Customer Reviews for

A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2402 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1360)

4 Star

(602)

3 Star

(252)

2 Star

(102)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

This was definitely a departure from the first three books of th

This was definitely a departure from the first three books of the series. There is not nearly as much action as their is in A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, and A Storm of Swords. If you come wanting something like its chair-gripping predecessors you will be disappo...
This was definitely a departure from the first three books of the series. There is not nearly as much action as their is in A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, and A Storm of Swords. If you come wanting something like its chair-gripping predecessors you will be disappointed. However, if you put aside your ideas of what you think it should be and accept it on its own merits you will be treated to a soul-touchingly beautiful novel.
Because Martin chose to split this and A Dance With Dragons geographically rather than chronologically, 3 characters that are often people' favorites are left out: Tyrion, Jon, and Dany. You may dislike not reading about them, but the new viewpoint characters step up to the plate admirably and smash the ball out of the park. Brienne's quest for Sansa is fascinating. Her interactions with her travel companions are very thought-provoking and give you good insight into some people who belong to social circles we haven't seen before; the people she interacts with range from a shady former soldier who is a descendant of a once-great house to a wandering septon to the "smallfolk." She gives you an excellent look at a wider variety of people than we usually get to see in Westeros.
Cersei's chapters are also incredible. Her subtle struggle for power with the Tyrells in King's Landing is gripping.
Sansa's interactions with Littlefinger are the catalysts for change in her character, and I loved reading her chapters as you see her really wake to the realities of the world.
The other new storylines are great as well. The power grab in the Iron Islands, Arya in Braavos, and the Dorne plot are all fantastic reads. The ending to the Dorne storyline sent chills down my spine.
Overall, A Feast For Crows is meandering and not very action packed. However, the loss of action is repaid in full by a more comprehensive look at the world Martin has created. You will meet entirely different types of people than in previous books. Immerse yourself in the world and join the characters on their travels and trials. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Yoten on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Feast for Crows--a promising feast that should have been filling, but left me only wanting to nibble.

Closing my nook late last night as I had FINALLY finished A Feast for Crows, a strange feeling came over me that I haven't felt with any other installment of this brilliant series: I can't decide though if that feeling was emptiness or mere boredom. It took me almost a ...
Closing my nook late last night as I had FINALLY finished A Feast for Crows, a strange feeling came over me that I haven't felt with any other installment of this brilliant series: I can't decide though if that feeling was emptiness or mere boredom. It took me almost a month and a half to finish this book, which is very odd to me because I devoured the other three within days of each other. A Feast for Crows had epic promise but it sadly fell flat for me. I didn't care (unlike so many others) that the story centered around the "lesser" of the key characters, actually two of my personal favorites took center stage in this work and I enjoyed their chapters the most. Something was just lacking with the rest of the story sadly, and to be brutally honest the chapters involving side-tracked quests/ takeovers, mini battles revolving around religion, and sub-plots of conquest of the sea became utterly confusing and tedious. I forced myself not to flip past anything though (and I encourage any new reader to do the same), in case I would happen to miss any interesting turn of the growing plot(s) or the non-stop introductions to fresh characters/locations. Unfortunately I still found myself hopelessly muddled and distracted, researching the houses and characters at the back of the book (several times within one chapter), trying to keep some kind of mental tally with the growing alliances and betrayals. I'm still confused to be honest. One more thing I must confess to any potential readers: The action and development of new plots to continue the rest of the series didn't appear until almost the last hundred pages (which was extremely irritating to me). Night after night, I found myself just nibbling at this feast and I hope A Dance with Dragons, followed by "The Winds of Winter" and "A Dream of Spring", once again has me singing the praises this series justly deserves. July 12th is coming!

posted by -LadyinWriting on March 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    not as good as previous but worth it anyways

    if you have read this far in the series kudos to you. it has been quite the journey. bring on Dance w Dragons. I re read the first three and just finished feast.. good timing I guess. i miss the main characters and there are so many minor characters it makes me dizzy. Daenerys and Tyrion, what have you been up to lately?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    My opinion changes with every chapter

    As with the previous books in the series there are parts where I can't put it down and then there are parts that just seem to crawl and cause me to fall asleep. It seems like the author's method of plot twist is the equivalent of the use of a blunt axe: Very apparent and kind of messy. Likable characters will surely be killed whereas the devious ones continue to make appearances.

    I have hopes that it will all make sense in the end, but for now I'll be happy to take on another series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    A Disappointing Follow-up to A Storm of Swords.

    It's long, many of the best characters from the series are absent and the grander plot progresses very little. In contrast to previous entries in the series where the characters were fleshed out very entertaining, A Feast for Crows contains dull characters with even worse plots (Brienne is most notable among these). A Feast for Crows ends up being around 600 pages too long. Easily the worst entry in the series, but still worth a read for fans of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Feast Not Filling Enough

    The fourth book in George R.R. Martin's series is still very good. Just not up to his previous three books in the series. He only used half the characters and told their whole story up until book #6. Which is a nice change but in my opinion he saved the majority of the more interesting characters for book #5 A Dance With Dragons, which hampered this book. I think it's going to be very interesting to read through the other characters after this book and see what happened in the rest of the world. However, if you relate more to Sam, Lady Briene, Arya, Sansa and Jamie then you will enjoy it more than myself. Still a very good read and for anyone that hasn't read any of these books they are a must read for anyone that enjoys the medieval times thrown in with a little mystery and magic. Can't wait September '09 A Dance With Dragons!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    hey

    everyone who's waiting for the 5th, dont worry.. the book is promised by george martin to be out in fall of 2008. so no worries.. soon enough.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    okay

    To be blunt, this book was far from as good as the other books were. Still, it was fairly good. The book did feel more risque than the others. The numerous sex scences got boring after a while and they make you wish that the author had edited them out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    Good but not great

    After 5 years its a bit less then I expected but still I found myself not wanting to put it down. You feel slightly empty seeing as how half the major characters are missing in this book. The promise of book 5 to bring them in is apealing but how long of a wait till it comes out? If the writer wants to maintain a strong following he best be quick about it. Spring of 2007 would be ideal for book 5 to come out in my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Ehh...it was alright

    This book was kind of a let down seeing as how the previous three titles in the series were amazing. This book contained all of the characters that nobody really likes with the exception of a 2 or 3, and ENTIRELY way too many new comers. But after reading the note from Martin at the end i have high hopes for the 5th book which is supposed to be about all the good characters that i had so hoped were in this one. I look at it this way, any series whether it be TV, book, or movie, needs filler pieces...this is one of those.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    average

    Some interesting parts, but for the wait most of the most interesting characters are left out, and not much happens to the characters mentioned in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Long on Wait, Short on Delivery

    I love this series and I love the characters. Storm of Swords (#3) came out in 2000, and I devoured the book in 2 days. I never expected to wait this long for a book, and I never expected to be this disappointed. I too have recommended this series to many others...now I'm not so sure it was a good idea...and even worse...how long until the NEXT installment. I feel cheated in a big way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Not good

    Quite simply the worst of the 4 books so far in the series. The first three were outstanding -- this was just okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    It's getting Better, but not that good

    This book has so much detail about people I have no idea how they relate - I did go on line and looked at the family charts but that got annoying - now I hve about 70 pages left and its becoming coherent without referring to aids - the only way to enjoy this is not to worry about all of these people that are mentioned because they typically have nothing to do with the story - with that approach the book is enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Well, I suppose it could have been worse

    It seems that Mr. Martin published this because he had to publish something. There is some amount of foreshadowing and a new prophecy which seems to have come from left field, but one is left with a feeling of having wasted many hundreds of pages of reading for what could have been in the preface of the next volume. I have a feeling that Martin didn¿t publish the ¿interesting¿ characters simply because he is stuck. One must hope that he becomes unstuck and the next volume is up to the standards of the first three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    Why???

    Ok I have waited three years for this book. Disappointed is not enough to describe what I feel about this book. It is a horrible choice to divide the story like this. Even in the afterward Martin had to explain why it was done this way. IT WAS WRONG not to put characters that we all love in the book that we all have been waiting for. Instead we get to read about Cersei being a bad ruler as if we all didnt understand that from Storm of Swords. I even found myself reading a chapter thinking that its just a reiteration of a previous chapter. I so wanted to read about Tyrion and Jon. The only chapters in this book I enjoyed were Arya, of course, and Brienne. In fact Brienne parts were in my opinion the only reason I finished the book. Oh, I am left drooling over the next book I believe it would have been better if the chapters were mixed together like before not removing the juiciest ones to another book we have to wait a year for!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    For anyone else... a great book... for Martin... a disappointment

    There is not much that advances the story here. Over 25% of the book deals with Cersei and Arya's story seems to be a second thought. This was advertised as 'All the story of half the characters ' a reasonable approach by my thinking. Unfortunately, it ends the novel with stories unfinished... here is the issue with that... we have to wait for him to finish 'Dance with Dragons' before he even STARTS the book that may (or may not) finish the characters from this one. Jordan lost me after the 7th book in The Wheel of Time (I should have stopped after book 5) and Goodkind lost me during Faith of the Fallen... depending on how long I wait for 'Dance,' Martin may have lost me here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Not as good as the previous Books

    I waited for two years for this book and was a little disappointed. If you haven't read the previous book you will be immediately lost. It seemed to drag on until the end....and just when I thought 'about time' the book ended. I'll read the next one...but I really hope it leads somewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    Good but less then the Earlier Books

    A good book but easily the weakest in a thusfar amazing series. Like its predecessors in the Song of Ice and Fire series, 'A Feast for Crows' has a detailed plot and rich characters. Yet again no one is safe (or so it appears). Yet again the plot of the book is informed by history but with a twist. The book was gripping enough that I was able to read 670 pages in one day. It is worth reading. But its not like the earlier parts of the series. If like me you considered the earlier works to be amongst the finest literature, you might be disappointed. And afraid that the rest of the series may be good but not necessarily superb. And I enjoyed being spoiled with superb here. The issues are: * A plot that did not really progress (other then a tiny bit at the end). Moreover, at times the plot (for the first time) seemed forced - a probable byproduct of Mr. Martin changing his planned chronology for the series over the past three years. * Several major characters are missing. The work focuses on people in Dorne, Kings Landing, Braavos, the Vale of Arryn, Oldtown and the riverlands. Don't expect those who are elsewhere to really show up. This was due to considerations of length, and I actually think Mr. Martin's division was appropriate enough. I use the word 'enough' because frankly, at least compared to 'A Sword of Storms' the cliffhangers at the end of this book are not all that gripping (as some say it is 'Act II, Scene I') and so this break appears a bit arbitrary too. * Several of the new characters are not necessarily compelling or drawn out enough that we should care. I don't think all contributed to the story telling. Some characters appear to have been inserted to flesh out the world of Westeros but don't appear to contribute to the primary plot. * The jury is still out, in my mind, whether the writing itself was at the same standard of the earlier works in the series (for example, compare the somber beauty evoked by the language surrounding Ned's dream in 'A Game of Thrones' with the best vision evoked by the prose here). In addition, I hadn't expected it going in, but editing could have been better. I don't necessarily disagree with those who say large portions of this book did not need to be there. Take this book for what it is, as opposed to what it is not, and you will have a good time. A final note about the series future: If the subsequent works are like this as opposed to the earlier books in terms of quality, there are going to be a lot of disappointed fans. Myself included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Great story...but maybe not for everyone!

    I found myself very caught up in Martin's fantasy world and basically found this series to be great reading. There are, however, a lot of characters and names to keep track of. After awhile I just didn't worry about trying to keep track of anyone, but the central characters. Martin also jumps continually from character to character, so you have to try and recall what was happening the last time you read about a certain person. This also tends to make the storyline drag at times. The only thing that really turned me off about this series is the graphic detailed sexual content, graphic descriptions of violence, killing, murder, rape,and mutilation, and last but not least, the obscene language. I couldn't even list the vulgar terms he uses in this review. Everytime I had to read about Tyrion the Dwarf and Dany's sexual escapades with people, I just cringed! I really don't understand why Martin feels compelled to bring all this 'smut' into his books. Like another reviewer mentioned--it really wasn't necessary! The great storyline of these books should be enough to keep you reading without getting into the 'X' rated stuff! All in all, I was totally engrossed by these books and enjoyed them very much. However, I would be very cautious about recommending them to just anyone--for fear that they might be offended by the crude text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    Finish it

    I have mixed feelings about the three previous books (A Game of Thrones, etc...). I enjoyed them for the most part, but got tired of the never ending twists. I was descouraged that the series wasn't over in 2200+ pages. Book four doesn't sound like the end, so I'm not sure I even want to start it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13