Customer Reviews for

...Featuring Norah Jones

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Something for everyone....a mishmash

    The common denonimator is Norah's wonderful voice. She sings along with lots and lots of other folks, some of whom I enjoyed and some that weren't quite up my alley. Definitely a versatile performer! Would be great music for a cocktail party due to the different tempos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    A unique compilation

    This CD has tremendous variety. From Outkast to Dolly Parton, Norah sings with artists from just about every genre of music. While I can't say that I loved all the songs, I can say that a few of them are pretty high up on my current list of favorites. I think I could listen to Norah and Willie Nelson crooning Baby It's Cold Outside for the rest of the winter. Each time it plays, I want to curl up in front of the fireplace with a warm beverage. It is just that relaxing. If you're looking for a good CD, with a bit of everything, then I definitely recommend you check out ...Featuring. (I received a copy of this CD from One2One.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quite a mixed genre.

    This cd has a few songs that I personally like. 'Bull Rider', 'Loretta', and 'Creepin' In' are all great songs if you enjoy older country. I'm a fan of her duets, but when she sings in general on a few of these songs, it's lacking individuality. They all start to mash together and it sounds too familiar. I also really liked that she changed it up and recorded songs with a few hip hop artists. 'Take off your Cool' and 'Life is Better' are both surprisingly good. Her voice sounds more soulful backing the hip hop tracks. There are some songs on here I thought I would like considering I'm a fan of the artist, but they fell short for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    low-key alternative to holiday music this Christmas

    I really enjoy Norah Jones voice, and her new release, ".featuring Norah Jones" does not disappoint. She has some very interesting collaborations, everyone from country music's Dolly Parton to rapper Q-Tip. Her diversity is apparent, as she flows from one genre of music to another seamlessly. It starts off a little slow, but it picks up a little about halfway through. My personal favorites are: "Ruler of My Heart" with Robert Rundolph; The Dirty Dozen Brass Band, with the type of vocals you would expect, and Soon the New Day with Talib Kweli. I would recommend this CD as a nice low-key alternative to holiday music this Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Not Quite What I Expected

    I have always been a big fan of Norah Jones and her hauntingly beautiful voice. While you can tell how her voice matures over the almost ten years that went into recording this album, I have to admit, it was not what I expected. There are songs on there that made me smile, like her duet with Willie Nelson on Baby It's Cold Outside. But for the most part, I was disappointed that the Norah I've come to love was lost in the harmonies of many of the songs. I'm not throwing it away... it will be one of those albums I pull out every now and again when the mood strikes. Thank you One2OneNetwork for letting me preview this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Excellent Vocal Talent

    Norah Jones' new album, ...Featuring, is a compilation album featuring cameos, duets, and collaborations with artists across a vast array of music genre. The recording of these songs span the decade from 2001 to 2010 and show the wide range of Norah Jones' vocal talent.

    As with pretty much any compilation album, I didn't care for all of the songs just because they weren't my preferred style of music. That being said, I was extremely impressed that Norah Jones sounded great on every song, all 18 songs, no matter what style of music she was singing or with whom she was singing. There aren't very many music artists who can accomplish that feat.

    One of my favorite songs on the album was Norah Jones' duet with Willie Nelson. They sang "Baby It's Cold Outside" and sounded great together. She has a beautiful, unique voice that sounds excellent with many different artists.

    You can see the range of artists with this song list:

    1. Love Me - The Little Willies
    2. Virginia Moon - The Foo Fighters featuring Norah Jones
    3. Turn Them - Sean Bones featuring Norah Jones
    4. Baby It's Cold Outside - Willie Nelson featuring Norah Jones
    5. Bull Rider - Norah Jones and Sasha Dobson
    6. Ruler Of My Heart - Dirty Dozen Brass Band featuring Norah Jones
    7. The Best Part - El Madmo
    8. Take Off Your Cool - OutKast featuring Norah Jones
    9. Life Is Better - Q-Tip featuring Norah Jones
    10. Soon The New Day - Talib Kweli featuring Norah Jones
    11. Little Lou, Prophet Jack, Ugly John - Belle & Sebastian featuring Norah Jones
    12. Here We Go Again - Ray Charles featuring Norah Jones
    13. Loretta - Norah Jones featuring Gillian Welch and David Rawlings
    14. Dear John - Ryan Adams featuring Norah Jones
    15. Creepin' In - Norah Jones featuring Dolly Parton
    16. Court & Spark - Herbie Hancock featuring Norah Jones
    17. More Than This - Charlie Hunter featuring Norah Jones
    18. Blue Bayou - Norah Jones featuring M. Ward

    I received a copy of ...Featuring from the One2One network as part of the Norah Jones album project to facilitate the writing of a frank and honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Good, but a bit tired.

    I have loved Norah Jones for years. With ...Featuring Norah Jones you get what you expect: a nice, mellow CD. I think this would be perfect background music for a dinner party. Although there is a lot eclectic collaborations from different genres of music, the CD remains a bit sleepy. Although the point of this album is to highlight her career, I would have liked to see a few new songs and duets, it would make the CD a bit fresher. My favorites are "Take Off Your Cool" and "Dear John". Overall a good CD to purchase if you are a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Good Mellow Music for a Party

    I got a free review copy from One2One Networks to listen to. I was excited because I had never heard a Norah Jones album before (though I'm sure I've heard her songs before). This one is a bunch of duets, cameos and other projects that she has done in collaboration with other singers and bands. So, it's more of a compilation. I liked her duet with Ray Charles the best. But overall, it was a bit slow and mellow for my tastes. But if you like something relaxing, this could be perfect for you or a good album to put on at a party.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My First Norah Jones Album

    I have to be honest here. I haven't ever listened to Norah Jones. I know, how is that possible? Do I live under a rock?
    No. I just listen to Christian music.

    So, I figured reviewing .Featuring would be a great opportunity. I wasn't disappointed. It was extremely interesting to listen to, for the most part. I just wouldn't be able to listen to it all the time.

    This CD is very eclectic. One moment I'm listening to Jazz, the next Country. Then another song will come on and I think I'm listening to music from the 50s and that will change to what sounds very 70s and makes me think of 007.

    As the back of the cover says, "Recorded from 2001 to 2010, The Cameos, Duets, and collaborations on this compilation span the musical spectrum and show Norah Jones to be one of the decade's most diverse musical connectors."

    The one song I knew, but sounded mostly different was the last song Blue Bayou. Norah's voice is hauntingly beautiful throughout the entire album.

    I thoroughly enjoyed her duet with Willie Nelson Baby It's Cold Outside.

    I'm giving away my only once listened to review copy at marvelousmomreviews(dot)blogspot(dot)com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1