BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fellowship of the Ring: Being the First Part of The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 1396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1075)

4 Star

(177)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Fellowship Of The Ring

I thought that the book was great. You would be able to understand it if you are older than 6th grade. In the story Frodo, a hobbit, inherits a very powerful ring. Frodo and 3 other hobbits travel on a journey to Rivendell to find out what to do with the ring. There the...
I thought that the book was great. You would be able to understand it if you are older than 6th grade. In the story Frodo, a hobbit, inherits a very powerful ring. Frodo and 3 other hobbits travel on a journey to Rivendell to find out what to do with the ring. There they decide that they have to destroy the ring once and for all. The fellowship must travel to the depths of Mount Doom and cast the ring into the fire. What I liked best about the book is that the hobbits aren't the fastest or the strongest of the fellowship, but they don't give up on each other. It is overall a great book that you should read.

posted by 1931781 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Re Re PIPPIN RULES

In the movies, I personally liked the dwarf, whose name I didn't catch, but in the books, I liked Legolas a TON better than anybody else, except for Gandalf. If you thought that this book was slow and not understandable, please remember that Tolkien was from a different...
In the movies, I personally liked the dwarf, whose name I didn't catch, but in the books, I liked Legolas a TON better than anybody else, except for Gandalf. If you thought that this book was slow and not understandable, please remember that Tolkien was from a different time period and that people spoke and wrote differently back than. I would highly appreciate it if you would take the time to actually read and comprehend what the text means. I think that Tolkien, Lord bless his soul, would also appreciate it. Thanks to all the people out tere who didn't have to read this message to take the time to comprehend this trilogy! To everyone who reads this message, thanks!

posted by I_AM_A_DOWNWORLDER on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1404 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    Fellowship Of The Ring

    I thought that the book was great. You would be able to understand it if you are older than 6th grade. In the story Frodo, a hobbit, inherits a very powerful ring. Frodo and 3 other hobbits travel on a journey to Rivendell to find out what to do with the ring. There they decide that they have to destroy the ring once and for all. The fellowship must travel to the depths of Mount Doom and cast the ring into the fire. What I liked best about the book is that the hobbits aren't the fastest or the strongest of the fellowship, but they don't give up on each other. It is overall a great book that you should read.

    39 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I first started reading The Lord of the Rings while in the milit

    I first started reading The Lord of the Rings while in the military. I had a lot of time to pass and I'm so very glad I chose these books to pass it with. I absolutely loved the story and how J.R.R Tolkien constructs a world I could never have dreamed of on my own. His imagination and superb writing have gone on to inspire innumerable artists in today's culture. I must admit when the movies came out I was hesitant to watch them. I'm glad I did though because they did a very fine job of capturing the magic of the story. Of course there were things left out. The already long movies would have been epic tales that would last hours upon hours on film had everything been included. I highly recommend these books to anyone who wants to be taken away to another time and place where magic is alive and simpler things like home are treasured.

    35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! IT BEATS HARRY POTTER AND THE HUNGER GAMES! WHOEVER HATES THIS BOOK IS POOP! I TAKE THIS VERY PERSONALLY!

    21 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Book review by Jordan Baer

    The reason that I read this book is because I have always heard great things about this book and have seen all of its excellent movies and so far all of its reviews are well justified. In this book, the beginning of a great war in the land of Middle Earth is unfolding. I would not recommend reading this book until you have read the prelude to it called The Hobbit which describes the tale of Bilbo Baggins. Now in The Lord of the Rings the fellowship of the Ring. It shows the discovering of the ring of power which was forged in secret by the dark lord Sauron and his sending of the nine ring wraiths to the peaceful land of the shire and Frodo Baggins and his fear full escape to the elf city of Rivendell with the ring wraiths on there tails ready to kill any that stood in there way. The final part I can say without ruining the book is in Rivendell under the wise council of the elf lord Elrond a ground of nine ( a elf, dwarf, 4 hobbits, and 2 men)set out on a almost completely hopeless quest to destroy the ring of power forever. The reason I enjoyed that book and I think you will too. Is because this book is described in the most brilliant detail and you can see everything unfold in your head, and the everlasting fantasy that you won't forget anytime soon.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    AWESOME

    This is one of the best book ever.AWESOME.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    This is the best series I have ever read

    When they wrote "THE GREATEST FANTASY EPIC OF OUR TIME" They weren't lying. The Fellowship is an awesome exciting book that creates a solid foundation for the rest of the books. The Two Towers and Return of The King blew me away even more.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 1999

    AweSomE!!!

    This book will suck you in in the first 20 pages, and will not let you go for another 479. This is truly a great book, For any who are going to start Lord Of The Rings I HIGHLY suggest the you read the hoobit also, It is also a wonderful book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Really good

    Some people have said to me that they just couldn't get into LotR and it was boring, and that's perfectly understandable when the people reading it can't just completely lose themselves to the book they're reading. When a person is reading a book and just go along with it, being interested, I'd recommend a book like Maximum Ride. But for people who just completely forget everything besides the book in their hands, completely lose themselves in the world of it--LotR is perfect for them.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Frodo is awesome!

    The Fellowship is one awesome book! Now I'm reading The Return of the King and it's awesome too (along with The Two Towers)! Though, if I had to name parts I & II, I would call part I, 'From The Shire to Rivendell,' and part II, 'From Rivendell to The Anduin.'

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    I don't usually like fantasy but...

    I really am not into fantasy but I enjoyed reading this first part of the Lord of the Rings triolgy. At first I just had to pick a book to read for a class and I thought why not this, I liked the movie. I was suprised when I realized that although arn't nessisarily human they have many human charactersitics and emotions. I would recomend this book to anyone over the age of ten. It's not a quick read but you keep wanting to read more so the length is not an issue. Everyone would find something they like in the Fellowship of The Rings

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Awsome

    I am in 4th grade and i completly understand it

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Fabulous! It kept me going and going, I reccomend this expesially for avid readers. I'm ten and this book sucked me into this wonderful world of fantasy. This isn't one of those lies. I'm telling the truth, its fantastic. It will make a lot more sense if you have read THE HOBBIT. Also look out for THE TWO TOWERS nd THE RETURN OF THE KING. Of course they are the conclusion to this book. I'm reading THE TWO TOWERS and its also very good. I give this book 5 wopping stars!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Awesome

    Great bok to read! I cant wait to read the others!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Epic

    Epic

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Another Great Book Butchered By the Nook

    Yet another book that gets the last letters of some lines cut off when reading on the Nook.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    A Very Magical Story

    The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien was fantastic. It stars the nephew of Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit named Frodo Baggins. As the story goes, Frodo adventures into the darkness with his friends Merry, Pippin, and Sam. They dodge creatures left and right, including the fiendish ringwraiths. As they travel on they gain support from unlikely places and battle an evil so terrible that only the power of the heart can surpress it. This is a very magical story that puts a spell over you so that you cannot put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Best book ever !!!!!!!!

    My name is Will .I am 12, and YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK . The plot to it is : Bilbo Baggins (a Hobbit) finds a ring in a cave on an adventure with some dwarves (as told in The Hobbit) . Now his nephew Frodo must must take the ring to mount doom there to destroy it and foil the dark lord in his evil polt.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Great books!

    My favorite series!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    I love the lord of the rings

    My family and i love the lord of the rings

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    NOTHING BETTER

    This trilogy is the best in the world! And as the series goes on, it gets BETTER and BETTER. JRR Tolkien is a GENIUS. He is my favorite author, without any question. There are a lot of books I love, but none of them are even on the same level as LotR. No other book in the world can touch LotR--no other book comes close to being as great as Tolkien's masterpiece.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1404 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71