BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Feeling Good Handbook

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Very Helpful!

    'Feeling Good' by Dr. Burns really helped me to manage depression and to better understand how my thoughts contributed to it. I've realized through this book the profound influence of thinking on my mood. Dr. Burns allows you to map ten cognitive distortions that maintain negative thinking and emotions. Once we can eliminate these distortions then our mood can improve and the depression or anxiety will start to lift.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    A Potential Lifesaver

    I read this book several years ago when my life was turned upside down. I was having panic and anxiety attacks at the time and was not sure if I was going to survive. This book helped me to avoid the other alternatives (medications) and helped me to control my emotions. It made me a much stronger person. It challenges the reader to make changes. It makes you work hard on yourself and is not a quick fix. Without question I recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Excellent resource

    This book is an excellent resource for sufferers of depression and anxiety and those who treat them. Cognitive behavioral therapy is a wonderful tool to combat these illnesses in a systematic and often successful way.
    Dr. Burns writes in an honest, straightforward and common-language way, and uses frequent real-life examples. He also provides many exercises to help readers work on the issues they struggle with, which offer real-time results.
    One thing that's lacking is an updated section on drugs. There are many new drugs and drug therapies on the market for which he has no information.
    But overall, as stated above, an excellent resource and an enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Great Book!

    This is a very comprehensive book. I enjoyed reading it very much. It touched on many different psychological issues. It really helped me with my procrastination problem.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    A True Guide to Happiness

    If you are feeling depressed this book WILL help you. I never thought a 700 page book could do anything to help my depression. This book did not cure me, it did however diagnose my symptoms. The first part of the books helps you to understand and correct your moods. It helps you to diagnose anxious mood, as oppose to anxious moods. There are quizzes and daily mood logs that are great tools to take to your doctor. When you're in the office it is hard to think of what you experience everyday. These mood quizzes help your doctor diagnose you. This book also introduced to me the concept of 'automatic thoughts.' These are thoughts of low self esteem that come naturally. Dr. Burns how to remedy these thoughts. Plus the stick figure drawings bring some laughs throughout the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    This is the best book I've ever had!

    My physciatrist 'prescribed' this book for me, and boy am I thankful! What a wonderful thing to read! It has been a big factor in improving my self-esteem and decreasing my anxiety. I'm buying both of my parents one for Christmas knowing that it will also help them out! I'm also telling all of my stressed-out grad school buddies about it too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    A great book for clinicians too!

    At the time of writing this review, I'm currently a 3rd year psychiatric resident. I really like this book. Learning CBT is part of our 3rd year curriculum, and as part of that, a textbook is always essential. We were recommended to buy Judy Beck's, "Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, 2nd Edition" and I have to say that I did not particularly like that book. It reads as dogmatic, difficult at times to understand, difficult to generalize to all patients, and frankly unrealistic at times with its expections of patients' reactions to therapy. The Feeling Good Handbook, albeit much larger, reads far better than Judy Beck's book. Its down to Earth, intuitive, and easy to understand. Even after ready Beck's book, this book allowed me to better understand the concepts of CBT that were previously poor explained and expounded upon. This book may have been written as a self-help guide for consumers directly, but that doesn't detract from its extreme readability, and ability to teach CBT to clinicians as well. Plus, reading this book really help me create better expectations for patients during CBT, as I commonly recommend that they purchase it themselves. All in all, I highly recommend this book, and have encouraged all of my collegues to purchase and use it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    First rate material, very insightful, helped me a lot, excellent

    First rate material, very insightful, helped me a lot, excellent book. Best self-help book I have ever encountered! Highly recommended to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    insightful

    this book is very helpful in helping to see things in a different perspective.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Reader

    I treat this book like a bible, I read it everynight before I go to bed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    Very Helpful!!

    I have been a long time sufferer of depression and have found one of the most frustrating things is trying to describe the symptoms and the way I feel to my doctor and others. It's so hard to put into words but this book helped. I recommend it to anyone dealing with depression and for those who know others dealing with depression. It will help you get a glance inside their world and see what it is like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Believe it or not, this book is for EVERYONE!

    I have never been one to read, let alone recommend self help books. My family doctor recommended this book to me when I started having some unexplained panic attacks. I bought the book and think this would be a useful book for anyone to read. I don't have depression, but I was carrying around a lot of tension and stress. This book is great for general life management. It contains a chapters on procrastination, effective communication, how to deal with difficult people....This book was very real and had very sensible approaches with dealing with common anxiety. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    Excellent practical advice!

    Because I suffer from bipolar disorder (manic-depression), I have been looking for a something that can help me in some way. Most self-help type books have not helped me. This is the first book that really enabled me to see some light. It has excellent practical advice regarding how to manage your emotions by behaving and thinking in new ways. It takes you through the process step by step and can be understood by ordinary people like myself without rereading it five times. After benefiting from reading this book for a while, I became curious of why this type of thing works so well for my depression. After a long search, I discovered a book called 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato that explained this beautifully. Sato's book is more theoretical but it is full of truly amazing insights that I can understand. I feel that it is a true blessing to have people like this share their insights and knowledge to the rest of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    An awesome book!

    Well worth the time and money! Stick with it and you will see changes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    A New Attitude

    This book has helped me to develop a completely new attitude about life. I have been able to apply the techniques to all aspects of my life: work, school, home, family, etc. I truly see things in a different way now, and I am so much happier. I am ready to jump out of bed every morning to see what the new day brings! Dr Burns explains the different types of disorders associated with depression, and the usual treatment methods. His descriptions are elementary and easy to understand. The explanation of anti-depressants is very useful. It includes a listing of drug interactions and side effects. It also details how each drug affects the brain chemistry to produce the desired effects, the usual length of treatment, and the expected results. The techniques he describes, I have found to be extremely useful in everyday life. I could see the benefits immediately. It is essential that you do the exercises to get the full benefits of the book! The section on communication has been effective in my marriage, my job, graduate school, etc. Communication is a real breakdown among most people. It is amazing the things you can learn and how much better you will feel just by communicating effectively with a loved one. I have learned a great deal about myself since I began this book. It helped me to pull my true being out into the open and learn to take pride in that being. I have also found it useful for people living with depressive persons. My husband has said that it helped him to understand what I was going through and how to deal with it. I hope it helps you, too. Good luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    Life Changing Information

    In a world filled with psychobabel, it's nice to know there are some intelligent sources for gaining a better understanding into your thinking. 'Take every thought captive' took on a completely new meaning for me as I studied this book. The best chapters are on listening skills and communication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2000

    This will change you life

    This book will change your life if you really use it faithfully, I have worn out a copy, I give it to people who are depressed, It has changed my whole thinking pattern.!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Licensed Clinical Counselor recommends this for colleagues

    This user-friendly book is the best that I've found which translates the principles and techniques of cognitive therapy (CT)into practical, easy-to-follow steps for our counselees. It's therapist-friendly as well, inviting us therapists to apply CT to ourselves. A chapter for therapists, emphasizing empathic communication, has already assisted me in effectively managing one of my more difficult cases. Burns readers will find this book a substantive upgrade from its previous 1980 edition, with a wealth of new information. Its well-organized presentation of the new psychotropic medications makes Feeling Good well worth the price, just in its providing a quick, easy-to-follow psychopharmacological reference for non-medical professionals like me. This is becoming one of the most-used books in my practice. As a Christian counselor, I am prescribing certain sections for my counselees to read in addition to their Biblical homework assignments. Bravo David Burns!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2