BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Feeling Good: The New Mood Therapy

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Simply 'reading' the book isn't enough.

15 years ago I read the original version of this book, and followed through with the recommended exercises. This was by far the BEST treatment I could have asked for. I read many others before I found this book. I was able to change my destructive thoughts and theref...
15 years ago I read the original version of this book, and followed through with the recommended exercises. This was by far the BEST treatment I could have asked for. I read many others before I found this book. I was able to change my destructive thoughts and therefore my mood. I've been in a slump lately and plan to read and DO this book again. Readers, don't expect miracles just by skimming through this book...you've got to jump in with both feet and follow the suggestions.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This book is written for those with EXTREME cases of despair

I have not found this book particularly helpful. While I do have some of the symptoms the author writes about, this is written more to encourage those who feel they have absolutely no hope for a 'normal' life. I would imagine, those cases are rare. I know my ...
I have not found this book particularly helpful. While I do have some of the symptoms the author writes about, this is written more to encourage those who feel they have absolutely no hope for a 'normal' life. I would imagine, those cases are rare. I know my symptoms, I know I am successful in my career, and have a family. I have a lot going for me. I just tend to get 'sad' and crawl into my own shell. This book is not written for people like me. It's written for people who have blinders on, and think only bad things can possibly happen to them. I was excited to hear about CBT, thinking maybe this is the miracle I've been looking for. Maybe it is. But Dr. Burns does not do a good job explaining it's also for people like me. I am disappointed with this book.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Think Good, Feel Good

    The title of my review is actually a summary of how this book plans to make you feel better.

    The book is authored by a someone who has had a lot of experience using cognitive therapy techniques to try and improve people's depression. Cognitive therapy's premise is that your thinking (messages that you are giving yourself all day long) directly inflences your moods and how you feel. Therefore, if you are thinking negatively, you're going to feel that way. Likewise, if you think positive and optimistically, well, you're going to feel good!

    And that's what the book is about- getting you to get rid of negative thoughts and replacing them with good ones. Does it work? Well, the book has been around since 1980, and there's actually been some good solid research that has actually taken the book, given it to depressed patients.....and they've improved!

    With its easy writing style and research-backed techniques, Feeling Good The New Mood Therapy is definitely worth the read- just know you've got over 500+ pages ahead of you. If this seems too daunting, or this approach doesn't appeal to you, try something like "Exercise Beats Depression"- which has been shown to be just as effective as cognitive therapy or drugs in controlled trials. Good luck!

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Simply 'reading' the book isn't enough.

    15 years ago I read the original version of this book, and followed through with the recommended exercises. This was by far the BEST treatment I could have asked for. I read many others before I found this book. I was able to change my destructive thoughts and therefore my mood. I've been in a slump lately and plan to read and DO this book again. Readers, don't expect miracles just by skimming through this book...you've got to jump in with both feet and follow the suggestions.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    this is the best self help book i have ever read

    an amazing book that can transform your life and open your eyes to see that cognitive therapy is the best therapy out there. it teaches that you can change the way you think and become less negative and less depressed once you understand why you think the way you do. recommended to me by a psychotherapist, i am more than thankful for it. just after reading the introduction i had a lot of hope, which many depressed people don't usually have. no matter how bad your depression, anxiety, mood swings, or negativity are please do yourself a favor and pick up this book, for you or a suffering loved one.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Very reader friendly, tremendously useful

    This is a classic book, useful for mental health professionals. or any consumer. It brings together everything in the cognitive therapy field in easy to read, reproducible format including lots of self-tests and summaries of various meds used for depression and anxiety disorders. I have been a therapist for 40 years and have not seen anything as useful as this book, 1st published about 25 years ago.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Dr.Burns, you saved my life

    About 15 years ago, I read this book and realized I have been depressed most of my life. Being raised in a abused alcholic home, I didn't realize the impact this had in my life. After reading this book, I felt like a million, before I knew it I was my best friend, where I was my worst enemy. Instead of Self Hate, I found Self Love. When I found myself going back to Self Critism I just applied my SELF TALK,felt better instantly.I sent every oneI knew a copy of this book. I am today finding myself diagnosed once again with Depression, only because I removed this book from my night stand by my bed to a book shelf. Out of sight out of mind. Pulled out my old copy with its torn discolored pages, full of dust and am looking forward to a new copy tomorrow. I will once again carry this book with me everywhere. 'I call it my 2nd bible'I want my life back once again. Thank you Dr. Burns, you saved me thousands in Therapy fees.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    How to for 'dealing with your feelings'

    Many years ago I had a confluence of tragic events in my life and I decided to see a psychologist for a while. One day the psychologist told me that I needed to 'deal with my feelings'. I told him in frustration that I heard that many times before, but that I did not understand what that meant. I asked him what exactly do people do when they 'deal with their feelings'. He was silent for a few moments and then he wrote the name of this book down on a slip of paper. This book will tell you how to 'deal with your feelings'. These techniques will not give you instant results, but they work if they are applied consistently.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Timeless, brilliant, but a lot to read for a depression sufferer

    This is a great book once you are on the road to recovery, and a valuable aid for all of us wanting to live better and be happier. But, at 736 pages, it is a bit insurmountable. One book I did enjoy recently that touched on some of the same concepts is Laughing Again by Roxanne Renee. This book is quite manageable, and also covers an arsenal of techniques to help our minds heal. I recommend them both!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    This book is written for those with EXTREME cases of despair

    I have not found this book particularly helpful. While I do have some of the symptoms the author writes about, this is written more to encourage those who feel they have absolutely no hope for a 'normal' life. I would imagine, those cases are rare. I know my symptoms, I know I am successful in my career, and have a family. I have a lot going for me. I just tend to get 'sad' and crawl into my own shell. This book is not written for people like me. It's written for people who have blinders on, and think only bad things can possibly happen to them. I was excited to hear about CBT, thinking maybe this is the miracle I've been looking for. Maybe it is. But Dr. Burns does not do a good job explaining it's also for people like me. I am disappointed with this book.

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Great Book - Has Changed My Life

    If you are looking for a book that will make you look at life with a more positive outlook, then you should consider this book. The good thing is that you can peek inside before you purchase it. I suffered from moderate depression when I found myself searching for anything to bring me out of it. This book was designed to help anyone suffering from mild to severe depression, so you can skip the sections that don't apply to you. I didn't know how distorted my thinking had become until I started reading it. I read it, and did some of the exercises, and I just feel so much better about myself, about those around me, about everything really. You have to put work into this, doing some of the exercises is a must to change your thought processes, but it is well worth the effort.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    In a poll by respected, great thinkers, this book was #1 recomme

    In a poll by respected, great thinkers, this book was #1 recommended book of 2000 self help books. IT WAS AWESOME, BEST SELF-HELP BOOK I HAVE EVER READ, GREAT RESEARCH, FACTS, EXAMPLES TO USE, VERY WELL WRITTEN, BEST SELF HELP BOOK I HAVE EVER READ. Author is of most respected backgound, highly educated, pure genius, this book changed my life for the better! Thank god I read it. Highly recommend readintg this book, tried to find it on audio to use in my car driving but it is not available, will re-read again and again, this book is awesome.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    GOLD. EXCEPTIONAL, WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE HOW WELL THIS BOOK IS P

    GOLD. EXCEPTIONAL, WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE HOW WELL THIS BOOK IS PUT TOGETHER! Simply the best nonfiction, self - help book ever written. Dr. David Burns, M.D. is a genius. Exceptional.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    SUPERB BOOK. The best self-help book available on planet Earth,

    SUPERB BOOK. The best self-help book available on planet Earth, very well researched, clear, insightful, easy, fun to read. Learned a lot about improving my life, David Burns is a genius in self helf, best self help book I have ever read. HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMNED this book, BUY THIS BOOK -- you will not be disappointed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Feeling Good, by Dr. David Burns M.D., is the best self-help boo

    Feeling Good, by Dr. David Burns M.D., is the best self-help book I have ever read. #1. This books spans all the relevant information that can produce happiness, success, achievement in your daily life, you can read it very quickly, and the information will influence your life for the better, for the rest of your life! It is a wonderful book, David Burns writies in a clear, insightful manner a masterpiece of information, pure GOLD! This is the most important self help book of the last century, best book available today! David Burns the dean of personal success, achievement, self-help, has created a platform in this book that will ignite the reader into achieving any wish he may have, it is incredible, highly recommended. It gave me information I have been searching for all my life, very good book. Will provide the reader with successful methods, in creating happiness, achieving dreams and/or goals. GREAT, GREAT, BOOK!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    This book helped me, it could help you...

    Although I am not a depressed person, I tend to sink into crepuscular and gloomy funks from time to time. I am human after all, but this book really helped me get through these dark times without medication...which was what I was looking for. This book seriously is so helpful getting you out of the dark and sad stages of life. It helped me get through arguments, criticisms, and built my self esteem. This is clearly the best self help book I have ever encountered in my opinion and I highly recommend it to anyone who is willing to live their best life and be their best self even in the worst of times. Truly amazing and well put together, give it a read sometime, it helped me a ton and it could help you as well.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    free!

    I have been treated three times over a long life for depression, (never hospitalized). I read this book three years ago, and they have been the most fulfilling three years of my life. I still have bad days from time to time, but now I can confidently tell myself that a bad day does not mean a bad life, or an endless supply of more bad days. This book gave me perspective.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Excellent book. You receive all of the best self-help, applicab

    Excellent book. You receive all of the best self-help, applicable positive psychology information for FREE, that will transorm your life to excellence if you apply the informaion. This is recommended as the number one self-help book ever written, it is just that! Really enjoyed reading, applying information, it turned my life around! Very good book! GOLD, SOLID GOLD! 5STAR book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Best book I have ever read! #1 nonfiction book ever written: in

    Best book I have ever read! #1 nonfiction book ever written: insighful, motivating, useful, entertaining, well written, superb writing! HIGHLY recommended motivational book! Dr. David Burns MD is one of the smartest people on Earth! He takes the reader into a world of insightful information, useful information, clearly the best book I have ever read! SUPERB, A MUST HAVE! DEFINETLY worth the money! Highly recommended to anyone, any age group, anyone interested in reading a high quality nonfiction book! EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT BOOK!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    Excellent book on depression to understand your self and get better

    The book provides effective methods to understand yourself and the way you feel which is critical to understand the way you react and provides effective mechanisms to change your behavior in a positive way. The book was originally published many years ago but the concepts are still valid today.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2000

    Practical, powerful, and easy to read.

    This book shows how to change the way you think to change the way you feel. But it's not about positive thinking. It's about thinking more realistically. The list of ten 'cognitive distortions' is worth the price of the book. Years ago, I memorized that list and have been using it ever since to catch myself thinking unreasonably. My tendency to make those cognitive mistakes has improved greatly, and I feel unnecessary negative emotions much less often. As the author of the book, Self-Help Stuff That Works, I know something about the field, and Burn's book has some of the most practical suggestions you'll find in any self-help book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    MUST READ FOR ANYONE! BEST SELF-HELP BOOK AVAILABLE, I HAVE CHA

    MUST READ FOR ANYONE! BEST SELF-HELP BOOK AVAILABLE, I HAVE CHANGED MY LIFE FOR THE BEST -- UPON READING THIS BOOK!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4