Customer Reviews for

A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1367)

4 Star

(604)

3 Star

(253)

2 Star

(102)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This was definitely a departure from the first three books of th

This was definitely a departure from the first three books of the series. There is not nearly as much action as their is in A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, and A Storm of Swords. If you come wanting something like its chair-gripping predecessors you will be disappo...
This was definitely a departure from the first three books of the series. There is not nearly as much action as their is in A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, and A Storm of Swords. If you come wanting something like its chair-gripping predecessors you will be disappointed. However, if you put aside your ideas of what you think it should be and accept it on its own merits you will be treated to a soul-touchingly beautiful novel.
Because Martin chose to split this and A Dance With Dragons geographically rather than chronologically, 3 characters that are often people' favorites are left out: Tyrion, Jon, and Dany. You may dislike not reading about them, but the new viewpoint characters step up to the plate admirably and smash the ball out of the park. Brienne's quest for Sansa is fascinating. Her interactions with her travel companions are very thought-provoking and give you good insight into some people who belong to social circles we haven't seen before; the people she interacts with range from a shady former soldier who is a descendant of a once-great house to a wandering septon to the "smallfolk." She gives you an excellent look at a wider variety of people than we usually get to see in Westeros.
Cersei's chapters are also incredible. Her subtle struggle for power with the Tyrells in King's Landing is gripping.
Sansa's interactions with Littlefinger are the catalysts for change in her character, and I loved reading her chapters as you see her really wake to the realities of the world.
The other new storylines are great as well. The power grab in the Iron Islands, Arya in Braavos, and the Dorne plot are all fantastic reads. The ending to the Dorne storyline sent chills down my spine.
Overall, A Feast For Crows is meandering and not very action packed. However, the loss of action is repaid in full by a more comprehensive look at the world Martin has created. You will meet entirely different types of people than in previous books. Immerse yourself in the world and join the characters on their travels and trials. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Yoten on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Feast for Crows--a promising feast that should have been filling, but left me only wanting to nibble.

Closing my nook late last night as I had FINALLY finished A Feast for Crows, a strange feeling came over me that I haven't felt with any other installment of this brilliant series: I can't decide though if that feeling was emptiness or mere boredom. It took me almost a ...
Closing my nook late last night as I had FINALLY finished A Feast for Crows, a strange feeling came over me that I haven't felt with any other installment of this brilliant series: I can't decide though if that feeling was emptiness or mere boredom. It took me almost a month and a half to finish this book, which is very odd to me because I devoured the other three within days of each other. A Feast for Crows had epic promise but it sadly fell flat for me. I didn't care (unlike so many others) that the story centered around the "lesser" of the key characters, actually two of my personal favorites took center stage in this work and I enjoyed their chapters the most. Something was just lacking with the rest of the story sadly, and to be brutally honest the chapters involving side-tracked quests/ takeovers, mini battles revolving around religion, and sub-plots of conquest of the sea became utterly confusing and tedious. I forced myself not to flip past anything though (and I encourage any new reader to do the same), in case I would happen to miss any interesting turn of the growing plot(s) or the non-stop introductions to fresh characters/locations. Unfortunately I still found myself hopelessly muddled and distracted, researching the houses and characters at the back of the book (several times within one chapter), trying to keep some kind of mental tally with the growing alliances and betrayals. I'm still confused to be honest. One more thing I must confess to any potential readers: The action and development of new plots to continue the rest of the series didn't appear until almost the last hundred pages (which was extremely irritating to me). Night after night, I found myself just nibbling at this feast and I hope A Dance with Dragons, followed by "The Winds of Winter" and "A Dream of Spring", once again has me singing the praises this series justly deserves. July 12th is coming!

posted by -LadyinWriting on March 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2436 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 122
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A Feast for Crows definitely did not live up to expectations. Ne

    A Feast for Crows definitely did not live up to expectations. Never have I ever felt the need to kick an author in the crotch while reading a book. The plots centered around Dorne and the Iron Islands are confusing and almost pointless. They were very much short stories just thrown into the book just for the hell of it. In now way do they affect any of the other components of the story. The most frustrating part of these chapters was the fact that G.R.R refused to call these characters by their actual names. I was 6 pages into one called "The Kraken's Daughter" before I realized that it was about Asha Greyjoy. These haphazard titles leave you confused and draw focus from any potentially relevant details.
    Secondly, every other chapter was about Brienne. She was the only character that I wanted to see die aside from Joffery. Each chapter revolves around her finding some person, them calling her a man, her feeling insecure about her physical appearance, contemplating her own insecurities, asking herself the question "What if I don't find Sansa?", and then going to sleep. Often times I opted to go to sleep, rather than read her chapters. Aside from the plot twist in the last hundred pages her story line is insufferable!
    With all of that being said, the other characters are make the story worth while. It is amazing how far apart Jamie and Cersei drift in this book. Jaime comes close to filling the absent role of Jon Snow. Granted it misses much of the action of other points in the series, but it is indeed a captivating plot element.  The maturing of Sansa and Arya in this book was also a great element.
    Overall, this book will not live up to expectations ,but the novels "In a Song of Ice and Fire" are much like pizza. Even the bad ones are still pretty good. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    The slow train to nowhere applied the brakes this book. I like t

    The slow train to nowhere applied the brakes this book. I like the underlying story but do we really need paragraphs long details about every meal every character ate? I swear the series would be 500 pages shorter if he removed those details. I've come to dread "Seeing such and such reminded so and so about this time" Martin uses it constantly it always proceeds paragraphs or pages of pointless back story about some minor character. I found myself skimming over quite a bit of it just to get through it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Do not waste your time

    I was really disappointed. All of the sub plots and main characters are ignored, maimed or killed. After reading thousands of pages in four books, i refuse to spend another minute on this series. A good author could have written this in three books and satisfied readers instead of satisfying his publisher and bank account.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Stop reading this series before you waste your money on it.

    Forget all the good characters from the first 3 books...they're not here. Get ready for lots of new characters and subplots. Slow, slow, slow, and very little action.
    And, the reviews on the next book say it's even worse. I think the author has decided to spend his retirement years by dragging this series out until he dies and leave it to his heirs to build their retirement with this neverending story about a cast of millions. He'll not get anymore of my time and money, and I wish I could get a refund on this waste of time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Bad - don't waste your money

    Really bad, author lost the plot, or his writing skills.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can't wait till 7/12

    I loved how this book was told only by a specific view point by characters that we had not heard from before. Not much more to say, but you will not be dissappointed. Always emotionally gripping, and creative. Can wait till July 12th for the 3th installment!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    If I knew then what I know now!

    I loved this series until I came to the end of the fourth book, A Feast For Crows, and discovered that it wasn't the final book and that the next book has not been written some five years or more later. After reading close to four thousand pages I am still waiting for a conclusion with none in sight.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Long and tedious

    I have to agree with others who feel that Martin is dragging out what was a good thing. Though there were moments when I enjoyed myself, I found myself reading only to pray I would eventually know what happens to the characters I loved in the first three books. Shame on you George.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Fatuous

    To this point I had enjoyed the Game of Thrones series, but this book fell completely off the rails. Like many authors who meet with success, Martin has grown overly fond of the sound of his own voice. This book was a fatuous waste of time, a bloated hosanna to descriptions of food and dress, and a divergent track into characters that no one knows or cares about.

    George R.R. Martin is in dire need of an editor and some common sense guidance.

    Crows is disrespectful to fans of the series and doesn't bode well for what comes next.

    Dance, the fifth book, is little better. Useless characters, ridiculous plot twists, unreasonable scenarios. But it's better than this infinite waste of time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Feast

    I have spent several weeks trying to get through this book, not even on page 500 yet. It is nothing like the first three in the series. I could not put them down and I dread even picking this one up. The story seems to be going nowhere and I am so disappointed. It seems like I am reading lists of names, and they have no point. It is like "filler". I hope to finish this book, but it really seems to be a waste of time for the first 500 pages. Would not recommend at this point. It is a shame that as readers we need to read so many pages for nothing...there has to be something better out there.


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Big time disappointment. Pointless, boring rambling.

    This was not so much a story but a lengthy and boring history. This book is merely background for what will come next. I grow tired of a million pointless tales which distract from the main plot and merely confuses readers. After reading 3200 pages at this point i can hardly remember why i started this series in the first place. My advice: skip this book entirely.

    Reading this series has been like taking a road trip from LA to San Diego and then deciding to make it a scenic route by looping through Kansas. Well off course and boring as dirt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Pretty good

    I still really enjoy this series but this book was a little slower than others and also it was frustrating not having certain characters pov in this book and having to wait until the next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    A Feast for Crows is a very enigmatic and promising title for th

    A Feast for Crows is a very enigmatic and promising title for the fourth book in the Song of Fire and Ice series wrote by Mr. George R. R. Martin. While it is the shortest of the series as of yet, it was ended with a word from the author that it was not done intentionally. His grand goal of including all the many characters the readers have grown to love about was not necessarily shortened due to lack of care, only spread out between two novels to give the proper attention to them.
    The novel is set in a landscape reminiscent of medieval Europe and Britain. Where Royalty sit safely in their castles and keeps. Where Knights in shiny armor are leading the charges mounted on spirited horses and the foot soldiers and archers are formed up in ranks. As this novel comes in, the warfare has started to change. Due to the number of knights and properly trained soldiers dying on the battlefield, or later from their wounds, the lords are forced to start relying on the farmers to man their walls instead of the burnt fields. As more of the leaders are killed or left in the field unsupported by their dead or no caring lords, we see a turn to a guerilla style warfare and the a rise in the number of outlaws who are doing anything they can to survive.
    While one group of characters are colloquially known as ‘Crows’ due to their clothing and sometimes dishonorable beginnings, the reader is drawn to believe that they will have a large share of the novels pages, that they will be able to start reclaiming their honorable image for defending the country from then native peoples.
    Another would think the title would be for the winged variety of crows who are multiplying and feasting on the corpses left behind from the warring between the various factions as they try to enforce their claim for rule of the lands. Due to the change in warfare, fewer corpses are being shown the proper courtesies of a burial and are left scattered around the countryside to feed the wild animals.
    A shrewder look would actually show that the ‘Crows’ are the noble lords and ladies, kings and queens, and those trying to rise in rank who are feasting on the lands, titles and positions left open due to the warring.
    While the novel fills in the storyline and backgrounds of some of the newer and lesser characters that have been introduced in the previous novels, it leaves the reader hungry to not just hear about the main characters from the first novels, but have now added other favorites to their list of interest as the new characters have jockeyed for a position in their interest.
    While some readers are worried that the author is losing interest in the complex world he has created over the years, I for one am interested in how the rest of the series plays out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    what happen......

    Mr.Martin's first 3 books i could not put down,but when it came to
    the last 2books,it was like a diffrent man wrote them. I had to force myself to read them to the end,and even then i did not know what I had read. By the time I read the 5th book, I no longer even want to watch the movies when they come out, I cant belive they did not have him rewrite the last two books,he had to have been drunk or druged up. He had so many people in his book he forgot all about the main people,like he did not know how to bring them back together.Mr.Martin please rewrite the last two book just start all over, and don't kill everyone off just because you dont know what to do with them...an unhappy fan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    The Neverending Story

    Ok, shame on me for expecting some reasonable end to the first three books. But now I'm done. No more sequels to sequels. It's not enough that the writer includes page after page of tedious details that drag on and on, but there is never a coherent end. The final chapter in this one is an apology by the author that he has not yet finished the book.
    I think I will reread War and Peace 4 times instead.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Sucked

    This book was awful! Maybe 100 pages worth reading. It left out most of we characters we love. Utterly useless.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Terrible

    I LOVED this series after reading book 1 and I was hooked, the series has gone down hill with each book since and this one was a huge disappointment and read to me like an author who was under a contract and in a big hurry to fill pages and get a book out. I read the reviews prior to reading this book and wish I would have listened outside of a few good chapters 98% of this book was a waste of paper and of my time. This author created such a wonderful fantasy with such rich characters it has been a shame to watch them all drop off like flies and the new characters he has created do not in any way fill the huge voids he has left with the killing of nearly all of the key characters at this point. To compare him with the like of J.R.R. Tolkien is travesty, Tolkien created a masterpiece with charters and a story that was well written that are beloved because of the charters and well crafted storyline, while Martin had the potential to be right up there all I have seen is death and destruction in his books with no end or future in sight. No hope, no future, no closure, just death and pain so why keep reading? Why teach Arya to sword fight to only blind her? Why send Brienne on a quest and waste half a book other than to fill pages? I would compare Martin's writing style more with John Grisham, meaning it's utterly predictable. I can sum it up, any and all heroes die, charaters that are good suffer and just when you think they can suffer no more he finds new ways for them to suffer and be in constant pain. He is now four books in and no future is in sight for any characters. Anyway, terrible book and I am totally dissapointed in this series, I had really high expectations only to be let down. I would not recomend anyone go past book 1, nor do I have any intentions of reading anymore of this series. What a waste, this series had so MUCH potential hopefully HBO will take leave of the writing and give us a series to love and some hope and closure for at least a few of the charcters that haven't been killed, maimed, or cripled.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    Great Series, bet it's never finished!

    Did anyone see that A Game of Thrones was made into a TV movie? I, too, loved the series, but it doesn't look like Mr. Martin is going to finish this anytime soon, in fact, I'll bet he never finishes it now; he won't have to. If you go to his website, he's traveling all over the place. I think that we've been had. This happened to me once before, I'll probably never buy another series again!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Where is #5?

    George R R Martin was so highly recommended that I broke my own rule about purchasing all the books in a series before I read them. It seems that we will wait a very long time before The Dragon book comes out. I am more than mystified that an author can leave his readers hanging while he writes other books, takes tours etc. I am giving this book a 2 (even higher than should be) because of the way in which we are treated. What it does do however is to tell me not to wait for any other books by this author and never believe him when he says the book is about done. This is a sham and I am surprised that the publisher stands for this type of business from George Martin. I'll bet they will not buy the next book (if there is one) from him unless it is finished.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    loved it...

    Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2436 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 122