Customer Reviews for

The Fellowship of the Ring: Being the First Part of The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 1392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1071)

4 Star

(177)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Fellowship Of The Ring

I thought that the book was great. You would be able to understand it if you are older than 6th grade. In the story Frodo, a hobbit, inherits a very powerful ring. Frodo and 3 other hobbits travel on a journey to Rivendell to find out what to do with the ring. There the...
I thought that the book was great. You would be able to understand it if you are older than 6th grade. In the story Frodo, a hobbit, inherits a very powerful ring. Frodo and 3 other hobbits travel on a journey to Rivendell to find out what to do with the ring. There they decide that they have to destroy the ring once and for all. The fellowship must travel to the depths of Mount Doom and cast the ring into the fire. What I liked best about the book is that the hobbits aren't the fastest or the strongest of the fellowship, but they don't give up on each other. It is overall a great book that you should read.

posted by 1931781 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Re Re PIPPIN RULES

In the movies, I personally liked the dwarf, whose name I didn't catch, but in the books, I liked Legolas a TON better than anybody else, except for Gandalf. If you thought that this book was slow and not understandable, please remember that Tolkien was from a different...
In the movies, I personally liked the dwarf, whose name I didn't catch, but in the books, I liked Legolas a TON better than anybody else, except for Gandalf. If you thought that this book was slow and not understandable, please remember that Tolkien was from a different time period and that people spoke and wrote differently back than. I would highly appreciate it if you would take the time to actually read and comprehend what the text means. I think that Tolkien, Lord bless his soul, would also appreciate it. Thanks to all the people out tere who didn't have to read this message to take the time to comprehend this trilogy! To everyone who reads this message, thanks!

posted by I_AM_A_DOWNWORLDER on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Yeah

    I know, I know. It's a good book... but it was a little slow for me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Ugh!

    I just dont understand all of the people that loved this book. I did adore the symbolism because i could relate the characters in the book to things and people in real life. Tolkein himself said himself that the book was not meant to be a direct alegory, but in my opinion, had it been, it would have been much more interesting. Tolkein wasted seemingly 300 pages to make frodo and company move along at a sloth-like pace. For me, nothing was truly accomplished in reading this book.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    It was ok.

    The book was ok. It seemed kind of slow though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Bjb

    You should eat at burger king

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Not my favorite

    Enjoy Harry Potter much more; had to force myself to read it just so I could finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted to love this but........

    As a self-professed nerd I wanted tot love this. I read The Hobbitt about 20 years ago and remember really rnjoying it. I expected more of the same here as I finally got around to Lord Of The Rings. What I got however was sadly a little boring, very tedious, and wordy to the point of confusion. Tolkien certainly has created one of the most amazingly thorough fantasy world. However, his writing style is so verbose that by the time he explains whose talking to whom you can't remeber what's being talked about. The actual novel could've been a quarter of the size and probably more enjoyable. I haven't given up on the entrire series but it'll be awhile before I feel the itch to read Two Towers. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    I am being shot down slowly

    I am curently reading this book, and well, not likeing it. I gave it a 2 because although it isnt the best thing in the world it isnt the worst. i JUst finished chapter 6 & 7, and its fairly safe to skip those chapters,. Nothing happens at all. for one thing, people sing way to much. JRRT over describes things. i was surprised to find out that this book was only 10 chapters long and well 458 pages long. Im a person who , when reading needs to greatly enjoy what i'm reading. The fellowship has become a chore. If the pace dosnt pick up, im putting it down. i really want to be a person who has read this series, but with the way its going i might just quite. I really hope the action picks up and the two towers is better. But so far the moive is way better... Ill right another review once done with the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    one of the best works of literature in our time

    This is the first of the lord of the rings trilogy, which was an absolutely work of genius. The whole trilogy was. It is One of the most original plots of our time. It was at times a little difficult to stay focused because the book was written in such depth and extremely advanced british styled vocabulary. It took me a month to read it but it was fabolous in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    YAWN....

    Most people would say that detail is a great thing for a book, but when you drag it on the way Tolkien does in this book, it's just plain boring. Although I do give him credit for creating fantasy literature, this is the only book I've ever read where I would say, the movie is better. The movie doesn't go on describing a cloak for 15 minutes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2000

    I don't understand the appeal

    I can't help but wonder if this series only gets good reviews because of popular opinion. I am not trying to be the one person who is against it or something like that, but I can't figure out the mystery of this book series. I started reading this book and was hit with a ton of past happenings, needless to say this was all very boring and took a while to trudge through. After that I was convinced things were gonna pick up, well, stuff started to happen, but it never actually captured me, there didn't seem to be anything in this book that told me to keep reading, I just did that by sheer will power. After finishing the book, I wasn't impressed. The book proceeds slowly and really doesn't reach any climaxes. I gave it 2 stars cause altough it wasn't a terrible book, it wasn't anything all that great either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2