Customer Reviews for

The Feast of Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Everyone has a story...

    ..and it's not necessarily what really happened, at least according to the other participants. The characters are finely draw, honest and interesting even when distasteful and unappealling in their habits. The part about the psychic in Ypsilanti is too funny - you want to read it out loud to a friend. The last chapter I have read several times. Life is sad, funny, passionate and full of missteps- but our time here is short - we should appreciate it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    Stunning Acomplishment

    Never has a book kept me up all night. Feast of Love is a rare look at the passion behind what really makes a relationship work. The way you are able to relate to there struggles and emotion is nothing short of outstanding. Highly charged. A must for any avid reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Only one of the most brilliant books I have ever read. Ever. Rea

    Only one of the most brilliant books I have ever read. Ever. Read. I have read a LOT of books. Like Pet Sematary, I was disappointed in watching the movie (for different reasons), though the movie was probably in all actuality quite good. Reading the book several years beforehand in effect spoiled any motion picture concept to come. It is raw emotion. Pure, raw, intense energy, even in the slowest-paced parts of this work. If Bret Easton Elis (who I like) was an even better writer, and left behind the morose for the *real* morbidity of the human emotional condition, this would be the product. Absolutely incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    Fave!!

    By far my favorite read. Purely beautiful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Easy read!

    Couldnt put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Great story!

    Charles Baxter compiles characters that are real and a story that flows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Enchanting

    This is the first Charles Baxter novel I have ever read and I simply loved it. The characters are living, breathing people that, like us all are living, loving and are interconnected in a way that is entertaining as well as poignant. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    I love this book!

    I am currently deployed and my best friend sends me random books to read. At first when I got it in the mail I was half tempted to throw the book to the side and just watch the movie. I am glad I didn't. Once I started reading the book, I couldn¿t put it down. When I was finished with it, I watched the movie and I am just going to say, the movie does NOT compare to the book. Chloe and Oscar are amazing in the book you feel like you know them and want the love that they share together. In the movie their meeting and other life changing events weren¿t so emotional because of that! I highly recommend the book. I did not think the movie was worth watching once I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Can't get enough!

    It was my first Baxter book and completely adored it! The Feast of Love tops my favorite book list. Though it took a while for me to get into it, I became addicted. The book is a thinker and makes you say 'oooh.' I loved his style, the humor and the sadness. I bought my second Baxter book, Saul and Patsy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Interesting and enjoyable

    I listened to this book and audio and found it to be very enjoyable. The readers did an excellent job with the story and the story had some great insights into love and relationships

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    Poignant

    This book is one of the best books I have read! Very Poignant and deep. This book makes you want to highlight parts of it because it is indeed very poetic and very moving to say the least. Just like a puzzle each piece is relevant and the whole picture comes together at the end. Not a love story, but a story about love, change and hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Every relationship should have stories as memorable as those in this wonderful novel.

    Charles Baxter develops his characters into full & complex individuals by letting them tell their own stories. Reliable or unreliable, these narrators spin their tales like a Greek chorus, giving us fragments at a time that spin ultimately into a beautiful whole. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    Lovely

    I randomly picked out this book at the JFK airport about two years ago before a long flight. And I still remember every page in that book. Baxter has a great writing style and it's easy to read. I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    A great find!

    This book was a wonderful book to come across. I found it just when I was getting frustrated with all the bad books that I have read lately. This work stood out for its originality when so many books are beginning to seem the same. I look forward to reading more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Good, but not great

    Since every review of this book has gotten a five (and only a handful of books should actually get a five, especially when combined with multiple reviews) I feel compelled to write a little blurb here which avoids the 'just read it and I love it!' mentality that so often enraptures us in the post-finish weeks. I will admit, The Feast of Love kept my interest, even though I am not partial to love or romance books. Mostly a fan of satire/war/dark novels, I found myself enjoying this book more than I had anticipated (it was recommended by a former girlfriend). But, where the story fails is in its ability to move along the story without falling into cliched sentiment. Some of the little stories of 'love' work well, while others seem like so many stories recycled again and again, with no real face or heart. The strongest character in the book is Chloe, a young teenager on the verge of a new love with a fitting boy. Although sometimes stereotyped way too much (type of dress, hair color, etc.) Chloe is able to develop a unique voice that doesn't seem like cheap sentiment or false sorrow. She seems to have been a side character that Baxter simply couldn't ignore, and she really ran with the book. Bradley, the main character through most of story, is also unique, but melancholy and sappy in ways that make him seem less interesting than others. His trials with love are often entertaining, but he reaches for it with such desperation that we lose touch with him. The older couple in the novel are also a bit glum and if you haven't lost a child to drugs or hatred, it is very difficult to connect with them. They seem more like story-movers than actual people, and their lives seem better left from the story. Other than these things, and the fact that every character referring to Bradley as 'toad' is simply annoying, the book seems to achieve its purpose. One of the best parts of the story is when Bradley goes to retrieve his dog (also named Bradley) from his sister and brother-in-law, who have sort of taken him hostage. Bradley gives his little nephew money in exchange for his silence, which causes the scene to appear as bribery. The book's best message comes near the end, when the Bradley character is beginning a new love. He has a short chapter in which he gives no stories, because he states that when we are in love, we have no stories to tell. All stories are of heartbreak and woe, and in the good times, we must sit back and enjoy, living fully for the moment. Amen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    Stunning

    I wandered into my local bookshop, read the back of this book, and took it home without any real expectations. One week later, I had finished the book and was heart-broken and awe-struck. It's marvelous. Beautifully written and masterfully constructed, it left a lasting impression on me. I can't recommend it enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2002

    my favorite

    i looooooooooved this book. it was so fantastic in describing the lives of everyone around this man, bradley, in a way that left me speechless, knowing i will never forget them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2001

    The promise of a feast was well fulfilled

    Charles Baxter has created a wonderful tale in which he seemlessly weaves the lives of almost a dozen people together to make one intricate journey into the dimensions and facets of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2001

    Stunningly Heartbreaking and Beautiful

    When you have to stop reading to think to yourself 'God himself could not have written and more eloquent sentence than that one...' at countless points during the consumption of a novel, you know without a doubt that you are in the presence of greatness. Brutally truthful in style and substance, I can not express, within the confines of the english language, the depth of admiration I feel for both this book and it's author. I beg you to read it... no, DEVOUR it - you owe it to yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    Phenominal

    This book nearly tore my heart out by the end, but in the best way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2