Customer Reviews for

Fed Up!: Our Fight to Save America from Washington

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A unique answer to America's biggest problem (currently)

Perry approaches the problem of big government in a way others do not: let states prove what works best. There are 50 test cases (each state)...some succeed, and some fail. It's easy to see what works. It seems like every day there is a new article about Texas out-perfo...
Perry approaches the problem of big government in a way others do not: let states prove what works best. There are 50 test cases (each state)...some succeed, and some fail. It's easy to see what works. It seems like every day there is a new article about Texas out-performing other states. Those states can study what's working. Perry also reminds us how the feds are overstepping their Constitutional authority and preventing prosperity (taxes, spending, regulations). Perry's had enough of that, and so has America.

posted by kaycherib on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

My Hopes for this Book

It's great to see that Rick Perry has a book coming out. This means he has, in fact, been doing something during his time as Texas's governor. While I look forward to learning why Rick Perry has been "fed up" with a federal government that bailed him out some $12 bill...
It's great to see that Rick Perry has a book coming out. This means he has, in fact, been doing something during his time as Texas's governor. While I look forward to learning why Rick Perry has been "fed up" with a federal government that bailed him out some $12 billion dollars, I find myself wondering if the table of contents will list these chapters: "The $18 Billion Deficit: How I doubled state debt while not working"; "Get Rich Quick: The art of getting cash from your friends and donors without the FBI getting involved"; "Get Rich Quick Pt. II: A primer in illicit land sales"; "HPV and Me: The virtues of unilateral mandates for 6th grade girls that benefit your lobbyist chief of staff"; "Socratic Nothing: How I learned to stop worrying and avoid answering questions". If, to my disappointment, these sections are not included, I suggest that Barnes & Noble reclassify Fed Up as a work of fiction.

posted by FreddyTuskel on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    A unique answer to America's biggest problem (currently)

    Perry approaches the problem of big government in a way others do not: let states prove what works best. There are 50 test cases (each state)...some succeed, and some fail. It's easy to see what works. It seems like every day there is a new article about Texas out-performing other states. Those states can study what's working. Perry also reminds us how the feds are overstepping their Constitutional authority and preventing prosperity (taxes, spending, regulations). Perry's had enough of that, and so has America.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    Recommend for every politico, Texan, Washington-dweller, and even government/federalism classes

    I read this because the Texas economy leads the nation by leaps and bounds. Perry must be doing something right. He lays the blueprint for a thriving economy and highlights the dangers of over-reaching federal government that crowds out the private sector and stifles prosperity.

    This book will make you revisit the Constitution (always a good thing) and its clear parameters for a government that has lately gone awry. It's not written by a droning professor--it's the governor of Texas. This is convenient because he's in the business of communicating concisely and effectively. A swift read with a wealth of ideas...

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Interesting, but...

    The arguments are strong but do not stand up well factually. More a read for those who analyze writings of political propagandists than for those who seek to understand current social and political issues.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rantings of a mad man

    Very poorly written and completely lacking in facts. Thank God I didn't buy it.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Great read--says what the media doesn't (or chooses not to) understand

    Picked this up at a Texas statewide election party and read it the next day. It presents the simple but forgotten blueprint for economic and personal freedom that our country was built upon. As Americans are revisiting limited government through the historic 2010 election, it's important that this message is given to the people without the distorting filter of the media: keep government lean, and prosperity will ensue!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    I'm buying it!!!

    I figured that I could tell who read this book & who didn't by the knowledge vs. Lack thereof of the actual book, typical of liberals. Blind followers of ignorance, and not willing to educate themselves, but listen to one side, period...,and always on their periods! It's only fair for me to give it 5 stars, having not read it, yet, since several uneducated, liberal, idiots gave it 1 star, having not read this book, either!!! I'm downloading it now, and will read it!! I THINK PERRY HAS BEEN A GREAT GOVERNOR OF MY STATE, GET OUT OF THE WAY GOV'T/IF IT'S NOT BROKE, DON'T FIX IT! IF IT IS, FIX IT, NOW!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Agree with Perry or not, this is a well written book.

    Ignore the 1-line summarizations from the media and read this book if you want to understand Texas Gov. Rick Perry. Having governed one of the largest US states for over a decade, he speaks with authority when it comes to the issue of ever-growing federal power, and the price we pay in both liberty and coin at the the state and local level. Agree with him or not, Perry articulates a strong argument as to why a return to a dual-sovereignty basis of government, with the federal role limited to the enumerated powers, would restore and strengthen the USA. It is not a political screed, but rather a well structured and documented case for returning power back to the state and local level, as the founders intended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Really???

    What a bunch of garbage!!

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    absolutely right on God Knows!!!!!!!!!

    He has lived it and i totally agree with him all the best to Mr.Perry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Simple mind

    Another poorly written and babbling book. Based in very little knowledge and research. Tired ranting going on in another bound.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    They need to shut up!

    Rick and Newt are just jealous because they know they are too dumb to run this country. I know you all think Obama is dumb but hes not. They are two cranky old men who interupt each other and have no insight. I could go on for hours on end but you get what im saying people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Great Book

    Agree with hlm or not, Perry does have all hs facts and has some great points

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Recommended to voters who want the truth about Perry

    Forget Rick Perry's debate style. He is a true conservative. This book, written before he considered running for the presidency, shows how he loves this country, created jobs, and knows how to make this country energy efficient.

    He is a true conservative with governing experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Must Read

    For those considering a Republican fot the US Presidency, this is a must read before the primary. Not necessarily a recommendation or condemnation of Perry but a fair insight into his politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Lots of Common Sense

    I read this several months ago and have re-read as Perry entered the presidential race. Lots of good commons sense in this book. Read the book before you make any judgement of debate rhetoric.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Just what I expected

    I reluctantly spent money on this book for the purpose of trying to get an understanding of this man's political philosphy in particular, and of the Tea Party philosophy in general. I came away sick to my stomach, angry, and frightened.....

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    perrys fight to america from washington

    rick perry is "fed up" with washington and their disregard for the constitution and pushing higher taxes on the american people and this bestseller is his plan to make a difference and what the citizens of ameica need to do to take a stand agaist goverment that is not listening anymore.the governor shows in his book how goverment has been metaling in education far to much and and making a mess of it showing disregard for the the constitution and our states and the rights of faith based individuels."fed up" by rick perry would make a great gift for a friend or family member and he is one of the candidates for 2012.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    what happened to our founders vision

    governor rick perry reminds what our founding fathers had in mind for this country and why washington right now has strayed away from the values and principles of the constitution. this is a wonderful little book many voters are fed up and it shows whats wrong with with certain elected officials and what I like about this little blueprint is it shows you how you can make a difference great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3