BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fearless

Average Rating 4
( 625 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(314)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Life Changing!

In a day and age where everything is in fluxe, this book actually helped me realize that I have to let go and let things happen. I am a very poor sleeper meaning that I toss and turn worrying and thinking about things. The first night after I started this book I had the...
In a day and age where everything is in fluxe, this book actually helped me realize that I have to let go and let things happen. I am a very poor sleeper meaning that I toss and turn worrying and thinking about things. The first night after I started this book I had the best night's sleep I have had in a long time. I realize while I can't control things that happen to me, I can control the way I react. I have slowly learned to take that leap into faith and let God take me on my path. I recommend this book to anyone who lives in fear and wants to live in faith!

posted by Pa_tee on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Explores the concept of fear and faith

I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold.

This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspir...
I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold.

This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspirational challenge for us to imagine our life without fear. It asks the question, "Would it create a very different life?" It also explores the question which may arise in our hearts and minds, "Are we living the life we want, or is fear holding us back?"

I like the way the author uses descriptive words which help form a picture in my mind of what he is expressing in the form of wee stories. There is a sense of humor in the author's writing which I think is great. It certainly makes the topic of fear take on a light hearted approach.

The book has several bibical refrences to scripture, and the author explains well how Scripture can relate to everyday life. This book contains a lot of examples of the difference between fear and faith and explains this. I do think it would have been an idea to have more practical suggestions or steps in overcoming fear in the book. However I would encourage anyone to take part in the discussion guide at the end for those wanting to have a deeper understanding of the subject of faith and fear.

My favorite quote in this book is:

"When everything else changes, God's presence never does. You journey in the company of the Holy Spirit, who 'will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you (John 14:26)'.

So make friends with whatever's next.
Embrace it. Accept it. Don't resist it.
Change is not only a part of life;
Change is a necessary part of God's strategy."

To me the book demonstrates that through Jesus Christ we can overcome anything. No matter how big or how small our fears may be, we don't have to be ruled by fear.

posted by princesaKL on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended for any man of God and those struggling with Fear in this day and age.

    A great book which gave me a better understanding of the peace that comes with a life in Christ. Recommend it for father's and mother's who find themselves up on sleepless nights worrying about the times and season we are in. It gave me a new perspective on battling fear and worry as a father of two sons in college and a major career transition. I can breathe easy now, without fear, worry or fret. This is powerful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Great book!

    A great book and a quick read, Max Lucado succinctly sums up the common denominators of all fears and helps to resolve them. Firmly relying on scripture and personal experience, the book has some genuinely moving moments. While the writing feels more like a coffee table book than an informative one, you will finish this book feeling lighter, enlightened, and ready to be fearless.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    It was nice but i have to buy the whole book to do that

    It is was a good book SAMPLE (key word sample) but I wish it was free instead of spending 9.99$ on this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Uplifting.

    A decent read, thank you for making me think. I hope this book inspires many.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Very Specific Genre...

    I really enjoyed it but I felt like it was what I was facing that helped me to enjoy it so much. It is quite repetitive but if you are facing fear and anxiety you kind of need to be "smacked upside the head" with the message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Sounds inspiering

    I have only read the sample but it sonds really inspiering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Good read.

    I enjoy reading books from Max Lucado and this one was another good one. It touches on a topic that is ever present in my life as well as others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Awesome read!

    Awesome read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    This is a must read for anyone who needs a pick-me-up, feel good book! Loved it.

    This is a must read for anyone who needs a good pick-me-up, feel good book. I loved it and plan to read it many more times throughout my life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Repetitive

    Pretty good, but you only need to read the first half of the book. It getsvl awfully repetitive after that. Worth the money though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Great book.

    I recently read the book Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear by Max Lucado. I originally selected this book to review because I thought it would be the perfect book for me as I am a person who tends to be fearful of most everything. Indeed, I did enjoy the book and after reading it, I do believe it was a great selection. Max Lucado uses this book to address many common fears that we experience on a regular basis, such as illness, violence, natural disasters, death, disappointing God, and other common fears of things that are usually beyond our control. The main message of the book tends to be fear less and trust God more. The book goes into detail about how having a trusting and intimate relationship with God can help you alleviate your fears, whether they are grounded in reality or exaggerated.

    The book was easy to read. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. Max Lucado uses many stories, life illustrations, and parables to help the information seem more real and applicable. He also discusses ways to have a relationship with God that is outside of your comfort zone. I particularly liked the use of the acronym "PEACEFUL" to teach Lucado's 8 "worry stoppers." I would highly recommend this book to anyone who deals with fear or anxiety.

    Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Gives you a sense of peace.

    I have always had a problem with fear and anxiety. I found that a few chapters of this book were quite helpful and have given me a sense of peace, while other chapters have not applied quite as directly. If you have any worrying thoughts that make life not as joyful I think that you should give it a read. The stories throughout are inspiring along with bible verses quoted throughout. It was a good book and I would recommend it to those that are thinking it might help them too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    Ready to live Fearless - this book will help!

    Fearless is a very informative and inspirational book. The basis of the book is that in these uncertain times, many people are allowing fear instead of faith to lead them in their daily lives. This can be emotionally draining and not productive.

    Fearless, by Max Lucado is a great book that analyzes how people aren't enjoying life to the fullest because fear is at the forefront of their minds at all times. This is a great book to purchase if you or someone you know are going through this. Without giving away too much of the book, Max discusses why we are afraid, and breaks down each chapter with a discussion and Biblical references to back the chapter.

    I think this would be a great book club read for a group to hold discussion on this topic. Fear is a normal emotion for humans, but a lot of times it's not talked about in the open. If you're tired of worry and fear consuming your daily life, this book is a good place to start to move beyond it and to begin to fill your life with faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Good book on fear!

    Fear. We have all had it at one time or another. Will I have enough money to pay the bills this month? Even still, some say fear is healthy, while others say it's bad. One thing is for sure, it's not hard to find. Turn on any TV, pick up any newspaper, or better yet, check your computer 's homepage and there it is. The economy. The war in Iraq. The possibility of terrorism here in the United States. Or, Is my job in jeopardy? Are my kids safe at school. The list goes on and on. All these worries can plague a person's spirit and mind if they are not careful.
    Max Lucado's new book, "Fearless, Imagine Your Life Without Fear," takes a look at the concerns we have all dealt with. After reading this book, you find an alternative view of the above topics that will allow you to live by faith and have a more positive outlook on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    A call to live fear-free and Faith-full

    Are you a control freak? Do you like to plan every decision in your life down to the littlest detail before you can commit to a decision? If so, then this is the book for you.

    Fearless is a poignant, witty, accessible read with plenty of practical applications of scripture to our daily lives. It's just what readers have come to expect from Lucado.

    Facing the unknown is one of the hardest things for most people to do, yet it's something we deal with pretty much every day. We get in our cars and drive every day without fear, right? Well, most of us do, without a thought to the fact that today could be today we get in a life ending accident. We don't know -- only God does. Yes, there are plenty of scary things in life. The trick is believing that God has his hand of protection over us. Though it may feel like we're jumping out without a safety net, he's there.

    When Peter walked out onto the water, was he one hundred percent sure he wouldn't sink. I don't think so. God is calling us to trust that he can support our feet, even on the most unstable of ground. He's calling us to live fear free and faith full. Though it may not change your life, Fearless is an encouragement and a good reminder that we aren't doing life alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Elegant Blend Of Faith and Fear by Mr. Lucado

    As my first entry into the world of Max Lucado's writing style, Fearless was well executed with a smooth conversational tone. Mr. Lucado's ability to navigate an often avoided world of fear in our lives with grace and elegance was quite apparent.

    With a knack for blending the worlds of day to day life easily with scripture to give those of faith a solid foundation to move forward on is refreshing. I have to tell you, for me, the book was enlightening in a different way. Chapter after chapter of untold fears. Whether it is ignorant bliss or just lack of experience, many of the fears Mr. Lucado discusses were somewhat foreign to me. Topics such as fear of not mattering, fear of disappointing God, fear of not protecting kids, fear of violence, fear of god is not real, are just a few of the examples that hit me like a ton of bricks. To be honest with you, the awareness of some of these fears actually had me contemplating them in my own life as I read the chapters. Being acutely aware of what others are dealing with is a powerful testimony and the ability to assist others through times of fear and utilize ones faith as the focal point of creating a lessening fear is a tool that everyone will take away from Fearless.

    Mr. Lucado's clear knowledge of the scriptures must be pointed out. For those with strong faith or for those who turn toward their faith in these fearful times, the study guide at the back of Fearless allows for much needed insight as well as a direct link to the Bibles scriptures that reinforce Mr. Lucado's message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Lets live fearless.

    This is a great book. I found it useful at tieing in everyday fear with biblical text to help move past the fear and be able to live freely again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Why Did I Wait So Long?

    I have a confession to make. I've had the book Fearless by Max Lucado since November. And it's January. Now, don't get me wrong - I am a Max Lucado fan. In fact, his books line my shelves. I've given copies of In the Eye of the Storm and When God Whispers Your Name to friends, and defend his work to those colleagues who believe his simple, conversational style isn't "challenging" enough (I find, more often than not, those critics have never cracked open a Lucado book). So, why was I so hesitant to read Fearless, an engaging and practical look at the types of fear that can grip our lives? As a person who identified with more than one chapter title, carrying more than a little religious baggage with me, I simply didn't want to be reminded I was a failure in the "perfect love casts out all fear" department. But Lucado's book did not walk that road. With wit, wisdom, and his classic "slice of life" approach to teaching, he shares without pandering. This isn't a self-help book - rather, it's a mirror that reflects not only the challenges of fear but the scriptural promises to comfort and heal. Whether it's read from cover to cover, or in individual chapters based upon the need of the moment, Fearless inspires. After reading it, I have another confession to make. I'll be adding this latest Lucado book to the "a great book to give to friends" list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Powerful addition to Lucado's oeuvre

    Fearless by Max Lucado is a well-written reminder about why we as Christians have nothing to fear. Lucado has written countless books that has made him one of the most popular Christian writers today. Fearless focuses on the many ways we live in fear and then Lucado deconstructs each one through Scripture and anecdote, proving God's boundless love for us. We all worry every day about money, the safety of our children, our health, the future, but God has made promises about all of these in the Bible. Lucado has the warm conversational tone of your favorite preacher. He's always encouraging and uplifting with the occasional touch of humor. This book doesn't have the punch of previous titles like God Came Near and When God Calls Your Name, but it's still a must read for those looking for reassurance in these uncertain times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Fearless by Max Lucado

    Fearless by Max Lucado asks the readers to imagine a life without fear. Is it really possible? When we turn into our lives, can we really say that we live a fearless life. Even the strongest of the people will think twice before saying that (s)he lives a fearless life. So can we really a fearless life. The author through this book talks about the various fears found in human beings. The discussion is not limited to the fears, but also how to overcome them. The whole essence of the book is that we can overcome our fears by leaving our fears to the Creator - God.

    Did disciples fear? Were they able to overcome it? The book discusses about various fears citing examples from the Bible, especially from the New Testament: from the lives of apostles. He also gives examples from personal lives, quotes from newspapers and TV programs. The readers are able to relate the discussion from their day to day lives

    The book is simple to read with ample sources provided for a detailed study. There is a discussion guide for each of the 15 chapters for those who want to share their thoughts with their friends and want to really overcome the fear they are most worried about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8