendation from a friend prompted me to select this book for review.


    The title of the book says it all. it is a book that addresses the concept of 'fear', what it means to humans and how Jesus addresses fear in the Gospel. Fear has always existed in time ever since consciousness emerged and, fear exists even today in various forms, transcending boundaries of time, geography and races. People of every faith and practice experience it in their daily lives.


    Fear takes different shapes - with the recent economic downturn that hit almost every country's economy badly, every person whether employed or unemployed fears about their future, layoffs, family mortgages or even expenditure. And so do children who are learning new things every day and old people nearing the end of their lives most of whom fear death. The author introduces this concept by reminiscing about his brother Dee, a cheerful person and an extrovert who succumbed to alcoholism. Although he overcame the addiction, it was too late to save his life. The message here is.


    Envision a day, just one day, absent from the dread of failure, rejection and calamity.


    While this would be anyone's idea of a perfect day, it is not so in reality. The author quotes biblical verses here especially the episode where Jesus is aboard a ship with his disciples. A storm is brewing and while his disciples look up to Jesus with fear of drowning and plead to him to save them, Jesus is asleep at the stern. This instance is discussed in detail where Jesus' thoughts on fear and how he addresses his disciples is explored in depth.


    Jesus' most common command emerges from the 'fear not' genre. It is mentioned here that the Gospel lists some 125 Christ-issued imperatives of which 21 urge us to "not be afraid" or "not fear" or "have courage" or "take heart" or "be of good cheer." The second most command, to love God and neighbor, appears on only eight occasions. If quantity is any indicator, Jesus takes fears seriously.


    The book is full of instances of fear that we face with anecdotes and quotes from the Gospel. Significant stress is placed on braving through the challenges with faith which is said to be the key to battling our inner demons and fate. But my only negative take here is that this book is primarily for people of Christian faith or even those who've read the Bible. I can't really recommend it for people of other faith though. It was quite hard for me to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Lucado book

    I recently read "Fearless" by Max Lucado as part of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers program. Max Lucado is an author in a league of his own. I have read many books by Max Lucado. Everyone of them is a joy to read.

    Max Lucado has a unique style of writing and is the master of taking a general statement or sentence and turning it into a world of descriptive thought. His illustrations and stories always hit home and his interpretation of people and the bible is always spot on.

    In his latest book, "Fearless", Max Lucado takes you on a discovery to find a life that is fearless in the face of uncertainty, disaster, heartache and personal storms. This book is no different in style to other Max Lucado books and will leave you at the very minimum with a taste of feeling good about life at the end. In each chapter Max Lucado takes you through a different emotion of fear, through biblical accounts and the words of Jesus, Lucado begins to prove why there is no room to be fearful enough though that is the natural thing to do. Some of the fears include the fear of living a life of any significance which he illustrates through a brilliant story about a village called Stiltsville. Others include fears that God is not with us, of what the next season in our lives will bring to us or the fear that the worst will one day happen and our lives will see our nightmares become reality.

    Fearless was not exactly what I expected when I first started to read it. It was not until the final three or four chapters that it actually dealt with a lot of the fears it describes on the cover of the book. I would not say this book changed my life nor would I say that I could not put the book down. I enjoyed the book and for many people this book may become a lifesaver. It may be the truth that will calm many personal storms. However, for me it felt too long. I am not sure if was because Max Lucado dealt with many different scenarios and many of them I have no reference of fear to, or if it could have been cut down to half the number of the fourteen chapters and got straight to the point. I would recommend this book; you can never go wrong with a Max Lucado book. However, if you have read many of his other books you may think he is repeating himself in some of the chapters. For example I felt some of the lessons were taken straight out of his book, "In The Eye of The Storm"

    If you want a good read, go get this book; if you are fearful of different situations in your life or in the surrounding world you need to read this book. This book is a good conversation starter and also would be useful to use with the attached study guide to discuss with other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5