Customer Reviews for

Feels Like Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good album

    I enjoyed the whole album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Norah Jones: Feels Like Home

    I love Norah's extremely laid back, mellow and quasi-reggae sound. The first song "Sunrise" is a mixture of solid tempo yet with many measures sung in a variety of patameters. Norah's voice and accompianment are relaxing, and the CD is music to listen to if you need to get things done to a pleasant, soft and soothing background sound. Definitely can take a nap to her and she can enhance a good mood or get you in a better one. Well done in my opinion, however please watch for future CDs which have repeats. I have recommended a few below which have mainly original tracks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed it.

    Very nice to listen to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can hear it over and over again, like breathing.

    I am a writer who writes with music in the background, and it's usually Baroque or something really low key, but this album never disappears into the "background." It is rich and, in my opinion, even better than "Come Away with Me." The instrumentals and lyrics just sort of "creep" into your psyche and keep you going effortlessly. I absolutely love to come home to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Go Norah

    Norah has a beautiful voice that is so calming and relaxing. Feels Like Home's first three songs are beautiful with a country, jazz, folk and blues mix. KEEP IT UP NORAH!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It sticks to you

    On first listen this album is really boring. Give it a second shot and the songs stick to you. The lyrics are beautifully simple, and as always, Norah's vocals are amazing. Some say this album is too mellow, then what do they make of "Come Away with Me", which in my opinion is much more so? Favorite songs are: Sunrise, Don't Miss You at All, Those Sweet Words, The Prettiest Thing. However, they're all good, and they really do feel like home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love "Feel like Home"

    This album is also a great work from Noarh Jones. Although most of the songs are similiar to the "comw away with my", there are some difference when you listen to it more seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Norah is superb!

    This girl can do no wrong... even if she were singing tv jingles, her voice is heavenly. This CD is awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Surprise

    I LOVED "Come Away With Me" and was overjoyed when this was released. But,at the first listen, I was slightly disappointed. Since then, I've come to love the CD as much as the first one. Norah's voice is bigger and more expressive on this CD without being forced or harsh. The song selection is decidedly more country-oriented (which is what initially put me off) but now I've decided that I like the variety. Overall, a wonderful CD and a definite must buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's different from Come Away with Me, but.....

    .... it grew on me. When I took my first listen at this most coveted CD, I was strangely disappointed. The style was a wee bit different from her debut. The more I listened to it though, Norah's new songs began to reawaken my love for her music. This new collection of songs, both original and remakes, is the kind that shows you the diversity of a true musician!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing, wouldn't expect anything less

    Quit reading reviews and go buy this CD, if you liked her first album I'm positive you'll enjoy these tracks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Norah's the one

    norah can do no wrong... Although much different than come away with me, feels like home is refreshing, beautiful and entertaining. much more appealing than many of today's lip-syncing pop stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    norah does it again

    norah has one beautiful voice. she is the best female singer today. hey parents--let your kids listen to this instead of pink or britney.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    listening and loving it

    This album is so refreshing and absolutely wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You feel like wearing your pajamas all day long

    Another sure thing. Norah is a rare bird whose music simply delights and demands nothing from the listener. It's soothing, you can understand every word, and she instantly transports you to where she is. I wasn't expecting a Dolly Parton duet, but it works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    absolutely staggering

    what more is there to say about it? sultry and silky... country ..jazz ..folk ..bluegrass; whatever. it's all there. she's *amazing* and her sophomore release just puts the period at the end of that statement. amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Silken Sultry Voice

    Norah Jones has come up with another superb album. Her voice continues to soothe, and at least half the song were written or co-written by her. It has less of a jazz sound than her first album, and some of the songs were "tested" on her tour, but her band is tighter.Her reworking of a Duke Ellington piece, which she calls "Don't Miss You at All" where she solos and plays the piano is destined to become a classic. One extemely minor point, the insert design is difficult to read, at one point I thought it said the drummer was playing the "lox." Under better light, saw it was "box."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More jazz, less pop

    I admire Norah Jones' 2nd album because she sticks to more bluesy jazz and resist the temptation to make a more pop album that would have sold more records. A true artist unlike those formulaic pop singers that surfacing like weeds these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How is possible that this one is BETTER?

    I think this cd is BETTER than "Come Away with Me". The rhythums and moods in this cd are far more diverse and just as appealing. This cd has more "Norah" to offer. Her vocals are more confident but she left her signature bluesy-folksy-jazzy melodious artistry in tact. "Sunrise", "Carnival Town" and "What Am I to You?" are all instant and powerful favorites of mine. Even with her understated volume Norah has created yet another huge explosion in music. This cd is exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This girl is a phenom

    I simply loved this CD. Norah Jones is a value musician; I can't say that about anyone in her age group. Every song is simply superb. I bet this album will bag at least five grammys and sell another 17 million albums like her last album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2