Customer Reviews for

Feed (Newsflesh Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 446 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Random Pick, Decent Read

Short version: Overall a pretty good read (characters & plot pretty good); I enjoyed it, and it kept my interest. I would recommend it to people interested in zombies (as those depicted in popular zombie movies). If you don't like the classic zombies or are looking fo...
Short version: Overall a pretty good read (characters & plot pretty good); I enjoyed it, and it kept my interest. I would recommend it to people interested in zombies (as those depicted in popular zombie movies). If you don't like the classic zombies or are looking for a smarter or more intriguing depiction of zombies, you might find this book lacking a bit in that area though.

Long Version: I bought this book as a random selection after browsing the B&N shelves for about 15 minutes. I like zombies, so I figured this book was worth a shot. I was surprised it is such a new release for being a random pick on my part.

Overall I liked this book and was pleasantly surprised that it kept my attention and had interesting characters. I enjoyed the dynamic between the two main characters, Georgia and Shaun, although I couldn't quite identify with their closeness to one another. The other characters through out the book are interesting and well-created. The book starts off great, but then became a little slow-going right after that for a short bit; it picked up nicely after that lull period though to produce an interesting story with some drama and thrill. Overall though a pretty good pace throughout the book to keep interest, especially in the second half.

The only negatives I can comment on are that the writing style was a little repetitive at times, but only barely. A couple of the action scenes were introduced the same way, with something like "I only barely had time to do whatever before the gun shots started". Not a big deal though. I did kind of roll my eyes at the George Romero parts in the book, but I guess that's just the author's nod to zombie pop culture. If you like zombies, you know who he is, but I was hoping this book was at least going to provide a new spin on zombies. It didn't so much though, so I guess that's why I felt this book was slightly juvenile and less smart and savvy than I wanted it to be.

Lastly, I read the tidbits of the second book "Blackout", and I was a little put off by the amount of f-bombs dropped within the first few pages of that book. I recognize it's based around a different character than the first book, but still I thought "Feed" was tasteful with the profanity, where as I don't know if "Blackout" will show the same tact. The language issue though is just a personal preference kind of thing.

posted by Snuffle_Shuffle on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not your typical Zombie/Post-Apacolyptic novel

If you are looking for a typical zombie novel this isn't it. If you are looking for post-apacolyptic this isn't it either. For these reasons I was somewhat disappointed in the book. As others have pointed out it is a slow read, particularly in the beginning. In Feed...
If you are looking for a typical zombie novel this isn't it. If you are looking for post-apacolyptic this isn't it either. For these reasons I was somewhat disappointed in the book. As others have pointed out it is a slow read, particularly in the beginning. In Feed, there is a different take on the post-zombie world that really didn't do enough for my zombie tastes. There is very little actual zombie in the book and very little struggle against zombies. In this post-zombie world there is electricity, running water, airplanes, and basically all other advanced technology you can think of and many you can't as it is a much more advanced time technologically speaking. People basically just "live" with zombies being out there somewhere on the other side of the electric fences. People still go to work everyday, go out to dinner, etc living very much as they did before with some expected differences. Virtually the only true threat is from people using the virus as a weapon or other living people dying around or near you because in this book anyone who dies can/will become a zombie. Basically the virus is dormant in all living mammals of a certain size and can be triggered by certain biological events. Most of the book is centered around making sure you aren't actively infected by requiring a blood test to do anything or go anywhere.

So basically zombies and the post-zombie world are just a back drop for what could be called a thriller novel about the media and the evil right-wing politicos. But a horror novel about zombies it is not which is why I was disappointed with it. Overall it is an interesting premise about censorship of the media and politics and zombies but did not have enough violence, mayhem, horror, or zombie for me. However, it did interest me enough that I will likely finish out the series but with a more realistic and different expectation of what I will read.

posted by beaglezrock on November 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Not your typical Zombie/Post-Apacolyptic novel

    If you are looking for a typical zombie novel this isn't it. If you are looking for post-apacolyptic this isn't it either. For these reasons I was somewhat disappointed in the book. As others have pointed out it is a slow read, particularly in the beginning. In Feed, there is a different take on the post-zombie world that really didn't do enough for my zombie tastes. There is very little actual zombie in the book and very little struggle against zombies. In this post-zombie world there is electricity, running water, airplanes, and basically all other advanced technology you can think of and many you can't as it is a much more advanced time technologically speaking. People basically just "live" with zombies being out there somewhere on the other side of the electric fences. People still go to work everyday, go out to dinner, etc living very much as they did before with some expected differences. Virtually the only true threat is from people using the virus as a weapon or other living people dying around or near you because in this book anyone who dies can/will become a zombie. Basically the virus is dormant in all living mammals of a certain size and can be triggered by certain biological events. Most of the book is centered around making sure you aren't actively infected by requiring a blood test to do anything or go anywhere.

    So basically zombies and the post-zombie world are just a back drop for what could be called a thriller novel about the media and the evil right-wing politicos. But a horror novel about zombies it is not which is why I was disappointed with it. Overall it is an interesting premise about censorship of the media and politics and zombies but did not have enough violence, mayhem, horror, or zombie for me. However, it did interest me enough that I will likely finish out the series but with a more realistic and different expectation of what I will read.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinatingly original, but slow and long.

    Feed is set in the year 2040, twenty-six years after two viruses merging caused the zombie apocalypse. Zombies in this world are just an accepted annoyance to be avoided, like mosquitoes. Georgia and Shaun, sister and brother blogger journalists, get a revolutionary job offer - to be part of a promising presidential candidate's press campaign. Except the zombies might not be the only dangers out there.

    I loved the twist Mira Grant used in this zombie novel. The virus cause for zombies is everywhere and part of everyone. As soon as one dies for any reason, BAM! They are a zombie. There are intricate laws and personal rules for the treatment of people who are injured. Animals over 40 lbs also reanimate. So there are no pets, you can't eat those animals for food, you can't go into the wilderness, ect. Mira Grant created this fantastic world, that was simply a joy to read the complexity of.

    The story, however, focuses on journalistic blogging and the politics of a presidential candidate. These topics were only somewhat interesting to me. Feed is 560 pages long and I lost interest in the story about ¾ the through. It did have an exciting finish with an unexpected twist, but for me the story was just way too long and too slow. I considered not finishing it, but after 450 pages I felt rather committed. Feed is the first in a new series. I will probably take a look at the sequel, Blackout. But unless it is mind-blowingly thrilling and suspenseful, I don't think I will be investing more time into this series.

    Conclusion:
    This is a fascinating original series about a post-apocalyptic zombie world. So if zombies are your thing, this will definitely entertain you. But the slow pace and length of Feed makes it a definite try-before-you-buy for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinatingly original, but slow and long.

    Feed is set in the year 2040, twenty-six years after two viruses merging caused the zombie apocalypse. Zombies in this world are just an accepted annoyance to be avoided, like mosquitoes. Georgia and Shaun, sister and brother blogger journalists, get a revolutionary job offer - to be part of a promising presidential candidate's press campaign. Except the zombies might not be the only dangers out there.

    I loved the twist Mira Grant used in this zombie novel. The virus cause for zombies is everywhere and part of everyone. As soon as one dies for any reason, BAM! They are a zombie. There are intricate laws and personal rules for the treatment of people who are injured. Animals over 40 lbs also reanimate. So there are no pets, you can't eat those animals for food, you can't go into the wilderness, ect. Mira Grant created this fantastic world, that was simply a joy to read the complexity of.

    The story, however, focuses on journalistic blogging and the politics of a presidential candidate. These topics were only somewhat interesting to me. Feed is 560 pages long and I lost interest in the story about ¾ the through. It did have an exciting finish with an unexpected twist, but for me the story was just way too long and too slow. I considered not finishing it, but after 450 pages I felt rather committed. Feed is the first in a new series. I will probably take a look at the sequel, Blackout. But unless it is mind-blowingly thrilling and suspenseful, I don't think I will be investing more time into this series.

    Conclusion:
    This is a fascinating original series about a post-apocalyptic zombie world. So if zombies are your thing, this will definitely entertain you. But the slow pace and length of Feed makes it a definite try-before-you-buy for me.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Meh.

    Slow until midway. Not about zombies but media culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I really wanted to like this books more than I did

    I thought I was pretty prepared for this book. I knew it went slowly (that doesn't tend to be a problem for me, if the characters are interesting enough), and I've read some of Seanan McGuire's other work (I am a huge fan of the October Daye series). It was the huge chunks of exposition that really did this book in for me and kept me from enjoying it as much as I might have. This is a very complete (and in some ways very realistic--I'll come back to that later--world). So much so that everything that has happened in the last 20 years has to be summarized and summarized and re-summarized for us. It's not in a particularly charming way, either. George has her strong points as a character, but her constant harping on dedication to the truth spoiled a lot of the joy I get from first person narrators in general. In a world where the media failed and bloggers telling the truth saved humanity, I kind of get why a blogger would be so dedicated. But 1) she doesn't even remember the beginnings of the zombie apocalypse and 2) the whole premise of bloggers taking over the media felt very shallow to me, a sort of contrivance to get the everyman in the middle of the action. Still, I enjoyed it overall, and I'm going to be getting the next two books (I have reason to believe they will be better).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    PB/Sci-Fi: Did I like this book? It depended on the chapter I

    PB/Sci-Fi: Did I like this book? It depended on the chapter I was on. Most of the time, I did like it. However, this book was looonnngggg. It was too long and there was much unnecessary narrative to explain a zombie-world that doesn't really exist. How many times do I have to go through a door with Georgia and do the blood test and watch the lights. There isn't a house, car, or public building you can walk through without getting a blood test. Finally around page 400, the author skips the detail and just tells the reader that there was one given. I guess there are no bank robberies in the future.
    While the plot is good and does work, there is no real character development of Georgia. She remains static as someone closed-in and defensive. In a lot of ways she doesn't even let her brother Shaun in nor the reader. He narrative is long and too descriptive at times, especially about her eye issues. Also note, that Shaun, while a different person, has the same long descriptive narrative. For such a long book, there was too much missing. I would not continue with this series, but I accidentally bought the second book first. Grr. I was happy with how this one ended, but I guess I will try the second one.

    NOW THE BIG QUESTION!!!!!:

    Was it just me or is Republican Senator Peter Ryman really Republican Senator Paul Ryan? Just sayin'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Good book and series, creepy undertones.

    The book was good, I'm not gonna say otherwise, the whole series is good. But the bordering on incest relationship between the two main characters, adoptive brother and sister, is way too close and weird. I get that the author was trying to tie them close together and show their bond but it just went too far for me, especially as the series progressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    out of the 3 books in this series I would say read it then stop,

    out of the 3 books in this series I would say read it then stop, as the next 2 killed it for me, the only reason I read them is I brought them both after reading this one, and I can tell you one thing from that

    "I have learned my Lesson, but at least it was a cheap one"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Ok

    I found myself skimming over parts when the author would go into a ton of technical info and it got pretty slow sometimes but the ending made the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's Ok

    Not the best zombie book I've ever read. I liked the concept overall, but there were a few things that bothered me throughout the book. My biggest dislike was the playful banter between the two main characters, especially at the worst possible times (ie: We're surrounded by zombies, but it's no big deal. Let's bust each other's stones while we are fighting for our lives.) There were also too many things that just fall the right way for the main characters. I know that is very vague, but I do not want to spoil anything for future readers.

    So, like I said, it was ok. I am still on the fence about reading the next book or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Decent book

    Slow moving due the setup needed, much better at the end but the plot is.largely impausable how can alarge media group be slaughtered and there be no investigation what about the tobacco compamies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3