Customer Reviews for

Fearless Jones

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    Delightful

    Although I am an Easy Rawlins and Ray Alexander(Mouse)fan..this was a thrill to be introduced to new characters that are from the same era.The story was engrossing and fast paced and yet it had that wonderful slow and easy spin that Mosley gives his stories..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    You will never guess....

    This books twists and turns your imagination. It's a great vacation from reality read. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Walter Mosley does it again!!!!!!!!

    New characters and outstanding story line! Walter Mosley is one of the best African American authors. If you enjoy a lot of action and suspense this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2002

    Walter Mosley does it again!

    I loved this book! Walter Mosley's characters are strong black men trying to make their way in the world! I loved Fearless and look forward to more of him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2001

    Mosley does it again!

    Frearless Jones is fearless! Mosley takes you to places you've never been, into the lives of characters you've never known and through a reading you can't get enough of. I've read all of Mosley's works and they never cease to entertain, excite and enthrall me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2001

    Okay, I'm hooked!!!!

    I am an AVID reader, but never have I picked up a mystery! Well, needless to say I am head over heels that I started with a Walter Mosley novel. 'Fearless Jones' is an advendture, a mystery, and a thriller all in one! The character development is amazing from the scars on everyone's face to the amazement of Paris' self-growth throughout the book! Every page had a different situation. When I get to the latter part of the book, I expect things to cool down a bit, but peices were still developing right until the last chapters! The title was rather deceiving and I was frustrated in the beginning, I guess because the title was the main narrator which leaves the reader to draw their own conclusions as to what the meaning of it is! Thanks to this excellent starter, I plan to read more of Mr. Mosley's works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2001

    Want mo' Walter Mosely

    Walter has done it again! With lots of break neck excitement and a large complement of 'you know I know somebody like 'em' characters, Fearless Jones will make you laugh, make your heart pound and shake your head and go 'um, um, um'! An intelligent, yet accessible read, Mosley mixes excitement, great dialogue, pots 'o plots with lots of social science thrown in for flavor! Read all his Easy Rawlins mysteries for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    NO-HOLDS-BARRED READING OF A RIVETING THRILLER

    Rather than reprising his popular central character, Easy Rawlins, deft wordsmith Walter Mosley introduces an equally intriguing hero - Fearless Jones. Again, Mosley shines at depicting black characters struggling to survive in an inhospitable white world. When Paris Minton's book shop door opens and gorgeous Elan Love walks in, so does trouble. Paris is a laid back black man content to run his store in the Watts area of 1950s LA. He's ill prepared to deal with all the woes that beset him such as being used for gun shot practice, being robbed, and seeing his business go up in flames. There's little choice for Paris except to send an SOS to his war veteran buddy, Fearless Jones - a man who more than lives up to his sobriquet. The pair embark on a surprise riddled chase fraught with excitement and danger. TV and film actor Peter Francis James gives tension filled voice to this riveting thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2001

    Beautiful Acts: A Rhapsody in Noir

    Fearless Jones is the finest new mystery I have read in decades. Its qualities place it alongside classics like The Maltese Falcon, while its deep exploration of human nature causes it to transcend the mystery genre. The story¿s subtle psychology reminds me of an ancient Greek drama. This book represents a new peak in the imagination and the writing of the immensely talented Mr. Walter Mosley. You have a rare treat in store. Start this book early in the day. You probably won¿t want to put it down. Like the frozen expressions on Greek tragedians¿ masks, Fearless Jones considers three kinds of human motivation: The self-interested satisfaction of the senses; the rational mind assembling the pieces of a puzzle; and good character that comes the heart. The narration builds from the rational mind and conveys all of the classic elements of the best noir mysteries. Mosley¿s point is that good character will naturally triumph because of the finer emotions and responses it will evoke in others. I suspect that you will agree with him, and feel uplifted by this tale despite the plot¿s pathway through many dark alleys of depravity. Few writers can take you inside the mind and body of the characters like Mr. Mosley. In this novel, you will think and feel along with Paris Minton, the owner of a used bookstore in Watts in 1954. Minton is a largely self-educated black man from Louisiana who came to California to find libraries that were open to all. His store¿s books are discards from local libraries. He has achieved a fragile kind of peaceful life, living and working in his bookstore (and reading when there are no customers). Suddenly, a beautiful woman, Alana Love, walks in the door seeking his help. From that moment on, his life will never be the same. Fast-paced action takes him from the contemplative life into the crosscurrents of desperate characters in moments. Like The Maltese Falcon, this story involves a treasure hunt with many clues, red herrings, and double-dealing villains. The plot connects back into the darkest shadows of the thirties and despicable acts of inhumanity. The plot evolves rapidly and spontaneously from the chance circumstance of Love and Minton meeting. I guarantee that you are likely to be kept on the edge of your seat and guessing right until the book¿s end. Minton realizes that he is badly out of his league. He takes the last of his savings and uses the money to pay a fine to get his friend, Fearless Jones, out of jail. Fearless Jones is a larger-than-life character who will cause you to rethink your own life. ¿Fearless was more free in that iron cage than I was, or would be, on the outside.¿ A World War II hero, the two met when Minton spontaneously bought Jones a drink during the post-war celebration. ¿He appreciated my generosity and gave me a lifetime of friendship for a single shot of scotch.¿ As you can see, Mr. Mosley writes like an angel in this book. Be sure to pay attention to the names of the characters and references to books. There are many interesting literary and pop culture allusions contained in them. No review of this book would be complete without observing that Mr. Mosley again demonstrates an unbelievable ability for capturing the black experience in Southern California in the post-war period. He has an equally uncanny skill for weaving a personalized view of that vulnerable, hopeful footing into the fabric of the overall society during those years. After you finish reading the book, I suggest that think back to the many moments of spontaneous generosity in the story. How did you feel when you read them? How would you feel if someone behaved in this way towards you? When was the last time that you offered the fullness of your heart¿s message to a stranger or near-stranger? How would you feel if you did so more often? Who are you? Who could you be? Who do you want to be? Live beyond your fears and your desires . . . and be free! Donald Mitchell, co-author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent historical urban noir

    In 1954 Watts, Paris Minton feels very proud of himself because though he is a rare black shopkeeper, his used bookstore makes enough money to pay his bills. However, his world bursts apart when Elana Love enters his establishment and asks Paris a few questions about a former neighbor, a local church headed by Reverend Grove, that recently moved out in the middle of the night. A few minutes later, Leon Douglas enters the bookstore and begins beating Paris up while asking where Elana went. Only the arrival of neighborhood kids keeps Paris from a thrashing that could have killed him. After Leon leaves, Elana reappears from her hiding place. <P>Paris drives her to meet a Sol Tannebaum, but soon a car follows and fires shots at Leon. They escape and take a hotel room for the night. Elana seduces Paris, but in the morning she is gone and so is his money, credit cards, and car. When he goes to his store, he sees a burned out structure. Knowing he needs help, he bails out his friend FEARLESS JONES. Now the action begins. <P>Walter Mosley is the top dog when it comes to historical urban noirs with a sense of humor. His latest tale, FEARLESS JONES, is fabulous as he highlights a piece of Americana through his strong cast. The players line up early, but that just adds to the excitement of a top-notch thriller. Hopefully Mr. Mosley will return us to Paris for more fearless stories of 1950s America. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1