Customer Reviews for

The Feast of the Goat

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Terrifying, brutal, and hard to put down

    Found myself holding my breath as I read. Horrifying to think this was DR's reality. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Probably the best book about the world's longest running dictator at the time of his death. Truly detailed and horrifying.

    Truly detailed and horrifying. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Excellent

    A captivating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    Loved it, I wished more of Vargas Llosa's books were available o

    Loved it, I wished more of Vargas Llosa's books were available on Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Powerful and elegant

    Fantastic story telling. I look forward to reading more of Vargas Llosa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    against tyranny

    "everything mortified him-the assassinations, the disapperances, the tortures, the precariousness of life, the corruption, the surrender of body, soul, and conscience by millions to a single man"
    From 1930 to 1961, Rafael Leonidas Trujillo Molina ruled the Dominican Republic when thousands were arrested, murdered, disappeared, or tortured for months - by electrocutions, mutilations and beatings. Under his dictatorship, over 20,000 Haitians were massacred and government officials offered up their only daughters as gifts to him and his masochistic sons and brothers. A historical novel against the horrors of tyranny and the lifetime of inner tortures that haunt those who somehow survived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    A Dominican's opinion

    if Vargas Llosa was Dominican he could not put it in a better way. i am an avid lector about La Era de Trujillo and this book is the second best i've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Cruelty, cowardice, and survival

    As a survivor of Hitler and Stalin in Eastern Europe, this book touched raw nerves and deeply buried chords in me. Vargas Llosa has grasped the roots of many diverse attitudes toward evil. The character of general Roman makes this book worth reading in itself. But of course, there are many others....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Great Book

    This was a great book. If you are Dominican and interested in your history you MUST read this book. I was reading the book and I was unable to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    vivid, cruel and elegant

    In this book, Mario Vargas Llosa shows in a very vivid and elegant prosa a photograph of the cruel political situation that were living some latinoamerican countries under the military boot. Vargas Llosa is a writer at the same level of Gabriel Garcia Marquez,Isabel Allende among others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1