Customer Reviews for

...Featuring Norah Jones

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    This is a really great CD. There's a little bit of everything - Rock, Hip-Hop, Country, etc. My favorites off the album are Ruler Of My Heart and Life Is Better. I've been listening to it at least once a day while surfing the net. It would make a great cleaning companion too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Thoroughly enjoyable mix

    Alright so I'm a Norah Jones fan since her days of don't know why. From the collaboration list on featuring it seems like Norah has many fans in the music industry that love her soulful voice as much as I do. I was truly impressed with the list of collaborators and loved the mix created with Norah's voice along side hip hop. Who would have thought this would sound so good, but I enjoyed every song on the album and can listen to it again and again, unlike most albums out there. Thank you Norah for providing us with something different - it's like a genius playlist on one album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Loved it!

    As always, Norah Jones had released a bestseller. Love her voice. I still think her first album was her best but this one is great too. I liked that she has so many different singers on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Norah delivers once again!

    I know I've tweeted a few times and posted to Facebook how excited I am for Norah Jones latest album, .Featuring Norah Jones. I've always liked Norah Jones and absolutely adore her voice. This latest album is a star-studded collection of Norah's musical collaborations from the past decade.

    My personal favorite is Baby It's Cold Outside with Willie Nelson. The album contains 18 songs including cameos, collaborations and duets with Ray Charles, Dolly Parton, OutKast, the Foo Fighters, Herbie Hancock and so much more!

    Loved, loved LOVED this album!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Wonderfully refreshing album!

    I remember the first Norah Jones song I ever heard "Come Away With Me", I instantly was drawn to her soft, mellow, beautiful tone. Her music is a blend of acoustic pop with soul and jazz.

    This new album "...Featuring" is a compilation of Norah Jones' features with other artists across all musical genres. From songs with Talib Kweli to the Foo Fighters, each track has a unique sound and feel.

    Music is something that connects us, and Norah Jones' work as showcased in this album has done just that. Combining and creating new sound is what Norah Jones has been known for since the beginning, and these collaborations are something all music lovers can enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I received this CD to review and I have been listening to it ever since I got it. She is very talented and all these duets showcase her different sides. My favorites are Virginia Moon and Turn Them. I highly recommend this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Highly Recommended - Great Variety!

    Wow, this new Norah Jones album "Featuring." is stunning! It is full of soul and heart. The duets are amazing and it will be your new go to album for fun and nostalgia. She is so talented and gifted. Her voice is amazing and different than the normal musician today. This collection is sincere and vibrant. There is so much variety and I was delighted. My favorite song by far is "Virginia Moon" featuring Foo Fighters. Loved hearing Ray Charles on "Here We Go Again." Duets with Dolly Parton and Willie Nelson are not to be missed either. What a collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Smorgasbord for the Senses

    Norah Jones "Featuring" is a true smorgasbord for the senses. I've been a fan of Norah Jones' cool voice and jazzy pop stylings and was thrilled to see so many great collaborations of hers over the past decade with many of her favorite artists.

    These collabs are so diverse that it truly makes for an exciting and fascinating album. I love the differing genres and the interpretations. I especially like the cover of Joni Mitchell's "Court and Spark" with the brilliant Herbie Hancock, which is moody and jazzy.

    There is everything from rock (Foo Fighters, Ryan Adams) to hip-hop (Q-Tip, OutKast_ to country (Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson) to jazz (Herbie Hancock).

    "It's so exciting and flattering and fun when I get asked to sing with somebody that I admire," Norah has said. "It takes you a little bit out of your comfort zone...kind of like being a little kid and having a playdate."

    There are none I don't like and some I love! I love "Turn Them" with Sean Bones and its reggae feel. "Baby It's Cold Outside" is such a classic with Willie Nelson. It's such a great fit like a comfortable pair of worn-in-jeans. "Here We Go Again" with Ray Charles is playful and gorgeous. It surprised me that Norah was so natural with hip hop. She shines with Q-tip in "Life is Better" and with Talib Kewll.

    This cd really has something for everyone. It's like a favorite mixtape and is great for driving or just lazing on a Sunday afternoon. "Featuring" shows off Norah's talent and charm, her versatility and her smoothness. It's eclectic, funky and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Norah Jones...Never a Disappointment

    Once again, Norah Jones does not disappoint. Her new album is such an ecclectic mix of collaborating musicians that you feel like you are going back and forth through different time periods. As someone born and raised in Louisiana, her rendition of "Blue Bayou" with M. Ward takes me right back to my childhood! I definitely recommend this CD...would even be a fabulous gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Norah Does It All!

    Norah's new album gives us a sampling of why she is truly a great artist. She demonstrates her amazing ability to sing a wide range of music genres, and not just sing, but sing well! I can say I thoroughly enjoyed this album and love her voice quality and tone. Great album and I would recommend it to anyone who loves that sultry tone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent CD

    I have never really had any of Norah Jones CD's before and was given this one to review. I really like the mix of songs on here. She has some great duets with people ranging from Dolly Parton to Ray Charles. Creepin In with Dolly Parton is especially excellent. I love this cd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Enjoyed This....

    As part of the One2One Network I received a copy of Featuring Norah Jones. I have never really listened to Norah Jones' music before but after listening to this CD, I am now a fan. This CD is so much better than I expected. This CD provides some soulful and easy listening music. The remakes on this CD are very good and it was great to hear other artist like Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, and the Foo Fighters with Norah Jones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Great for parties!

    I received this CD to review from One2One network. I've always liked Norah Jones, and this album did not disappoint! It is a collection of her singing with various artists, and the genres very quite a bit, however I honestly liked all of them. I think this would be great to play at parties because of the variety. My favorite was definitely the duet with Willie Nelson singing Baby It's Cold Outside

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Get Acquainted With Norah

    I have been a Norah Jones fan from the beginning, but even for someone who's never heard of her music this is a great CD to check out. The collection of artists is so varied that I'm sure anyone can find something to suit their tastes. As always, Norah's voice is beautiful and full of soul. It's almost haunting. I highly recommend this along with any of her other albums.

    I received a free copy of this CD from One2One Network in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Smooth & Soulful Duets

    I got a copy of this new album to review from One2One Network, and was pleasantly suprised by the collaborations on this album. I had heard several of Norah Jones' songs previously but wouldn't really categorize myself as a "fan" of hers. But after listening to this album, I fell in love with her voice and talent. One of my favorite songs on the album was "Baby It's Cold Outside" with Willie Nelson because I absolutely love, love, love Christmas music...it's getting to be that time of year! But a couple of my other favorites were "Virginia Moon" with the Foo Fighters, "Creepin' In" with Dolly Parton, and "Here We Go Again" with Ray Charles. All the songs & collaborations on this album showed Norah's incredible range and talent to play & sing any genre of music & catch the listener's attention from the start. I would definitely recommend this album to anyone who enjoys rap, hip-hop, jazz, country, and rock. This is a must for any music lover this Christmas season!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Versatility at its Best!

    One2One Network gave me the opportunity to listen and review Norah Jones' latest project, " Featuring Norah Jones". At first reading of the album, I thought that I was holding an ambitious project which contained a complete compendium of musical genres. There have been many Duet albums in the marketplace. What is intriguing about this particular type of Duet Albums is the fact that Norah Jones displays her versatility by dabbling in other genres. The album makes for easy listening with tracks such as "Virginia Moon", "Ruler of My Heart" and "Blue Bayou" (my personal favorite). "Baby Its Cold" is a sweet spin of an old Christmas Classic. Norah's hip-hop collaborations with Q-Tip and OutKast shows that Norah has the ability to take risks that pay off with great dividends. Her numerous collaborations are laudable. I give it 5 stars because it is great! Yet, I wonder, whether she could have done some collaboration with some of the younger musical talent. Another album. Possibly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    A Must Have For Any Collection

    I was given this CD to review prior to its release and I feel so honored to own this CD. Recorded from 2001 to 2010, the Cameos, Duets and Collaborations on this compilation span the musical spectrum and show Norah Jones to be one of this decade's most diverse musical connectors. She works with a range of musical acts from the Foo Fighters to Willie Nelson. From Outkast to Herbie Hancock. I was really surprised to see that there was a Ray Charles collaboration. That was a sweet gift since I am a huge fan of his. Your collection would be lacking without this CD. You have to get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Wonderful Find

    I am new to Norah Jones and was thrilled to receive this CD to review. From hip hop to country and loads in the middle, the music was great. It was so much fun to be able to listen to Norah Jones' wonderful voice with stars like Dolly Parton, Ray Charles, and Willie Nelson. The album also introduced me to groups like the Foo Fighters. There is something here for every listener.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    A compilation of greatest songs

    Received the new Norah Jones CD from One2One Network.I was excited when I received my new Norah Jones CD to review because I am such a big fan! I popped it right in my computer and listened while I read my emails. I think she has an incredible and unique sound. Typically, I'd have to say I'm a rock kind of girl. I do enjoy Norah Jones, though .Her new album is called "Featuring" and was recorded from 2001 to 2010, into one amazing collection: legends like Ray Charles, Willie Nelson and Herbie Hancock, rock artists ranging from Foo Fighters to Ryan Adams to Belle and Sebastian, hip hop luminaries OutKast, Q-Tip and Talib Kweli.The album begins with Love Me, a duet Jones sings with The Little Willies and wraps up with Blue Bayou (yes, Blue Bayou). Norah Jones fans won't be disappointed.There is a song for everybody actually for jazz, hip-hop or country fans!My favorites songs are "Here We Go Again "(Ray Charles featuring Norah Jones ) and Baby It's Cold Outside (Willie Nelson feat. Norah Jones).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Norah Jones

    Norah Jones is always very soothing to listen to and her new album ...Featuring, is no exception. She's teamed up with some great artists and their musical styles influence their song collaborations. It's a different sound like all Norah Jones' music, but this new CD hasn't let me down. If you like her other album's, give this one a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2