Customer Reviews for

A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1368)

4 Star

(606)

3 Star

(254)

2 Star

(104)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This was definitely a departure from the first three books of th

This was definitely a departure from the first three books of the series. There is not nearly as much action as their is in A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, and A Storm of Swords. If you come wanting something like its chair-gripping predecessors you will be disappo...
This was definitely a departure from the first three books of the series. There is not nearly as much action as their is in A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, and A Storm of Swords. If you come wanting something like its chair-gripping predecessors you will be disappointed. However, if you put aside your ideas of what you think it should be and accept it on its own merits you will be treated to a soul-touchingly beautiful novel.
Because Martin chose to split this and A Dance With Dragons geographically rather than chronologically, 3 characters that are often people' favorites are left out: Tyrion, Jon, and Dany. You may dislike not reading about them, but the new viewpoint characters step up to the plate admirably and smash the ball out of the park. Brienne's quest for Sansa is fascinating. Her interactions with her travel companions are very thought-provoking and give you good insight into some people who belong to social circles we haven't seen before; the people she interacts with range from a shady former soldier who is a descendant of a once-great house to a wandering septon to the "smallfolk." She gives you an excellent look at a wider variety of people than we usually get to see in Westeros.
Cersei's chapters are also incredible. Her subtle struggle for power with the Tyrells in King's Landing is gripping.
Sansa's interactions with Littlefinger are the catalysts for change in her character, and I loved reading her chapters as you see her really wake to the realities of the world.
The other new storylines are great as well. The power grab in the Iron Islands, Arya in Braavos, and the Dorne plot are all fantastic reads. The ending to the Dorne storyline sent chills down my spine.
Overall, A Feast For Crows is meandering and not very action packed. However, the loss of action is repaid in full by a more comprehensive look at the world Martin has created. You will meet entirely different types of people than in previous books. Immerse yourself in the world and join the characters on their travels and trials. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Yoten on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Feast for Crows--a promising feast that should have been filling, but left me only wanting to nibble.

Closing my nook late last night as I had FINALLY finished A Feast for Crows, a strange feeling came over me that I haven't felt with any other installment of this brilliant series: I can't decide though if that feeling was emptiness or mere boredom. It took me almost a ...
Closing my nook late last night as I had FINALLY finished A Feast for Crows, a strange feeling came over me that I haven't felt with any other installment of this brilliant series: I can't decide though if that feeling was emptiness or mere boredom. It took me almost a month and a half to finish this book, which is very odd to me because I devoured the other three within days of each other. A Feast for Crows had epic promise but it sadly fell flat for me. I didn't care (unlike so many others) that the story centered around the "lesser" of the key characters, actually two of my personal favorites took center stage in this work and I enjoyed their chapters the most. Something was just lacking with the rest of the story sadly, and to be brutally honest the chapters involving side-tracked quests/ takeovers, mini battles revolving around religion, and sub-plots of conquest of the sea became utterly confusing and tedious. I forced myself not to flip past anything though (and I encourage any new reader to do the same), in case I would happen to miss any interesting turn of the growing plot(s) or the non-stop introductions to fresh characters/locations. Unfortunately I still found myself hopelessly muddled and distracted, researching the houses and characters at the back of the book (several times within one chapter), trying to keep some kind of mental tally with the growing alliances and betrayals. I'm still confused to be honest. One more thing I must confess to any potential readers: The action and development of new plots to continue the rest of the series didn't appear until almost the last hundred pages (which was extremely irritating to me). Night after night, I found myself just nibbling at this feast and I hope A Dance with Dragons, followed by "The Winds of Winter" and "A Dream of Spring", once again has me singing the praises this series justly deserves. July 12th is coming!

posted by -LadyinWriting on March 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the last book in the series!

    I think by now that we can give up on George Martin's ever finishing this series. It is perhaps just as well as we all need to move onto to new authors. It is sad to see an author like Martin lose his creative ability. It is also sad to see that he is trying to resell his short stories individually to make money. I don't know what his life style is but I can't imagine he is bringing in any money without having written anything new in such a long while.

    So long George - I wish it had been better for you.

    10 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    A medieval soap opera

    What a god awful drudgery. the writing itself was good but it just dragged on and on waiting for something to happen. I won't even buy the last book since a lot of the reviews say its similar. It took me forever to read this book cause i kept falling asleep. The first 3 were so good what a disappointment.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Disappointing

    Anyone who dove into this series expecting Tolkienesque quality will be sorely disappointed. The first book draws one in and the second wraps its coils about you tightly. But the third book only suceeds in leaving the reader to wonder what happened to the climax and conclusion. Books four and five are no better and in ways are worse because they not only draw no closer to any conclusion but wander even further afield. With apologies to Mr Lev Grossman, this reader disagrees with his assessment that this series qualifies the author George Martin to be the "American Tolkien." Tolkien created a rich universe in three books and got to the point too. It's a pity Mr Martin did not do likewise.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Do not waste your time

    I was really disappointed. All of the sub plots and main characters are ignored, maimed or killed. After reading thousands of pages in four books, i refuse to spend another minute on this series. A good author could have written this in three books and satisfied readers instead of satisfying his publisher and bank account.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Stop reading this series before you waste your money on it.

    Forget all the good characters from the first 3 books...they're not here. Get ready for lots of new characters and subplots. Slow, slow, slow, and very little action.
    And, the reviews on the next book say it's even worse. I think the author has decided to spend his retirement years by dragging this series out until he dies and leave it to his heirs to build their retirement with this neverending story about a cast of millions. He'll not get anymore of my time and money, and I wish I could get a refund on this waste of time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Bad - don't waste your money

    Really bad, author lost the plot, or his writing skills.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Long and tedious

    I have to agree with others who feel that Martin is dragging out what was a good thing. Though there were moments when I enjoyed myself, I found myself reading only to pray I would eventually know what happens to the characters I loved in the first three books. Shame on you George.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Fatuous

    To this point I had enjoyed the Game of Thrones series, but this book fell completely off the rails. Like many authors who meet with success, Martin has grown overly fond of the sound of his own voice. This book was a fatuous waste of time, a bloated hosanna to descriptions of food and dress, and a divergent track into characters that no one knows or cares about.

    George R.R. Martin is in dire need of an editor and some common sense guidance.

    Crows is disrespectful to fans of the series and doesn't bode well for what comes next.

    Dance, the fifth book, is little better. Useless characters, ridiculous plot twists, unreasonable scenarios. But it's better than this infinite waste of time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Big time disappointment. Pointless, boring rambling.

    This was not so much a story but a lengthy and boring history. This book is merely background for what will come next. I grow tired of a million pointless tales which distract from the main plot and merely confuses readers. After reading 3200 pages at this point i can hardly remember why i started this series in the first place. My advice: skip this book entirely.

    Reading this series has been like taking a road trip from LA to San Diego and then deciding to make it a scenic route by looping through Kansas. Well off course and boring as dirt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    what happen......

    Mr.Martin's first 3 books i could not put down,but when it came to
    the last 2books,it was like a diffrent man wrote them. I had to force myself to read them to the end,and even then i did not know what I had read. By the time I read the 5th book, I no longer even want to watch the movies when they come out, I cant belive they did not have him rewrite the last two books,he had to have been drunk or druged up. He had so many people in his book he forgot all about the main people,like he did not know how to bring them back together.Mr.Martin please rewrite the last two book just start all over, and don't kill everyone off just because you dont know what to do with them...an unhappy fan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    The Neverending Story

    Ok, shame on me for expecting some reasonable end to the first three books. But now I'm done. No more sequels to sequels. It's not enough that the writer includes page after page of tedious details that drag on and on, but there is never a coherent end. The final chapter in this one is an apology by the author that he has not yet finished the book.
    I think I will reread War and Peace 4 times instead.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Sucked

    This book was awful! Maybe 100 pages worth reading. It left out most of we characters we love. Utterly useless.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Terrible

    I LOVED this series after reading book 1 and I was hooked, the series has gone down hill with each book since and this one was a huge disappointment and read to me like an author who was under a contract and in a big hurry to fill pages and get a book out. I read the reviews prior to reading this book and wish I would have listened outside of a few good chapters 98% of this book was a waste of paper and of my time. This author created such a wonderful fantasy with such rich characters it has been a shame to watch them all drop off like flies and the new characters he has created do not in any way fill the huge voids he has left with the killing of nearly all of the key characters at this point. To compare him with the like of J.R.R. Tolkien is travesty, Tolkien created a masterpiece with charters and a story that was well written that are beloved because of the charters and well crafted storyline, while Martin had the potential to be right up there all I have seen is death and destruction in his books with no end or future in sight. No hope, no future, no closure, just death and pain so why keep reading? Why teach Arya to sword fight to only blind her? Why send Brienne on a quest and waste half a book other than to fill pages? I would compare Martin's writing style more with John Grisham, meaning it's utterly predictable. I can sum it up, any and all heroes die, charaters that are good suffer and just when you think they can suffer no more he finds new ways for them to suffer and be in constant pain. He is now four books in and no future is in sight for any characters. Anyway, terrible book and I am totally dissapointed in this series, I had really high expectations only to be let down. I would not recomend anyone go past book 1, nor do I have any intentions of reading anymore of this series. What a waste, this series had so MUCH potential hopefully HBO will take leave of the writing and give us a series to love and some hope and closure for at least a few of the charcters that haven't been killed, maimed, or cripled.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    Great Series, bet it's never finished!

    Did anyone see that A Game of Thrones was made into a TV movie? I, too, loved the series, but it doesn't look like Mr. Martin is going to finish this anytime soon, in fact, I'll bet he never finishes it now; he won't have to. If you go to his website, he's traveling all over the place. I think that we've been had. This happened to me once before, I'll probably never buy another series again!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Which comes first series or book?

    Or was this a computer game doesnt seem able to make up if serial series script or instructions for role playing borrow if you must yes you can borrow an e book from library if they bought it just like real books buska

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Better question is why the cost of this ebook is nearly twice th

    Better question is why the cost of this ebook is nearly twice that as on Amazon or iBooks. This book is rated one star because of cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Martins is no Tolkien not even close book 4 sucked!

    This was very porley writen. Martin intrduces characters that I have not heard of and care nothibg about and who seem to serve no reason other than more pages. Further more he ignores the story line that I as well as the majority of the readers care about. The story wonders about with little to no semblence of conection to what has happened in the other books. I see reviews comparing Martins to Tolkien, what an insult to Tolkien. These books could be much better without the vulgarity and what is with Martin's obsesion with childern and sex. Much of the sex is boardeline child porn and the rest vviolent rape or incest . All said and doen book 4 was a major bore and a waist of time I keptt at it hoping it woulld get better. It did not!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    HUNTING GROUNDS/TRAINING HOLLOW

    IceClan

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    The name says it all

    A feast for crows follows a select number of characters in their travels through westeros in the wake of the destruction that was storm of swords. A feast for Crows focuses a lot more on the individual characters then on the large families and their epic battles, and tends to give a much more in depth look at each characters mindset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Couldn't listen to it on my mac

    Bought it to try out service from B&N in audiobooks. However, the format they are selling it in is NOT supported on my brandnew macbook.

    So I bought this book twice. Audible works fine on all my devices.

    The book is excellent. Barnes and Noble? Won't buy an audiobook here again. Ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5